Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

self-guided tour of Ireland

• 16-03-2012 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭

hey all. I wanted to ask some advice for a trip I want to make in July.

I want to take two or three weeks to tour Ireland, roughly following the coasts and taking shortcuts where necessary. I want to take it easy, so I figure a minimum average of 80 km a day, longer when I'm feeling good. Thus far I've done 40 km journeys with a climb/into the wind without trouble, and can easily imagine doing two in one day with a nice lunch break in-between.

(I have bad knees so I can't plan on being a machine at this, but I'm going to physio and should have them sorted by then anyway. I can't train for real until the knee pain is sorted tho. Crossing my fingers that it's done for in April.)

Idea is to see the best views this island as to offer, and to really feel like I've seen the whole of Ireland, rather than just part of it. I'm here on only a one-year-long visa, and have been working in Dublin for the past seven months. I love Dublin but I've hardly left it and I want to see ALL of Ireland before I go. Thus far I've only seen Glendalough/Wicklow and Galway/the Burren.

I have a secondhand recycled hybrid from Rothar I plan to use. It's a bit rusty, but works, and I'll get it looked at before I go off into the wilderness. It's a solid bike and I know how to change tubes and repair punctures. I have cool panniers as well. (Plan is to scrap frankenbike when I go home and buy a real touring bike back in the states, with money I have set aside for it. Can't invest in it here because transport costs and the possibility it might get nicked in the city centre make it not worth it.)

Idea is to spend less than 30 quid a day on accomodation, so hostels as much as possible, B&Bs, etc. No camping as I don't have the equipment for it. But if I only spend a tenner in a hostel one day, I can spend 40 quid in a nice B&B on another, so long as I keep up the < 30e average. As for food, I plan to live out of grocery stores since I'm celiac with a dairy/soya allergy, so straight up bananas and peanut butter and stuff like that is safest.

I would like suggestions on possible routes to take and what equipment would be vital. As for the routes, if there is a particular map set I could get with a focus on the proper roads rather than motorways, that would be grand.

Also, what are the things in Ireland that a visitor from another country MUST see? Besides typical touristy stuff. I like nice landscapes and ruins and historical sites.

Budget is 2000 quid or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Al Wright

I recommend Brendan Walsh's book 'Cycle touring Ireland as a start. He describes routes, daily stages on average 50miles, around the coastline with diversions to places of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

Al Wright wrote: »
    I recommend Brendan Walsh's book 'Cycle touring Ireland as a start. He describes routes, daily stages on average 50miles, around the coastline with diversions to places of interest.

was going to suggest this book as well ,i got it not so long ago from amazon second hand as its out of print now but its a great book, i think it was about €10
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Irish-Cycling-Guide-Brendan-Walsh/dp/0861903552/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1331918892&sr=8-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Alias G

I would definitely get a tent for this. I got a cheap one man tent from Argos and it has done the job for years. Hostels probably wouldn't be distributed well enough to keep your accomadation costs down. A stove and basic cooking equipment might be worth carrying as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Yeah, get a tent and a cheap sleeping bag and you'll have a much more stress-free and cheaper trip (provided you don't have any aversion to camping). Don't get a super-cheapo tent but as it has to be water-proof but for Ireland in July you don't need anything fancy.

Generally while touring in Ireland I spend between 5 or 10 euro a day for everything, obviously you could spend more if you have the money to spend but you certainly don't need to pay 30e or 40e euro a night just for somewhere to sleep. Bringing a camping stove and an aul pot will increase the variety and the goodliness of food you can prepare and will usually allow you to spend less on food although obviously it means a small initial invest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭jameverywhere

any suggestions on tent + sleeping bag ?

please share any stories you have from touring in ireland so I can get an idea of what to expect!

I just ordered the book from amazon for 7 USD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭clonmahon

I would endorse everything written above, a tent and some cooking gear give you more flexibility than staying in hostels and b and bs. There are lots of places where you can camp for free.

On your tour make sure to visit one the islands off the west coast (like Clare Island in Mayo) people out there are very friendly and relaxed, it's a different world.

As well as seeing the coast don't forget to see some of Ireland's great lakes and the mighty River Shannon. Do some fishing or boating. On the west coast try surfing. If your hybrid has low gears make sure to explore some mountains. Above all meet and talk to people, we are still a friendly people.

There is lots of great music, theater and cultural events going on in the summer so be sure to catch some of that.

The island has a vast network of quiet backroads, stay off the main roads and plan your route on the backroads.

hybrid has the gears stolen off a mountain bike... so I should manage hills all right.

I'm super-introverted, which is partially why I'm doing this trip alone, but I do want to meet and talk to people. what's the best thing for that--stop for a pint in the local pub at each stop? idk.

The pub for sure is still the social centre of rural Irish life. When you say super-introverted I presume you mean quiet and reserved, this will go down well in an rural Irish pub. Loud brash people are not well thought of in most rural pubs. Ask people in pubs about music sessions, local beauty spots, upcoming events, places to visit.

Rent a boat and spend a day on one of the great lakes, maybe even keep the boat over night and camp on an island. Spend a day sea angling. If you save your money by camping you can spend it on things like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Ring and Ardmore - South of Dungarvan
    All of County Kilkenny and Kilkenny town.
    Also much of County Carlow has fantastic cycling and lovely scenery.
    Slieve Blooms and Lough Derg

West Cork - Sheepskin Head
    Ring of Beara - simply stunning. Particularly around Allihies and Eyeries.
    Pass of Keiminagh and Gougane Barra

Slea Head on the Dingle Peninsula
    Dingle

Ferry over the Shannon to Co Clare
    The road from Lahinch to Liscannor to Doolin to Fanore to Ballyvaughan

Enjoy. If you get good weather it will be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

please share any stories you have from touring in ireland so I can get an idea of what to expect!

yes get a 2man tent loads for sale on adverts.ie section plus matt s/bag/pillow/stove/gas/pots for cooking/compass/satnav would be handy but a map will do just as good.
    camsite's are generally around 10euro 15 stirling up north .b/b 35to50 euro a night hostals no idea what they cost buy a tent buddy save yourself a forfune:rolleyes:

I use a gelert sole 1 man tent when I'm touring on my own. It only cost about 40e as far as I remember and it's hard-wearing, weather proof, claimed weight of 1.5kg, only takes seconds to take up once you get used to it and you only need a tiny scrap of flat land to put it up.
    It is very small though so if you're a big lad you might feel a little cramped in it.

haha, I'm a girl, about 5 foot 3 inches, won't need much...

speaking of, travelling alone as a woman shouldn't be an issue, should it? no one thus far as been like, "OMG DANGERUSS"

you will need as much as any one else and thats a fact.if you have enough money to go ultra light then maybe thats the way to go.
    check out crazyguyonabike for light weight touring as in what to take to survive:cool: btw best of luck if you get good weather you'll have a ball.

http://charlescamping.ie/store/index.php/tents/dome-tents/gelert-solo-2012-model.html

was thinking of buying this for myself i reckon i would suit touring fairly well if you dont want to big a tent

granda wrote: »
    http://charlescamping.ie/store/index.php/tents/dome-tents/gelert-solo-2012-model.html

was thinking of buying this for myself i reckon i would suit touring fairly well if you dont want to big a tent
    granda it will break your heart thats the truth,ok if you can sleep as soon as your head hits the pillow but if your anyway like me:eek: you would crack up in a wee tent like that.

i've slept in smaller and anyhow i can sleep standing up if need be fsl
    and btw fsl we'll defo have to sort out a couple off days in the summer and do a bit of touring up in my neck of the woods

i've slept in smaller and anyhow i can sleep standing up if need be fsl
    and btw fsl we'll defo have to sort out a couple off days in the summer and do a bit of touring up in my neck of the woods

excellent i had an email from kilbroney park up north there open early this year end of march. its a class campsite just at the foot of the mourns. might head up there around april test out all my gear for my mizen to malin tour in may....
    Sorry to the op dont mean to hijack your thread:o

That's the one I have, great little tent.

You should fit just fine in any tent so.

And I don't have any experience travelling alone as a woman but I haven't experienced any particular danger travelling alone as a man around Ireland by bike so I'd say you should be ok on the danger front.

Do you have a route picked out yet or are you still deciding on what needs to be seen?

no route planned! it's not until july so I'm keeping my mind open and thinking about it still. I'm trying to decide also if I want to stick only to the republic or take a detour to see the giant's causeway and coast of county atrim.

should also probably see Derry since i apparently have relatives from there in the 1800s, but I can do that another time by bus rather than adding it to the tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I did something similar last september - A lightweight/ credit card tour, B&B accommodation - from Dublin up the east coast up around the northern coast, down through Donegal to Connemara and back across to Dublin. I meant to keep going for another week to do the bits ROK-ON mentions but couldn't and plan to later on this year. It is a pricier option compared to camping but I found it less hassle allowing me to cover more distance during the day, and with the roads and weather, it can be hard going at times..having a nice room at the end of the day is worth a few extra quid IMO. The places I stayed were really interested in what I was doing very hospitable. The scenery up North is lovely, the Antrim glens and coast..Donegal, Sligo and Galway..and down south will be better still I expect. I would say the B&B option is the better choice in Ireland and it doesn't work out that expensive if you compare it to the cost of a typical holiday .PM me if you would like any further info. The route I took, and plan to continue on is roughly the same as the race around Ireland route *

http://www.racearoundireland.com/race-route.asp

Edit - * with a few exceptions ,the Antrim coastal drive from Larne to Ballycastle being one - very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

I did a cycle around ireland a number of years ago, clockwise.

My advise would be to not bring a tent. They add weight and get damp on the inside, both from rain and breathing (even expensive ones). They also take time to put up and require a proper surface.

We brought one when we went cycling around ireland and it was a big mistake. It only adds misery. There si nothing worse after a long days cycling than to be setting up your tent only to find the inside is ringing wet.

Instead, and if you are up for it, sleep "rough". Bring a sleeping bag and a ground mat and sleep under shelter wherever you find yourslf at the end of a cycle. Unless in cities and large towns, doing so is quite safe. (I actually slept rough while in Belfast and had noo trouble). You will also find an abundance of places to sleep when seeking places to rough it up.

Saves money on B&Bs and the weight and misery of hauling around a tent.

One important item to bring would be a compass, preferably one that fits on the handlebars. Sounds stupid but they are invaluable.

coolemon are you having a laugh, i can set up my tent in 5 minutes.

no route planned! it's not until july so I'm keeping my mind open and thinking about it still. I'm trying to decide also if I want to stick only to the republic or take a detour to see the giant's causeway and coast of county atrim.

should also probably see Derry since i apparently have relatives from there in the 1800s, but I can do that another time by bus rather than adding it to the tour.

i would definitly take a tour around the north coast(i'm from around there) plenty of campsites and villages plus if need be you end in larne and just get the train back to the republic but that coast line is a must see in my opinion

coolemon wrote: »
    One important item to bring would be a compass, preferably one that fits on the handlebars. Sounds stupid but they are invaluable.

half the fun would be "whats down this way" so unless i'm going off-road i dont see the need for a compass, there are plenty of road signs everywhere good and bad,unless you are refering to the 'female sense of direction'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

In my younger days, I was quite the island hopper. If you're going to head to one of the islands, I would recommend Tory. The scenery is spectacular, there's heaps of music and it is less visited than the Aran Islands. If you're taking in Derry and the north coast, it would definitely be a runner.

If you do go to Donegal, you will be seeing a part of Ireland that many of your compatriots miss. There's loads to see and do but I would particularly recommend Slieve League (the highest sea cliffs in Europe and you will have them largely to yourself) and the villages of the Rosses (chun teangaidh na nGaeil a chloisint agus ceol spleodrach a bhlaiseadh - for the language and the music).

so here's a list of kit I'll prolly need, feel free to help me add to it:

- Cycling Ireland book (on its way)
    - good maps of me route
    - panniers
    - camera!
    - a good light for dark country roads in case I cycle after dark?
    - a few cycling jerseys and shorts; base layers (incl underwear, socks)
    - something warm just in case, one outfit of non-cycling clothes
    - water resistant shell jacket (can you re-waterproof these things? mine is a bit meh nowadays)
    - a tent and/or sleeping bag
    - camping stove and pot
    - spare tube and tools in case of flats
    - room to cart around coeliac-friendly food and snacks.
    - water. I don't have a place on the bike to mount water bottles, but two in the panniers should do?

am I missing anything?

- good maps of me route
    - panniers
    - camera!
    - water resistant shell jacket (can you re-waterproof these things? mine is a bit meh nowadays)
    - camping stove and pot
    - water. I don't have a place on the bike to mount water bottles, but two in the panniers should do?

am I missing anything?
    please take a camera this i have to see i mean that in a nice way ;)
    dont forget ipod charger for phone and make sure you have tea/coffee in plenty supply for night /morning.best of luck with tour hoe you have a blast.

It's not till July so I can accept tips, suggestions, etc all up till then!

anyone who's done it before or something like it is welcome to share route ideas as well!

It's not till July so I can accept tips, suggestions, etc all up till then!

anyone who's done it before or something like it is welcome to share route ideas as well!
    are you an experience cyclist as in have you plenty miles in your legs..
    how many miles a day are you planning to do.
    will you be folling the coast al the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

- camping stove and pot
    Apparently a Kelly Kettle is the business.
    Two tubes, spare tyre (you probably won't use it but better to have it than have to walk for 50km...)
    Have you no bottle cage on your frame? There should be mounting bolts at least. Worth fitting one as you can drink without having to stop.
    am I missing anything?
    Probably but that's all part of the fun.
    I have bad knees
    Lower gears and pedal faster is easier on the knees.
    I know how to change tubes and repair punctures
    See can you get on a bike maintenance course. Knowing how to replace a broken brake/gear cable or to fix a broken chain is well worth while.

are you an experience cyclist as in have you plenty miles in your legs..
    how many miles a day are you planning to do.
    will you be folling the coast al the way.

I'd say I was an intermediate cyclist before my knees started hurting.

Miles a day, maybe fifty minimum?

and I'm following the coast mostly, but will cut corners as necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭mrbike

If you decide to camp, you need to make sure you keep your sleeping bag & some clothes dry. You can double wrap them in plastic bags or you can buy a dry bag (used by kayakers).

One think to bear in mind is that nearly all the land in Ireland is privately owned, so you can't just set up your tent wherever you like. In my experience, if you ask to camp on someones land, they will always be very accommodating. If you are near a large town, I would stay in a hostel or camping site as it may not be safe. I've met women touring alone and with a bit of common sense you won't have any problems.

Here's some photos of a tour we did last summer around Waterford/Cork/Kerry.

https://plus.google.com/photos/101049728232065299842/albums/5507102571355658753

Galway/Mayo

https://plus.google.com/photos/101049728232065299842/albums/5621406779730904513

Above all, enjoy yourself :)

mrbike wrote: »
    If you decide to camp, you need to make sure you keep your sleeping bag & some clothes dry. You can double wrap them in plastic bags or you can buy a dry bag (used by kayakers).

One think to bear in mind is that nearly all the land in Ireland is privately owned, so you can't just set up your tent wherever you like. In my experience, if you ask to camp on someones land, they will always be very accommodating. If you are near a large town, I would stay in a hostel or camping site as it may not be safe. I've met women touring alone and with a bit of common sense you won't have any problems.

Here's some photos of a tour we did last summer around Waterford/Cork/Kerry.

https://plus.google.com/photos/101049728232065299842/albums/5507102571355658753

Galway/Mayo

https://plus.google.com/photos/101049728232065299842/albums/5621406779730904513

Above all, enjoy yourself :)
    photos are class isn't ireland beautiful when the sun shines on her.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Donelson

Sorry about this question, but how do you charge you phone if your camping?

mrbike wrote: »

Great photos. What lake (lakes) are these. Look beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭dc2

Another book you might like to check out is this:

http://www.cicerone.co.uk/product/detail.cfm/book/562/title/cycle-touring-in-ireland

also showing used copies available on Amazon.

Donelson wrote: »

This

http://www.maplin.co.uk/hybrid-solar-battery-charger-544679

Or this

http://www.greenstamp.co.uk/product_info.php/cPath/33_74/products_id/328

clonmahon wrote: »
    Great photos. What lake (lakes) are these. Look beautiful.

The first one is Lough Cutra near Gort, and others are on the way to from Galway to Leenane in Mayo (Mostly on the N59).
    Donelson wrote: »

The best way to keep a phone charged is to keep it switched off most of the time. Solar chargers just don't have the juice for modern smart phones. When you run out of power, you go down to the local pub, have a pint and charge your phone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Chris O Donoghue

If your bike doesn't have mountings for a water bottle you could still fit one or two holders using hose clips, available in any hardware store. I've seen them fitted with tie-wraps too but they tend to slip. It's important to have easy access to water in July, even in Ireland:) Otherwise you'd be tempted to skip the water stops and end up dehydrated.

One thing to plan for on the south and west coasts: wind, and plenty of it, so don't beat yourself up if you don't manage your planned mileage. If you even cover half of the route that ROK mentions above you'll have plenty of tales to tell.
    Best of luck!

I notice that the wind on the east coast anyway tends to blow north so that when you're trying to go south, it's hard...

any way to plan the routes so that the wind is at my back more often than not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

- good maps of me route
    - panniers
    - camera!
    - camping stove and pot

am I missing anything?

Bring the following;

Cable Ties
    Notebook and pen - It's good for jotting down what happened that day or someones email/phone number.
    Bungee cords
    Spare chain links
    Sun Cream
    Toilet Paper
    Pain Killers
    Emergency Phone numbers

I notice that the wind on the east coast anyway tends to blow north so that when you're trying to go south, it's hard...

any way to plan the routes so that the wind is at my back more often than not?

Take the train when you want to travel south or west and then cycle north and east. Or stay inland when you travel south and west, travel on small backroads and stick to low lying land. Much of the country is covered in small fields which are divided by hedgerows (called ditches in Ireland) these are good windbreaks. So if you stick to small roads in sheltered countryside you will get some shelter from the wind.

There are exceptions to this, Connemara has a lot of wide open bogland, as does west Mayo. There are also places like much of east Galway where field boundaries are made from stone walls rather than ditches this country is not so well sheltered.

The west coast is windier than the east.

Cycling Ireland from Dublin clockwise sounds like a good idea then? South out of Dublin, then East across the south of Ireland, North up the connemara coast thru Galway area up to Antrim, across to Derry, then when coming back down to Dublin, stay off the coast when going south?

Vélo wrote: »
    Bring the following;

Cable Ties
    Notebook and pen - It's good for jotting down what happened that day or someones email/phone number.
    Bungee cords
    Spare chain links
    Sun Cream
    Toilet Paper
    Pain Killers
    Emergency Phone numbers

ah thanks, here's my updated list

- good maps of me route
    - panniers
    - camera!
    - camping stove and pot
    - spare tubes, tyre, chain links, and tools in case of flats
    - water and jury-rigged frame mount for a water bottle
    - small camping first aid kit with painkillers, plasters, etc. (I already have this, it's very compact and brilliant)
    - cable ties and related fastener thingies
    - sunscreen
    - toilet paper/tissues
    - my sketchbook/journal
    - emergency contacts written in first aid kit and journal
    - phone and charger
    - waterproofing bags for everything important

all further suggestions are welcome

Also bring some ziplock freezer bags to keep your camera, maps, electronic chargers, books in - basically anything you really need to keep dry.

If I were you, I'd get a bus or train out of Dublin to your first destination. Dublin can be quite difficult to navigate out of (you'd need a large street map), and depending on the route you take, not particularly pleasant. It's also very easy to get lost.

As far as a good light goes - they are quite expensive (as in EUR150+) for one good enough to light your way on country roads. I wouldn't bother cycling at night. You're coming in July, so it won't be dark until after 10pm.

http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/astronomy.html?n=919&month=7&year=2012&obj=sun&afl=-11&day=1

As recommended earlier, you should get at least one water bottle holder within easy reach while cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

Hiya jam,

Might be worth your while to check out An Oige - the Irish Youth Hostel association http://anoige.ie/Home.htm . I stayed in these hostels for my last cycle holiday (many years ago) in Mayo, Sligo and Donegal and they were brilliant, basic but cheap and dry and the people running the hostels could not have been more helpful.

I would also second the option to get a train to a start point rather than cycling out of Dublin. If you are living in Dublin you can do practice runs out and about and see the sights that way rather than missing out on stuff further afield.

Also if you have space on your handlebars you can get bottle cages to fit... http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/search/ref=pd_lpo_ix_dp_am_us_uk_en_gl_sports?keywords=handlebar%20bottle%20cage&tag=lpo%5Fixdpamusukengl%5Fsports-21&index=blended (I am sure they are available in lbs or other sites too).

One last thing - be sure to bring a good lock with you (and a well hidden spare key).

Oh and another last thing, Practice on your bike while it is fully loaded. It is amazing how the weight in the panniers etc change the dynamics of the bike for balance, speed and stopping (specially stopping! :o)

Oh and another last thing, Practice on your bike while it is fully loaded. It is amazing how the weight in the panniers etc change the dynamics of the bike for balance, speed and stopping (specially stopping! )

This is true! I was out cycling around Kildare yesterday (took the train, only did maybe 15 km of cycling maybe, was more interested visiting the town), so I took my panniers and lightly packed them with the kind of stuff I'd be hauling, for practice. Totally fell over onto my side in the town square when I was trying to stop and take a picture of something, haha. A couple people stopped to see if I was ok. Nothing hurt but my pride. :P Just wasn't used to the overbalanced feeling of the panniers back there...

I also snapped my kickstand in another unrelated incident! clean in half. but kickstands are useless with panniers anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

For wind forecasts when you're already on the go: 5-day charts, click the 'wind' tab. Also for real-time rainfall info though the old version works better with my phone.

- toilet paper/tissues
    And a shepee...

Cycling Ireland from Dublin clockwise sounds like a good idea then? South out of Dublin, then East across the south of Ireland, North up the connemara coast thru Galway area up to Antrim, across to Derry, then when coming back down to Dublin, stay off the coast when going south?
    theres nothing wrong with cycling the north east coast my part of the world.:D:D