Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I ordered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

kiffy wrote: »
    Got to be totally honest Grinds, haven't got a clue what your on about there.
    What the heck is a cotton make up pad? is them round yokes my Mrs wipes her make up of with? and do you use that thing instead of wick?
    Yup, and you only need a tiny amount.

Those pads have a top and bottom layer, and a useless cotton-mush middle.

Separate the top and bottom layers, dump the mush.

Cut the pad with the grain (you'll see a grain) into 2mm strips.

Each of those strips can be cut in half. You now have about a zillion wicks, from one half of a cotton pad!

Roll the wick to round it out, then you can either roll the coil around it, or thread it through a ready-made coil (I roll my coils around a 1-2mm mini screwdriver then thread the cotton pad through).

Don't dry-burn, cotton (as expected) burns.

All you have to do is keep it wet. Flavour's outstanding and the lack of work (in comparison to SS mesh) makes it an amazing lazy option. And so, so cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭kiffy

grindle wrote: »
    Yup, and you only need a tiny amount.

Those pads have a top and bottom layer, and a useless cotton-mush middle.

Separate the top and bottom layers, dump the mush.

Cut the pad with the grain (you'll see a grain) into 2mm strips.

Each of those strips can be cut in half. You now have about a zillion wicks, from one half of a cotton pad!

Roll the wick to round it out, then you can either roll the coil around it, or thread it through a ready-made coil (I roll my coils around a 1-2mm mini screwdriver then thread the cotton pad through).

Don't dry-burn, cotton (as expected) burns.

All you have to do is keep it wet. Flavour's outstanding and the lack of work (in comparison to SS mesh) makes it an amazing lazy option. And so, so cheap.

I see said the blind man, makes sense now, will try that when my coil that comes with it needs changing (hopefully not for 6 months ;))

But I will have to try a coil fairly quickly after getting it, I hope it comes with spare screws :D coz I ain't the best in the world at DIY, but determined to make this work :cool:

Cheers Grind

Unless they've started packing extra screws, it's extra screw-less, and the coil that came in mine was atrocious (not "meh" but "bwoargh") so you may be building quicker than you think.

Wet the wick with 5 drops of juice - that'll be all you need to tell if it's manky or not.

Unless they've started packing extra screws, it's extra screw-less, and the coil that came in mine was atrocious (not "meh" but "bwoargh") so you may be building quicker than you think.

Wet the wick with 5 drops of juice - that'll be all you need to tell if it's manky or not.

Probably an hour working on it I will be ordering another Kanger T3 :) But someone loves a trier.

Nah, you'll be grand. The size of the holes in the posts = the biggest problem.
    When you get done you'll feel like a micro-surgeon. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭BeansBeans

Efest 18650
    Efest 18590
    and 10ml of 24mg Texas Select Caramel Moovappe.

From Bargainvapour. I really, really wish they had 30mg bottles. Although i hate Texas Select bottles themselves :p The Dr. Love juice is just amazing, best cola I have tasted.

Kanger T3 and Vivi Nova from Bestshop. This is the last chance for the Novas :p bloody sick of the problematic things. Any issues with this, its the end of it :p

And besides that anyone know if the new UDCT tanks/cartos are being stocked by any of the Irish vendors, i may be blind or the possibility of the name variations. I must try new things! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

30ml tobacco praze 18mg - e-smokeireland

10ml each dekang winston, deluxe tobacco, dktab, flu cured tobacco, cuba cigar - thebestshop

was gona get some pipesauce or some t-juice as well but that'll have to wait until next week or the week after, not enough money on the card after the above and im not bothered walking back in
    should really get myself one of those new aib debit cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Dean_Mc

2 teeny tiny ego T batteries for stealth vaping!

Nah, you'll be grand. The size of the holes in the posts = the biggest problem.
    When you get done you'll feel like a micro-surgeon. Good luck!

Bloody hell micro surgeon is the right description to tackle this yoke, when I got it couldn't get over how much smaller it is than the website picture shows, nowhere near scale, and I see what you mean about them bleeding screws there tiny :eek:, going to have to wait until the wife gets home and use her glasses to take a pop at it, there like mini telescopes, but seeing how small the coil is and how tight for space to work with not feeling overly confident about making a success of it :(

the trick is to leave the legs very long on the coil, that way you wont destroy the coil itself when you're trying to get the legs into the small holes in the posts

Cheers Dig's spose I just twist off the excess when it tightened up.

yep
    i got a little screwdriver set for 1.50 in some poundland or equivelant shop that worked perfectly on those screws

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

A nail scissors is pretty handy for snipping off the excess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭donkey oatey

Got a 1000mah twist yetserday. I feel like I've stolen Harry Potter's wand it's so long. Abracadabra! Make my juice tastier!

Couldnt wait for the wife to come home so took out the original coil and had an attempt. First coil the wick fell out of the coil :mad:

2nd one Belisimo worked a treat, but didn't taste great with Swedish Fish, so put Almond juice on it and luvly Jublee. Piece of piss cake.

Biggest problem I found was feeding the coil ends through the 2 incredibly tiny holes, had to get a table lamp and shine on it but got there in the end.

5 turns and it still only came out at 1.7 ohms, next one must try another turn or 2, have to put voltage at 3.7 to stop burnt taste but fine at 3.7 and 1.7 (Thats 8 watts you know).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Just ordered the Kanger Twist starter kit tonight :)

kiffy wrote: »
    Couldnt wait for the wife to come home so took out the original coil and had an attempt. First coil the wick fell out of the coil :mad:

2nd one Belisimo worked a treat, but didn't taste great with Swedish Fish, so put Almond juice on it and luvly Jublee. Piece of piss cake.

Biggest problem I found was feeding the coil ends through the 2 incredibly tiny holes, had to get a table lamp and shine on it but got there in the end.

5 turns and it still only came out at 1.7 ohms, next one must try another turn or 2, have to put voltage at 3.7 to stop burnt taste but fine at 3.7 and 1.7 (Thats 8 watts you know).
    Woohoo, it works! Some man for the tiny holes...

Swedish Fish is a weird one. Needs to taste slightly cool for me to like it.
    Cartos always provided an average heat which is what I grew to love it on, but the rebuildables (and my insistence on multiple coils in rebuildables) robbed it of it's magic. Damn warmth.
    Kanger T3 fixed that. Cooled, but still oodles of vapour and throathit.
    Recoiled T3=permanently assigned to Swedish Fish.

Woohoo, it works! Some man for the tiny holes...

Swedish Fish is a weird one. Needs to taste slightly cool for me to like it.

If I didn't know I was vaping Swedish fish I could swear it was Vampires Kiss, another strange taste, but lots of ppl seem to love them, not gone on either.

Now I think I might have got the hang of it thinking about a Rebuildable tank next, this constant dripping is going to do my head in, but not much choice on the Irish sites, a couple on ESI ( Phoenix XL Rebuildble and AGA-T Rebuildable Atomizer) can anyone recommend either of them? Not going to try recoiling a Viva Nova or any other Carto that's what did me in last time as I could never get one to work, coil needed to be too small and kept shorting.

The Phoenix XL isn't a tank, just a large dripper. Holds a little over 1ml in the well.

The AGA-T is a bitch with SS, but fine with anything else.
    But it's BIG.
    And HEAVY.

Make of that what you will, it's still a pretty cool device.

The RTA by clockworks would be fairly fuss free and light, but is more expensive -twice the price unless you find one on UKV classies - than the AGA.
    Which is BIG.
    And HEAVY.

Bang-for-buck though, the AGA-T has it sewn up.
    Maybe wait for the AGA-S to appear? I think I remember ESI saying they were getting it. Might be imagining that.
    Smaller (and lighter, obv.), 2ml tank, same basic concept as the AGA-T.
    Depends how much juice you go through I guess.
    I'd be worried heading anywhere outside of work with less than 3ml in the tank.

The Phoenix XL isn't a tank, just a large dripper. Holds a little over 1ml in the well.

The AGA-T is a bitch with SS, but fine with anything else.
    But it's BIG.
    And HEAVY.

Make of that what you will, it's still a pretty cool device.

The RTA by clockworks would be fairly fuss free and light, but is more expensive -twice the price unless you find one on UKV classies - than the AGA.
    Which is BIG.
    And HEAVY.

Bang-for-buck though, the AGA-T has it sewn up.
    Maybe wait for the AGA-S to appear? I think I remember ESI saying they were getting it. Might be imagining that.
    Smaller (and lighter, obv.), 2ml tank, same basic concept as the AGA-T.
    Depends how much juice you go through I guess.
    I'd be worried heading anywhere outside of work with less than 3ml in the tank.

Cheers Grind's, will no way no how going to get involved with mesh wicks, might go ahead and get the AGA T.
    Hopefully the width and screws are bigger that the dripper I got.

Much more room to play around with.

The negative screw on one side (the "SS/Genni side") is much larger than the other side (the "everything else side") but you can put everything else where the SS is "supposed" to go as well.

The AGA has annoying miniature nuts on the positive post to contend with.
    Nowhere near as annoying as the Phoenix's tiny holes, but if you drop one, you'll be searching a while. Keep an empty matchbox to prevent such moments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

How about the Bulli? It can take either silica or mesh and its a million times easier to set up than genesis ones. The A2 TM hold 2ml of juice. There's the A2 classic as well.

You can set it up as a tank, dripper or cartridge feed.

one of us
    one of us
    one of us

i mean, yeah the bulli is quite good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Bubba9

I'm getting on great with the AGA-T but one man's meat...etc. A few weeks ago I picked up a standing magnifyng glass in Lidl. It has a lamp and sits there so that you can use both hands to work on intricate stuff...ideal for working on rebuildables. Think it was around 6 Euro...well worth it.

its been a few days since I played with the aga-t and im tempted to give it another go but i already agreed to sell it on to lucutus, worried that I actually do get it working properly and then I'll have to buy a new one

course I know i wont actualy get it working properly. genesis atomisers are the devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Bubba9

its been a few days since I played with the aga-t and im tempted to give it another go but i already agreed to sell it on to lucutus, worried that I actually do get it working properly and then I'll have to buy a new one

course I know i wont actualy get it working properly. genesis atomisers are the devil

Give it a week...all it will cost is a bit of wire and you can use the same mesh. Have a look at this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHsfdlGacTc

and do what he says about winding the top coil around the opposite way to avoid hot spots there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Calibos

Kiffy, Did you ever find a coffee flavour that approached the smokegreen carts? Mothers back from OZ and I want to move her to something better than the cig alike, as she still feels the need for a few real cigs a day at the trigger times (first one in morning, after dinner etc)

the t-juice java juice from ezsmoke is a very nice coffee vape

ill have the highbrow cappucino diablo on monday so i'll post what that's like then

Calibos wrote: »
    Kiffy, Did you ever find a coffee flavour that approached the smokegreen carts? Mothers back from OZ and I want to move her to something better than the cig alike, as she still feels the need for a few real cigs a day at the trigger times (first one in morning, after dinner etc)

Well I did but it's still a cigalike Green Smoke from the UK, also believe their carts can be bought in supermarkets along the west from Galway to Mayo.

Their coffee carts are lovely and their batteries are far more superior to Smoke Green, but have never found a juice to match them in the mod world of vaping, their Chocolate carts are lovely too, used to switch orders between them.

If your Ma wants to give them a go, I have 4 batteries, charger and a PCC she can have for cheap as their batteries are very dear in fact all their gear is dear, I have seen the errors of my ways and back full circle into mods and tanks :( a costly deviance from the path it has to be said :eek:

Well think I’ll go for the AGA T and see how I get on with that. Maybe I can give dig’s a few tips on it.

Tried re-coiling my dripper again today at work, just to make sure my last attempt wasn’t a fluke, and good lighting here at work. Didn’t start off great, cut my wick to size then stuck the ****ing needle right into my finger and bled like a pig, then when the air in the room changed from blue put it together with an extra turn (****ing tiny screw holes) and b jesus twas even better than the previous attempt (all bar the plaster on my finger a great success.)

It tastes really lovely with the Almond juice 18mg from healthier smoker, nutty taste on the inhale and a real creamy nutty taste on exhale at 4.6v and 2 ohm with the coil (that’s 10.6 watts you know :p)

Thanks for all the tips and help lads much appreciated ;)