Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you define class?

• 20-03-2012 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Interested to see the opinions of people on here. First off, what class do you consider yourself to be? Working, Middle or Upper?

Also, what defines each class... as in what decides if a person if middle class or upper class ?

Is it a state of mind or a reality? If you can or could afford two holidays a year, can you be considered to be upper middle class?

"when you go to work in the morning, if your name is on the front of the building, you're upper class; if your name is on your desk, you're middle class; and if your name is on your shirt, you're working class."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

By typing "define class" in the address bar of Chrome and posting the first result.
    class/klas/
    Noun:
    A set or category of things having some property or attribute in common and differentiated from others by kind, type, or quality.
    Verb:
    Assign or regard as belonging to a particular category: "conduct that is classed as criminal".
    Adjective:
    Showing stylish excellence.
    Synonyms:
    noun. grade - category - kind - sort - rank - genus - type
    verb. classify - sort - assort - grade - categorize - range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

It depends where you sat in 'class' in school!

Back of the class ---> Working Class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Having undies with no skidmarks. Simple enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

When you don't think you have any money to go out at the weekend and then your friend calls over and says, "Hey here's that 50 quid I owe you."

Now that's class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I dont believe there are strictly defined 'classes' in Ireland. Money most definitely cant buy it for you as witnessed by our crass and vulgur celebrity culture.

Taking a dump on the jacks whilst reading the Sunday Times. Thats class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

I don't think the traditional working and middle class labels work anymore. We don't have a massive manufactoring industry. Are office workers in banks middle or working class for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I dont believe there are strictly defined 'classes' in Ireland. Money most definitely cant buy it for you as witnessed by our crass and vulgur celebrity culture.

Taking a dump on the jacks whilst reading the Sunday Times. Thats class.

It does seem to be more of an issue in Britain than here alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Upper Class - the Employers / Business Owners, monicle wearing, tea sipping,politician working, banker stealing ba$ards
    ( has a PA so doesn't require a phone )

Middle Class
    Own your own house / paying mortgage
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 30k
    own an iphone

Lower Class
    You work in Lidl, Aldi, Tesco, McDonalds and so on
    Claims the dole
    Steal
    etc. etc.
    own a nokia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Upper Class - the Employers / Business Owners, monicle wearing, tea sipping,politician working, banker stealing ba$ards

Middle Class
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 30k

Lower Class
    Claims the dole
    Steal
    etc. etc.

Stealing isn't limited to working class, whether it be small or on a grand scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Middle Class
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 30k
    own an iphone

Lower Class
    Claims the dole
    Steal
    etc. etc.
    own a nokia

Jasus. So if you work in Tesco you are "lower class"? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Well class is partly the extent of your economic capabilities and it is partly cultural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

<JimmyMageeVoice>Diego Armando Maradona</JimmyMageeVoice>

Middle Class
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 30k
    own an iphone

Lower Class
    Claims the dole
    Steal
    etc. etc.
    own a nokia

It must be fascinating to have such an uninformed Daily Mail view of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Steal

Nonsense.

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Jasus. So if you work in Tesco you are "lower class"? lol

Exactly.

Now if you worked in Dunnes Stores, Marks & Spencers or Donnybrook Fair I would upgrade you to Middle Class.

But if you work in Lidl, Aldi or Tesco then that's lower class.

I base the above statement on the quality of their food, and then rate the food based on class.

WHen I do this and then look at the employees in each shop I know my algorithms are correct.

Exactly.

Now if you worked in Dunnes Stores, Marks & Spencers or Donnybrook Fair I would upgrade you to Middle Class.

I base the above statement on the quality of their food, and then rate the food based on class.

WHen I do this and then look at the employees in each shop I know my algorithms are correct.

The trolling thread is over there >>>>>>

The fact that you used 'algorithms' in that manner makes me laugh though. Well done college boy.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Having a posh ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Exactly.

You had to google the word "algorithms" did'nt you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Exactly.

Dunnes Stores is middle class? :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The trolling thread is over there >>>>>>

The fact that you used 'algorithms' in that manner makes me laugh though. Well done college boy.

Have a little wiki read of this and educate yourself on the meaning of the word :rolleyes: :

While the word troll and its associated verb trolling are associated with Internet discourse, media attention in recent years has made such labels subjective, with trolling describing intentionally provocative actions and harassment outside of an online context. For example, mass media has used troll to describe "a person who defaces Internet tribute sites with the aim of using grief to families."

Anyone that tells anyone else that is trolling when they are not is unable to debate imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

The upper class - Keeps all of the money, pays none of the taxes.
    The middle class - Pays all of the taxes, does all of the work.
    The poor are there just to scare the sh*t out of the middle class!

K-9 wrote: »
    Dunnes Stores is middle class? :eek:

Ye - I like Dunnes, prices are fair, food is good, employees are v nice and most importantly for me it's Irish owned...

"i like x and it's irish" is not the definition of "middle class"

Have a little wiki read of this and educate yourself on the meaning of the word :rolleyes: :

I know the meaning of the word. That's why I laughed. As if you've written computer programs to test out your views which are clearly just something you've come up with of the top of your crazy little head.

Face it - you haven't a notion of what you're rabbiting on about. I know a guy that pulls in 60k+ as a CEO of a very successful company in New Zealand. Well guess where he worked 7 years ago? Tesco.

So what class is he in according to your algorithms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Class is defined by whichever ring you're wearing.
    Apparently :confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,474 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

In Ireland it's more a matter of behaviour than anything

Well - what would you base class on ?

I would have guessed Class is based on what you have and what you own and what you do ? this in term means :

What you own, house, car etc...
    Where you work & how much you earn ?

and after that where you purchase your clothes, food etc..

(Example) if you saw somone driving down the road
    One had lidl clothes and lidl bags and a lada, the other was driving a merc, diamonds hanging off her ears, with M&S bags

Ah you all know what NEVERMIND.

you're not smart enough to understand

I know the meaning of the word. That's why I laughed. As if you've written computer programs to test out your views which are clearly just something you've come up with of the top of your crazy little head.

Face it - you haven't a notion of what you're rabbiting on about. I know a guy that pulls in 60k+ as a CEO of a very successful company in New Zealand. Well guess where he worked 7 years ago? Tesco.

Pffft- Algorithms can be edited and adapted over time to suit the program just like anyone can crawl themselves out of lower and into Upper Class

Pftt - Noob
    Go back to wiki

Ah the words of someone who's given up because they realised they're talking out of their hoop.

It's farty music to my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Well - what would you base class on ?

I would have guessed Class is based on what you have and what you own and what you do ? this in term means :

What you own, house, car etc...
    Where you work & how much you earn ?

and after that where you purchase your clothes, food etc..

(Example) if you saw somone driving down the road
    One had lidl clothes and lidl bags and a lada, the other was driving a merc, diamonds hanging off her ears, with M&S bags

Ah you all know what NEVERMIND.

But you can have all the money in the world and not a shred of class ie the type of person that assumes the "lower" classes just sit on their hole drinking all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Free ball.

How you perceive what class you are is inconsquential.The judjment of others is what decides what class you are and if youre uncertain what class you are take a look at the letter at the end of youre pps number assigned to by the goverment. This should make things clearer to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Free ball. wrote: »
    How you perceive what class you are is inconsquential.The judjment of others is what decides what class you are and if youre uncertain what class you are take a look at the letter at the end of youre pps number assigned to by the goverment. This should make things clearer to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

In my mind it was always people from very big business or aristocratic lines of inherited wealth were upper class.

Doctors, Lawyers, Accountants and high professions like that are middle class.

Everyone else is working class. Which is Ireland is the overwhelming majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Stealing isn't limited to working class, whether it be small or on a grand scale.

Stiffler2 isn't that good with complex concepts in fairness to him.

He's amazing with algorithms though. He's a fuppin' wizard with them.

* Steps Backwards out of thread *

thread stinks of lower class anyway......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sindri wrote: »
    Well class is partly the extent of your economic capabilities and it is partly cultural.
    +1 Money plus education over time pretty much covers it. The money part being the most important.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

* Steps Backwards out of thread *

thread stinks of lower class anyway......

Translation: I can't hack this any more. I tried to wind them up but they all just mocked me so I'm running away and hiding while pretending to be superior.

Back to work AnonoBoy, those Lidl shelves won't stock themselves :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

its down to the person them selves , eg, morals , the way they behave, company they keep.

but thats just my opinion.

Back to work AnonoBoy, those Lidl shelves won't stock themselves :rolleyes:

You're the one that keeps saying they're leaving and then coming back for more mocking.

Now how about figuring out an algorithm that shows you how clueless your world view is and just how big your blindspot for facts is. There's a little project for you good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Has anyone mentioned a swimming pool full of champagne yet? (edit: and not the cheap stuff)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I wouldn't sneeze at sixty grand but it hardly seems commensurate with 'CEO of a a very successful company'.

You're the one that keeps saying they're leaving and then coming back for more mocking.

Now how about figuring out an algorithm that shows you how clueless your world view is and just how big your blindspot for facts is. There's a little project for you good lad.

Sorry - I find it difficult to read poor vocab / engrish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

It depends where you sat in 'class' in school!

Back of the class ---> Working Class

Really? In our school, people who were near sighted got to sit at the front. Those who were far sighted sat further back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Middle Class
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 30k
    own an iphone

Lower Class
    Claims the dole
    Steal
    etc. etc.
    own a nokia

What about:
    Middle Class
    Not on the Dole
    have a job
    earn over 28k
    own an iphone couldn't be bothered :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭yuppies

In my opinion, social class is just highly correlated with income, it isn't the determining factor. There are working-class criminals with more wealth than upper-middle class professionals. Class is more about behaviour, mannerisms, values, outlook, tastes, worth ethic, future-oriented actions and self-control and, in my opinion, appearance (even disregarding fashions worn ie. facial appearance, and a susceptabilty to being too thin or fat).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

There are folk who fancy themselves into whatever class they view themselves regardless of financial status. Solidly middle class fancying themselves working class for instance, or those without a pot to piss in who fancy themselves middle class. Then there is the proper upper class who are born and bred.

I wouldn't sneeze at sixty grand but it hardly seems commensurate with 'CEO of a a very successful company'.

Well it's quite a small company! And they've only been going for 4 years.