Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do you celebrate St. Patricks Day?

• 17-03-2012 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

This is a question that has been on my mind today that I thought I'd ask some of the people in AH about.

Mods. This is simply out of curiosity, and it would be best if it were left in AH because I am seeking general opinion on this subject.

St. Patrick historically was one of the key figures in bringing Christianity into what was then pagan Ireland.

I'm just wondering what is the purpose of St. Patrick's Day is or is supposed to be in 2012 and why you think this is the case. Is it about St. Patrick or what he ever achieved in life, or is it about something else? If in the event that it is about something else is it reasonable that we call it St. Patrick's Day anymore in 2012?

Genuinely curious to hear some of your opinions on this.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

philologos wrote: »
    This is a question that has been on my mind today that I thought I'd ask some of the people in AH about.

Mods. This is simply out of curiosity, and it would be best if it were left in AH because I am seeking general opinion on this subject.

St. Patrick historically was one of the key figures in bringing Christianity into what was then pagan Ireland.

I'm just wondering what is the purpose of St. Patrick's Day is or is supposed to be in 2012 and why you think this is the case. Is it about St. Patrick or what he ever achieved in life, or is it about something else? If in the event that it is about something else is it reasonable that we call it St. Patrick's Day anymore in 2012?

Genuinely curious to hear some of your opinions on this.

At this stage it's mostly just a celebration of Irish culture moreso than St Patrick himself (like an Irish 4th of July). That said, there's still lots of people who celebrate it as a holy day - mostly older folk though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Not that anyway :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Because the Irish emigrants in America celebrated it then that came back here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bubs99

We celebrate St. Patricks Day because of what he did (or so they say) and because he is the Patron Saint of our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Its a part of our history & folklore and imo should be celebrated enthusiastically by all Irish people everywhere, Not many countries have a day that is so well know around the world of there own to celebrate like Ireland does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

realies wrote: »
    Its a part of our history & folklore and imo should be celebrated enthusiastically by all Irish people everywhere, Not many countries have a day that is so well know around the world of there own to celebrate like Ireland does.

What is a part of the history and folklore, and what should be celebrated? (St. Patrick bringing Christianity into Ireland or something else?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Its basically "Ireland Day" as far as most people are concerned.

Myself and many other people generally don't see it as a religious day any more but more of a celebration of Irishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Probably not the best place to ask people about anything serious, but you never know.;)

Or so they say anyway, but those accounts are very questionable and open to different interpretations. Rather like the so-called scripture, which is a jumble of hashed and re-hashed stories that have been carefully edited and spun for power-political reasons, but which some eejits take as literal, precise fact and actually consider to be a direct message from our invisible, all-knowing and all-controlling friend the sky fairy.:rolleyes: Whether or not bringing an alien belief system, one largely formulated by Middle Eastern goat-herders, into this country was a good thing is likewise a big question. I have read somewhere that the druidic belief system that existed earlier were more in harmony with nature than Christianity. The advent of the alien religion also meant the de facto enslavement for the best part of two millennia of women, who had been the priests and healers before the new religion arrived.

IMO, it has a religious dimension for some old and old-fashioned people, but for most it's a day to have fun, socialise, get pissed ... We might as well call it St. Patrick's Day, as that's what we have been used to for a long time and who could think of anything else that would catch on any time soon? Unless those scholars in Cambridge are correct and we eventually get used to calling it Slave Trader Day.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

An excuse to get pissed and be patriotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I celebrate it because I'm not allowed celebrate three Christmas days,what was the first question again Miss ?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Bubs99 wrote: »
    We celebrate St. Patricks Day because of what he did (or so they say) and because he is the Patron Saint of our country.

What's this "we" business Bubs? I know I don't celebrate it for any reasons to do with St. Patrick and I don't know anyone who does. I'm sure there are some that do but they're not in my bunch of "we".

In much the same way I celebrate christmas: it has nothing to do with Jesus for me.

It's just a handy peg to put the coat on so I can have a celebration.

i dont really celebrate it

glad for an extra day off though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I don't. I don't agree with its original purpose, or its contemporary one.

What is a part of the history and folklore, and what should be celebrated? (St. Patrick bringing Christianity into Ireland or something else?)

The history for me is what I was taught in school about St patrick and how he brought christianity to Ireland and the folklore would be that story about how he drove all the snakes out from Ireland,:rolleyes: For me its just a celebration of being Irish and for a day the small country of Ireland is in the news worldwide for a happy reason and everyone can be Irish for the day if they so wish:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Sisko wrote: »
    Its basically "Ireland Day" as far as most people are concerned.

Myself and many other people generally don't see it as a religious day any more but more of a celebration of Irishness.

Fair enough, but that kind of makes me wonder what specifically about being Irish is worth celebrating. Why should I be thankful that I was Irish, over being Polish or Botwsanan for example.
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Probably not the best place to ask people about anything serious, but you never know.;)

Let's give it a try.
    Or so they say anyway, but those accounts are very questionable and open to different interpretations. Rather like the so-called scripture, which is a jumble of hashed and re-hashed stories that have been carefully edited and spun for power-political reasons, but which some eejits take as literal, precise fact and actually consider to be a direct message from our invisible, all-knowing and all-controlling friend the sky fairy.:rolleyes: Whether or not bringing an alien belief system, one largely formulated by Middle Eastern goat-herders, into this country was a good thing is likewise a big question. I have read somewhere that the druidic belief system that existed earlier were more in harmony with nature than Christianity. The advent of the alien religion also meant the de facto enslavement for the best part of two millennia of women, who had been the priests and healers before the new religion arrived.

We have documents written by St. Patrick himself such as his Confessions. Here's a Wikipedia entry on what he wrote.

I'm more than happy to discuss whether or not bringing the Christian Gospel into the country was a good thing, but the moderators mightn't be the most pleased.

Your claims about the Bible being a fumbled together work, simply do not match up with what evidence we have on the basis of the New and Old Testament manuscripts.
    IMO, it has a religious dimension for some old and old-fashioned people, but for most it's a day to have fun, socialise, get pissed ... We might as well call it St. Patrick's Day, as that's what we have been used to for a long time and who could think of anything else that would catch on any time soon? Unless those scholars in Cambridge are correct and we eventually get used to calling it Slave Trader Day.:pac::pac:

The question is why do we call it St. Patrick's Day rather than a drink because I'm Irish day. Not that I'm opposed to people having a pint or two, or enjoying themselves, but it's valid to ask what's the point in it and why do we call it the way we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I celebrate the extra day off work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I hate it. It's drunk teenager in barely any clothes day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Barely any clothes and probably one of these. I despair.

http://www.dealz.ie/images/4198/original/irish-sexy-garter.jpg

Fair enough, but that kind of makes me wonder what specifically about being Irish is worth celebrating. Why should I be thankful that I was Irish, over being Polish or Botswana for example.

Let's give it a try.

We have documents written by St. Patrick himself such as his Confessions. Here's a Wikipedia entry on what he wrote.

I'm more than happy to discuss whether or not bringing the Christian Gospel into the country was a good thing, but the moderators mightn't be the most pleased.

Your claims about the Bible being a fumbled together work, simply do not match up with what evidence we have on the basis of the New and Old Testament manuscripts.

The question is why do we call it St. Patrick's Day rather than a drink because I'm Irish day. Not that I'm opposed to people having a pint or two, or enjoying themselves, but it's valid to ask what's the point in it and why do we call it the way we do.

It wasn't always a big drinking day afaik back in the 70,s all pubs were closed on st patrick's day,Bit like good friday now and we all know what way that is heading :)

To be corrected ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

jokettle wrote: »

Barely any clothes and probably one of these. I despair.

http://www.dealz.ie/images/4198/original/irish-sexy-garter.jpg

Yeah they were all wearing them. The girls were very big as well. Obese and showing loads of flesh.

Not a great image for Ireland - drunk obese teenagers wearing fúck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

So Spricket24 made a youtube video today about Paddys day and how Americans just celebrate by drinking and not for religious reasons, so they must think we treat this as a religious event, I've never thought of it that way.
    I don't like the drinking aspect of any holiday as anywhere is always full of kn0bs, If I had children I would celebrate it again for the carnival aspect of it, I would like to bring them to the dublin parade or get involved in a community project so its for the kids really.

Oh and Shamrock shakes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Gav.80

its more known as a drinking day than a religious event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Because I like drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭davetherave

Why do you celebrate St. Patricks Day?

I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

im not celebrating it cause im on call :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

do ulster prods celebrate St Patricks day??

or is it just for micks* ??

*irish catholics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

For the snake pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Why should I be thankful that I was Irish, over being Polish or Botwsanan for example.
    You get to have a gigantic penis.

For myself, I like St Paddy's for the loose women with a daddy complex who can touch the backs of their heads with the soles of their feet.

Next question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I don't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

A religious holiday which has been forgotten by people. Shame really. A holiday which has abandoned its traditional meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Is feider linn naomh pádraig!:D

KeithAFC wrote: »
    A religious holiday which has been forgotten by people. Shame really. A holiday which has abandoned its traditional meaning.

'Hic' 'scuse me Keith.

mattjack wrote: »
    'Hic' 'scuse me Keith.
    A holiday about a Christian for the Christian people on the Island of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I'm Irish,I'm proud to be Irish, St Patricks Day is our National Day. So I choose to celebrate it.

We're a great bunch of lads really :p

A what, what wha ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Been in bed most of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Thankfully many people in the Republic are no longer as obsessed and preoccupied with religious matters as they clearly are in NI.

Agricola wrote: »
    Thankfully many people in the Republic are no longer as obsessed and preoccupied with religious matters as they clearly are in NI.
    This is true but I do think it is important to remember the traditional values and the meaning of holidays. I don't think that should be taken away from the Christian people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Living beside a park and watching a gang of teenagers drinking non stop all afternoon - sad. All in the name of St. Patrick....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

It was great to see Irish and foreign visitor alike celebrating something uniquely Irish today, it made me feel proud that we have one day in the year to show the world how Irish we are. Its non-religious too!

And yes the minority of home made degenerates do spoil it for us, but for the vast majority its a day out to celebrate our proud nationality(for our pc brigade..of all colours!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

....why would that be a shame as most of these people who have forgotten are not religious.

saa wrote: »
    ....why would that be a shame as most of these people who have forgotten are not religious.
    A shame because it is being turned into something it isn't.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A shame because it is being turned into something it isn't.

Like trees into paper?

Sand into glass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Because it's a day to honour the birth of a fellow Welshman who became the Saint of Ireland ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Getting ****ed up on cheap drink, wondering what the hell happened tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

scudzilla wrote: »
    Because it's a day to honour the birth of a fellow Welshman who became the Saint of Ireland ;)
    As if it wasn't enough that ye gave us Catherine Zeta-Jones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

This is true but I do think it is important to remember the traditional values and the meaning of holidays. I don't think that should be taken away from the Christian people.

People forget about religious stuff all the time.

How many people in this thread could name one Celtic God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭CdeP

Why do the Olympics retain the association with Olympia when the location changes every four years? Names endure, OP.

For most people around the world, St. Patrick's Day, for better or for worse, is no longer a celebration of the life and achievements of St. Patrick but of Irish culture.

People forget about religious stuff all the time.

How many people in this thread could name one Celtic God?

Henrik Larsson :D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

I used to get half cut on homemade Irish Coffees back in
    the day before lunch until the ex dumped me.