Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You know you're in a recession when.....

• 13-03-2012 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭

..meself and himself just had this conversation..came up with the below

a) your playing a game of guess the petrol in the car praying you don't conk at every traffic light
    b) your watering down the milk to make it last longer
    c) you've had beans on toast as your dinner more than once this week
    ... d) your checking the childs pull up for dryness in the morning to see can it be used again that night..those thinks are expensive :-P
    e) your checking the bank every 10 mins for the last 2 hrs to see if that cheque has cleared yet
    f) your waiting at a bank machine at 12 o'clock for you wages to go in so you can buy said milk, petrol and some more tins of beans!

...we're still mid debate..feel free to add your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

You're debating sleeping on the sofa because you can't afford a new mattress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You have to cut the maid's wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

You turn your toilet paper over to use the other side.

Waste not, want not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭snuggles09

your terrified to answer the phone to any unknown number in case its the bank, credit union, littlewoods or your mother..anyone you might owe money to:eek:

phone credit is now a luxury purchase:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Your debating if the internet is more important than petrol, food and the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

When you're on the piss five nights on the trot and all the top shelves have been emptied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

you have to stop flying first class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

You spend all day on Boards.ie on a high spec computer on a high spec internet connection, in a nice, first world living area or work space, complaining about how tough the "austerity" has been on you and rabbling about the government "betraying" the people.

very deep..exceeded my expectations

Beans on toast for dinner is a lifestyle choice btw, not a necessity, despite how it is portrayed in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

You dread the arrival of the postman and pray he passes the gate:(

Friday afternoon is the best time of the week, he won't be round again 'til Monday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Eating out" mean Supermacs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 carolgus33

using the tea bag twice!
    ya can see through the toilet paper....
    settling for a marietta biscuit instead of a hobnob oh sad times:eek:

Beans on toast for dinner is a lifestyle choice btw, not a necessity, despite how it is portrayed in the media.

i retract .. when you are having {insert any tinned good costing less than 50 cent here} on toast more than once a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

You have sunday lunch in a soup kitchen

the kids are going to school with booky office pens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

You spend all day on Boards.ie on a high spec computer on a high spec internet connection, in a nice, first world living area or work space that you got/signed up for when you had a work space.

when your asked for change of a 50 you give 2 x 20cent coins a 10 cent:D

You rinse out condoms to use them again

Or is that just being economical?

You rinse out condoms to use them again

Or is that just being economical?

I hear balloons and cling film work just as well

You're using rinsed out condoms instead of clingfilm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

There's two or three threads a day about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

biko wrote: »
    *cough

Babybuff wrote: »
    *cough

eating out means robbing an apple out of an orchard

**though i get where you were going with that:D

your on tablets for high blood pressure due to the daily game of "avoid the cops" as you haven't had tax on the car for the last 6 months:D

Tasty and tempting.
    You rob loo roll from work when your running low instead of ducking to the shops, despite knowing it's the harsh sandpaper kind.

you have to Q in the bank to withdraw that 9.56 from your account ( bring back 5 euro wihdrawals!)

Tasty and tempting.
    You rob loo roll from work when your running low instead of ducking to the shops, despite knowing it's the harsh sandpaper kind.

your using toilet roll as sandpaper

I think of it as an exfoliator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Spend more time watching tv or more board than usual...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

You pronounce Lidl correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

You use newspaper as toilet paper :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

you search the stingest things people do thread looking for ideas :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

biko wrote: »

Only if you are a culchie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

You know your in a recession when the arse is literally out of your trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

the sunday drive is replaced by an hour on google street view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

...you're wondering which leg of the table will you gnaw on first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

When your most frequently visited forum is here. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

snuggles09 wrote: »
    i retract .. when you are having {insert any tinned good costing less than 50 cent here} on toast more than once a week

Ugh - processed peas on toast! :D
    the kids are going to school with booky office pens

Mine have pencil cases stuffed full of Argos pencils and pens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Tasty and tempting.

oooh I dont think I could ever go that low:(

you start selling your clothes by the kilo so you have 10eur to do you til payday:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When you have to stop going out with someone within the first week because its too expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

when your kid needs flower bulbs for school and you have to go to the park and dig some up :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jmckelly

when you replace the shopping trolley for a basket:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

When you're letting your Da cut your hair - and you're a girl.

Also, when you're dyeing the grey out of your hair with stuff from Euro2 with no instructions. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

jmckelly wrote: »
    when you replace the shopping trolley for a basket:(
    pfft, lidl and aldi don't even have baskets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

When .... no one ever shuts up about it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

a) your playing a game of guess the petrol in the car praying you don't conk at every traffic light
    ... d) your checking the childs pull up for dryness in the morning to see can it be used again that night..those thinks are expensive :-P
    e) your checking the bank every 10 mins for the last 2 hrs to see if that cheque has cleared yet
    f) your waiting at a bank machine at 12 o'clock for you wages to go in so you can buy said milk, petrol and some more tins of beans!

Ah feck ya, I'm too late to get a witty answer in

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

when you have to give the potato peeler a day off , hard times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

...when you are enduring a period of temporary economic decline during which trade and industrial activity are reduced, generally identified by a fall in GDP in two successive quarter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

uch wrote: »
    Ah feck ya, I'm too late to get a witty answer in

I just remembered one,,,,,,,,

When you were there for the last one :eek:

21/25