Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Moyes - UEFA Conspiracy Cost Everton Champions League Place

• 12-03-2012 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11661/7590220/Moyes-UEFA-hot-balls-cost-us
    David Moyes believes there was a conspiracy against Everton when they qualified for the UEFA Champions League in 2005.

The club operate on a shoestring budget compared to other Premier League rivals and a Champions League run would have given the team a much-needed financial boost.

However, Moyes feels after Liverpool winning the competition the previous season, UEFA was keen to avoid including five English clubs.

Everton were drawn against Villarreal in the qualifying stage and went out 4-2 on aggregate.

"It was a defining point for us. Villarreal went onto the semi-final," Moyes said.

"The draw we got was a stinker. I always think it was the 'hot balls' in the bag that day.

"We went away (trailing 2-1) and Duncan Ferguson scored to make it 2-1 on the night to take it to extra-time and Pierluigi Collina chops it off.

"That could have changed what we did at Everton. If we had got into the group stages with the money that was available...

"Everyone knows the previous season Liverpool had won the European Cup so deep down I didn't think they (UEFA) wanted five British teams in the group stages.

"I am sure they were all delighted when we were knocked out."

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

They didnt want 5 British teams in it did they not? Were Rangers and/or Celtic kept out too so?

Sounds like bitter ramblings tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Ridiculous but not surprising from him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

That club has made him into a bitter man, no surprise really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

it was 7 years ago ffs....move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Ridiculous rant from Moyes. Everton finished 11th in the Premier League that year. I don't think they were ever going to make much of an impact in the Champions League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

They didnt want 5 British teams in it did they not? Were Rangers and/or Celtic kept out too so?

Sounds like bitter ramblings tbh.

It was nothing to do wit Rangers or Celtic and it was five ENGLISH teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

in moyes' quote he said 5 british!

I know that. But the quote says British:

"I didn't think they (UEFA) wanted five British teams in the group stages"

Just makes the rant sound incoherant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

They were an unseeded team in the final qualifying round, so there were some absolute stinkers of draws they could have got.

Looking at wiki
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005%E2%80%9306_UEFA_Champions_League#Third_qualifying_round

they had 14 possible opponents (couldn't play Liverpool or MUFC afaik) and they could have got Inter, Ajax, Udinese, Werder Bremen or Villareal.
    So 5 of their 14 possible opponents were really horrible ties, a 2/1 shot which came up. Hardly a conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I think it's time he builds a bridge.

They ain't called the bitters for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

in moyes' quote he said 5 british!
    Look Moyes can say British all he wants it comes down to the simple fact that with Liverpool winning it and then not qualifying for the following season they changed the rules
    Moyes should get over it though it been a while

Look Moyes can say British all he wants it comes down to the simple fact that with Liverpool winning it and then not qualifying for the following season they changed the rules

Liverpool's presence in the competition is of no relevance to Everton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

He's at Everton 10 years this week. Unsurprisingly, he's being asked questions about the last 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Mr Alan wrote: »

It did make their odds of a favourable draw a bit worse and due to the butterfly effect may have changed the draw but it is a bit late to be coming out with this now :)

It had relevance to Arsenal, Chelsea and United. If all 5 teams had of qualified for the group stages the money would of had to been split 5 ways instead of 4. Costing each club around £5m each. Those clubs weren't happy that the rules had been changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭emrys

ifithadntbeenforvillareal

The rules weren't changed.

A gap in the rules was clarified that the holders will always be in it. Makes sense.

Lumbo wrote: »
    He's at Everton 10 years this week. Unsurprisingly, he's talked about Liverpool a lot & just oozed general bitterness

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

It was a turning point to be fair. No harm in some stuff coming up from time to time. He is celebrating 10 years, turning points etc. good and part are going to come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Love all the "bitter" jibes lads. King Kenny revolution in full swing :pac:

423267_2979369763462_1238458348_32303050_433857987_n.jpg

It had relevance to Arsenal, Chelsea and United. If all 5 teams had of qualified for the group stages the money would of had to been split 5 ways instead of 4. Costing each club around £5m each. Those clubs weren't happy that the rules had been changed.

Yet it's Moyes & Everton who constantly bring it up.

Strange that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Agree but this is the only reason its even been brought up:
    He's at Everton 10 years this week. Unsurprisingly, he's being asked questions about the last 10 years.

He will have been asked rather than him going to the press with it

The only reason I commented was that it was Moyes who mentioned Britain which is a strange thing to say as it technically then involves the old firm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Strange that.

Alan, I realise as a Liverpool fan you dislike Everton FC and David Moyes but just like the Glen Johnson interview last week, Moyes was asked a question and answered it. He didn't go digging it up.

Beign asked about stuff that happens int he past is grand. Going on a rant about conspiracies is entirely his own doing.

killwill wrote: »
    Alan, I realise as a Liverpool fan you dislike Everton FC and David Moyes but just like the Glen Johnson interview last week, Moyes was asked a question and answered it. He didn't go digging it up.

Actually Moyes always goes out of his way to bring both it & Liverpool up.

And Johnson was an idiot for talking about that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

The rules weren't changed.

A gap in the rules was clarified that the holders will always be in it. Makes sense.

The rules were bent for the English clubs under pressure by the FA on UEFA. As for the draw there was no way in advance teams were preordained to get one team over another. The exact situation happened in Spain the season before. The Spanish league didnt complain and just entered their four teams.

And the English teams are the ones complaining?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

is he suggesting that UEFA or Collina were somehow involved in match fixing in some way? it seems to me that he's suggesting this in a veiled way

Moyes gets a lot of media credit for being one of the best managers around, yet he whines constantly about having no money. Everton are not going to be able to compete anytime soon so why doesn't he take the plunge and attempt to try for a new job.. Spurs, Liverpool, Man City, Chelsea have all had vacancies in the recent past or are likely to have vacancies in the near future but I never hear his name mentioned for these jobs.. I know Liverpool is highly unlikely but his severe lack of European experience will hamper him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

The rules were bent for the English clubs under pressure by the FA on UEFA. As for the draw there was no way in advance teams were preordained to get one team over another. The exact situation happened in Spain the season before. The Spanish league didnt complain and just entered their four teams.

And the English teams are the ones complaining?:rolleyes:

What's this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Would have thought TNS offering to play Liverpool for their spot and then drawing them was more dubious than Everton getting Villareal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

Dotsey wrote: »
    so why doesn't he take the plunge and attempt to try for a new job.. Spurs, Liverpool, Man City, Chelsea have all had vacancies in the recent past or are likely to have vacancies in the near future but I never hear his name mentioned for these jobs.. I know Liverpool is highly unlikely but his severe lack of European experience will hamper him

He seems to have a fairly strong stance on the way clubs are run. Check out this article http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17306087

He probably will go if the right job comes along but I can't see him going to Chelsea or City. Liverpool are arguably worse than Everton at the moment.

What's this?

It was 5 years previous (1999/2000) that Real Madrid won the Champions League but didn't finish high enough in La Liga to qualify for the following seasons competition, the Liverpool situation if you will.

In this instance the Spanish FA and fourth placed Zaragoza didn't push the issue the way the FA/Everton did. Real as holders got the place, and Zaragoza got bumped down to the then UEFA Cup but got financial compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It was 5 years previous (1999/2000) that Real Madrid won the Champions League but didn't finish high enough in La Liga to qualify for the following seasons competition, the Liverpool situation if you will.

In this instance the Spanish FA and fourth placed Zaragoza didn't push the issue the way the FA/Everton did. Real as holders got the place, and Zaragoza got bumped down to the then UEFA Cup but got financial compensation.

That was because the Spanish FA had a different rule to the English FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Ok, thanks. I thought he was implying a Spanish team won it in 04.

So based on the way the Spaniards done it, Liverpool were rightfully awarded a place in the CL. I assume the decision of who qualifies is up to the FA of whatever country?

astrofool wrote: »
    That was because the Spanish FA had a different rule to the English FA.

In theory the individual rules of the FAs don't matter a jot as the Champions League is actually an invitational event.
    So the English FA nominate the top 4 and UEFA extend the invitation as a matter of course.
    However the FA had threatened to test this in European courts if the UEFA invited Liverpool over Everton.
    Ok, thanks. I thought he was implying a Spanish team won it in 04.

So based on the way the Spaniards done it, Liverpool were rightfully awarded a place in the CL. I assume the decision of who qualifies is up to the FA of whatever country?

I think its safe to say with the rule change made after 2005 that the way Spain dealt with it in 2000 was the way UEFA intended it. Fair fcuks to the FA for sticking to their guns and getting a 5th team in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

they had 14 possible opponents (couldn't play Liverpool or MUFC afaik) and they could have got Inter, Ajax, Udinese, Werder Bremen or Villareal.
    So 5 of their 14 possible opponents were really horrible ties, a 2/1 shot which came up. Hardly a conspiracy.

Everton got THE WORST one...which is a 14/1 shot....not a 2/1 shot. And you never mentioned the goal that got chalked off for no apparent reason. To this day I still can't see a thing wrong with it no matter how many times I look. Collina's last ever game as he coincidentally retired immediatley afterwards! How strange for a referee to retire at the start of a season and at such an unglamerous stage!!!
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    They ain't called the bitters for nothing.
    A bit like the club who cry over another club passing their number of league titles - and a bit like the non-Man City supporters who are praying for City to win the title yeah?

Strange that.
    Actually Moyes always goes out of his way to bring both it & Liverpool up.

Please show me where else Moyes or anyone else at Everton has ever said this since the event. Link?
    Dotsey wrote: »
    Spurs, Liverpool, Man City, Chelsea have all had vacancies in the recent past or are likely to have vacancies in the near future but I never hear his name mentioned for these jobs.

Are you living on Mars? Moyes has been linked to both Chelsea and Spurs over the last month - and is constantly linked to suceeding Alex Ferguson at Man Utd too!
    In theory the individual rules of the FAs don't matter a jot as the Champions League is actually an invitational event

What does "In theory" mean? Either they do or the don't. And they do. The rules stated before that season started was that the top 4 qualified for the Champions League.

I suppose some people even think Qatar got the 2022 World Cup coz it was the best location n all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

lol, that's an utterly idiotic suggestion from Moyes. Himself and Jim Corr would probably enjoy each other's company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lol, that's an utterly idiotic suggestion from Moyes. Himself and Jim Corr would probably enjoy each other's company.

In that case, can you tell me what was wrong with Duncan Ferguson's goal please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

it's a common enough thought in england that UEFA have a thing against english clubs, Especially platini

remember barca against chelsea and just listen to the commentators/pundits if english sides are KO'd they'll make reference to the dislike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

batistuta9 wrote: »
    it's a common enough thought in england that UEFA have a thing against english clubs, Especially platini

remember barca against chelsea and just listen to the commentators/pundits if english sides are KO'd they'll make reference to the dislike

Platini was not the head of UEFA until 2007 so nothing to do with this.

i said UEFA first - whoever was in charge

but they say he really dislikes the english sides dominating that's why i mentioned him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I also thought this when it happened. I've believed the draws can be rigged for quite some time. Not always, but sometimes.

but they say he really dislikes the english sides dominating that's why i mentioned him.

As he thinks they have an unfair advantage due to monies spent. Which in fairness hes right.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    As he thinks they have an unfair advantage due to monies spent. Which in fairness hes right.

you mean the english club's right?

if so real, barca, bayern, inter and some eastern european sides & probably others as well have all spent there fair share of money their not paupers by any means

you mean the english club's right?

if so real, barca, bayern, inter and some eastern european sides & probably others as well have all spent there fair share of money their not paupers by any means

Spent money they earned, Bayern are possibly the best run club in the world.

He hates sugar daddies and oil barons buying clubs and then players with no income to cover it.

So mostly man city and chelsea.

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Everton got THE WORST one...which is a 14/1 shot....not a 2/1 shot. And you never mentioned the goal that got chalked off for no apparent reason. To this day I still can't see a thing wrong with it no matter how many times I look. Collina's last ever game as he coincidentally retired immediatley afterwards! How strange for a referee to retire at the start of a season and at such an unglamerous stage!!!

C'mon, you are stringing a series of unrelated events into some wild conspiracy theory. Its common knowledge that Collina retired in a huff when the Italian FA vetoed his sponsorships just before the season started, hence his last game was a pre-season CL qualifier.

As for Villareal being the worst draw, thats a hindsight thing.
    At the time of the draw Inter and Panthanaiokos had a higher coefficent, and it appears Liverpool were a possible opponent as well (5 English teams problem insta-solved for UEFA).
    http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/history/seedcl2005.html

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Spent money they earned, Bayern are possibly the best run club in the world.

He hates sugar daddies and oil barons buying clubs and then players with no income to cover it.

So mostly man city and chelsea.

I'm not too sure about how bayern are run but i'll take your word but they spend a lot of money

does he hate shakhtar? oil/sugar daddy funded i think. & anzhi now too

moratti's inter? an oil baron right there

barca owed a huge amount to the banks did they not, real nearly spend as they wish as well but would have a massive global income

apoel with their €7mil budget - where is that coming from

there are a lot of clubs who spend more that they earn and i don't think all those clubs have been just spending what they earned

He might not like the rich man buying a club, pumping money in & winning but chelsea + city aren't the only examples of it, i was more under the impression that he didn't like them dominating it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

The way it was being reported at the time was as if Liverpool were the ones begging to be allowed in when it had always been the case that the champions qualified automatically, going right back to the European Cup days when this scenario arose more often. Moyes should be grateful that he was even given a shot at qualifying.

latenia wrote: »
    The way it was being reported at the time was as if Liverpool were the ones begging to be allowed in when it had always been the case that the champions qualified automatically, going right back to the European Cup days when this scenario arose more often. Moyes should be grateful that he was even given a shot at qualifying.

Really?

Then why did Liverpool have to enter the competition in the first round?

And why did UEFA then change the rules to make sure the Champions defended the Cup after 2005/06?