Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jedward do LA marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The duo claimed to have had no training and virtually no sleep before the race, and even claimed they hadn't eaten prior to the race.

For two people who are meant to be a role model to teens and kids, thats pretty irresponsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Don't see them listed in the results. So either the results are not complete or they ran with other names (if so thats pretty irresponsible too).

On the plus side they have always been fit and athletic. In school they did cross country and they did a schools mountain race. They've obviously kept the fitness vibe going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

Expect a swell in the number of children looking to join athletics clubs this week:D

Doing no harm in promoting athletics I guess, fair play to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

From the ahem jedwardgenius.com site, they say.. OK SO WE ARE ON THE WEBSITE 2012 Honda LA Marathon (March 18, 2012) BUT WE THINK THE REGISTRATION IS OVER BUT WE ARE GONNA DO IT ANYWAY!

I saw a photo but they've no race numbers. So did they just turn up and run the course? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Lets give them the attention they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Apparently they did - although there must have been some sort of allowance on behalf of the organisers as they received medals. There seems to be a lot of pictures and footage of them doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

4:03 and around 4:23, apparently. Edward was limping after the race.
    They'll probably garner more coverage that Maria McCambridge for this. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

These guys are heroes, they should do the Olympics. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

dna_leri wrote: »

You mean, these are not Olympic qualifying times? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

dna_leri wrote: »

To be fair the lads do have 1500m times that would beat 90% of posters here. Think one of them ran a 4:15 or 17.

shels4ever wrote: »
    To be fair the lads do have 1500m times that would beat 90% of posters here. Think one of them ran a 4:15 or 17.

Puts my delight at running 6km this morning for the first time ever in perspective when they get up out of bed and decide to run a marathon. :D

That justifies them to bandit in a race, with no training? :)
    Perhaps we should make a special exception, and lower the men's marathon standard, so they can represent us in the Olympics as well as the Eurovision? ;)

That justifies them to bandit in a race, with no training? :)
    Perhaps we should make a special exception, and lower the men's marathon standard, so they can represent us in the Olympics as well as the Eurovision? ;)

Nope not at all, they are fecken edjits, but what do you expect in LA.
    But once upon a time they were fairly good runners that a few clubs fought over. There are many posters on here who have run with false number, they jsut dont get caught (unless its woddle) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

you could get stuck on the ins and outs of it etc but bottom line is these two young men completed a marathon. if it inspires some younger people to get into running or just raises the profile of athletics a bit then well done to them.

much better than them falling out a nightclub, knocking up a glamour model on a one night stand, overdosing or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

promethius wrote: »
    you could get stuck on the ins and outs of it etc but bottom line is these two young men completed a marathon. if it inspires some younger people to get into running or just raises the profile of athletics a bit then well done to them.

much better than them falling out a nightclub, knocking up a glamour model on a one night stand, overdosing or whatever.
    yeah your spot on there bud. Some people in this thread really need to cop on. So what if there annoying and some people dont like them. Im sure if they did run without a number the organisers well knew about them running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Celebrities getting last minute tickets to a sold out event from the organisers is hardly news. Happens in sports and music all the time.

A very small part of the gross celebritiy culture that exists in the world.

They ran a marathon. They deserve as much praise as anyone else who finishes their first marathon.

Two of 'em knocking up one glamour model? :eek: Might be a more interesting story than two young lads running 4:03-4:23 marathons. I don't see anything wrong with it. I just don't see anything interesting about it either. Celebrating mediocrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I'd rather knock up a glamour model than run a marathon :) but to be honest I reckon if the lads were going to knock up a glamour model she would be a he :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Good on them both

Two of 'em knocking up one glamour model? :eek: Might be a more interesting story than two young lads running 4:03-4:23 marathons. I don't see anything wrong with it. I just don't see anything interesting about it either. Celebrating mediocrity.

This is the kind of post that initially had me fearful of posting in this forum.

I'm new to running - my training log is documenting my progress from being unable to run for a minute at a time to my current goal of running a 5 mile race in June. I ran 5 miles this morning in just under an hour and that was huge progress for me. From my perspective running a marathon is something to aspire to - never mind doing it in 4 hours.

The point I'm making is that what's mediocrity to you and most of the "elite" (I don't mean that in a disrespectful tone either) runners here is nowhere near mediocrity to beginners like myself. I know you don't see anything wrong with it but that doesn't mean there is nothing right about it either.

If I came on here in a few months time delighted with myself that I just ran a marathon in that kind of time I would hope that I would get a more positive reception from the established members of the community here than the lads have.

This is the kind of post that initially had me fearful of posting in this forum.

I'm new to running - my training log is documenting my progress from being unable to run for a minute at a time to my current goal of running a 5 mile race in June. I ran 5 miles this morning in just under an hour and that was huge progress for me. From my perspective running a marathon is something to aspire to - never mind doing it in 4 hours.

The point I'm making is that what's mediocrity to you and most of the "elite" (I don't mean that in a disrespectful tone either) runners here is nowhere near mediocrity to beginners like myself. I know you don't see anything wrong with it but that doesn't mean there is nothing right about it either.

If I came on here in a few months time delighted with myself that I just ran a marathon in that kind of time I would hope that I would get a more positive reception from the established members of the community here than the lads have.
    I'm not elite, or elitist and most certainly not putting down the achievement of a four hour marathon (though you have clearly interpreted it in this manner). My point is that these are two very talented individuals, who are a damn site faster than me and most other posters on this forum. So to go out and run a marathon in a time that is not befitting their talent and celebrating it, is in my humble opinion, unjustified. Celebrating their under-trained under-performed marathon belittles the achievements of every runner who has had to go out and do the miles and work for their four hour marathon.

Don't be fearful of posting in this forum. But also, don't be afraid to read someone's post and imagine you may be misinterpreting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Hold the front page! Pageant Messiah runs marathon in 4:03-4:23!! What a scoop!!!

Daily Mail articles for all!

Maybe they will set up a Mcmillian type pace calculator on their website, extrapolating from 1500 metre times. Basically a ~4.15 1500 is equivalent to a ~4.10ish marathon. Therefore anybody who can run a sub 3hr marathon could easssssssssssssssily run a sub 3 mile, OMG I always knew this track stuff was for pussies ;)

I'm not elite, or elitist and most certainly not putting down the achievement of a four hour marathon (though you have clearly interpreted it in this manner). My point is that these are two very talented individuals, who are a damn site faster than me and most other posters on this forum. So to go out and run a marathon in a time that is not befitting their talent and celebrating it, is in my humble opinion, unjustified. Celebrating their under-trained under-performed marathon belittles the achievements of every runner who has had to go out and do the miles and work for their four hour marathon.

Don't be fearful of posting in this forum. But also, don't be afraid to read someone's post and imagine you may be misinterpreting it.

Point taken :) but you have also misinterpreted me. My reference to elite runners was meant from my perspective where anyone capable of running a marathon is elite to me.

Hold the front page! Pageant Messiah runs marathon in 4:03-4:23!! What a scoop!!!

Daily Mail articles for all!

I'm going to take that as tongue in cheek. ;)

Point taken :) but you have also misinterpreted me. My reference to elite runners was meant from my perspective where anyone capable of running a marathon is elite to me.
    Damn, does this mean I'm not elite or elitist? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

hahaha that made me lol. I know you are new here, but you have had the misfortune to get the wrong end of the stick with the least elitist chap around.

Not too sure about that definition of elite either. In athletics, elite always means top competitors (suspect you might know that). The matchstick men who run the marathon, do the TV interview, shower and have have a quick meal...all before Krusty crosses the line.

PS FWIW - If jedward ran 2:15 I wouldnt be impressed, as far as those two are concerned I am unimpressable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

I'd rather knock up a glamour model than run a marathon :) but to be honest I reckon if the lads were going to knock up a glamour model she would be a he :)

you make a good point!

Not too sure about that definition of elite either. In athletics, elite always means top competitors (suspect you might know that). The matchstick men who run the marathon, do the TV interview, shower and have have a quick meal...all before Krusty crosses the line.
    Oi! Less of that.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

Damn, does this mean I'm not elite or elitist? :D

You're even better than that, look at all the people you've helped with their Garmins.
    You're the King of the Garmins! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

hahaha that made me lol. I know you are new here, but you have had the misfortune to get the wrong end of the stick with the least elitist chap around.

PS FWIW - If jedward ran 2:15 I wouldnt be impressed, as far as those two are concerned I am unimpressable.
    Thats you bud:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

there the feckers whove been stalkin DP to pace dublin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Heros.

Ah I see everyone here who is a regular entrant to long races / marathons etc as elite.

Put it this way. As the matchstick men are finishing desert and heading home, and as Krusty is crossing the finishing line, the likes of me would be getting an eviction notice from the council for staying at the 5 mile water station for too long. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Celebrating mediocrity.

Isn't that what we all do on A/R/T though ;):D

On the topic of Jedward. Their marathon times are not impressive, but in all honesty, if they weren't busy polluting the ears of 12 year old girls, and actually bothered with athletics I'm sure they'd be running under 2:40 for the marathon. They are/were reasonably talented runners by all accounts.

The big crime however in all of this is the fact that great artists throughout our country, and indeed the world, who will never make it in the music industry while these guys are making fortunes and they can't even remotely sing. I've never seen such talent as I saw in the bars in Nashville on a weekday afternoon and even the best of those guys will never be seen outside of that city, or state if they are extremely lucky. Same in New Orleans and Memphis by all accounts. Genuine talent is a dime a dozen in those places, while all these chancers have is bizarre hair! Of course this is a discussion for a totally different thread, but when somebody mentions Jedward I can't help but have a good oul rant. :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Don't be fearful,

Myself like many others started running by being barely able to run for more the 30sec non-stop, progressed to C25k and other events, but thats not to say Krusty will come on here and belittle you for just being able to run a 5km or 10km.

Infact from my experience the opposite is true, people here that run Ultramarathons for fun offer some great encouragement and advice to those starting off.

This thread is somewhat different because to many it reads like a PR stunt and tbh who can blame them for thinking it,

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Put it this way. As the matchstick men are finishing desert and heading home, and as Krusty is crossing the finishing line, the likes of me would be getting an eviction notice from the council for staying at the 5 mile water station for too long. :pac:

haha,

I have to say I have alot of respect for those that stay out running for so long as there is a point for everyone where its not about the body making it to the finish its about the mind.

When I did my first marathon I finished at 4hrs 30min odd, I went got food and then started walking to the hotel, it was pouring rain and at this stage it was 6hrs since the start gun and still people were crossing the finish.

6hrs, over 2 of which were in the rain, not easy and alot of respect for those that kept on going to the finish.

04072511 wrote: »
    The big crime however in all of this is the fact that great artists throughout our country, and indeed the world, who will never make it in the music industry while these guys are making fortunes and they can't even remotely sing. I've never seen such talent as I saw in the bars in Nashville on a weekday afternoon and even the best of those guys will never be seen outside of that city, or state if they are extremely lucky. Same in New Orleans and Memphis by all accounts. Genuine talent is a dime a dozen in those places, while all these chancers have is bizarre hair! Of course this is a discussion for a totally different thread, but when somebody mentions Jedward I can't help but have a good oul rant. :D

True but most 12 year olds don't want to hear songs about living in a trailer park and sleeping with your sister.

I'd love to know how Jedward are feeling today. I bet they are walking around like John Wayne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I'd love to know how Jedward are feeling today. I bet they are walking around like John Wayne.

apparently they ran in swimwear, so have serious rash to go with the cramped legs

True but most 12 year olds don't want to hear songs about living in a trailer park and sleeping with your sister.

As a result of the marathon or they got that glamor model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

I bet they are walking around like John Wayne.

hahahahaha :D

too....many....jokes....must.....resist.....

As a result of the marathon or they got that glamor model?

maybe Louis got his hands on them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

RayCun wrote: »
    apparently they ran in swimwear, so have serious rash to go with the cramped legs

Looks more like tri gear
    jedward-marathon-i_1030785t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

We all knew kids at school who loudly proclaimed that they had done NO STUDY and were dreading the exams and acted surprised when they managed good results.

I am guessing John and Edward were a little bit more prepared than they admitted.

huskerdu wrote: »
    We all knew kids at school who loudly proclaimed that they had done NO STUDY and were dreading the exams and acted surprised when they managed good results.

I am guessing John and Edward were a little bit more prepared than they admitted.

No way, I'd be surprised if they did any running training. Due to their age and relative activity (mentalness) I'm sure they could have ran those times with no specific running training. I'd say they are in bits now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

One thing that I always noticed with the lads was their energy and bounce. They seem very athletic, springy and anatomically suited to running and jumping. And, they did did do pretty well in track whilst in school, didn't they, as said here. Plus, they are young, always on the go, and don't drink or smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

If one finished 20 mins after the other that must have been the farthest they've been apart in years. Unless they both got to the finish together and just goofed around one each side of it, putting other people off the idea of finishing.

Fair play to them. There's worse things to do in LA. And they got their name in the Metro again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

No way, I'd be surprised if they did any running training. Due to their age and relative activity (mentalness) I'm sure they could have ran those times with no specific running training. I'd say they are in bits now though.
    I thought this was one medium that would be free from the influence of Louis Walshs sex toys.Alas I was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Fair play to them. They could have been in the papers for a lot worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

baza1976 wrote: »
    Fair play to them. They could have been in the papers for a lot worse

Like their music.