Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it possible to be a Catholic and think that the Pope spouts nonsense?

• 10-03-2012 11:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Pope Benedict XVI has denounced gay marriage in a speech to US bishops visiting Vatican City.

The Pope warned of "powerful political and cultural currents seeking to alter the legal definition of marriage".

He also urged the bishops to emphasise to their Church that premarital sex and cohabitation was "gravely sinful" and "damaging to the stability of society"

I don't know one single Irish Catholic who has not had premarital sex or co-habited or who is gay. (I know one Polish couple who waited until marriage)

Can a church really survive if 99% of the congregation ignore the rules at its very core?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Thats a bit Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭skyflyer

Ah sure it's all just a bit of a laugh, right? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

I'll pray for your heathen ways.... Sinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

In the beginning, God made Adam and Eve.

Not Adam and Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

skyflyer wrote: »
    Ah sure it's all just a bit of a laugh, right? :pac:

Ye won't be laughing when ye are burning in hell. forever. and ever.

Ghandee wrote: »

Not Adam and Steve.

And who married them? Or did they cohabit and ave premarital sex?

Jaysus , a contradiction in the bible, who woulda thunk it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 BlackCatMeoww

Pope Benedict XVI has denounced gay marriage in a speech to US bishops visiting Vatican City.

The Pope warned of "powerful political and cultural currents seeking to alter the legal definition of marriage".

He also urged the bishops to emphasise to their Church that premarital sex and cohabitation was "gravely sinful" and "damaging to the stability of society"

Fair play to him. Anal "sex" is an abomination. It's not just Catholics who teach this - most of the world believes it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 BlackCatMeoww

forfuxsake wrote: »
    Ghandee wrote: »

Not Adam and Steve.

And who married them? Or did they cohabit and ave premarital sex?

Jaysus , a contradiction in the bible, who woulda thunk it?

Old testament. Not to be interpreted literally... Etc.

Fair play to him. Anal "sex" is an abomination. It's not just Catholics who teach this - most of the world believes it too.

and the bit about premarital sex and cohabitation?

you can't pick and choose the bits that you suit you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Is it possible to be a Catholic priest and molest kiddies?

And OP, there's your answer.

A country that allows gay marriage is 'a bummin'nation'

^

Nominated for a Golden Cleric, an Oscar and post of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

No.
    Being a Roman Catholic requires you buy into the whole thing or nothing.
    What do you call a Catholic who think the pope spouts nonsense?
    A Hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

The Catholic Church IS nonsense so knowing the Pope is an idiot doesnt change anything. Just pick and choose what to ignore because it doesnt suit you personally and then carry on pretending the rest is meaningful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭skyflyer

I'd say there's a lot more people who don't take the whole thing too seriously than he'd like to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Good news straight people! You no long have to feel left out as you too are now responsible for the breakdown of society! How you ask? Well by living with the person you love!

"We cannot overlook the serious pastoral problem presented by the widespread practice of cohabitation, often by couples who seem unaware that it is gravely sinful, not to mention damaging to the stability of society."

Yep. You should all let a group of men who will never, ever have one of these 'natural relationships' they're always spouting on about and let them tell you how you're sinful and wrong for having a stable and loving relationship.

http://www.uscatholic.org/news/2012/03/church-must-better-explain-teaching-sexuality-pope-tells-us-bishops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Most of the world believed the world was flat.

Most of the world believes that we were put here by an invisible man in the sky.

It is my experience that most of the world lack basic critical thinking skills.

But hey - if you don't like it, then don't do it. But don't tell other people what they can or can't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Yes, I suppose it is possible to be a Catholic and think the Protector of Paedophiles Everywhere spouts a lot of nonsense. After all, the organisation he heads has a long history of that - little things like telling us the Sun and everything else revolve around the Earth, the Earth is flat, and so on ---:rolleyes:

All that talk about gay marriage right now is just a smokescreen to divert attention from the kiddy-fiddling scandals that seems endemic to the church and about which it is in serious denial.:D

When a Catholic recognises that, it is the beginning of wisdom and may trigger a process of actually thinking - which at best will lead to opening one's eyes to what a load of cobblers the whole sky fairy thing is.:):)

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    what a load of cobblers the whole sky fairy thing is.:):)

Everytime you say that a fairy dies. :eek: :mad:

We all have to clap our hands people!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

If you profess to be Catholic, you deserve to be confused. Organised religion is f**king retarded. You can tell your god I said that.

MungBean wrote: »
    The Catholic Church IS nonsense so knowing the Pope is an idiot doesnt change anything. Just pick and choose what to ignore because it doesnt suit you personally and then carry on pretending the rest is meaningful.

I always laugh at the thought of how we would explain Catholicsm to an alien.

Alien: 'We come from the planet Whatever and we are light years ahead of you in quantum physics, mathematics and technology but alas we know not from where we come or who or what created the multi-verse.'

Us: ' Well, we can help you there. You see there was this woman and she was a virgin and she had a baby and he was the son of a man in the sky who predetermines everything we say and do and when you die you go to him and are happy forever or if you do something bad(which everybody does) then you burn in fire for all eternity.

Alien: Well that's that sorted then.

If you profess to be Catholic, you deserve to be confused. Organised religion is f**king retarded. You can tell your god I said that.

Tell him yourself, he's in your pocket. And behind you. And in your shower. He's in your biscuit tin too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

OF COURSE its possible to be Catholic and not agree with what the Pope says. The Pope isnt God you know! I bet most of the people on here going "Oh yea, its all or nothing" arent even Catholic themselves.

Tell him yourself, he's in your pocket. And behind you. And in your shower. He's in your biscuit tin too.

You don't have to tell him anything, HE knew you would think that thought before HE even created the universe. silly you.

newmug wrote: »
    OF COURSE its possible to be Catholic and not agree with what the Pope says. The Pope isnt God you know! I bet most of the people on here going "Oh yea, its all or nothing" arent even Catholic themselves.

OFCOURSE it is possible to be a Catholic and disagree completely with its teachings.

newmug wrote: »
    OF COURSE its possible to be Catholic and not agree with what the Pope says.

It's not actually.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Papal_infallibility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

In before infallibility

edit, too late

In before infallibility

edit, too late

You lose, sucker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It never seems to end does it? One Catholic thread after another, people have such a fascination with snipping and sneering at Catholicism, can you not just co-exist with organised religion?? most of you started off life as Catholics anyway.

The head of this influential organised religion is actively promoting hatred and intolerance and we're just supposed to accept it? Only in an insane world could an institution which covered up the industrial scale rape of thousands of innocent children expect to be taken seriously when it comes to matters of morality between consenting adults.

The Catholic church makes me want to puke.

It never seems to end does it? One Catholic thread after another, people have such a fascination with snipping and sneering at Catholicism, can you not just co-exist with organised religion??
    We would if particular organised religions wanted to co-exist with us
    most of you started off life as Catholics anyway.
    atheist, i should say

most of you started off life as Catholics anyway.

Yeah. So there! You were baptised before you could even talk so therefore you must respect Catholicism. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it. Mbleh.

Some of us grow up, learn to think for ourselves and are enlightened and intelligent enough to know that organised religions are dangerous cults. Thankfully the kiddy rapists homophobic lobby is failing in our own society as we seem to be becoming more tolerant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

... most of you started off life as Catholics anyway.
    You make it sound like we had a choice in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Why can't practitioners of organised religion co-exist with others then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

nobody is born a catholic, you're indoctrinated into being one.

Catholicism deserves to be sneered at, it openly advocates prejudice and intolerance and its one of the most ludicrous organistations in the world. same goes for the other religions too just in case you think I'm picking on de poor catholics church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

this thread started as a healthy enough debate, then went into religion bashing in a few minutes. ffs, get over it, people believe in stuff, people don't.
    but when you've been on your deathbed and you're given a "second chance" or just a fluke, whatever you wanna call it, it makes you think twice about things.

Back OT i'm reared catholic but consider meself more christian, as I don't believe in the bible, or the backward rules of the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I find it hard to reconcile my beliefs with the Catholic Church. The current pope won't do much to bring me back to the fold.. I go to Mass from time to time, work in a Catholic school where part of my responsibility is to maintain and uphold its Catholic ethos.

However I'd consider myself more broadly Christian these days. One cant deny that the underlying principles of Catholicism provide a moral compass which we can attempt to abide.

Yeah, eradicating mildew is part of my moral compass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Indeed, I mean, the linked too article really implies that the Pope is really trying to get the RCC to co-exist with people of all denominations and lifestyles in a non-judgmental way.

If only we could all take our lessons from the Pope.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Being Catholic, at least there is a form a moral compass instead of being mere flotsam on tides of relativist commercialism that has made this country the bankrupt state it is today.

Alessandra wrote: »
    I find it hard to reconcile my beliefs with the Catholic Church. The current pope won't do much to bring me back to the fold.. I go to Mass from time to time, work in a Catholic school where part of my responsibility is to maintain and uphold its Catholic ethos.

However I'd consider myself more broadly Christian these days. One cant deny that the underlying principles of Catholicism provide a moral compass which we can attempt to abide.

huh, lets see then.

gays are evil.
    unbaptised babies go to limbo, or is it hell, they changed it to stop pissing people off.
    abortion is evil, as are the women who do it.
    premarital sex, evil.
    condoms, super evil, even in countries that are overrun with AIDS, cos god doesnt mind sex as long as you dont try stopping yourself from getting a deadly disease while you're at it.

Manach wrote: »
    Being Catholic, at least there is a form a moral compass instead of being mere flotsam on tides of relativist commercialism that has made this country the bankrupt state it is today.

yes, the church being the non profit organisation is it, its not like the pope lives in a palace or anything is....oh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Do you think it is impossible to have a moral compass without someone else telling what you should think or believe?

Indeed, as the concept of morals never existed until the rise of Catholicism.

It's this kind of point being made with any degree of seriousness that gives the people who wish to bash religion and the RCC more than enough ammo.

So, given the purity and unwavering of the Catholic moral compass...why do some priests abuse altar boys? Why the abuse and beatings of school children in CBS schools?

I'd be more than happy to ignore the Pope if he didn't insist on constantly telling me how evil I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

krudler wrote: »
    huh, lets see then.
    gays are evil.
    unbaptised babies go to limbo, or is it hell, they changed it to stop pissing people off.
    abortion is evil, as are the women who do it.
    premarital sex, evil.
    condoms, super evil, even in countries that are overrun with AIDS, cos god doesnt mind sex as long as you dont try stopping yourself from getting a deadly disease
    while you're at it.

Sorry I should have been clearer. Of course I can't condone those teachings. I'm talking more the charitable and Christian principles. The principles of love and compassion for your fellow man.

but they think being gay is evil, and the gheys are all about loving their fellow men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

They preach fairytales out of a book. turned water into wine?? probably off his tits and thought he did, pure nonsense.

The bible says being gay is wrong. It also says ****e like having a slave is ok. never understood whys there such emphasis on the gay thing though.

You can pick up those concepts from a young age watching Sesame Street.

They have yet to do an episode where G is for Genocide and A is for Abuse so are a good bit ahead of the RCC at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

Yes, but why not just be loving and charitable anyway. You don't need religion to tell you to do that.