Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retro gaming Pictionary!

• 21-03-2012 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭

Pretty stupid idea but lets see if it catches on? :pac:
    Rules:

1. Only one drawing allowed. Must be drawn freehand using MS Paint (or Mac/Linux equivalent).

2. Has to be a video game title or name of a console. Else we could be guessing anything!

3. You can guess as many times as you like, but to save multiple replies, just edit your post and add in extra guesses as edits.

4. Use www.imgur.com to host your drawing so everyone can see it. Or attach it to your post.

5. First correct guess/reply gets to draw the next pictionary.

Here is your first picture game:

SudAr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Pink Bullets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Great idea!

Deathsmiles??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Nope to both! :D

As Roy Walker would say on Catchphrase.

SAY WHAT YOU SEE!

edit: Incorrect Andrew76. You're the closest so far............ sort of. :D

@SteveSI nope. Nice idea though!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Can't be Gunhead?

Edit: Silent Hill?

Edit: Bit random this but it's not Super Metroid?
    All I'm seeing is yellow hair and a hexagon with triangles inside. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Galaga ??

Edit:

Is is that well know shooter "Pink girl blonde arrow shapes"

Edit 2:
    Darius

Edit 3:
    Ok, my last guess. Aleste Gaiden

Master of the Universe

Pyongyang wrote: »
    edit: Incorrect Andrew76. You're the closest so far............ sort of. :D

Silent Hill 2 :pac:

o1s1n wrote: »
    Silent Hill 2 :pac:

Whichever one has pyramid head dude in it. :o

Everyone is wrong so far. Hmm, maybe my drawing sucks or you lot are just rubbish guessers!

Andrew76 was on the right lines though. In a roundabout sort of way. Just say what you see lads! It's easy! :D

Master of the Universe

A hint, if you will.

The green arrow - is it part of the title or is it just pointing at something of significance? :D

A hint, if you will.

The green arrow - is it part of the title or is it just pointing at something of significance? :D

The latter. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Pink Sweets? the one that came with Muchi Muchi Pork?

Nope. Dig a little deeper! Literally say what you see! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Hairminator 2: Triangle Wars.

When you do tell us what it is we better all have "oh yeah, of course" moment or you're in a lot of trouble pyongy. ;)

Master of the Universe

When Hairy met Scalene?

I've been looking at this all day and have no clue :(

Ok pyongy. Time for a clue of some sort. Genre, platform, something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭sengoku

Brain Trainer :confused:

Better not be Sonic The Hedgehog!

Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Better not be Sonic The Hedgehog!

Oooh I think you might be right! blue spikey hair.

Hopefully, it was driving me nuts all day too. :pac: Although I have zero MS Paint skills so I would need to keep it very simple if I do get a go. :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Im going crazy looking at this thing here too..

Say what you see lads! Its obvious I promise!

I'll give you a clue!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77698235&postcount=8691

EDIT: And if the above isn't enough, I'm practically giving the answer away when I tell you that lots of Irish people have it, it's a gem of a game!

Say what you see lads! Its obvious I promise!

I'll give you a clue!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77698235&postcount=8691

EDIT: And if the above isn't enough, I'm practically giving the answer away when I tell you that lots of Irish people have it, it's a gem of a game!

Obvious my arse! That tiny pic is worse than the drawing above. :pac:

My last guess was going to be Fire & Ice on the Amiga but that doesn't fit with your "Irish" comment above. No idea now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Parawind

Ok stab in the dark, FF7?

Those shapes and the blonde hair, all i can think of is cloud!

Andrew Dunos 76, you of all people should get this one!

Geez you lot give up easily don't you? Could be another 800 years before someone gets the correct answer! :pac: ;)

Hmm, I can't think of many more clues without actually just telling you the title. Perhaps the 'everyone in Ireland has it' statement is a bit facetious as it's not strictly true. In fact, probably no-one has it (except maybe SteveSI who will have two of them :D). That was more a play on words.

Again, SAY WHAT YOU SEE! :D

Andro Dunos?

Your new name. Not the correct answer to the pictionary. :D

Andrew, sounds like Andro. Looks like:

AndroDunos_Jap.jpg

egGUI.jpg

ehh, well done andrew.

Please explain the picture now pyongy.

Steve SI wrote: »
    ehh, well done andrew.

Please explain the picture now pyongy.

Nope, he was incorrect. I was just explaining his new name.

I'll give ye a few more guesses and then we'll just pick someone with a randomizer from all the usernames that guessed prior.

You lot are useless at guessing games! Sheesh! :D

Nope, he was incorrect. I was just explaining his new name.

Aye, never heard of it before a quick Google. Looks good though.

Right, some random guesses not based on anything I see in those pictures: Blazing Star, Zero Wing, Raiden?

P.S. Check the "what's it worth" thread over on AO. FrancoB might be selling Elevator Action Returns which works on your new F3??

Aye, never heard of it before a quick Google. Looks good though.

It's supposedly absolutely BIBLICALLY GOOD. Expensive though.
    Right, some random guesses not based on anything I see in those pictures: Blazing Star, Zero Wing, Raiden?

Nope. Nope. Nope.
    P.S. Check the "what's it worth" thread over on AO. FrancoB might be selling Elevator Action Returns which works on your new F3??

Thanks for the heads up! Planned to get it in Tokyo with the PCB kits. Might have to get it in the UK now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Picture Perfect Hair Salon?

pictureperfect101309.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

SudAr.jpg

This is wrecking my head, I literally cannot come up with anything:(

Majoras Mask, please let it be

Nooooope.

I'm on the verge of putting ye all out of your misery. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards.

Has to be it.

Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards.

Has to be it.

Nope. I'm going out to walk my dog now. I'll be back in a bit and either one of ye has correctly guessed and won a holiday in Greystones plus 9 pesetas spending money!

...or I'll have to give out the answer.............. or drag it out a bit longer.

Just remember:

a) Say what you see.
    b) Look at all the clues I've given.
    c) Andrew76 WAS on the right track with his first guess.

Ciao! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Yellowhead?

wonderboy

dignity.png?t=1332362958
    IT'S DIGNITY!

wonderboy

Was thinking that at one stage but then what does that blue shape refer to. :confused:

So Gunhead was my first guess which was kinda on the right track - that mean it's head related?? Head over Heals isn't right either.

@pyong: if nobody gets it anytime soon then maybe leave it as a mystery and move on to someone else? You've looked at ALL the guesses so far i.e. Sonic is defo wrong? :pac:

I was thinking it had to be shmup related. Seeing as his mind works as below.

Master of the Universe

It WASN'T Sonic? Ah here! I was absolutely convinced that was it!

Pyong, you're an evil man. Is it something to do with that really obscure grail album you picked up recently? :p

I just scrawled an easy one in paint as a distraction from the absolute agony of trying to figure out the OP one!

pictionary.jpg

Right, you lot are not gonna get the answer any time soon it seems! :(

So here's the answer, and an explanation using my clues to form the answer (sort of).

A lot of Irish folk are deemed to have red hair (i think?) so taking that in to account, an alternative to red hair is Ginger. A slang word for Ginger is Ginga.

There's your first word:

Ginga

The blue object is a 'gem' (of a game). A blue gem being a Sapphire.

There's your second word:

Sapphire

So, put those together and you have:

Ginga Fukei Densetsu Sapphire

And here is the sealed copy of Ginga Fukei Densetsu Sapphire that I bought this morning. :)

bSHbe.jpg
    JsjM4.jpg

o1s1n, you're in luck, I put everyone's name in the randomiser and look who popped up (swear to God!). :)

w3xIv.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭ahyeahok

doodle hex? @Pyongyang
    edit : neva mind :confused:

I was thinking it had to be shmup related. Seeing as his mind works as below.

I love that video! :D

Master of the Universe

So here's the answer, and an explanation using my clues to form the answer (sort of).

A lot of Irish folk are deemed to have red hair (i think?) so taking that in to account, an alternative to red hair is Ginger. A slang word for Ginger is Ginga.

There's your first word:

Ginga

The blue object is a 'gem' (of a game). A blue gem being a Sapphire.

There's your second word:

Sapphire

So, put those together and you have:

Ginga Fukei Densetsu Sapphire

Heh, joke answer aside, what's the real one?

(If the above was in fact the real answer, just say Sonic - you'll receive less mail bombs :pac:)

Pyongyang that deserves a ban! :D

@o1s1n: is that gunstar heroes?

Heh, joke answer aside, what's the real one?

That was the real answer. :(

I guessed that too straight away. But I daren't answer in case I was right and everyone got mad n' stuff... :( :pac:

Master of the Universe

Pyongyang that deserves a ban! :D

I guessed that too straight away. But I daren't answer in case I was right and everyone got mad n' stuff... :( :pac:

Yep! That's it. I guess we need to find an area a little more obscure than my one and far far LESS obscure than Pyong's.
    That was the real answer. :(

So will I make the mail bomb out to Pyong? :p