Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prevent A Puncture - Dragons Den

• 21-03-2012 6:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

Prevent A Puncture - Dragons Den http://www.preventapuncture.ie/

This was on dragons den on sunday night and is on rte player if anyone wants to look.

They say that this is a permanent solution and not the same as the temporary stuff that you get in a spray can.

It only costs 65 euro for all 4 tyres and it seems like a good idea to me.

Has anyone tried this or anything like it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

There's nothing new about that, it's been around for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Been around since the early 90s! I remember bike shops having posters up for 'Slime' which did the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Sounds very good to me if it does what it's supposed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Going to get this done, can anyone see a downside ?

Joe10000 wrote: »

I'd prefer to know if I had a puncture in my tyres rather than have a potential weakness in the rubber hidden by goo holding it together. That way I can have the tyre removed and a plug and patch combo fitted professionally. No matter how good these puncture blocking products are, I wouldn't trust my car or my passenger's safety on the motorway at 120kph to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭James.

Anan1 wrote: »
    There's nothing new about that, it's been around for years.
    Owen wrote: »
    Been around since the early 90s! I remember bike shops having posters up for 'Slime' which did the same thing.

never heard of it and never seen any garages advertising it.

cant understand why its not more popular if it has been around for years.

is it not a good idea ?

i cant see any downside either, seems like a good idea to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Owen wrote: »
    I'd prefer to know if I had a puncture in my tyres rather than have a potential weakness in the rubber hidden by goo holding it together. That way I can have the tyre removed and a plug and patch combo fitted professionally. No matter how good these puncture blocking products are, I wouldn't trust my car or my passenger's safety on the motorway at 120kph to it.

Was thinking along the lines of that myself cos it sounds very similar to the gunk they give you with cars now instead of a spare as a temporary solution.

And then again this prevent a puncture probably doesnt go for blowouts either.

I also dont see how this would improve tyre life by 30% if its on the inside of the tyre ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Don't think this product has been around for years , what has been around is the aerosol that gives one a temporary mend but it is a different concept ;)

shawnee wrote: »
    Don't think this product has been around for years , what has been around is the aerosol that gives one a temporary mend but it is a different concept ;)

No, this product has actually been around for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

Waste of money.........Who gets punctures? I've never had a puncture and i remember reading the average person gets a puncture every 7 years.

robbie_998 wrote: »
    I also dont see how this would improve tyre life by 30% if its on the inside of the tyre ? :confused:

Snake oil. If there was miracle tyre saving properties to be had, don't you think one of the tyre manufacturers would have snapped it up, patented it, and used it on a slightly more expensive line of tyres to sell to the public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

How often do you actually get a puncture? In all my years I can only recalla couple of times I've had to change a wheel at the side of the road.

robbie_998 wrote: »

i was wondering about that part myself.
    they said on dragons den that it stops the tyre from losing pressure so you dont have to pump it up every now and then.
    it is always at the right pressure so maybe thats the reason ?

It adds unsprung weight, and I can't see how centrifugal force would allow it to protect anything but the outer margins of the inside of the tyre. It's also very expensive - i've been carrying a €5 can of tyre weld around for the last four years and i've never yet needed it - i'd already have spent €130 on the gunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

joeperry wrote: »
    Waste of money.........Who gets punctures? I've never had a puncture and i remember reading the average person gets a puncture every 7 years.
    Damn, I'm due so.
    My last puncture was 6 an a half years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

A con imo. It can't possibly extend tyre life, it may seal a small puncture but a major puncture, I doubt it and anyway, if the tyre is damaged, it's best you know about it and repair/replace it anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

...and this crowd reckon they'll make a fortune doing it, .........in dreamland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I've been (attempting) to sell this stuff for about 3 years, it works exactly as advertised, however no one wants to fork out money now for something that may happen in the future.

Costs about a tenner a tyre, or you can wait till you get a puncture and pay a tenner to have it repaired. Seeing that a tyre lasts a year or so and most people get a puncture every few years (I'm guessing), then your quite possibly going to got through 12 - 16 tyres before you get a puncture, and if you've used this on each if them tyres you've paid out €160+ already.

So taking the chance and paying the 10 to get puncture repaired seems a better option, and even if the puncture ends up destroying the tyre your still probably better off !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

My first reaction was also "Hasn't this already been invented?"

Also, like others, I never seem to get punctures. I've had those daft space savers for about 10 years and never taken one out of the boot!

I'm out.

keithob wrote: »
    Did any of the dragons invest?

Bobby Kerr

Infairness, they sell shed loads of these in the states, but it's to the motorhome/caravan market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Genghis

corktina wrote: »
    How often do you actually get a puncture? In all my years I can only recalla couple of times I've had to change a wheel at the side of the road.

Agree with you 100%. I have never had to call for roadside assistance either, but 10s of 1000s of
    people pay AA and others good money every year 'just in case'. (I don't myself).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Genghis wrote: »
    Agree with you 100%. I have never had to call for roadside assistance either, but 10s of 1000s of
    people pay AA and others good money every year 'just in case'. (I don't myself).

I dont have AA or anything like that myself.

but if i did i wouldnt use them just for a puncture.

I'd use the likes of the AA etc. for breakdowns or battery failure etc.

I do about 1200kms a week and spend about 2k a year on tyres and I am having an awful run of punctures at the moment so that's why I'd be interested.

I hadn't thought of the extra weight and not knowing I had a weekness in one of the tyres would be a concern too. Not having to check tyre pressures though would be a plus.

I wonder would the tracking and alignment have to be done again afterwards ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Genghis wrote: »

i'm an ex-AA member.No point now almost every Insurance Co offers breakdown assist. I used to call them out at least once a year, but thats life when you have a habit of touring the UK in 30-40 year old cars!

I used my tyre-weld the other day that I have carried around for years as an experiment to see what it would do for an annoying very slow puncture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I do about 1200kms a week and spend about 2k a year on tyres and I am having an awful run of punctures at the moment so that's why I'd be interested.

I hadn't thought of the extra weight and not knowing I had a weekness in one of the tyres would be a concern too. Not having to check tyre pressures though would be a plus.

I wonder would the tracking and alignment have to be done again afterwards ?

You're doing 1200km a week and thinking about not checking tyre pressures with this stuff in:eek:. With that mileage, the metric never sounds right, you should be checking daily for your own and everyone else's safety

I had stuff like this in my car years ago. Never got a puncture so can't comment on it saving the tyre.
    The one thing which sorta annoyed me was that it induced a slight shudder when starting off as it had to spread over the inside of the tyre after the first couple of km's I never noticed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

The video is potentially misleading as there is a big difference between the relatively 'clean' damage done by a nail and the destruction caused by the vertical shard of glass they show the car striking in the majority of the video.

I hit glass from either a bottle or drinking glass one night as I pulled in to a takeaway, I had literally seconds to move the car about 15m to a nearby forecourt before the tyre fully deflated so I could change the tyre without having to rely on a torch. It was an absolute hurricane of a night and my hands were numb from the winter wind and rain. But that torture aside, the fact is that the tyre was beyond repair with massive damage, and no amount of gel would have made it safe.

Just my 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭trixyben

i personally would prefer to know straight away if there was a lump of glass or a big screw in the tyre, doing 120kph on the motorway and a tyre blowing out wont be so much fun...

as someone said before if this product was so good the tyre manufacturers would be fighting for the rights of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Can somebody more technically advanced than myself put up dragon Nora's contribution to their pitch, it was funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

There was a place in ennis called banner ultra seal that did that 15 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭lostboy

theyve had this for years called ultraseal, a friend of mine tries to sell it, having done some work in a bike garage that handles tire changes it is safe to say i ****ing hate the stuff, the idea of longer life is that the tire runs cooler since its full of liquid but its just bs i would say, it has been argued that the tires running below normal running temps can be just a bad for a tire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

we have used this for a good few years

http://okosales.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

People I used to work for tried to sell something similar a few years ago.Couldn't sell the stuff at all. Can be an issue with tyre balance if it hasn't been put in correctly. Or I'd the car has been lying up for longer than 3 days. Plus it was slightly more expensive than that.
    But the biggest problem was that it didn't work. The gaffer put it in his tyres, and got a puncture within about 3 weeks. It was a nail that caused the puncture, and despite being told it would app a puncture of up to 8mm, didn't stop this.
    To top it all, the makeup of the stuff prevented the puncture being repaired.
    Needless to say, after his experience all enthusiasm for selling the stuff went out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

I love the way the nail magically falls out in their demo so the gunk can hit the air. This doesn't always happen, in reality the nail can stick in the tyre. So, you may still have to remove the nail yourself anyway. I wonder how sticky is this gunk, would it 'cement' the nail in place if left for a while?

For stuff that's more liable to punctures like construction/farm vehicles maybe it'd be worth it, IF it works.

Also, I'd love to know on what basis they're claiming to increase tyre life.:confused:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

ImOut-main.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Think they need to work on the marketing, maybe get a well known person to endorse the product.

I suggest Dana :rolleyes:

I'd imagine the increased tyre life is due to it constantly running at the right pressure but I've gone off the idea based on the probability that the gunk may mask a more serious problem with the tyre.

And for that reason I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

This stuff is great on slow moveing machinery used on site that are prone to punctures such as bobcats, loadalls, Jcb ect and WILL save you a fortune on tyre repairs
    But on jeeps, cars vans ect I would be very cautious
    From experience it can cause vibration through the steering wheel on certain surfaces and of the 5 people I know that have used it (2 4 wheel drives and 3 cars 3 people have taken it back out due to getting the steering shaking violently or just heavy vibration through different surfaces
    Also I would not feel comfortable travling at high speed on a motorway with a collection of nails or other objects stuck in the tyre It's integrity must be effected by this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

deandean wrote: »
    Think they need to work on the marketing, maybe get a well known person to endorse the product.

I suggest Dana :rolleyes:

I know you meant it as a joke but that is probably the products highest potential market...If they put an ad in "Womens Way","OK" or any other womens sh*tty mag's, they'd sell millions of the things :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Have to imagine that balancing would be a problem. Went to get tyres on the family car a few years back - alloys are the type that have a solid centre, so it needs a special adaptor to put it on the balancing machine. This was only discovered when the tyres had been replaced so the nice man assured me that the balancing powder that he used the whole time on truck tyres would work the finest - it'd find it's location once the wheel would start turning and it would be instantly perfectly rebalanced each time. Load of me bollix. Ended up getting the tyres removed and vacuumed out to get rid of the shaggin' stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Pity it's only safe up to 220 km/h. No good for me on back roads so.

Can somebody more technically advanced than myself put up dragon Nora's contribution to their pitch, it was funny

In fairness I think she had a remotely valid point in so far as manufacturers could do this in the factory, or the main dealers could do it pre sale.

I'm surprised any dragon invested, the lad who did reckons he might get Atlas on board. Money down the drain imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

RoverJames wrote: »
    In fairness I think she had a remotely valid point in so far as manufacturers could do this in the factory, or the main dealers could do it pre sale.

I'm surprised any dragon invested, the lad who did reckons he might get Atlas on board. Money down the drain imo.

Ah yeah but c'mon it was funny, she was even laughing herself :)

I thought it funnier when your man invested :pac:

lostboy wrote: »
    theyve had this for years called ultraseal, a friend of mine tries to sell it, having done some work in a bike garage that handles tire changes it is safe to say i ****ing hate the stuff, the idea of longer life is that the tire runs cooler since its full of liquid but its just bs i would say, it has been argued that the tires running below normal running temps can be just a bad for a tire
    I can't see how the liquid could be expected to cool the tyre - where would the heat go?

Anan1 wrote: »
    ........ where would the heat go?

From the tyre to the liquid presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mercenary2

it is illegal to repair a puncture on the side wall of the tyre so if you were to get one there and this stuff repairs it without you knowing the potential to getting a fine for driving on it would be a lot more than what a puncture repair would cost... i carry a tyre plugging kit they cost around €10 first time you get and will do 6 repairs simple to fix one with the right tool...much cheaper to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

I thought it funnier when your man invested :pac:

Ye, was funny when he was on about Atlas too. They're not going to touch it with a barge pole.

1. They'd screw themselves out of the puncture 'trade'.

2. Lots of disgrutled customers complaining about balancing/vibration issues.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

From the tyre to the liquid presumably.
    Sure, but where then? A tyre containing air & liquid isn't going to radiate away any more heat than one containing just air. The tyre with the gunk will take a little longer to heat up, but it won't run any cooler.

Buffman wrote: »
    Ye, was funny when he was on about Atlas too. They're not going to touch it with a barge pole.

Atlas obviously think differently to you buffman. They have Atlas on board selling this stuff. Check their website :

http://www.preventapuncture.ie/index.php/installation-centres/