Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Americans living in Ireland

• 20-03-2012 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

It came up in conversation with some friends recently that Americans in Ireland live a very quiet existence. Apparently there may be up to 15,000 of them here but we struggled to name more than a handful beyond Des Bishop.

Who are we forgetting about?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

uln wrote: »
    It came up in conversation with some friends recently that Americans in Ireland live a very quiet existence. Apparently there may be up to 15,000 of them here but we struggled to name more than a handful beyond Des Bishop.

From your estimation, 14,999 of them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

They came over here for a bit of peace and quiet. Let them be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Are we supposed to know them all by name or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

If they're quiet how do you know they are American?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

We have a few in college. After two years here they've taken enthusiastically to Irish slang and wander round merrily roaring "scarleh on yer ma", asking people if they're knackers and reciting all the Luas line stops as gaeilge, as if they're poetry. They're demented but sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

There's a man everyone calls "The Yank" who always seems to be in a pub in the town, but I don't think he's ever actually been to America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭the scrote

your after blowing their cover op,their a sleeper cell here for when the oil starts flowing they'll take over & bring us freedom & democracy. F*ck yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

My mate has about 3 yanks a day , he needs glasses and always has a sore wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

IMF??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

They're in hiding cos they've heard about the new septic tank tax.
    Des bishop better cough up, we know about you, ye fúcker!:)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm here. With a job. And an Irish wife. Put that in your pipe and smoke it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

They steal our fields :mad:

And they are tax dodgers and run their profits through offshore countries
    But since they do it here, they are welcomed. Welcome Yank :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

A Barman in the Bodhran in Cork is American, he's sound. My friends mam is American and he and his sisters all hold passports so that's 6. I know a Psychologist working here who is American. A fair number of staff in American Multi-nationals are Americans living here.

I know dozens of American students from the last 3 years or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Jedward.

I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Well remember there's quite a sprinkling of Americans in middle/senior management in the various multinationals and financial services companies.

I know a black american guy in the place where I work. I realise african americans are a minority in the USA anyway, but you don't seem to meet all that many working here. Thing is - he's doing a farily bog-standard job, not highly paid at all. I always expect americans in Ireland to be in ****-hot jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Pub on the Aran Islands called the American Bar

You might think some American visited the islands, fell in love with the place and decided to live there and open it

Not realy, it's just called the American Bar to pull in the Yanks and their tourist money.

No romance, just money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

if we are looking for quiet americans we should probably check where brendan fraser is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Well remember there's quite a sprinkling of Americans in middle/senior management in the various multinationals and financial services companies.

I know a black american guy in the place where I work. I realise african americans are a minority in the USA anyway, but you don't seem to meet all that many working here. Thing is - he's doing a farily bog-standard job, not highly paid at all. I always expect americans in Ireland to be in ****-hot jobs.

I'm Black American and I lived in Ireland. I was a student at TCD and there was another Black American in my course. Funny thing is, most Irish thought we were African, but the Africans pointed us out and said that we weren't anything like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

My wife is an American. BOO YAH!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

mikemac1 wrote: »

No romance, just money

The great unfortunate truth of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

I'm Black American and I lived in Ireland. I was a student at TCD and there was another Black American in my course. Funny thing is, most Irish thought we were African, but the Africans pointed us out and said that we weren't anything like them.
    Bloody racist africans , pay no attention dude , you are like everyone and just as equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I always see lots round Galway, particularly round college, and in particular during the summer when they come to study. There was a Californian guy in my class when I did my masters here.

Zachary Quinto, who plays Spock in the new Star Trek and was Sylar in Heroes, studied in Galway a few years back and worked in Java, a coffee shop in the city centre.

Bon Iver, singer-songwriter, also lived here a few years back (not sure if he was studying) and worked in a Vodafone shop in the Eyre Square Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

cloptrop wrote: »
    Bloody racist africans , pay no attention dude , you are like everyone and just as equal.

Haha.

It's true though. Black Americans on average are at least 12.5% to 25% European and some have 6.25% to 12.5% American Indian blood. Even in the States, those who are African immigrants distance themselves from Black communities. My ancestors were from western Africa but I am heavily mixed so to them, I just didn't "look" like them. That was what one Nigerian bus driver told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

My kids are American,as was my late wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Haha.

It's true though. Black Americans on average are at least 12.5% to 25% European and some have 6.25% to 12.5% American Indian blood. Even in the States, those who are African immigrants distance themselves from Black communities. My ancestors were from western Africa but I am heavily mixed so to them, I just didn't "look" like them. That was what one Nigerian bus driver told me.

Not to worry yiz all look to same to us honkeys :pac:

And ask that nigerian how many of his family have been killed by wildlife, him getting all uppity, pfft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

My wife is American.

She came to Ireland to work in a specialised healthcare field. She had no family or emotional conenction to Ireland. We met over a crowded dating website, got married, had some children. All is well.

She does feel a little homesick and one day we will probably move to the States, but right now we are settled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

uln wrote: »

What do you expect them to be doing? Running up and down the street chanting U-S-A! U-S-A! America No1! while firing their guns into the air or something?

Because you know some are not like that and most would likely fit easily into Irish society unnoticed except for a strange accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

MarkR wrote: »
    I'm here. With a job. And an Irish wife. Put that in your pipe and smoke it. ;)

They took our jobs ???

They took our jobs !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Vandy West

Birneybau wrote: »
    Jedward.

I think...

We will take Jedward if you take Michael Flatley by-gore-ah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Millions of them came here during the famine and integrated into society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

when the brits banned fox hunting we exported our resident americans so the british toff's had something big n juicy to hunt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

My neighbours cat is American, Minnie they call her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭veloc123

cloptrop wrote: »
    My mate has about 3 yanks a day , he needs glasses and always has a sore wrist.

Harry Palmer is it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Americans are full of ****, i knew one a few years ago in NUIG, he was a mature student he used to go on and on about how he was a big shot in America. Made it big in Hollywood and living in Beverly Hills........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Any American I've met here has been courteous and very likeable. Not overbearing as I expected.

Americans are full of ****, i knew one a few years ago in NUIG, he was a mature student he used to go on and on about how he was a big shot in America. Made it big in Hollywood and living in Beverly Hills........

So based on that single person, all Americans are full of s**t?

I've known a few Americans in NUIG and Galway in general, and by and large they're the opposite of the stereotypical loud American tourists who want to pay in dollars all the time.

They're just regular folk who don't really stand out from the crowd.

Ignore if your post was meant as a joke, seeing as a mature American student who studied in NUIG now is a Hollywood actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I think that it was Bob Geldof who said 'Irish Americans are as Irish as African Americans are African'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Its like everywhere some are some arent. Loads of Irish people are full of it too. I will say the Americans I've encountered in Ireland have been well educated and extremely well mannered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Martin Sheen, a great bunch of lad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Martin Sheen?

FTGFOP wrote: »
    Martin Sheen, a great bunch of lad.
    Martin Sheen?

I forgot about Martin Sheen! I was away the year he studied, my apologies to Swimming in a Sea.

So based on that single person, all Americans are full of s**t?

I've known a few Americans in NUIG and Galway in general, and by and large they're the opposite of the stereotypical loud American tourists who want to pay in dollars all the time.

They're just regular folk who don't really stand out from the crowd.

Ignore if your post was meant as a joke, seeing as a mature American student who studied in NUIG now is a Hollywood actor.

Nearly said you were trolled but then I read your last sentence. I think your last sentence is cheating, imho. :p

I'll hold my hands up and admit I put it there to cover my arse!

Something was nagging me, telling me that it was meant as a joke and it was based in reality, but I couldn't figure out who he might be talking about (I thought of Zachary Quinto buy he only became famous after studying in NUIG).

So I had my suspicions, but I bit anyway! :o

Didn't know about Zachary Quinto. It's mental to me, for some reason, that he worked in a coffee shop in Galway. (Why did they have to wreck Sylar?! That show was brilliant till they did that.)

I think Sheen looks thoroughly Irish whenever he's photographed in Ireland (must be the light). When I see photos of him going around Galway like a regular Joe he reminds me of my uncle.

Didn't know about Zachary Quinto. It's mental to me, for some reason, that he worked in a coffee shop in Galway. (Why did they have to wreck Sylar?! That show was brilliant till they did that.)

I think Sheen looks thoroughly Irish whenever he's photographed in Ireland (must be the light). When I see photos of him going around Galway like a regular Joe he reminds me of my uncle.

Martin Sheen is one of the most Irish-looking celebrities ever. It's hard to believe he was christened Ramón Antonio Gerardo Estévez :D!

Zachary Quinto is harder to imagine studying in NUIG as he doesn't look like the type of person you'd see on Shop Street on an overcast, blustery, drizzly Thursday afternoon!

Agreed, I've never met a bullshítting Irishman. Ever.

I always see lots round Galway, particularly round college, and in particular during the summer when they come to study. There was a Californian guy in my class when I did my masters here.

Zachary Quinto, who plays Spock in the new Star Trek and was Sylar in Heroes, studied in Galway a few years back and worked in Java, a coffee shop in the city centre.

Bon Iver, singer-songwriter, also lived here a few years back (not sure if he was studying) and worked in a Vodafone shop in the Eyre Square Centre.

Bon Iver are a band, FYI. Perhaps it was Justin Vernon you refer to.

It is. I call him personally Bon Iver as he has a bonny head and looks like an Ivor.

He also reminds me of that guy Jamiroquai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭muddled1

Hazys wrote: »
    What do you expect them to be doing? Running up and down the street chanting U-S-A! U-S-A! America No1! while firing their guns into the air or something?

Because you know some are not like that and most would likely fit easily into Irish society unnoticed except for a strange accent.
    Cripes! You read my mind.

Oh yeah, count me in. Some of us are very quiet. That's why stereotyoes don't work. :eek: