Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heart of Laois 10K - May 27

• 11-03-2012 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

Ballyroan Abbeyleix & District AC in association with the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel will host the inaugural Heart of Laois 10K on Sunday 27th May. We invite all Runners, Joggers and Walkers alike to experience the beautiful heritage town of Abbeyleix and enjoy the healthy family fun athmosphere we promise to provide on the day. The race will take place on a fair and fast course, accurately measured by an approved AAI official and with a full AAI permit granted.
    The cost of registration is €18 per on-line entry or €20 on the day. Registration on the day will take place at the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel from 10am. On-Line registrations are now available on Run Ireland. Book your place to participate in the first road race to be held in Abbeyleix in many many years and help make our new clubs first big event a success.

Prizes

First four senior men and ladies.........1st - €250.. 2nd - €150
    3rd - €75..4th - €50
    First 3 masters men O/40 & O/50...... 1st - €50..2nd - €35..
    3rd - €20
    First 3 masters women O/35 & O/45..1st - €50..2nd - €35..3rd - €20.

€100 Bonus for the first Male under 31.00 Minutes
    €100 Bonus for first Female under 34.00 Minutes

Exclusive 'Heart of Laois' Technical t-shirt for first 100 finishers.
    'Heart of Laois' Cotton t-shirt for next 200 finishers.

Course fully marshalled and marked per km.

Chip timing.

Prize giving and refreshments in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel from 13.45..

1KM fun run for children will take place will take place at 12.00 with a medal for all finishers - Entry €2.

We will keep you informed as we progress race details and in the meantime you can view the link below..

https://www.facebook.com/runabbeyleix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Might give this a go since its only around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭eon1208

Bit of background, we are a new club about 8 months old but passionate about athletics and running in particular. Some of our members ran for many years with North Laois AC and are steeped in the culture. The new club is all about our home area around Ballyroan Abbeyleix, an area without any formal athletic base for many many years..We have generated great interest among young and old alike with as many as 80 people at training some Tuesdays with at least 50 of that number juveniles.. So its all go, the drive, hunger and passion is in place and our big wish now is to bring a great race to the town of Abbeyleix.
    Kudos to red face Dave on being the first person to express an interest here, you wont be disappointed Dave so stay put..
    We recced a prospective course last sunday and feel it has the potential to be fast.. There will be a slight net uphill overall which lends it legitimacy but this net uphill is not severe and is in the first 2k so this race will have PB potential.
    So keep an eye on developments and maybe this will be a race you could pencil in as your big target for early summer..
    The tshirts we have in mind will also prove popular so the invitatation is now open. Follow us on Facebook, with entries now open on Run Ireland..
    https://www.facebook.com/runabbeyleix

I did a lot of training for the marathon out around Ballyroan Abbeyleix lovely part of the country. Must keep an eye out for the club good work and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭netmann

Might give this a go as well. Was raised in that neck of the woods after all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 theangryant

This is ideal preperation for the Flora Womens Mini Marathon as it's only 8 days out from this event. Abbeyleix is also a very central and accessible location.

The beautiful Abbeyleix Manor Hotel who have kindly provided their space as race headquarters. Registrations will commence here at 10am on race morning with the race start very close to the hotel. Race finish is about an 800 metre jog/walk from the hotel where refreshments and relaxation await you on completion of the first ever Heart of Laois 10K..

http://www.abbeyleixmanorhotel.com/

Instead of going with 100 Technical tops and 200 Cotton tops we have decided to go with 300 Technical tops.. They will be attractive and will prove popular. It is always nice to get into a garment that you feel good in and looks good so we want this top to be one of your favourite choices for many hours of quality training after our event. The focal point of the top will be our race logo with the club name and sponsors providing variety. That is the plan, any changes will be announced here and on our facebook page. So we have our new club, our new singlets are becoming well known and the Heart of Laois 10K is our inaugural race.. The location is excellent and central, the course will be fast, the gradients are shallow and not steep.. There is one railway bridge to run over, actually on the road I was born, but the steep incline is over in about 80 metres. Once you are into your tempo the course should prove fast.. So lets make the race a success, you wont be disappointed.. Follow us at http://www.facebook.com/runabbeyleix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I think myself and the wife will be over to do this. We got a nice bit of info on it from our triathlon club page where someone posted the details !

Only prob is the 10am start when i'm working until 3am:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Met some members of this club at the Slieve Bloom Run last weekend and heard about his race. My husband & I will try to get down for it, as it's a lovely part of the country. I've posted about it on my club's Fit for Life & main club facebook pages too, so hopefully there'll be some takers!

I think myself and the wife will be over to do this. We got a nice bit of info on it from our triathlon club page where someone posted the details !

Only prob is the 10am start when i'm working until 3am:o
    Hi elvis jones, just to clarify, registration starts at 10am but the race doesn't start until 12.30pm. This should give you another hour in bed anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

eon1208 wrote: »
    1KM fun run for children will take place will take place at 12.00 with a medal for all finishers - Entry €2.

great idea - what age group is that aimed at at?

scargill wrote: »
    great idea - what age group is that aimed at at?
    Hi scargill, children of all ages will be welcome to run with each finisher recieving a medal.

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Met some members of this club at the Slieve Bloom Run last weekend and heard about his race. My husband & I will try to get down for it, as it's a lovely part of the country. I've posted about it on my club's Fit for Life & main club facebook pages too, so hopefully there'll be some takers!

Hi HelenAnne

Its great to see your posting and I assure you will feel positive after the 10K should you come down..It would be super to have a presence from your prominent club and we look forward to seeing as many of you as possible on the day. We are getting lots of positive vibes in the midlands and we would love to receive as wide a geographical spread of runners as possible..

Its May Day and Sunday 27th May is now in our sights. See Run Ireland for on-line entries and race information or alternatively go to : http://www.facebook.com/runabbeyleix for all the information you need..
    Its going to be an excellently marshalled fast course with chip timing. We have designed high quality technical tshirts with race logo and sponsor logos insignia on front and rear. Race headquarters is the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel which is within easy reach of Cork and Dublin and most provincial centres. Refreshments and prize giving in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel afterwards.. Sign up and you wont be disappointed...

Regrettably I wont be able to do this race as I had a holiday already booked. Best of luck with the race hopefully it will be on again next year. Best of luck with it

Official race poster for the inaugural Heart of Laois 10K has launched. The race is now in our sights, 25 days and counting down..We have recced the course this evening and changed it so that the net effect is flatter and faster..The race will start and finish in almost the exact same place within yards of Headquarters at the Manor. This means the race overall will have zero net uphill.. While there are some undulations, the uphill sections are shallow whereas the 4th and 5th kilometres are super fast and there are good stretches of flat running. We will endeavour to get a map of the course up for people to view. This race has great potential as an annual event and the distance will be EXACT...

I and three friends have signed up! Looking forward to it! Saw at least one member of your club at the Samsung Night Run, I think? recognised the singlet.

Thanks Helen Anne. We are looking forward to seeing you on the day..
    You did indeed see a couple of our members at the samsung run.. We are trying to spread our wings a bit.. See you soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

eon1208 wrote: »
    . This means the race overall will have zero net uphill.. While there are some undulations, the uphill sections are shallow whereas the 4th and 5th kilometres are super fast and there are good stretches of flat running. We will endeavour to get a map of the course up for people to view. This race has great potential as an annual event and the distance will be EXACT...

Sounds like you boys know what you're doing. Has the makings of a top race. My only concern is theres a bowsey down that way, goes by the name of PJ. Have you heard of him?

tunguska wrote: »
    Sounds like you boys know what you're doing. Has the makings of a top race. My only concern is theres a bowsey down that way, goes by the name of PJ. Have you heard of him?
    There's a few PJ's around Abbeyleix but there's only one PJ wearing out the tarmac training for the 10k...or maybe even another marathon ??

There is now just 3 weeks to go and the clock is ticking down. We are getting great vibes out there so add your name to the list....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ATrunner

Just wondering is there a race map up anywhere to view or will there be one up soon?

Below is a link to the route of the inaugural Heart of Laois 10K.. We think we have chosen a great route that will last the test of time over many years. We invite you to come, run the race, enjoy our hospitality while at the same time supporting and helping to establish our new athletic club. We are sure to appreciate your feedback regarding our route and welcome all enquiries...
    See you on the day :Sunday 27th May

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/90214527

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ATrunner

Thats great thanks, any comments on the course... toughest part etc... Looks like a good course to me???

I'm back in, holiday plans changed. Looking forward to it, course looks great

Looks like a decent course? Are there any traffic restrictions in place on the Portlaoise road section?

ATrunner wrote: »
    Thats great thanks, any comments on the course... toughest part etc... Looks like a good course to me???[/QUO
    There is a very gentle rise for 1.3 km, less than 10m in total. Then there is a downhill sweep for 1.5 km, the next 1.5 km is the toughest in the race with another 10 metres of gradual uphill. The next 1.5 km is a very fast downhill section with a total of 20 metres decrease in elevation, after that the course flattens out with a gentle downhill run for the last km. There are two railway bridges on the course, one after 3.5 km and the other shortly after the 8 km mark both with a 150m incline and a 150m decline. The race starts and finishes in the same place guaranteeing a fair course.

We are a new progressive Athletic Club committed to putting on a great race to satisfy all levels of athlete. By coming to support our race you will be introducing our great sport back into Abbeyleix after an absence of many many years and in the process help our fledgling athletic club.. We would love as many as possible to come along for what will be a great day and either race, jog or even walk with us..
    See you at the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Signed up for this last night.. Looking forward to it now!

Grassey wrote: »
    Signed up for this last night.. Looking forward to it now!

Appreciate that Grassy
    You will enjoy the event for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Just got word that i'll be making noise at this event so come on and sign up.........its worth it just to hear me waffle:D

Im in. Looking forward to this one. Any word on whos running, Brian maher et al?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Im in. Looking forward to this one. Any word on whos running, Brian maher et al?
    will i do:D

ultraman1 wrote: »
    will i do:D
    You are perfect Ultraman.. We want you to come to Laois/Abbeyleix

Dont want to let the cat out of the bag just yet but the inside word and hope is that there will be couple of guys leaving scorched earth under their feet...

Will there be any recreational / fun / mid pack runners as well as the scorched earth guys? I don't mind being last, but I don't want to be so far last that I get lost in the countryside somewhere!!

Hi HelenAnne, there will be plenty of recreational runners and walkers in the race including our beginners wing of the club the 'get fit for summer' crew. If you do find yourself alone at halfway stop at the water station for some fruit and enjoy the view to the right of the Slieve Bloom mountains and the view over Abbeyleix town to the left. You won't be on your own at any stage so don't have any worries and the course is going to be well marshalled in any case.

Sounds great good selling theangryant, I have signed up.

Should be good. Hoping for a new p.b so it better be flat, and my little nephew wont stop going on about it ever since I told him about his race it will be his first medal.
    That's a nice addition.

netmann wrote: »
    Looks like a decent course? Are there any traffic restrictions in place on the Portlaoise road section?
    Hi netmann, we will be working with the Gardai on traffic restrictions etc. If they think we need restrictions on the Portlaoise road then we'll go with that. We'll have a better idea closer to the race but we'll have plenty of stewards and traffic won't be a problem to the participants. We hope you will come and enjoy the day.

Sure will. Myself, my other half and the kids are all taking part. I'm originally from the area so looking forward to this one. If the weather keeps up should be a great day.

Course has been officially measured with the Jones Counter and tonight we compared Jones Counter route with a Garmin 405CX measurement. Co-relation proved 100% exact on this run.. We are building up a head of steam for what promises to be a great race.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/180742410#

Great job on the course lads. You're obviously making sure that the most important part of a race is 100% taken care of.

With the current weather conditions. What will be the story with water during the race

There will be a water station just before half way and there will also be water at the finish but we would advise everyone to drink plenty of water for the next two days and on the morning of the race.

The tshirts have just arrived and it is no exaggeration to say they are worth every penny of the entry fee.. Wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Laois has the best hearts, see you there on Sunday.
    Looks like a great race course and well planned out.

Thanks Peter.. We will see you in Abbeyleix on Sunday

Due to the beautiful mediterranean like conditions we have included a second water station at approx the 7km point so that everyone remains well hydrated.. Make sure to stay well hydrated today
    We are really looking forward to tomorrow, it is going to be a really great day..
    Hope to see lots of you there..

Well done lads good decision.