Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beers?

• 09-03-2012 5:13pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭

So, the next Beers, I have asked before and I know that there is a talk of one to organise this Retr0-Con that is being proposed.

In addition to that, is there a proper Beers incoming?

Might be able to throw one here in the next month or so, but people seemed to be more interested in having one on the Southside of the city, madness I know but there you have it.

We haven't had a get together since before Jebus day, so what's the plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

As long as it's after I'm back from Hollyweird then all is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

It's in Limerick right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    It's in Limerick right?

Hmm, police escorts and bodyguards cost a lot of money so I can't go to Limerick.

And correct me if I am wrong but don't you need a passport for visiting South Dublin?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

They normally check the basics, like credit rating, pantry status...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭djsim101

Yep, Limerick has my vote also :)

Would love to meet up with some of ye, get steamed and pro-claim my love for my C64 :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

It's in Limerick right?
    could help organize a Limerick one if there's enough people like, just not at my house :P it's too dangerous

Sera wrote: »
    could help organize a Limerick one if there's enough people like, just not at my house :P it's too dangerous

I'm only in college in limerick though. So couldn't be my place as its in the middle of nowhere near lough derg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I've only ever been stabbed in Dublin, so I'm cool with Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

You won't get stabbed as long as your knife is bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

No way am i going to Limerick

They use people like us as currency down there:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

You won't get stabbed as long as your knife is bigger.

Thats not a knife, thats a spoon

knifey-spoony-m-d.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

You won't get stabbed as long as your knife gun is bigger.

Lets cut to the chase like

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Sparks43 wrote: »
    No way am i going to Limerick

They use people like us as currency down there:eek:

What "people like us" Bolder Dash lovers?
    The rest of us should be fine so! ;)

Dont worry lads, I will look after ye, other than those you think Bolder Dash is the best game of all time that is :D

Is there no one in Dublin thinking of hosting one?
    Pyongyang wrote: »
    Hmm, police escorts and bodyguards cost a lot of money so I can't go to Limerick.
    as if you'd need that with me there cool.gif
    I'm only in college in limerick though. So couldn't be my place as its in the middle of nowhere near lough derg.
    you may as well be on Mars! :P lol jk. My house is way to small to have people over, it's even cramped with just Retr0.
    What about you djsim101? Could just bring some handhelds with us to the pub lmao

Sera wrote: »
    Is there no one in Dublin thinking of hosting one?

as if you'd need that with me there cool.gif

you may as well be on Mars! :P lol jk. My house is way to small to have people over, it's even cramped with just Retr0.
    What about you djsim101? Could just bring some handhelds with us to the pub lmao

OwaynOTT Carter of Mars eh

Pink Micros and cocktails sounds like a fabulous night on the tiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Beers? Hell no!

SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I clicked on this thread and saw 2 pages and the first post by cider so I sort of assumed that things would be fairly organised by page 2.....I was wrong.......and thats why I love ye all!

But I could make a spin to Limerick, 2 hours away for me i think

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It's sorted then. Beers in Sera's bedroom!I think we could fit 4 people in if we can squeeze.

I might be able to arrange one by the end of March, early April, I just thought the Southsiders wanted a crack at it....
    Given the distance many have to travel to get to my place

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    It's sorted then. Beers in Sera's bedroom!I think we could fit 4 people in if we can squeeze.

You do know how wrong that sounds m8??:eek:

Can I do shots in seras room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Hehehehehehehehehehehehehehehe

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I made room in the calculations for atavan halens bottle of Mickey Finn's Apple liquor he never leaves home without.

BTW Sera, I'll be drinking at the next beers so you're driving.

how can I drive in the kitchen? :pac:
    but srsly your joke was better

Just remember the law, [Rant] those who will always bail, those who say they'll go then suddenly have that reflexologist appointment they just can't miss...
    And of those who turn up, we have to hide the hard liquor and the Boulder Dash cart! So, keep it in mind that I have to work my butt off cleaning and buying in assorted snacks and dips to keep you ungrateful wretches happy!
    [/Rant]

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

No idea why but the above reminded me of this:
    What, we've got here is, failure, to communicate.
    Some men, you just can't reach...

Sparks isn't really that Boulder Dash obsessive irl is he? atavan on the other hand, his antics are legend round these parts. :pac:

Andrew76 wrote: »
    No idea why but the above reminded me of this:

Sparks isn't really that Boulder Dash obsessive irl is he?

You haven't tried to eat pizza, standing in my kitchen while Sparks talks, non-stop while eating pizza about Boulder Dash and only Boulder Dash... ;)
    atavan on the other hand, his antics are legend round these parts. :pac:

They are, aren't they, must hide the paint stripper....

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Just remember the law, [Rant] those who will always bail, those who say they'll go then suddenly have that reflexologist appointment they just can't miss...
    And of those who turn up, we have to hide the hard liquor and the Boulder Dash cart! So, keep it in mind that I have to work my butt off cleaning and buying in assorted snacks and dips to keep you ungrateful wretches happy!
    [/Rant]

You mean there was hard liquor AND paint stripper in your gaff all those times?!?! Why was I not informed? :mad: I could whip up a tasty little cocktail with those ingredients!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

If ye want, I could probably hold them (don't post here that often but was at one of Cidermans gatherings). Sure why not invite people off the internet into your home!

I live with two lads, one who goes home for the weekend, other wouldn't mind, so house would be free, my house is on the southside, just off the m50, it's also on the green luas line. So it's nice and accessible!

Sounds good, but here are the catches:

I've exams at the end of April so would like to do it early April, late March if that could suit people. Study and all that jazz.
    I've one small (22inch) CRT tv in the house, that's it tv wise!
    Most of my retro stuff is in my parents house down the country.
    Most of my retro stuff is ps1/dc/gc era as opposed to truly retro. Not the best for party games, great if you want to play ps2 jrpgs though?!
    Flat is relatively small, but there would be seating for 10ish (maybe more).

So I could do a run for some of my stuff but if multiple gaming points were wanted someone would have to bring a tv.

Any opinions!?

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Sparks isn't really that Boulder Dash obsessive irl is he? atavan on the other hand, his antics are legend round these parts. :pac:

You must not have met him in real life. Even in the podcasts he is constantly name dropping it.

I reckon the best way to describe him is as a Boulder Dash Evangelist.
    He probably moonlights as a door to door preacher, calling around to strangers houses when they are having their tea and asking if he can come in and play a couple of levels of Boulder Dash with them...

If they happen to prefer Dig Dug and Mr.Driller he draws pentacles around there houses in a mixture of salt and oxen blood, just to keep the devil worshippers inside...

Now guys and gals, and guys with gals hair, and non-human life forms like hipsters, looks like an A&R Beers is imminent, possibly in the next 2 to 3 weeks, in my place, again :)
    So, who is up for it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

I'd be up for that, should be able to make it since I haven't been getting much gaming in lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Would love to go myself, haven't been to a beers in an eternity.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I'd be 'game': after next weekend, I finally return to something resembling normality.

YES YES YES!

You say YES YES YES, but this will, in time, transform into "Erm, em, well, ya see, there's this thing..." in accordance to well known rules of non-attendance statistics, it a law!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

You say YES YES YES, but this will, in time, transform into "Erm, em, well, ya see, there's this thing..." in accordance to well known rules of non-attendance statistics, it a law!

I see your a firm believer now :pac:

youre-merely-postponing-the-inevitable.jpg

YES YES YES!

Me miss a drinking occasion?! NEVER!

Although I'll be driving. So no drinking =\

Just let me know the date so I can book it off work.

I call shotgun!!

Or is there no shotgun these days...... god I miss the 80's

You could be driving a Fiat Multipla, then you get two shotguns.... of course your car makes you look like a twat...

Would love to meet ye guys face to face at some stage but cant see myself making it up to Dublin soon.

Pity now , as I have an weird image of each of ye (long hair, geeky looking)

Kinda like my friend here :D

13zwis.jpg

You could be driving a Fiat Multipla, then you get two shotguns.... of course your car makes you look like a twat...

Whereas the Micra makes you look awesome and a magnet for the ladies..:P

And perfect for ramraiding Game stores,
    just try to avoid the sit-in staff as the mighty nose of the Micra comes crashing through the window....

Actually, your roll of Game security tape is now either
    a- Completely worthless
    or
    2- Worth a fortune to some imaginary security tape collector....

I'm well up for this. However I'm away the weekend of the 21st so make sure it's not on that weekend!

I will no longer be driving a micra very shortly! I got a new car which hopefully should be all legit for the beers.

pdbhp wrote: »

I call shotgun!!

Or is there no shotgun these days...... god I miss the 80's

I most definitely owe you a lift at this stage!

Ok, this will have to be after the weekend of the 21st, maybe the 28th, although I'll be on duty the next day...
    Bugger!
    Will get back to y'all with a concrete date.
    No matter which one I go for someone will cry off....