Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rivers of piss, puke and drink

• 12-03-2012 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭

So, are we all ready for the national day of binge drinking?

There's no problem with people enjoying themselves responsibly. What we tend to see on the streets over this week every year though is a total lack of regard for Ireland, much less a celebration of it.

What should be done to try and prevent the subspecies that think it's OK to treat Paddy's day as an excuse to go on a 24-hour binge and puke it all up in the street from getting their kicks? One lad on 2FM there a while ago even suggested taking an empty warehouse or NAMA property, and converting into a drunktank so that they don't become a drain on A+E and so on. Throw in a couple of med students and Guards and let them sleep it off under supervision.

Anyone else think the whole drink culture here is a bit out of control?

Now I'm in a rare category as I don't drink myself, but before I get the usual torrade of "ah **** off ya wuss" - a lot of people who don't use drugs comment on and berate junkies, so why not an outsider be allowed pass comment on those who quite literally wreck the gaff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Probably only one of a few days in the year where struggling pubs can recoup some of their losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Enda go back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

sdeire wrote: »

There's no problem with people enjoying themselves responsibly. What we tend to see on the streets over this week every year though is a total lack of regard for Ireland, much less a celebration of it.

What should be done to try and prevent the subspecies that think it's OK to treat Paddy's day as an excuse to go on a 24-hour binge and puke it all up in the street from getting their kicks? One lad on 2FM there a while ago even suggested taking an empty warehouse or NAMA property, and converting into a drunktank so that they don't become a drain on A+E and so on. Throw in a couple of med students and Guards and let them sleep it off under supervision.

Now I'm in a rare category as I don't drink myself, but before I get the usual torrade of "ah **** off ya wuss" - a lot of people who don't use drugs comment on and berate junkies, so why not an outsider be allowed pass comment on those who quite literally wreck the gaff.

ASBOs for alcos. Fine them for a 1st offence, then ban them from drinking for repeat offences, enforced by regular piss tests. No time for pisshead wastes of space pissing, sh1tting and throwing up all over the place. Do that sh1t at home, not in public.
    Probably only one of a few days in the year where struggling pubs can recoup some of their losses.

Pubs are struggling because they charge way too much for a pint. No sympathy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Seriously where do you go OP?

Going out for a few bevvies, somewhere there's a bit of live music and having a bit of craic with friends and family! That's more of a standard Paddys day than the scenario you've painted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Too many amateurs in the pubs on Paddys Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    Pubs are struggling because they charge way too much for a pint. No sympathy for them.

The government also has a part in the price of a pint. Dont be so stupid to think that publicans are over charging everyone because they are not making enough money. Thats called bad business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Saint Patricks day and Saint Stephens day are the two nights I avoid going out as the level of drunkness is unreal. I drink myself but will attend the parade and have a few drinks after but make sure I get out of town early. I live in a rural area so the attitude to getting lashed seems to be the same all over. Don't think they'res a quick solution. Education at an early age would be a start. All we're ever told is the dangers of alcohol day in day out but unless it's the drink industry no one highlights the benefits of moderate consumption. Wine with a meal. a pint with your friends in a relaxed setting etc. Most European countries sell beer in smaller measures and they're happy to go for one and sit and chat . Hate to be working in A&E this weekend and the extra tax money it will cost to look after drunks. This isn't questioned as waste though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I think St Patricks day should be taken back by the Christian people on the Island. It is a Christian holiday about a Christian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

cournioni wrote: »
    Why do we celebrate St. Patrick's Day again??

Because he drove the snakes out and gave us Catholicism. Only we have plenty of snakes in Ireland, and Catholicism is a heap of ****. We should have burned him at the f***ing stake.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I think St Patricks day should be taken back by the Christian people on the Island. It is a Christian holiday about a Christian.
    Exactly, its about getting pissed, puking all over the place and ending up in a row in Supermacs at the end of the night.

ASBOs for alcos. Fine them for a 1st offence, then ban them from drinking for repeat offences, enforced by regular piss tests. No time for pisshead wastes of space pissing, sh1tting and throwing up all over the place. Do that sh1t at home, not in public.

Not true, quite a lot of pubs in the city have reduced their rates on beer, some less than 4.00 a pint and they still cant get the business. A pub in Ennis only charges 3.25 a pint and has to close its doors Monday & Tuesday with the rest of the week with only a handful of customers.

The government also has a part in the price of a pint. Dont be so stupid to think that publicans are over charging everyone because they are not making enough money. Thats called bad business.

12 euro for a pint and a longneck bottle is bad business. Can by 12 cans of Dutch Gold for that AND have money for chips afterwards.

Have seen 4 euro pints of Heineken and cheaper pints of Tenants or Tuborg so don't tell me pubs can't afford to lower their prices. Those that don't, go out of business and it's no-ones fault but their own.

Anyways, way off topic.
    Not true, quite a lot of pubs in the city have reduced their rates on beer, some less than 4.00 a pint and they still cant get the business. A pub in Ennis only charges 3.25 a pint and has to close its doors Monday & Tuesday with the rest of the week with only a handful of customers.

Since when are Monday and Tuesday nights traditionally moneyspinners for pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

blame the yanks, it was them that created st patricks day its current format

without the parades and celebrating in new york and boston back in the early 1700s it would be interesting to see what st paddys day would be like today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

When I lived in Dublin I avoided going out in the city on Paddys Day as it was just a sea of drunken teenagers puking everywhere. I much prefer going out the night before.

Last Paddys Day I went to the nearest village for a few drinks. Usually this village is pretty quiet and the pubs are never that busy but that day was mental. I didnt even think that many people lived in the area. The amount of drunken teenagers falling all over the shop and puking was unreal. Couldnt get over it. Dont know what it is about that day that tends to turn a lot of people into slobbering idiots.

Prob just stay in and watch the rugby and will head out instead on Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

The problem is people are out drinking earlier in the day without food
    ie Maybe a bit of Mass, a peek at the parade and straight to the pub and forgetting to go home to get the spuds

Unfortunately the Catholic Church hijacked it from the Christian Church and made a circus out of it just like what they did with Christmas and Easter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Where do you people be drinking on Paddy's day?

The last few have been sedate events, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

token101 wrote: »
    cournioni wrote: »
    Why do we celebrate St. Patrick's Day again??

Because he drove the snakes out and gave us Catholicism. Only we have plenty of snakes in Ireland, and Catholicism is a heap of ****. We should have burned him at the f***ing stake.

He was so efficient getting rid of the snakes that he even erased all trace of them from the fossil record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Unfortunately the Catholic Church hijacked it from the Christian Church and made a circus out of it just like what they did with Christmas and Easter.
    Yes. It is a holiday which is too commercialised now. It needs to get back to its roots.

Are you saying you've never, ever once seen town a mess after Paddy's day?

Bad enough after a regular weekend, let alone a 4 day weekend of binging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Are you saying you've never, ever once seen town a mess after Paddy's day?

Bad enough after a regular weekend, let alone a 4 day weekend of binging!

I've seen towns in worse states after winning GAA tournaments.

In my experience the boozy Paddy's day is a thing of the past.I suspect very few people will go in a 4 day bender. Youngsters however, will find any excuse to get wreaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Thats because they were on weekdays and work was calling the following day, this year we have 2 days recovery..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

I've never celebrated Paddys day or attended the parade, and I have lived in Dublin all my life. I avoid it like the plague.

I've seen towns in worse states after winning GAA tournaments.

In my experience the boozy Paddy's day is a thing of the past.I suspect very few people will go in a 4 day bender. Youngsters however, will find any excuse to get wreaked.

And that should be addressed too. As the OP said it's not just Paddy's day, it's a cultural problem at the root of society.

Few weeks back I went to use my local ATM on a Monday morning. Some kind soul had regurgitated what I assume was Bulmers and semi-digested chips all over it. Feckin thing was destroyed.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

It is a bloody mess of a day and will be worse this year, being a Saturday and given the Ireland v England rugby. If you go into most pubs you'll find kids running around and drunk parents not giving a crap what their kids are doing so long as they aren't pestering them while they drink.

Of course it isn't just parents, there will be the usual mix of people who are drunk by mid afternoon but who will continue to be served until they pass out or run out of cash. I know well that when I go to the town centre on Sunday I'll pass many a pool of vomit and the usual Supermac packaging strewn everywhere. I'd love to see a ban on kids in pubs or at least a family area where kids aren't exposed to the worst of the drunken behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Some bunch of miserable bastards on this thread. Paddys day is a great day to go out on the lock in Dublin. Really good atmosphere in all the pubs. My advice is, go out early. Don't go out at 7 or 8pm. Have your first pint at about midday. Take a food break along the way. Enjoy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

It's people like you that are ruining this country. If you don't like it then leave....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Pubs and offies can't sell drink until 12:30 on Paddies day as it's the same as Sunday opening. Most of those that are piss'd up will get drunk on 4-5 cans and look like they've been on it for the day at around 4 . Then you'll have the crew that went in at 12:30 to the pub not watch the parade and after 7:00 will go looking for trouble. It will be manic this year with rugby match and national pride at stake. Most of them won't even watch the game but it's another excuse to get sauced up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The one day of the year im embarassed to be irish and it will be much worse this year with the Rugby on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Jeez OP lighten up FFS. I took the week off work just to rest before a 3 day bender on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Sessiiioooonnnnnn!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

token101 wrote: »

True, Its almost like Turkeys celebrating Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

If anyone needs to 'lighten up' it's the tools who drink way too much on the day and wreck it for other people.

And the term 'Session' refers to music in a pub, not drinking 12 pints on an empty stomach and ripping your guts up in broad daylight.

Buzz Killington, signing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Jeez OP lighten up FFS. I took the week off work just to rest before a 3 day bender on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Sessiiioooonnnnnn!!!

..and it's people like you who contribute to

-the image of Ireland as a nation of drunken oafs
    -the filth, mess, mayhem, antisocial shouting matches, fights, puking, pissing and yes even ****ting in the streets on Paddy's night and others
    -the clogged A+E systems full of people too stupid to know when to stop
    -The guards and medics ending up with broken noses or worse
    -the councils who clean up the mess

Ultimately, your taxes pay to help hide the result until the next time the sun goes down on a weekend when it starts over.

I'm not uptight, I'm a realist. We're so bloody "Ah sure it'll be grand" in this country, and it's been holding us back for centuries. I'm not saying people in other countries don't get locked and mess the place up - Uk aren't far behind us in terms of knacker drinking idiots causing havoc for no apparent reason - just that when anyone points out the problem the vast majority turn around and say that there ISN'T a problem! It's apalling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

He was a Welsh git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

So what we have here is a day where people binge drink and watch floats to celebrate a Welsh slave turned preacher who hunted snakes in his spare time.

Personally i'm looking forward to the extra lie-in on the monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Personally i'm looking forward to the extra lie-in on the monday

My boss actually squee-ed when someone reminded her about the day off on Monday. I did not squee but did share her sentiments. I think I might spend the extra day printing photos. I'm hardcore like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Your right, half these people must be posting from the local county home.
    Cheltenham starts tomorrow and i will be on the piss all week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

Classy guy!,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

12 euro for a pint and a longneck bottle is bad business. Can by 12 cans of Dutch Gold for that AND have money for chips afterwards.

Have seen 4 euro pints of Heineken and cheaper pints of Tenants or Tuborg so don't tell me pubs can't afford to lower their prices. Those that don't, go out of business and it's no-ones fault but their own.

Anyways, way off topic.

Since when are Monday and Tuesday nights traditionally moneyspinners for pubs?

If your paying €12 for a pint, find another pub, most I pay in Limerick for one is just under a fiver!

Tuesdays in Limerick are student nights, so they bring in good business, its the Wednesdays are real killers, mondays there is often a few events about to help business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Am I they only one who doesn't like Paddy's Day?
    The city is just full of horribly drunk people. Why can't people celebrate a holiday without getting **** faced and making the city look like a scene from 28 days later?!

I'm just looking forward to the bank holiday week end (especially after I realised I get Sky F1). Australian GP (Kimi back in F1!!) and then a nice lie in on Monday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Come to the Czech Republic, they're worse here.

We're bad but we're not the worst in the world. I'm not excusing our relationship with drink but we are not the only people in the world with a bad one and it wouldn't be the worst either.

I feel like that is ignored sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Generally in the pub Micky. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,922 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Mickey H wrote: »
    Generally in the pub Micky. ;)

Whereabouts is that pub, might pop in for one on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

..and it's people like you who contribute to

-the image of Ireland as a nation of drunken oafs
    -the filth, mess, mayhem, antisocial shouting matches, fights, puking, pissing and yes even ****ting in the streets on Paddy's night and others
    -the clogged A+E systems full of people too stupid to know when to stop
    -The guards and medics ending up with broken noses or worse
    -the councils who clean up the mess

Ultimately, your taxes pay to help hide the result until the next time the sun goes down on a weekend when it starts over.

I'm not uptight, I'm a realist. We're so bloody "Ah sure it'll be grand" in this country, and it's been holding us back for centuries. I'm not saying people in other countries don't get locked and mess the place up - Uk aren't far behind us in terms of knacker drinking idiots causing havoc for no apparent reason - just that when anyone points out the problem the vast majority turn around and say that there ISN'T a problem! It's apalling.
    It's only the eejits drinking who can't handle their drink causing these problems, you shouldn't throw everyone into the same category as them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Owen_S wrote: »
    It's only the eejits drinking who can't handle their drink causing these problems, you shouldn't throw everyone into the same category as them

I'm not, I'm talking specifically about the eejits.

Alas, that's a large proportion of the population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

What should be done to try and prevent the subspecies that think it's OK to treat Paddy's day as an excuse to go on a 24-hour binge and puke it all up in the street from getting their kicks?

Legalise cannabis for a few days before during and after Paddy's day.
    You will see a dramatic improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

an apocolyptic vision of torrents of alcohol cascading over, tsunamis of random booze, crashing in and levelling all structure. piss and excrement, pools of bile strewn all about amidst puddles of the hard stuff, reflux carried on aquaducts... tins of beer parachuting it down against the amber sky. World Painted Piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,676 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Only if you let the pagans have all their holidays back. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Last year I was working for 12 hours on a bull**** project on Paddy's Day. Unless I wind up in A&E this year it'll have to be better than the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What should be done to try and prevent the subspecies that think it's OK to treat Paddy's day as an excuse to go on a 24-hour binge and puke it all up in the streets?[/SIZE]
    We have to appeal to people and their loved ones, not to behave in such a manner and to take a responsible attitude towards alcohol. Alternatively, an alcohol activated laxative to be added to the water supply.