Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At what point did Socialists become something to rant about?

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 33,026 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh noez liberalism! ****ing lol.

I'm still amazed how these guys are blaming these problems on ireland being a socialist country despite the fact that Ireland isn't even close to being a socialist country.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

I'm still amazed how these guys are blaming these problems on ireland being a socialist country despite the fact that Ireland isn't even close to being a socialist country.
    It's called not being very sharp, not engaging brain sufficiently, believing droning soundbites etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Is that the best point you can put across? There is people who don't like liberalism in society believe it or not.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Lets be honest here Ireland isnt socialist and never was a socialist country regardless of peoples views on socialism.

Ireland is a populist country. Fact.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Is that the best point you can put across? There is people who don't like liberalism in society believe it or not.
    What's liberalism? Here, it tends to mean people who put thought into things. Yes, there are some people who hate the thought of social equality. But best to ignore.

I'm not anti capitalist or pro communist, but I'm not a psycho who takes issue with those who are less fortunate getting a helping hand.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Anyone ever think its funny how all the Loyalists are right wing, and its like Sinn Fein just chose to be left wing to be different.

All the working class think the same things anyway :L

What's liberalism? Here, it tends to mean people who put thought into things. Yes, there are some people who hate the thought of social equality. But best to ignore.
    How do you come to that conclusion? To state that being Pro liberalism is thinking it through is just nonsense. It is like the old cliche of people becoming more conservative when they get older. I don't think that is true to the extent in which people say it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrright like the fascists

Define liberalism so.

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrright like the fascists
    You serious? That isn't a very good point in this debate.

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrright, I see how you would have a problem with that point, just because you don't agree with something doesn't make it invalid...... hmmmm u remind me of someone called Ian...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Gawd
    Think left wing socialists, that paradise was achieved, it was rosey and red, it produced the rubix cube and death and repression galore. Mean while us evil capitalists produced the world you are in. Which is extraordinary free and egalitarian. The rights revolution of civil rights, feminism, gay rights, children's rights even animal rights did not happen in the east but happened in the evil capitalist right or west.

I say it again bow to whoever and be grateful to capitalism and freedom. You reading this, all of you, could apply yourself and be a high earning doctor, engineer, a business man, an inverter, a writer a whatever,,,,, or earn what a central government decides.

Now if you insist on socialism and you achieve a high wage, give it up and spend only an average Irish wage. But health wise do not spend an average world wage, because you would.....................

44leto wrote: »
    Gawd
    Think left wing socialists, that paradise was achieved, it was rosey and red, it produced the rubix cube and death and repression galore. Mean while us evil capitalists produced the world you are in. Which is extraordinary free and egalitarian. The rights revolution of civil rights, feminism, gay rights, children's rights even animal rights did not happen in the east but happened in the evil capitalist right or west.

I say it again bow to whoever and be grateful to capitalism and freedom. You reading this, all off you, could apply yourself and be a high earning doctor, engineer, a business man, an inverter, a writer a whatever,,,,, or earn what a central government decides.

Now if you insist on socialism and you achieve a high wage, give it up and spend only an average Irish wage. But health wise do not spend an average world wage, because you would.....................

1: seriously? when we have fascists in power? equal and free???
    2:lol u joking? bow to a teacher from Mayo, BOW? I bow to no one and certainly have more respect for the opinions of people who study and are experts in finance, health, education tourism, agriculture etc etc
    3:suuuuuuure cos if it wasnt for capatalism we wouldnt have..... wait its because of greed we are in the situation we are in
    4:yeah cos that means they can pay themselves whatever they like in govt, give themselves raises and to their "advisors" while they tax and tax and tax the poorer members of society, reduce widows pensions women/men who are frightened in their homes each and every night

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I will agree I have been lucky to be born in a good house but I would not consider myself to be wealthy or privileged. My family has worked very hard to achieve what they have. I have worked very hard to do well in school and get into university to pursue a degree that will get me a good job.

I do not support capitalism because I'm scared that without capitalism I'll lose what I have because in reality there are people on the dole who live more luxurious lives than I do. Now I will not deny there are many people in Ireland and across the world who live with very little and I will probably put myself in the top 20-30% of the world's population, like most other people in this country. But I will say most people in Ireland live better than I do.

The reason I support capitalism is because of the opportunity it gives people to be able to create the life they want to live. I do not want to settle for less. I want to be able to get a good job, make lots of money and then my dream is to build cars which one day I wish to achieve. Capitalism makes it possible for me to achieve my dream. I also want to help the poor, underprivileged and deprived people with the money I would make, if I ever get there.

Aah bless! Of course he's not as indoctrinated as the communists,Catholics,Jews,socialists, etc.

I'd imagine you're willing to die for your ideaology.
    While the lads count your money.

Aah bless! Of course he's not as indoctrinated as the communists,Catholics,Jews,socialists, etc.

I'd imagine you're willing to die for your ideaology.
    While the lads count your money

I would hope so: that he would die for his ideaology, for that is the true meaning of freedom no? and I would also hope (and think) that if it came to it.. "the lads" would not be around to count anything except the bullet holes in their heads (in which case they couldnt)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Mean while us evil capitalists produced the world you are in. Which is extraordinary free and egalitarian. .

So egalitarian that 1% hold 30% of the wealth in this country. Keep drinking that kool-aid, champ.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,026 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Gawd

I say it again bow to whoever and be grateful to capitalism and freedom. You reading this, all of you, could apply yourself and be a high earning doctor, engineer, a business man, an inverter, a writer a whatever,,,,, or earn what a central government decides.

I'm really not sure if this argument is sarcastic or just very very badly researched. I'm going to assume the later and ask exactly how long and how much struggling these rights took to achieve in the alleged "free" world. In the case of gay rights, gay marriage must have some in overnight, because it was banned when I went to bed last night.

And as for Children's rights?! Hah! They still aren't even allowed to choose not to study a certain language they neither need nor find useful!

(If you were being sarcastic, plese ignore - it's early)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Gawd

LOL, Capitalists and big business have opposed most equal rights legislation from the word go, any new rights legislation would always be bad for business, the only one I can think that they supported was liberal immigration to get cheap labour.

You are indeed correct that it is Western society that has strong equality and rights legislation, the common denominator being Socialist or Social Democratic parties especially in Europe. Eastern societies don't have as strong a tradition of Socialism, hence their poor record on rights. You keep on believing though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

czx wrote: »
    is he a socialist communist or soviet communist?

He'snot a soviet communist anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

The capitalist vs socialist thing is a total false dichotomy anyway; point to me any government in the western world that isn't made up of elements of both?

I mean, even through WWII and the cold war (the height of anti-socialist/communist sentiment) the US still had a public welfare system; I don't think there have been many (or any) countries with pure capitalism or socialism.

Some of the detailed arguments of specific capitalist or liberalist principles vs analogous socialist principles can be interesting (mainly as I don't know them in detail so is interesting hearing points of view);
    however, the "blah blah fécking socialists ruining our country", "*sarky comment on socialists/lefties*", or "capitalism gave us all x, y z, what has socialism ever done for us?" crap is boring as hell and pretty lazy thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭pawnacide

The capitalist vs socialist thing is a total false dichotomy anyway; point to me any government in the western world that isn't made up of elements of both?

Not a lot of socialist Tories knocking about these days and ye oldie Lib Dems aint exactly setting the Uk alight with their liberal agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Meh ill just put it in honest terms,

Libertarian capitalism entitles me to make as much money as i want, and not have to give any of it over to lazy greedy poor people who cant be arsed working , It means I dont have government interfering in descisions like only employing white men for management positions , It means I can own a gun and shoot dead anyone who attempts to break into my house without fear of prison. It means no government telling me what to do in whatever way and means I could keep nazi flags on my house (not because im racist , because its funny ) and have the media report to me exactly who did a crime and not have to come up with creative ways to tell you it was a foreigner. It also means getting rid of the dead weight in Ireland , foreigners coming in seeking dole , maybee I could wander through henry street and every conversation I overhear would be in english again , like it used to be.

Thats how it should be , and thats why socialism is bad , any even minor injection of socialism turns into totalitarian control, just look at that lad arrested in the UK for saying things on facebook , that is the control required for even partial socialism gone too far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Libertarian capitalism entitles me to make as much money as i want, and not have to give any of it over to lazy greedy poor people who cant be arsed working ,

Libertarian principles often collapse when it comes to things like paying for their own hospital care, paying for any kind of education, walking on roads paid for by the government, utilising other services such as the gardai, fire department, public transport and so on.
    means I could keep nazi flags on my house (not because im racist , because its funny )

Hilarious.
    Thats how it should be , and thats why socialism is bad , any even minor injection of socialism turns into totalitarian control,

It's hyperbole gone mad!

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

Libertarian capitalism entitles me to make as much money as i want, and not have to give any of it over to lazy greedy poor people who cant be arsed working , It means I dont have government interfering in descisions like only employing white men for management positions , It means I can own a gun and shoot dead anyone who attempts to break into my house without fear of prison. It means no government telling me what to do in whatever way and means I could keep nazi flags on my house (not because im racist , because its funny ) and have the media report to me exactly who did a crime and not have to come up with creative ways to tell you it was a foreigner. It also means getting rid of the dead weight in Ireland , foreigners coming in seeking dole , maybee I could wander through henry street and every conversation I overhear would be in english again , like it used to be.

Thats how it should be , and thats why socialism is bad , any even minor injection of socialism turns into totalitarian control, just look at that lad arrested in the UK for saying things on facebook , that is the control required for even partial socialism gone too far

Kinda sums up your belief system there.
    And then you go on to imply that the UK is socialist. Oh dearie me you are a silly billy!
    You haven't taken on or critically analysed anything substantial in the thread.