Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Useless impulse buys

• 11-03-2012 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭

the chocolate philadephia cheese got me thinking about this one

a) strimmers, never seen the light of day, was on special in Aldi or Lidl or something

d) set of sockety things in a black case, never going to use them, don't even know what they are, again a Lidl or Aldi impulse buy

c) tops that are 2 sizes too small but i'll eventually fit into them ( i won't ever really but it's nice to dream)

d) countless jars of things i don't even like or eat, jams and peanut butter (vomit!) , spicey tangy sauces that i've opened to smell and now sit in the press with fungus growing on it

e) A rowing machine that now serves as clothes horse ( i'm thinking i must have bought it to try to fit into above mentioned tops that are too small)

ever look around your house and think "WTF! why did i ever think of buying that?"

i think mine is a sickness of some kind..if it's "on offer" or "BOGOF2 regardless of what it is I'll buy it..i shouldnt be let out of the house most days:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

A kettle for a car. It was €10 in TK maxx. Haven't used it once 4 months later.

My housemates got a good laugh out of it though...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Delta Kilo wrote: »

Cettle?

Seriously though what possessed you to buy a fecking kettle for a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

anyone who ever bought one of those "in my pocket" novelty toys, Mr T, Homer etc etc, you know those stupid keyrings that spout catchphrases when you push buttons, I bet they made a great 5 second worthy present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

My exercise bike that seemed like a good idea in Jan.. great for hanging my coat on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Two cars. I don't need one car, let alone two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭snuggles09

My exercise bike that seemed like a good idea in Jan.. great for hanging my coat on

fancy taking a rowing machine to keep it company? i'll buy you another coat to hang off it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Chevolution

I bought a Jesus action figure.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭skinny90

I once bought a bucket of compressed air...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

I've got one too!! As has my sister.........should get rid of the bloody thing, it's only a constant guilt trip!!

And I bought a type of steam iron, in Lidl or Aldi, that you use with the clothes on a hanger...was going to save myself a fortune in dry cleaning:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Fernando Torres

the irons reminded me of a steam cleaner pressure house thing i bought about 2 years ago, was going to steam the whole house, carpets, curtains the whole lot

did about 6 tiles in the kitchen and the water was dripping off the ceiling with the steam coming out of it..don't know where it is now..probably keeping the sockets company in the back of the shed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Cettle?

Seriously though what possessed you to buy a fecking kettle for a car?

Ehhhhhhh... what if he needs tea while driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

About 5 or 6 hoodies I never wear :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

snuggles09 wrote: »
    the irons reminded me of a steam cleaner pressure house thing i bought about 2 years ago, was going to steam the whole house, carpets, curtains the whole lot

did about 6 tiles in the kitchen and the water was dripping off the ceiling with the steam coming out of it..don't know where it is now..probably keeping the sockets company in the back of the shed

Got one of those too but I used it today....epic for defrosting the freezer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Anglo

Pandora2 wrote: »
    Got one of those too but I used it today....epic for defrosting the freezer!!

hurrah! i knew i'd find a use for it one days..it's for moments like this i'm glad i buy seemingly useless crap:D might root it out and give it a go during the week on teh freezer ( i said might)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The entire starsky and hutch tv series. Liked the film, thought the series would be similar. Didnt watch much of it, has sat in the bottom of a cupboard for 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

A paint sprayer I bought in Aldi about 5 yrs ago.still in the box out in the shed unopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I've one of them about 2 years now never used it but I still look forward to the day I do.

Be great to offer someone a cup of tea in the car while driving

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I bought this really tiny frying pan yesterday which I decided would be great for frying perfect circular shaped fried eggs, it a bloody disaster as there is no hot oil by the side to spoon over the egg to harden the yolk before flipping it to fry it hard. Disaster but for €3 it seemed like a good idea at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LemonPledge

Bought one in September that I also use as a coat hanger :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

An epilator. It was cheap so I decided to get it. Tried it once and that was that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

Wiifit. Useless article. I couldn't be fecked with it once the novelty wore off. I use a 5 euro dancercise DVD instead. Expensive waste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

KKkitty wrote: »
    An epilator. It was cheap so I decided to get it. Tried it once and that was that.
    Oh yeah. That too. It was brutal at hair removal and akin to torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Anytime I go into TKMAX I come out with something I really shouldn't have bought, I am asking them to ban me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Confab wrote: »
    Two cars. I don't need one car, let alone two.
    What recession? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

iPhone. Worst phone ever

Nyan Cat wrote: »
    Oh yeah. That too. It was brutal at hair removal and akin to torture.
    With the pain I experienced using it I said fcuk this and went back to the razor. Men should use it on their faces. Just to know what women go through :)

eth0 wrote: »
    iPhone. Worst phone ever
    Why what was wrong with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The lack of keyboard is shoite and I don't get used to it and various other things too. A very locked down and dumbed down device I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,172 ✭✭✭SeanW

Anything by JML.

The lack of keyboard is shoite and I don't get used to it and various other things too. A very locked down and dumbed down device I thought
    Most products like that are hyped up to the last with advertising campaigns. It's kinda weird that someone doesn't like the iphone but in a good way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

krudler wrote: »
    anyone who ever bought one of those "in my pocket" novelty toys, Mr T, Homer etc etc, you know those stupid keyrings that spout catchphrases when you push buttons, I bet they made a great 5 second worthy present.

I never bought one, but I did find a Mr. T one down the inside of a sofa once. It was most amusing, but I can't find it for a while now, I'm convinced some ruffian has stolen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Trying to talk myself out of buying the air compressor and associated accessories in Aldi at the moment. I can think of loads of uses for it but I know it would end up just being a table for every other unused thing I've bought there in recent months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Most products like that are hyped up to the last with advertising campaigns. It's kinda weird that someone doesn't like the iphone but in a good way.

Hyped up is an understatement! I got a Blackberry PlayBook. Its got better specs that an iPad2 and beats it in every way, except its missing a few good apps from the app store. Its €200. The iPad2 is about €600! Shocking amount of hype!

RE:impulse buys. I once bought a pack of various USB convertors, ie USB to Serial, USB to Ethernet, USB to PS/2. There musta been every type of possible conversion in the thing, but I would never have any use for them! Not that I don't be dealing with that kinda stuff, its just the situation would never ever arise where i'd need to convert any cable to usb, or vice versa.

Also, I buy loadsa ****e like chocolate and crisps, then never eat them and leave them at home, only for them to be eaten by someone else!

EDIT: just thought of another. I was backpacking Oz and was gonna be in Brisbane for a month. Spent $500 on a bike. Didn't have a job, was living in a campervan in a trailer park, but decided to spend $500 on the damn thing! Also, the laws over there state u need lights and a helmet so that was another hundred added on before I even left the shop! Barely used the thing and sold it for about $220. :(

The_B_Man wrote: »

Hyped up is an understatement! I got a Blackberry PlayBook. Its got better specs that an iPad2 and beats it in every way, except its missing a few good apps from the app store. Its €200. The iPad2 is about €600! Shocking amount of hype!

RE:impulse buys. I once bought a pack of various USB convertors, ie USB to Serial, USB to Ethernet, USB to PS/2. There musta been every type of possible conversion in the thing, but I would never have any use for them! Not that I don't be dealing with that kinda stuff, its just the situation would never ever arise where i'd need to convert any cable to usb, or vice versa.

Also, I buy loadsa ****e like chocolate and crisps, then never eat them and leave them at home, only for them to be eaten by someone else!

EDIT: just thought of another. I was backpacking Oz and was gonna be in Brisbane for a month. Spent $500 on a bike. Didn't have a job, was living in a campervan in a trailer park, but decided to spend $500 on the damn thing! Also, the laws over there state u need lights and a helmet so that was another hundred added on before I even left the shop! Barely used the thing and sold it for about $220. :(
    Never heard of The Blackberry playbook til now. Really shows how overly hyped up apple products are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Never heard of The Blackberry playbook til now. Really shows how overly hyped up apple products are.

Ye true. And guess what makes mine even better? I got it for free! ;)
    See here: http://www.eoinzy.com/free-blackberry-playbook-for-android-developers/

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I spend a stupid amount of money on clothes sometimes, I'll buy a pair of trousers for €50, wear them once and then never again, end up giving them away to a charity shop usually. Same with T-shirts.

Have 3 or 4 pairs of runners/shoes here that I haven't even worn, including a pair of Converse bought no less than 3 years ago.

DVD's - haven't done it in a while but when I'm in HMV I tell myself that I don't have any decent DVD's so I'll buy 5-6 at a time only to leave them on the shelf at home. Actually just looking now and there are some DVD's bought 2-3 years ago that are still in the plastic.

There's plenty more, just can't think of them all right now. If I see something I want, I find the best thing to do is wait a few days and think about it. I've actually saved a lot of money doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

I'm a sucker for those novelty items you see sometimes in penneys and the like.

Bought a pillow with a speaker in it so you could plug your iPod into it and drift off to sleep with whatever's playing. Kinda cool the first few times but haven't used it in months at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NiallFH

iPhone. Worst phone ever

I see your iPhone aqnd raise you a BB Torch 9800, piece of dirt!

Bought a Razer Naga and a cyborg v7 keyboard back when I was playing Wow, money well spent at the time but now that I dont play anymore (a few months after purchase) bit of a waste.

Also buy clothes a lot and wear them once or twice and decide I no longer like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

kfallon wrote: »
    About 5 or 6 hoodies I never wear :rolleyes:

I'll give you a 5r for those hoodies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

A small pocket torch for like 9€ because I was bored and walking around, even though my phone has a much better LED flash I can use..
    A pancake pan - the idea is good (two small ones stuck together, you twist the pan and it flips the pancake), but the execution is bad: the batter comes out the side when you try to turn it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

I got one of those after Homer changed his car into a kitchen.
    I liked the idea so purchased a kettle for the car.
    you get 2 v small cups and it can take up to 20 mins for the kettle to boil.
    They're designed to draw very little power from the battery so it won't drain the battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Stinicker wrote: »
    hot oil by the side to spoon over the egg to harden the yolk before flipping it to fry it hard
    That's actually not a bad idea. I'd usually just flip it and hope it doesn't splatterize all over the pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭fox_1973

a home spray tanning kit, never even took it out of the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Sega Dreamcast. Many, many books that I have no intention of ever reading like, A beginners guide to Mandarin and Java Programming for dummies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    I'm a sucker for those novelty items you see sometimes in penneys and the like.

Bought a pillow with a speaker in it so you could plug your iPod into it and drift off to sleep with whatever's playing. Kinda cool the first few times but haven't used it in months at this stage.

Have one of these as well. Better than coming home drunk to one of these than too a woman IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'll give you a 5r for those hoodies ;)

No deal, tenner. :p

Or you can just wait til I end up throwing them out and take them from the bin for free :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

snuggles09 wrote: »
    fancy taking a rowing machine to keep it company? i'll buy you another coat to hang off it

so you have just admitted defeat... you may as well give him the tops u will never fit into instead of buying a coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

4 or 5 tins of paint to do the hall stairs and landing, front bedroom, main bedroom and ensuite. the missus wants to get it all done before the first kid gets born so may as well get all the gear in and I'll get cracking on it soon.

No. 2 kid is almost 1 now, paint is still unopened in the shed, hence how I don't even know how many tins I got!!

Anyway, I'll get started this weekend :)