Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Queue jumping/bad customer service

• 13-03-2012 01:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

How do you feel about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I feel like they are two completely different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I feel like a rainbow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

I feel like they are two completely different things.
    I think its bad customer service to allow people to jump the queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Seachmall wrote: »
    I feel like a rainbow.

That's called "In-prism-ent".

<sigh>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I think its bad customer service to allow people to jump the queue.

They don't allow people to skip the queue, the people in the queue allow people to skip the queue.

It's not like any business can afford to pay a member of staff who is solely responsible for ensuring order in the queue.

If you let someone stroll past you in a queue somewhere then it's on you, not the company who goods or services you are queuing for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I saw a great one recently in Tesco in Stillorgan where a woman joined a que and stood there in 4th place reading a label on something. As a spot opened up on the self serve a woman walked up to pay and the woman reading the label let out "Sorry there's a que here" which was answered with "Eh I know, I've just been fucking standing in it..."

They don't allow people to skip the queue, the people in the queue allow people to skip the queue.

It's not like any business can afford to pay a member of staff who is solely responsible for ensuring order in the queue.

If you let someone stroll past you in a queue somewhere then it's on you, not the company who goods or services you are queuing for.

It's what those queue bollards that I should stop playing with (retracts\puts back) are for. The line. Believe in the line. The line is good. The line will bring you shuffling to your next destination. The liiiiiiiiine.

I disagree, I've seen shop assistants refuse to allow people to skip the queue and I've recently had an experience where the assistant ignored us when we put our basket on the counter and turned to serve the customer who had just walked into the shop and had gone to the side of the counter to avoid queuing. In my opinion that was queue jumping and bad customer service. I left my basket on the counter and went to Dunnes, I won't be buying from that shop in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

I feel like chicken tonight

I disagree, I've seen shop assistants refuse to allow people to skip the queue and I've recently had an experience where the assistant ignored us when we put our basket on the counter and turned to serve the customer who had just walked into the shop and had gone to the side of the counter to avoid queuing. In my opinion that was queue jumping and bad customer service. I left my basket on the counter and went to Dunnes, I won't be buying from that shop in the future.

So you're not going to that shop because you're not assertive enough? Give me a break!

I inadvertently tried skipping a queue once: there was a long curved counter, and the queue was standing nowhere near it, but to the side, and well back among the aisles (I still don't get that one?)
    Anyway the assistant pointed out the queue to me, I said sorry and went to the back... that's how it should be done

bluewolf wrote: »
    I inadvertently tried skipping a queue once: there was a long curved counter, and the queue was standing nowhere near it, but to the side, and well back among the aisles (I still don't get that one?)
    Anyway the assistant pointed out the queue to me, I said sorry and went to the back... that's how it should be done

Yeh rebel yeh! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,366 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

chin_grin wrote: »
    It's what those queue bollards that I should stop playing with (retracts\puts back) are for. The line. Believe in the line. The line is good. The line will bring you shuffling to your next destination. The liiiiiiiiine.

sleeps tonight...

o wuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu a weee a womba waaaaaaaayyyy

sorry couldn't help myself there.

back on topic though, bad customer service is something you generally get when you're a bad customer.

People who skip lines deserve what's coming to'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

One time I tried to skip a queue that wasn't a queue and and was left standing at an unused register in McDonald's. I was 4 year's old.

I only wanted ketchup. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

In my local shop theres always a single queue that gets served by 3 counters. Thing is if you just ignore the queue and walk up to the counter the girls always serve you so you feel a idiot for actually queuing. The servers should tell people to join the queue as it is not th customers responsibility to do this and it just makes people pissed off and annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭filmbuffboy

queue jumpers bother me. i once had a woman ask me if she could skip ahead of me as she was in a rush to get back to work. i said no problem. not fifteen mins later did i catch her in champion sports browsing! no longer let people skip past me now if they ask, i just tell them im also in a rush!

old people thinking they have a right to skip the queue annoy me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,521 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

I watched 3 lads skip the massive queue at the working abroad expo in Dublin. They cut their queuing time from 2 hours to 5 mins. No one said a word to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭Penn

In a Smyths Toystore on Christmas Eve 2010, I made a heavily pregnant woman carrying a large box get to the back of the queue when she tried skipping it. And I was right to do so.

chin_grin wrote: »
    So you're not going to that shop because you're not assertive enough? Give me a break!

I have absolutely no problem asserting myself, but I have a huge problem with shop assistants allowing customers to jump the queue. In that instance she actively helped her to do it. My attitude in this case was adopt a screw supporting local veg growers, I'm going to Dunnes attitude. I suspect Dunnes will be there long after this greengrocers has gone out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

bluewolf wrote: »

I used to work in a shop and 90% of queue jumpers did it by accident. You just told them nicely where the queue starts, and 90% of them took it well and apologised and got back in the queue.

I used to work in the school book department and you'd often be walking past someone in the long queue at the end of August, who would say "Sorry I only have to get one book, will you just get it for me and I'll pay at the register downstairs." Like hell I will! It doesn't matter how many things you have to get, you still have to queue like everyone else!

And you would get a few narky people who skipped the queue accidentally and stood at the counter for a while, because you thought they were being served, and when you call the next person in the actual queue the first one got upset because "They were waiting ages and nobody helped them." Maybe if you stood at the large sign that says queue here. Tools.

Happened me a few weeks ago at the cinema, at the food counter where there were 4 different types of food. I was confused and thought since I wanted fries I was to go stand at that counter. Was ignored by the staff there for about 5 minutes, until I realised I was to queue with the line for popcorn. It was a genuine mistake and all the staff had to do was point out to me I skipped the queue, instead of ignore me the whole time. I thought that was bad customer service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Penn wrote: »
    In a Smyths Toystore on Christmas Eve 2010, I made a heavily pregnant woman carrying a large box get to the back of the queue when she tried skipping it. And I was right to do so.
    What a lovely person you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

In my local shop theres always a single queue that gets served by 3 counters. Thing is if you just ignore the queue and walk up to the counter the girls always serve you so you feel a idiot for actually queuing. The servers should tell people to join the queue as it is not th customers responsibility to do this and it just makes people pissed off and annoyed.

Was just about to post the same. That really annoys the bollix out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Or when you are in a shop like that, and they open a new register at the end, saying I will take who's next. And people behind you jump forward to it! I find that so rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭Penn

What a lovely person you are.

If she was behind me in the queue, I'd have had no problem letting her take my place, and probably would have offered to carry the box for her.

She skips the queue, f*ck that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,521 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Or when you are in a shop like that, and they open a new register at the end, saying I will take who's next. And people behind you jump forward to it! I find that so rude.

This happens all the time in Aldi/Lidl - its like a bloody stampede.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

Tried jumping the queue once but they were too tall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,281 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sleeps tonight...

o wuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu a weee a womba waaaaaaaayyyy

sorry couldn't help myself there.

back on topic though, bad customer service is something you generally get when you're a bad customer.

People who skip lines deserve what's coming to'em.

Like speedy till-service and getting home in time for supper?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

My local Credit Union were paying out dividends on shares to customers about 2 years ago,queue was massive.
    This asshole walked in,looked at the queue then marched up to the counter demanding he be served before everyone.The woman behind the counter pointed to the crowd behind him saying he'd have to wait like everyone else,he proceeded to give her dogs abuse,shouting & cursing at her because he was too busy & important to be held up.A couple of lads near him in the queue 'politely' asked him to leave "before he was knocked out".

The face on him like a scolded child as he skulked out the door was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Heres a conundrum for ye ,

I skipped a queue at the cinema last year for the new Harry Potter movie, there was people standing queueing for half an hour waiting to be left into the next area not the actual screen .
    However all tickets sold were assigned seats so if you were first of last your seat was the same as ticket stub anyway.

So sat back and relaxed for good half hour watched the queue build and when it finally started moving we just merged in with it :D

Its not my fault people were stupid enough to queue for so long for a film with reserved seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,735 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Irish people are incapable of queuing.

I was amazed to visit Madrid and see people queue up in single file at bus stops and, when the bus arrived, get on in that order. Imagine that! In Bus Aras in Dublin the people stand in line until the bus arrives and then alll Hell breaks loose as people almost trample each other to death to get on first.

The British are absolutely meticulous at serving each other in order. It dosent matter who you think you are, whoever was there first gets served first. In Ireland people are disgusted to find out that they are expected to line up with the undermenchen!

I have been in North America about 10 times in my life and have never witnessed anyone jumping a queue there. To Americans it's seen as a worse crime than being a freedom hating communist. In Ireland you queue up at an ATM, when you get to the top of the queue you find out that another rival queue has formed coming from the other direction.