Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much is this worth ?

• 16-03-2012 9:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭

lads,

just a rough estimate.

XPS M1730
    17" FULL HD etc. 1920 x 1200
    6Gb ram
    CORE DUO EXTREME X7900
    HDD1 SSD 80gb
    HDD2 1TB raid
    Blue ray r/w
    Graphics 9800M GTX Sli 2gb

This eats through practically anything.

have not done any 3d mark stuff but have played COD MW3 and batman gotham city etc and ran all maxed out

just might be time to sell as dont really use it much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

just might be time to sell

The time to sell it might have passed already, at least for a decent price.

The CPU is outperformed by any mid-range Core i3, the GPU doesn't support DirectX 11.

It's pretty good stuff a'ight, but a 4-5 yrs old gaming laptop out of warranty, it's pretty much impossible to put a price tag on this one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

got 2 year xps warranty, cpu can be upped to a x9000

if you put a x9000 into it i am pretty sure it would bench mark as good or better than many many systems out there... (desktops included!).

the current windows score which is pretty hard to get a good score, is almost 7.

which is ridiculous for a laptop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

if you put a x9000 into it i am pretty sure it would bench mark as good or better than many many systems out there... (desktops included!).

Which costs another 200 Euro and is still only a medium range CPU by today's standard (for example, a Core i3-2310M scores 50% better in CPU benchmarks), hardly a worthy investment, considering a PassMark improvement of 8% over the x7900.
    the current windows score which is pretty hard to get a good score, is almost 7.

WEI depends foremost on video performance (mediocre modern CPUs score ridiculously high there and SSDs anyway). And the sli GPU is still up to par with a modern top card, no doubt, yet it doesn't support DirectX 11.

Also, DDR2 RAM performs still very good in WEI but up-to-date memory benchmarks tell a different story.

The top class GPU alone doesn't save the day when the CPU and memory performance are not up to standard anymore.

Simply put, a 4 yr old high end 2,000 euro laptop (no matter how much you invest in upgrades) is no match for the performance of a modern medium range 1,000 Euro gaming laptop. In order to sell it you'll have to go significantly lower than that because we're still talking big bucks here for most and those who can afford to spend this amount of money rather opt for a new machine than an aging 2nd hand model.

Having said that, it is still a very good machine but if you really want to sell it, you will not likely get a decent price for it. Better use it yourself for another year or two.

i very much doubt a gaming laptop for a grand would get any better bench marks than my one to be honest, you would have to go well over 1000eu IMO.

doubt i will sell it as i would be spending 2,000eu for a laptop to blow this away in reality.

points on memory and cpu being bottle knecks are well taken though.

my take is that you would need a significant purchase to get a laptop to out perform this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Definitely nothing more than €500, maybe €400-€450 would be good for it. You could easily beat it with a laptop for €600 if you waited for a good deal on sale. And you have to factor in that it's not new. My laptop is about as good, if not better (excluding the SSD) and I got it for €389.

i very much doubt a gaming laptop for a grand would get any better bench marks than my one to be honest, you would have to go well over 1000eu IMO.

Then have a look at the Acer Aspire 7750G-2678G87Bnkk (price around 1,000 Euro)

17,3" CineCrystal Display
    Core i7 2670QM / 2.2 GHz (up to 3.1 GHz w TB)
    8 GB RAM
    Radeon HD 6850M
    120 GB SSD Solid State Drive
    750 GB HDD
    DVD SuperMulti DL

The processor scores appr. 4 times higher with PassMark, the HD 6850M although not quite high-end beats a single 9800M GTX hands down.

4v5j.jpg

GarIT wrote: »
    Definitely nothing more than €500, maybe €400-€450 would be good for it. You could easily beat it with a laptop for €600 if you waited for a good deal on sale. And you have to factor in that it's not new. My laptop is about as good, if not better (excluding the SSD) and I got it for €389.

dont think you have any idea what your talking about tbh, lol at your 389eu laptop can out perform this.

for 500eu i would rather pull my eyes out backwards than sell it.

furthermore not a hope in hell would a new laptop for 600eu better than this.. give me some examples.

Torqay wrote: »
    Then have a look at the Acer Aspire 7750G-2678G87Bnkk (price around 1,000 Euro)

17,3" CineCrystal Display
    Core i7 2670QM / 2.2 GHz (up to 3.1 GHz w TB)
    8 GB RAM
    Radeon HD 6850M
    120 GB SSD Solid State Drive
    750 GB HDD
    DVD SuperMulti DL

The processor scores appr. 4 times higher with PassMark, the HD 6850M although not quite high-end beats a single 9800M GTX hands down.

9800GTX Sli is miles better that this, have you any idea how much a 9800GTX M Sli costs even.

and no, it does not beat a single 9800M GT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

People are trying to help man. Laptops are a disaster when it comes to sell them. If you think it's worth more than 500 pop it up on adverts and see what happens.

Imo, you'll be lucky to get 400 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

GarIT wrote: »

dont think you have any idea what your talking about tbh, lol at your 389eu laptop can out perform this.

for 500eu i would rather pull my eyes out backwards than sell it.

furthermore not a hope in hell would a new laptop for 600eu better than this.. give me some examples.

You obviously dont know what your talking about, the graphics card mentioned earlier outperforms your one, check it yourself, it doesn't matter how much it cost you. Anyway for the €389 I got a quad core i5, dual graphics cards intel hd and a 330m gt, graphics are slightly worse but they can be devided to work on seperate things at the same time so the 330 can concentrate on one thing while the intel graphics run windows, the processor is much better, I upgraded to 8gb of ddr3 for €60, it came with 4gb, standard hdd, full HD screen €50 for a blu ray drive. I'll find some examples later of better laptops for 600, dont come on here looking for advice and then put down the people that try to help you

Don't be so ignorant and stuck up about your laptop, just because someone values it at less than you feel its worth. The price of a laptop at a set performance halves every 18 months, never mind factoring in that its not new.

Gaming laptops deprecate even faster because if there not the best nobody wants them.

have you any idea how much a 9800GTX M Sli costs even.

That is not the point. The price back then is of little or no relevance as you now get faster modern cards with DirectX 11 support, a factor quite important for gamers.
    and no, it does not beat a single 9800M GT.

No?

bdNFD.jpg

I was going by notebook review* (so i stand corrected) if thats the state of affairs in Ireland with laptops I think its fair to say this wont be going anywhere anytime soon. :rolleyes:

and putting up with this nonsense doesnt help discussions here

"dual graphics cards intel hd and a 330m gt, graphics are slightly worse"

so has anyone actually scores on 3d mark vantage so we can see actually results...3d mark 06 is outdated and doesnt do sli, or do it well.

Id love to see them ATI radeon and Intel hd ones for curiosity.

if people here say you can get a 600eu gaming laptop that out performs this, I say bs. I would imagine you would need to spend at least 1,500eu on a laptop to get anywhere near to blow this away, maybe more.

600euro would get you diddly squat.

I have not used this much, hence this thread but for the craic I am updating drivers and putting on 3d mark vantage. so will post back scores.

avg: 10291.8 (40%) 9800M GTX NVIDIA

avg: 9729.5 (38%) 6850M ATI

avg: 12719 (49%) 9800M GTX SLI NVIDIA

I didn't say 600 Euro and I wasn't talking about a 330M GT either.

I posted a 1000 Euro machine which is running circles around your XPS and also takes advantage of the latest DirectX 11 goodies... and that's not even a high-end gaming laptop.

You have been told repetedly that your hopes to sell an aging gaming laptop with a dual core processor for decent money will be most likely in vain. People who are looking for a top gaming laptop and willing to spend big bucks want the latest and greatest, not because they want to play older games but the very latest stuff (what good is a machine that doesn't support DirectX11 in 2012 to gamers if they can't play the game in all its glory?). Selling their precious laptop in a few years time with as little financial loss as possible is of no concern to them at the time of purchase as it never works out anyway.

has it dawned on you that this 'agening' laptop plays all new games on full wack by any chance, not everyone has 1000 or 2000e to spend on a full on gaming laptop..

And while were at it, the current 17" XPS (Dell XPS-L702x) for 900 Euro has this to offer:

Core i7-2630QM Mobile Processor (a bit slower than the Acer but still light years ahead of any C2Dx)
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M (3072 MB RAM)

It doesn't sport a SSD and only ships w 4 GB RAM at this price, but upgrade is rather cheap. The graphics card, however, comes pretty close to your SLI setup and it does support DirectX 11. ;)

TRV0a.jpg

So, there you have it, a spanking new machine with adequate graphics power, faster memory and a much faster CPU for 900 Euro.

Arguably, it's not up there with the Alienware M17xR3 (€1,600) for example but it's pretty decent stuff nevertheless. And I wouldn't lose as much if I decide to pass it on in two years or so...

has it dawned on you that this 'agening' laptop plays all new games on full wack by any chance, not everyone has 1000 or 2000e to spend on a full on gaming laptop..

You're still SOL if you want to enjoy the glory of DirectX11 in BF3 or Crysis 2, for example. And tou sure must have a reason if you think about selling it, right? ;)

I didn't say 600 Euro and I wasn't talking about a 330M GT either.

I posted a 1000 Euro machine which is running circles around your XPS and also takes advantage of the latest DirectX 11 goodies... and that's not even a high-end gaming laptop.

You have been told repetedly that your hopes to sell an aging gaming laptop with a dual core processor for decent money will be most likely in vain. People who are looking for a top gaming laptop and willing to spend big bucks want the latest and greatest, not because they want to play older games but the very latest stuff (what good is a machine that doesn't support DirectX11 in 2012 to gamers if they can't play the game in all its glory?). Selling their precious laptop in a few years time with as little financial loss as possible is of no concern to them at the time of purchase as it never works out anyway.

6344 3d mark vantage points, an early scan of 3d mark vantage on mine gave about 5800 with old drivers , clearly running circles.

and the build quality of that acer is suspect, certainly would not hold up to a xps., no full hd display either, nor sdd drive.

You're still SOL if you want to enjoy the glory of DirectX11 in BF3 or Crysis 2, for example. And tou sure must have a reason if you think about selling it, right? ;)

not really, no.. have not used it for games at all, just played bad company 2 and the new batman ones, and ran them both fully maxed out and hooked up to a sony full hd display.

for a 4 or 5 year old machine im not parting with any money for a new machine unless it doubles up on performance on this, and for that i would be spending quite a significant more than 1000eu

that acer is just about breaking even with this. and that got an i7, and its not a high end gaming laptop, exactly.. add 1000 euro to that, now we are running circles.

I am thinking of selling this to those folk who have not got 2,000eu in their back pocket.

and the build quality of that acer is suspect, ceratinly would not hold up to a xps., no full hd display either, nor sdd drive.

I would generally agree with you on their reputation, however, I haven't seen any of their pricier models yet, so I can't really comment.

The Acer Aspire 7750G comes with a 120 GB SSD plus a 750 GB HDD

And while were at it, the current 17" XPS (Dell XPS-L702x) for 900 Euro has this to offer:

Core i7-2630QM Mobile Processor (a bit slower than the Acer but still light years ahead of any C2Dx)
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M (3072 MB RAM)

It doesn't sport a SSD and only ships w 4 GB RAM at this price, but upgrade is rather cheap. The graphics card, however, comes pretty close to your SLI setup and it does support DirectX 11. ;)

TRV0a.jpg

So, there you have it, a spanking new machine with adequate graphics power, faster memory and a much faster CPU for 900 Euro.

Arguably, it's not up there with the Alienware M17xR3 (€1,600) for example but it's pretty decent stuff nevertheless. And I wouldn't lose as much if I decide to pass it on in two years or so...

that 555m is way less powerful than a 9800GTX Sli, have you seen notebook review.?

the cpu point is valid, but stick a x9000 c2d onto this and it would still be equal to that xps IMO.

I am thinking of selling this to those folk who have not got 2,000eu in their back pocket.

Seriously, if you only had 900 Euro, which one would you buy? A brandnew 17" XPS with a Core i7 and a GT555M or your second hand Core 2 Duo extreme.?

You'd have to sell for significantly less to sweaten that deal.

that 555m is way less powerful than a 9800GTX Sli, have you seen notebook review.?

the cpu point is valid, but stick a x9000 c2d onto this and it would still be equal to that xps IMO.

The x9000 (which costs something like €200?) yields 8% better performance than your current x7900. It's really not worth it. The Core i7s score 300% higher (not all fair, apples and oranges, I know, but still, that's what ultimately sells).

Let's stick to the figures here for a moment.

Your 9800M GTX scores 712 in G3D mark (as confirmed in 103 samples), now SLI yields a performance boost up to 75%, that'd be 1246 in a best case scenario. The GT 555M at 1015 is not too far off that mark. Not by any stretch of imagination are they high-end graphics cards by today's standards (they will be destroyed by the Alienware's Radeon HD 6870, scoring 2824 in the same benchmark) but certainly good enough to play new games in "full wacko" at a satisfying FPS rate but the 555 has the benefit of DirectX11 support which simply looks better than Dx10.

Maybe of no big relevance for a gaming laptop, but the new XPS also has the Intel HD3000 which can be used when you're not playing games, giving you plenty hours on the battery.

The x9000 (which costs something like €200?) yields 8% better performance than your current x7900. It's really not worth it. The Core i7s score 300% higher (not all fair, apples and oranges, I know, but still, that's what ultimately sells).

the laptop you mentioned, acer with an i7 had 6,344 3d mark vantage points

just did a scan on my one now and got

Score:
    P6177 3DMarks

hardly the difference you make out for an i7, and for a 'relic' of a machine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

i'll give you my left foot for your laptop.

take a hint, it's not going to make you anything.

if your laptop is that "high end", what has you needing to sell it?

you will never get your money out of it.
    as the saying goes, as soon as you buy a laptop, its out of date.

the laptop you mentioned, acer with an i7 had 6,344 3d mark vantage points

just did a scan on my one now and got

Score:
    P6177 3DMarks

hardly the difference you make out for an i7, and for a 'relic' of a machine too.

It does prove the point that your formerly high-end gaming laptop is now struggeling to keep up with current medium range gaming machines priced at 900-1,000 Euro, it doesn't take a 1,600 Euro laptop to beat it.

Now, in order to sell it you will have to be significantly cheaper because:

1. they are new.

2. they do support DirectX11.

3. when not in gaming mode, they do have a pretty decent battery life.

Bottom line, you will not sell your laptop for a decent price, it's not going to happen. Keep this experience in mind when you buy your next machine. As phenomal and tempting as their specs and benchmarks appear, you'll never ever get your money back when you buy a high-end gaming notebook. And enjoy your XPS while it's still running your games in a decent fashion.

for a 4 year old machine i hardly expect it to be as good as an i7, to say it comes close to matching a new i7 machine made a mockery of your earlier statement anyway.

judging comments here i doubt if anyone has these all conquering gaming laptops at all, just wanted to test the water and see what the story was.

has anyone here a laptop that gets above 7,000 vantage points even..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

has anyone here a laptop that gets above 7,000 vantage points even..

Can't see what that has to do with anything tbh.

How much are you looking for this machine again? Or what do you think it's worth?

It does prove the point that your formerly high-end gaming laptop is now struggeling to keep up with current medium range gaming machines priced at 900-1,000 Euro, it doesn't take a 1,600 Euro laptop to beat it.

Now, in order to sell it you will have to be significantly cheaper because:

1. they are new.

2. they do support DirectX11.

3. when not in gaming mode, they do have a pretty decent battery life.

Bottom line, you will not sell your laptop for a decent price, it's not going to happen. Keep this experience in mind when you buy your next machine. As phenomal and tempting as their specs and benchmarks appear, you'll never ever get your money back when you buy a high-end gaming notebook. And enjoy your XPS while it's still running your games in a decent fashion.

looks to be the case, it runs games as good as any other laptop as far as i can see.

check for the price of these on ebay or gumtree... you might be surprised.

i certainly would not sell this for less than 500euro.. the gpu is worth that itself.

How much are you looking for this machine again? Or what do you think it's worth?

more than what people here are saying its worth.. :p

the gpu is very rare, suffers from zero defects. machine is pretty bomb proof and has about 2 years xps warranty left.

i certainly would not sell this for less than 500euro.. the gpu is worth that itself.
    .....this thing could die of old age tomorrow!

Can't see what that has to do with anything tbh.

people here are saying my laptop is worth 2 boiled eggs basically, yet it racks up a tidy score on 3d mark vantage, which by all means is an intensive test and much more accurate than 3d mark 06.

so my point is if anyone actually has a machine that can better this? further more to get a laptop to totally wipe that out you are looking easily at 2,000euro or so.

i am pitching this at people who dont have 2000eu under their bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

is this yours?

just me being smart.
    it hasn't the same HDD, or GPU, but its pretty similar.

the fact that you continue to argue a losing point, is quite entertaining.

.....this thing could die of old age tomorrow!

unless you got money to burn its still one of the top class 1 cards on the market today. that or you can suck up some ati or low end nvidia flooding the market

You never put it up in the other thread, put it up.

for a 4 year old machine i hardly expect it to be as good as an i7, to say it comes close to matching a new i7 machine made a mockery of your earlier statement anyway.

judging comments here i doubt if anyone has these all conquering gaming laptops at all, just wanted to test the water and see what the story was.

How so? There are plenty Core i7 cheapos out there your XPS will rip to shreds in gaming benchmarks, no doubt. However, this will change quite dramatically when a medium range graphics card comes into the equation and such machines are available for around 900-1,000 Euro. And they are not limited to gaming only, they're also formidable work horses in the realms of image and video processing where your C2D will be struggling in comparison.

Again, what price do you expect if any at all? You say you're testing the water, fine, I have given you an honest answer which will stand.

RossieMan wrote: »
    is this yours?

just me being smart.
    it hasn't the same HDD, or GPU, but its pretty similar.

the fact that you continue to argue a losing point, is quite entertaining.

erm, no. my hard drive is ssd, also have blue ray, 6gig of memory and a 1Tb raid drive.

his price is over 600euro with offers, lo and behold.

what exactly is my losing point...

unless you spend well over 1,000eu you are not going to get a laptop as good as this.

go and get your dx11 and mid range graphics by all accounts. the bench marks would still be more or less the same, and thats at about 1,000euro

the build quality also will suck but thats another thing.

his price is over 600euro with offers, lo and behold.

what exactly is my losing point...

unless you spend well over 1,000eu you are not going to get a laptop as good as this.

go and get your dx11 and mid range graphics by all accounts. the bench marks would still be more or less the same, and thats at about 1,000euro

the build quality also will suck but thats another thing.

Well, the Dell XPS (same build quality as yours, I presume) comes with an even better card than the Acer at 900 Euro.

The fella on ebay can ask alot, will he sell it in the end for his asking price is a different matter. 600-700 Euro maybe a fair price but you'll have to find someone willing to spend it on a 2nd hand laptop first and that could be a problem.

best offer 600 ;)

for that laptop yes, 600quid is fair deal.

my gpu is rare, i doubt there are even 3 like this in Ireland.

Well, the Dell XPS (same build quality as yours, I presume) comes with an even better card than the Acer at 900 Euro.

The fella on ebay can ask alot, will he sell it in the end for his asking price is a different matter. 600-700 Euro maybe a fair price but you'll have to find someone willing to spend it on a 2nd hand laptop first and that could be a problem.

not sure if ebay guy has sli or not, seems to be as you cant get a 9800gtx with 2gb unless its sli.

so that gives an indication on my one also. 780euro his asking price.

with a laptop without ssd and blu ray and xps warranty maybe.

my gpu is rare

It's also four years old. Oh, and it's only a graphics card and not some piece of artwork the value of which may increase over the years. :D
    i doubt there are even 3 like this in Ireland.

It doesn't seem to be in particularly high demand then. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

my rig only scores P10 000+, but that is hardly a good indication that yours is good @6000. I would get twice the fps as you in any game, me using dx11 and you on dx10.

my point is, 3D mark isn't the be all end all of benchmarks. any new game would get severely bottlenecked by your dual core, as theyre made to run on 3+ cores, regardless if you have the best GPU in the world.

an example would be GTA4. it would be unplayable at 1200p on your rig. why would I pay huge money for a laptop that can't play a 4 year old game?

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    my rig only scores P10 000+, but that is hardly a good indication that yours is good @6000. I would get twice the fps as you in any game, me using dx11 and you on dx10.

my point is, 3D mark isn't the be all end all of benchmarks. any new game would get severely bottlenecked by your dual core, as theyre made to run on 3+ cores, regardless if you have the best GPU in the world.

an example would be GTA4. it would be unplayable at 1200p on your rig. why would I pay huge money for a laptop that can't play a 4 year old game?

a desktop or laptop with that score, desktop i presume.

i havent tried gta4 on full hd, but gotham city and bad company 2 were good.

i would say gta4 would have no problem on this if the two games above breezed through it., id say you have not got a clue about this laptop to be honest...
    this can play practically any game NOW (on practially everything maxed out) let alone 4 years old.

It's also four years old. Oh, and it's only a graphics card and not some piece of artwork the value of which may increase over the years. :D

It doesn't seem to be in particularly high demand then. ;)

or more like no one could afford it in the first place.