Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This makes me happy

• 15-03-2012 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭

Girl hit by train

Recovering.

I amn't sure why but it makes me smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

So answers the age old question. If you make a funny face and someone/thing scares you, you're stuck like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

chin_grin wrote: »
    So answers the age old question. If you make a funny face and someone/thing scares you, you're stuck like that.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

That looks like a really old photo of the girl.

Damn hipster parents with their photography...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

After fully reading that article, am I the only one who is starting to think that the Ryan/Hayes family are not very sensible when it comes to keeping an eye on their young children?!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

chin_grin wrote: »
    She has autism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

This is an odd story. I'm delighted she's well. Can't help thinking there's more to this story......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Babybuff wrote: »
    She has autism

Sh*t. I thought that was a pic of her after the accident (I skimmed the article a little too lightly methinks).

<feels bad>

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, Ooops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

In a bizarre coincidence, one of Mary's brothers escaped serious injury last week when he was struck by a car in a hit-and-run.

Mr Hayes described how Kieran (10) was hit by a car that "came out of nowhere" while he was crossing the road.

Very lucky indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As happy as I am that this little girl wasn't seriously injured
    In a bizarre coincidence, one of Mary's brothers escaped serious injury last week when he was struck by a car in a hit-and-run.

Mr Hayes described how Kieran (10) was hit by a car that "came out of nowhere" while he was crossing the road.
    Seriously, these parents should win an award for being the most careless, gormless idiots of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Dartz wrote: »
    This makes me happy

Girl hit by train
    Got as far as this and started to worry

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

She wasn't actually hit by the train.

Should be we worried about these ghost cars which 'come out of nowhere' when we're harmlessly pootling about on our roads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

She wasn't actually hit by the train.

Should be we worried about these ghost cars which 'come out of nowhere' when we're harmlessly pootling about on our roads?
    The car probably came out of a ghost estate. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

seamus wrote: »
    As happy as I am that this little girl wasn't seriously injured

Seriously, these parents should win an award for being the most careless, gormless idiots of the year.

Run over one child... shame on you, run over two children... shame on me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

AH responce:
    She climbed a 7 foot fence? I can barely climb out of bed and there is a 9 year old girl that can scale 7 foot fences?
    Was she also bitten by a radioactive spidermonkey at some point in her life?

Concerned Citizen responce:
    Parents? Yiz need to keep a better eye on you radio active spider monkey children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Jesus,the parents need to be seriously investigated for their ability to take care of their children. An autistic child has no sense of danger,and if you live near by a railway track you'd think they'd have some cop on to not leave her outside by herself!!

Kid has autism,according to her father she can be a handful, having worked with children with autism for years I know what that can be like and given that she has other kids she might just have had her hands full. Her son who narrowly missed getting hit by a car was fifteen? Is she supposed to lock him away from society unless she's there to supervise him at all times too? But I know all these responses are from decent honest hard working AH parents who would know and understand this too..and would never be in such a position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Must be a bunch of knacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Kid has autism,according to her father she can be a handful, having worked with children with autism for years I know what that can be like and given that she has other kids she might just have had her hands full. Her son who narrowly missed getting hit by a car was fifteen? Is she supposed to lock him away from society unless she's there to supervise him at all times too? But I know all these responses are from decent honest hard working AH parents who would know and understand this too..and would never be in such a position.

It states in the article that the son is 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Good job they don't live near an airport.

Trains planes and automobiles in one week.

It states in the article that the son is 10
    k she has another son of fifteen. She has five kids, can't imagine that's ever going to be easy. Mam and dad don't appear to share the same name, which might suggest that they may not live together. Still five kids and one with autism is a full plate.

yeah it is, and it doesn't mean that you've any less duty to try keep your kids alive from day to day.

I somehow doubt she's trying to get her kids killed. The article states that the girl has three siblings and the boy who got hit by a car is not listed as one although named as her brother elsewhere, he may be a half brother and not under this womans care at all but let's not let that get in the way of a good story.

what's all that got to do with anything?

Thread:This makes me happy nice story about girl who survives getting hit by train. Oh wait, it's AH let's bitch about the bad parent who let it happen in the first place, oh and look also lets other kid get hit by car. Ya just like to bitch don't ya.

No thread in AH sticks entirely to the original story. And no, I don't just like to bitch :confused: Any autistic child will have no clue of dangers around them, and so they need to be supervised much of the time. I'm saying it sounds like there's reason to be concerned about these children. what's so hard to understand?

sorry op, we need to dispel the illusion of happiness this story brings you, realistically she's most probably a knacker with sh*tty parents. Sorry bout that.

bigneacy wrote: »
    After fully reading that article, am I the only one who is starting to think that the Ryan/Hayes family are not very sensible when it comes to keeping an eye on their young children?!!?
    Can't help thinking there's more to this story......
    Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Concerned Citizen responce:
    Parents? Yiz need to keep a better eye on you radio active spider monkey children.

All these posters pointed out their concern Babybuff, and yet you pick on me?

I apologise if it appears that I'm picking on you.

Accepted.

Are you genuinely saying with the two incidents in this family, there is no doubt in your mind the parents couldn't have done better?

I don't really know, I don't have all the details. What I do know is that children with autism can be very difficult to care for, especially if you have other kids to look after too. (and it's not clear if the boy is actually under her guardianship) Maybe mum needs some help.

yes and that's what I'm saying. the girl shouldn't have been outside by herself.

most people who don't live with a disability or people with disabilities just aren't aware of the cost of things like respite and day care. Some info here wrt how people are affected by the cuts in funding which might have a part to play in the overall story too.

My nephew is autistic, and not only is the cost of care an issue, finding someone who can care for a child with autism is. It still doesn't change the fact that this was a careless thing to do. if there was no one to watch her, she shouldn't have been left outside. it's a fairly straight forward decision.

I don't know, I'm guessing her parents thought she was safe in her own back garden behind a seven foot high fence.

I'd really have to see the setup to have an opinion on whether or not that was a reasonable assumption - maybe it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I hear the train is related to the same one that ran over the guy in the infamous video in cool vis (dont watch it, its sickening I dunno how it was allowed stay on the site).

trains, they're all the same, bet they dont even pay taxes.

krudler wrote: »
    I hear the train is related to the same one that ran over the guy in the infamous video in cool vis (dont watch it, its sickening I dunno how it was allowed stay on the site).

trains, they're all the same, bet they dont even pay taxes.
    it took me a full year to click on that link, wished I never did. thought that's what this thread was about tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It was an Irish train though in fairness they're not very fast like.

But still. Thank God she's doing okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

That was my thoughts on it. The parents have brought up that many kids, one with autism and they get ridiculed as parents. If they were really negligent parents I doubt this would have been the first we've heard of them. It just seems like two unfortunate incidents happen to come close together, and the fcuking judge and jury are out. There is no such thing as a model parent, you can only do your very best.

What's the solution here, follow every single child around? Theyre out numbered for starters. I know I wouldn't expect a 9yo autistic girl to be able to scale 7 foot fence.

All I see is two parents with a lot on their plates. Put down the fcuking pitch forks, quit being sheep, and dare to have a non judgemental opinion of your own.

Big ask in AH, I know.

The height of a fence is irrelevant if it's easy to climb. If it was wire mesh I'd be quite impressed but not if it's made of a series of horizontal bars.

I think it's relevant in that the parents didn't think she would be able to climb it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If I lived near a railway track I would put barbed wire on top the fence if I thought there was even the slightest chance of the child getting over it.

Of all bloody things, children and railway tracks do not mix. For some reason kids find them fascinating.

We need pictures of this fence before we can comment further.

If I lived near a railway track I would put barbed wire on top the fence if I thought there was even the slightest chance of the child getting over it.

Of all bloody things, children and railway tracks do not mix. For some reason kids find them fascinating.
    I don't know if kids and barbed wire mix either. I wince at the idea of them catching skin or an eye on it.

The way I see it, all of their other children have survived living beside the tracks. A lot of people live by tracks, take a train anywhere and you'll see that. I'm not seeing ten or fifteen foot fences or walls if I can see the back of their house. If the fences height was of any concern to the parents they would have done something about it as the children they had prior to her we're growing up. I think what is key here is that the expectation was that she couldn't do it.

Other children may have survived living alongside railway tracks because children without disabilities can understand danger.