Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy power special for the Arkle - steer clear?

• 12-03-2012 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭

Ok i think i'll steer clear of this race - I have a feeling the jolly will be over-turned!!
    Similar the last 2 years, Cue Card last year and Dunguib the year before the 'festival bankers' turned out not to be the case with PP offering the punters money back if the favourites won and we know what happened then..

I was going to do an accy with SS, HF, LR, SE, Q & Boston Bob @ 83/1 but i reckon SS will be the one to let the side down.

It's still a 42/1 accumulator :D

Jayo11780 wrote: »

I was going to do an accy with SS, HF, LR, SE, Q & Boston Bob @ 83/1 but i reckon SS will be the one to let the side down.

On OR ings SS is one of the more appealing of those you list :)
    The jockey's comparisons to Moscow Flyer are also noteworthy.

SS isn't the festival banker by any stretch though, that would be BBs for most punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Is there anything to stop you going around 10 or 11 different paddy power shops this evening and putting 100 euro in each of them on Al Ferof and getting the 100 back from each individual shop tomorrow if Sprinter wins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Arctic89 wrote: »
    Is there anything to stop you going around 10 or 11 different paddy power shops this evening and putting 100 euro in each of them on Al Ferof and getting the 100 back from each individual shop tomorrow if Sprinter wins?

Yeah, I don't have a single €100 stash, let alone 10 or 11!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Did one of the major bookies not offer money back if you finish second to Big Bucks last year? Look how well that turned out for them. Big Bucks won and Grand Crus second!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Boyle refund up to €200 if your horse is second, that is where my Sprinter Sacre and Hurricane Fly money has gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

whats paddys thinking behind this offer.
    i was first thinkn that he wants everyone to stay away from sprinter because paddy thinks he will def win.
    now im thinkn that paddys thinks he will lose and he will clean up because loads of people have backed outsiders and only one will win.

im confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭razor425

i was first thinkn that he wants everyone to stay away from sprinter because paddy thinks he will def win.
    now im thinkn that paddys thinks he will lose and he will clean up because loads of people have backed outsiders and only one will win.

im confused

It doesn't matter who wins, the aim is to get punters into the shops early on the first day. This way they will probably bet with Paddy for the week and no matter what the result of the Arkle Paddy will have made his money back.

razor425 wrote: »
    It doesn't matter who wins, the aim is to get punters into the shops early on the first day. This way they will probably bet with Paddy for the week and no matter what the result of the Arkle Paddy will have made his money back.

Good Thinking. Not much of a business head on me. Should attend some lectures maybe....not this week though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Ice87

im confused

Paddy thinks Menorah will bring Sprinter down at the first.

Ice87 wrote: »
    Paddy thinks Menorah will bring Sprinter down at the first.

haha i hope not for my pockets sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

As far as i know, PP are enhancing Ruby's mounts during Cheltenham as well.
    I can't see any reason to steer clear of the offer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭Alpish

Sorry for the noob question but can someone explain to me how the free bet on paddypower works?

I just registered and it says I'm entitled to one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

You put the bet on as normal, if it wins you only get the winnings and not the stake back. i.e. 1 euro free bet at 5/1 returns 5 euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭razor425

You put the bet on as normal, if it wins you only get the winnings and not the stake back. i.e. 1 euro free bet at 5/1 returns 5 euros.

I'm pretty sure this is not the case. I think this is probably a free bet offer for joining. With regards the free bet on the Arkle however, this is how it works.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭Alpish

razor425 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure this is not the case. I think this is probably a free bet offer for joining. With regards the free bet on the Arkle however, this is how it works.

Sorry should have cleared that up it's a free bet for joining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Ok i think i'll steer clear of this race - I have a feeling the jolly will be over-turned!!
    Similar the last 2 years, Cue Card last year and Dunguib the year before the 'festival bankers' turned out not to be the case with PP offering the punters money back if the favourites won and we know what happened then..

It's still a 42/1 accumulator :D

A lot of fences to be jumped by a lot horses for 42/1 , and it's in Cheltenham ,. bad value ... even if they won :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Arctic89 wrote: »

Good way of getting exercise alright !!! sounds like they're giving away something but it's only your own back and then again if something else should win , you'll lose the whole fecking lot ... special my ho..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

I hope this is right i've been looking at this all day:

Anyone backing in the Arkle has to go this way and do this with Paddy power. Money back if Sprinter Sacre wins so here's a bet to nothing. Al Ferof €80 win @ 11/4- win €300, Cue Card €38 win @ 7/1 - win €304, Menorah €30 win @ 9/1 wins €300, Blackstairmountain €18 win @16/1 win €306, Foildubh €4 win @ 80/1 win €324. Bets by them stakes costing you €170 in total and if Sprinter Sacre wins you get that money all back and if any of the others win guaranteed profit of €130

Am I right in saying this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

mr.jingle wrote: »

Anyone backing in the Arkle has to go this way and do this with Paddy power. Money back if Sprinter Sacre wins so here's a bet to nothing. Al Ferof €80 win @ 11/4- win €300, Cue Card €38 win @ 7/1 - win €304, Menorah €30 win @ 9/1 wins €300, Blackstairmountain €18 win @16/1 win €306, Foildubh €4 win @ 80/1 win €324. Bets by them stakes costing you €170 in total and if Sprinter Sacre wins you get that money all back and if any of the others win guaranteed profit of €130

Looks spot on to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Ignoring the 100 limit per customer restriction and assuming that you either:

1)
    a) leg it around a load of shops
    b) have multiple accounts
    c) have a rake of people ready to place bets at the same time (barney curley style)

AND

2) none of the odds don't change in between the time you get all the bets on

AND 

3) you don't otherwise get rumbled...

...it's a good thing

1)
    c) have a rake of people ready to place bets at the same time (barney curley style)

AND

AND 

...it's a good thing

sounds like a lot of effort. it would be easier to just back the winner. spriter sacre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

1)

AND

AND 

...it's a good thing

Two shops, no accounts would be fine.

Three horses in one shop, two in the other.

mdwexford wrote: »

You could actually just do it in one shop. It will be so mobbed they wont remember who is putting on what. There will also be 4 or 5 people behind the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

You could always then back SS in Boyles on line for €130.

That way if SS wins you get back 130 at 4/5 plus 170 from PP
    if SS is second money back from Boyles and win from PP
    SS outside top two break even.

I am sure the T&C only says €100 per customer and not one horse up to €100 per customer.

One betslip may well do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

mdwexford wrote: »

You could actually just do it in one shop. It will be so mobbed they wont remember who is putting on what. There will also be 4 or 5 people behind the counter.

Yeah, both true. Good work Mr. Jingle. Might just do that myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Can you do this online if your 5 singles come under 100e put together? I've my bet slip filled ready to pull the trigger. Total bets comes to 99.75

Can you do this online if your 5 singles come under 100e put together? I've my bet slip filled ready to pull the trigger. Total bets comes to 99.75[/QUOTE

No dont do that that they usually have in terms and conditions if someone abuses the offer they have thave the right to withdraw it.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Can you do this online if your 5 singles come under 100e put together? I've my bet slip filled ready to pull the trigger. Total bets comes to 99.75[/QUOTE

No dont do that that they usually have in terms and conditions if someone abuses the offer they have thave the right to withdraw it.

So up to the shop then? There is only one near me? Would they accept 5 singles on 5 horses in same race?

Yes just do them on different slips.

I just looked on their site at the terms and conditions and it does'nt mention it this time but it usually does.

Can you do this online if your 5 singles come under 100e put together? I've my bet slip filled ready to pull the trigger. Total bets comes to 99.75

Ask one of their customer service people and print screen the chat incase there is a problem.

Smart ploy by Powers, get people not to back Sprinter and by refunding everything else they only lose the few bets they took on Sprinter.

You could back them all with Powers and back Sprinter for €100 or more with Boyles, if Sprinter is second you get your €100 or more back and your winnings from Powers.

If Sprinter wins you get €180 off Boyles and your €100 back from Powers.

"won't refund a faller"

I'm 95% sure I'm wrong here, just thinking of an angle. Apologies!

They won't refund a faller. 2 miles at the Arkle Pace over fences. Not to mention Menorah is one of them!

Where did you see that?

They won't refund a faller. 2 miles at the Arkle Pace over fences. Not to mention Menorah is one of them!

That would be very harsh

So if SS wins and the rest all fall no refunds in PP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

RoverJames wrote: »
    So if SS wins and the rest all fall no refunds in PP?

no. a faller is a loser and money back

Edited, I came off rather matter-of-factly, I haven't heard/read that anywhere!

Time to leave the room...

Edited, I came off rather matter-of-factly, I haven't heard/read that anywhere!

Time to leave the room...

haha gas man....making everyone poo themselves for a moment:D

Kinda sheds some light on how people view the special though.
    It's far better than Cue Card and Dunguib (of course Hindsight is fully operational here)

Originally Posted by robbie1977
    No dont do that that they usually have in terms and conditions if someone abuses the offer they have thave the right to withdraw it.[/QUOTE]

Yes just do them on different slips.

I just looked on their site at the terms and conditions and it does'nt mention it this time but it usually does.

Max refund: e100/£100 per customer.
    Applies to bets placed on the Arkle Chase from 8am 28th February.
    Applies to win (and win part of each way) single bets only placed before the start of the race.
    The customer's selection must run in the Arkle Chase for the refund to apply.
    Does not apply to extra markets.
    Does not apply to Tote bets.
    Paddy Power reserves the right to refuse refunds if a customer backs multiple runners in this race.

That new term and condition has been added in the last hour.

I wonder have people been backing all the other runners or do PP
    have people reading forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭paulisagayboy

I did this- all on one slip in the shop- as I placed the bet- I directly said to the girl- if ss wins, will I get 100 back and she said yes- so I will argue my case if they dont give it to me and say that they changed the terms and c's after I placed my bet! Doubt they will refuse but in future, I doubt they will leave it out of t+c's

Does anyone know if you can cash a betslip in a different paddypower shop? Just i made this in hometown but wont be home tomorrow but will have access to another shop elsewhere!

I did this- all on one slip in the shop- as I placed the bet- I directly said to the girl- if ss wins, will I get 100 back and she said yes- so I will argue my case if they dont give it to me and say that they changed the terms and c's after I placed my bet! Doubt they will refuse but in future, I doubt they will leave it out of t+c's

Lets hope they pay out

Does anyone know if you can cash a betslip in a different paddypower shop? Just i made this in hometown but wont be home tomorrow but will have access to another shop elsewhere!

Yea no problem collecting that at all in a different PP shop.

wolfboy be carefull now backing all 5 in the 1 shop Im sure staff
    will be dont to watch out for this now.

they must be getting hammered with it being only a 6 horse race now.

Yea no problem collecting that at all in a different PP shop.

Cheers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Law of averages he will win so, going to go heavy on Sprinter Scare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭smndly

Might try this out tomorrow. Just one question though, why don't you back al Ferof for €100 euro and then work back from there? It would increase the profit a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭paulisagayboy

smndly wrote: »

Might try this out tomorrow. Just one question though, why don't you back al Ferof for €100 euro and then work back from there? It would increase the profit a bit.

Max refund per customer is 100 so if u put on any more, they could void the bet. But if it's busy and you use more than one slip then I don't see why you couldn't do this if u wanna stake big!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭smndly

May as well go for it. i'll bring a few different hats and coats and i'll be grand. Sure if they figure me out after a few bets i can just move onto the next paddy power and so on. :cool: