Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two killed, two wounded in Kilcock shooting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Chokeachicken is just down the road from me! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Sindri wrote: »
    Chokeachicken is just down the road from me! :eek:

It's always just around the corner for me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Yet another gun crime in Ireland.:eek: This incident, with one Irish person and one "non-national" dead, and one of each wounded as well, is bound to spark some interesting comments about immigration, plus racist rants from the usual suspects.:rolleyes:

See the Indo article and, quelle surprise!, some of the reader comments about our "liberal society".:D

In my view, what really needs to be looked at is the removal of as near as possible to all guns from Irish society and, given that the media reports hint at a drug connection, legalisation, regulation and taxation of drugs in this country.:)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/two-dead-two-injured-in-co-kildare-gun-attack-3041728.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0307/kilcock.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0307/breaking7.html

Re the guns issue how is that possible given that the majority of guns in Gangland are illegal already,How can you take them out of society ? I agree with you on your 2nd opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Guns don't kill people. People kill people.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

realies wrote: »
    Re the guns issue how is that possible given that the majority of guns in Gangland are illegal already,How can you take them out of society ? I agree with you on your 2nd opinion.

I wouldn't claim that there is any easy answer to that, but it might certainly help if those of the Gardai who are now busy trying to catch people in possession of small quantities of dope were given the necessary training and ordered to concentrate harder on finding illegal weapons instead.:)

Other ideas that would certainly yield some benefit would be a weapons amnesty, combined with a programme to encourage people to report actual or suspected possession of illegal weapons to the authorities.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,914 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Why use a :cool: smiley when starting a thread about two people being killed?

SafeSurfer wrote: »

So do bears, lions, stairs, spoons, untied shoe laces, AIDS, cancer, toothbrushes and diarrhoea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Sindri wrote: »
    So do bears, lions, stairs, spoons, untied shoe laces, AIDS, cancer, toothbrushes and diarrhoea.

When the fcuk do you sleep sir:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Guns don't kill people. People kill people. Rappers do

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I wouldn't claim that there is any easy answer to that, but it might certainly help if those of the Gardai who are now busy trying to catch people in possession of small quantities of dope were given the necessary training and ordered to concentrate harder on finding illegal weapons instead.:)

Minister for Justice: Goddamn it Michael, we need to stop this gun crime. Is there nothing we can do....NOTHING?
    Commissioner Michael: Well sir this is a longshot, but we could.....we COULD concentrate harder on finding illegal weapons.
    Minister for Justice: My God.........that is brilliant. Make it so.

6 months later, no more gun crime and their was much rejoicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Penn wrote: »
    Why use a :cool: smiley when starting a thread about two people being killed?

Why not? I have my own individual, distinctive style, which includes lavish use of smilies, or emoticons to be more exact. Do you have a problem with it? If so, please explain what it is.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

This incident, with one Irish person and one "non-national" dead, and one of each wounded as well, is bound to spark some interesting comments about immigration, plus racist rants from the usual suspects.:rolleyes:

We have enough home grown criminals without bringing in even more

Go on OP, call me a racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

American Dad? Is that You?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Alot of the headline crime involves non-nationals, its something the liberals and Irish who want to flood Ireland with foreigners brigade dont like to face. We should deport these criminals.

Ghandee wrote: »
    When the fcuk do you sleep sir:confused:

When you're a sleep. :):):) Or when I have enough alcohol to make the attainment of hypnagogia possible. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

as long as no innocent people were killed here, i cant see what the problem is. if people involved in crime keep killing each other, then its a win win. they will eventually weed themselves out. then hopefully a few more lads will be convicted and they too f*ck off.

only does it become an issue for me when the wrong people or innocent people are killed/hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

In my view, what really needs to be looked at is the removal of as near as possible to all guns from Irish society
    Exactly how can that happen? It's not as if the killers have registered their guns at the local Garda station? While your at it, can we remove all knives, illegal drugs, baseball bats and bad people.:rolleyes:

You can take all the legally held guns off every farmer in the country and it won't make a difference. Illegal guns have never been easier to obtain. Easier in fact than getting a licenced gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

NinjaK wrote: »
    Alot of the headline crime involves non-nationals, its something the liberals and Irish who want to flood Ireland with foreigners brigade dont like to face. We should deport these criminals.

Yes, nasty foreigners with their foreign ways taking our jurbs and wimmins.

Lets deport them all. Then we can rejoice in finally acheiving a crime free Ireland.

Oh wait, that won't do. We'd still be left with Irish liberals, dole cheats, single mothers and travellers.

Hmmm...I guess we'll just have to shoot them. Hey maybe we could get some of those criminals to do the job for us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Greentopia wrote: »

Lets deport them all. Then we can rejoice in finally acheiving a crime free Ireland.

Oh wait, that won't do. We'd still be left with Irish liberals, dole cheats, single mothers and travellers.

Hmmm...I guess we'll just have to shoot them. Hey maybe we could get some of those criminals to do the job for us?

Is that meant to be funny?
    I made a factual point about foreign nationals being in the news and you go off on one about deporting them all and shooting them?
    Calm down, nobody is going to take away you beloved foreigner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yes, but guns make it easier for people to kill people

look at the united states where gun crime is rife..you can practically buy a gun with your groceries

> people will lose their temper all the time its natural, but if there's a gun nearby it can be deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Did the guards say they are treating the deaths as suspicious?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

In my view, what really needs to be looked at is the removal of as near as possible to all guns from Irish society and, given that the media reports hint at a drug connection, legalisation, regulation and taxation of drugs in this country

just wondering how hard it is to do a mental backflip that big while writing a sentence?
    your solution to gun crime is criminalise everyone who uses a gun and prohibit guns for recreational use, while, at the same time, complaining that a similar solution is not workable for drugs!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

In my view, what really needs to be looked at is the removal of as near as possible to all guns from Irish society and, given that the media reports hint at a drug connection, legalisation, regulation and taxation of drugs in this country.:)

Do you really believe your own sh1te? As if nobody has ever been gunned down in Amsterdam like.

Is that meant to be funny?
    Well it would more correctly be called satire but funny is good too.
    I made a factual point about foreign nationals being in the news and you go off on one about deporting them all and shooting them?

What? I was just following to it's logical conclusion what you were suggesting. And foreign nationals are in the news shooting and killing just like Irish criminals? wow, that is news. Who've thought some non-nationals also participate in criminal activities.

Ok so, we don't have to shoot them so, we can just round them up and put them all on boats to somewhere. That's my final offer.
    Calm down, nobody is going to take away you beloved foreigner.

If I was any more calm I'd be in a coma right now Ninja. And I appreciate you thinking I'm a beloved foreigner but I'm actually Irish. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I hear people on the news saying it's shocking. I really don't see how a gangland shooting can be described as shocking, it's what happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Don't think that was said, but we should deport anyone convicted of a serious or a violent crime. There's no justification for saying we should allow convicted criminals to stay in Ireland. We have enough of our scumbags here without importing them aswell.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

:eek::(:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

according to a work collegue who lives 5 houses down from the murder house it is drug gang related.

All guns? even those for sporting/hunting and recreational use? I wouldn't be someone who thinks there's anything recreational about killing animals, but I don't think it's either desirable or possible to ban guns for that purpose.

I don't think that gun owners who use them for that purpose and keep their weapons safely under lock and key and hold a permit for them are any threat to society.
    They're not the ones going out murdering people in gangland feuds.

I'd agree with your suggestion about drugs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

according to a work collegue who lives 5 houses down from the murder house it is drug gang related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Apologies in advance - slightly off topic, I know but:
    • Since baseball is rare in Ireland, why is it so easy to buy a baseball bat? Do the shop assistants raise any eyebrows when wrapping a €20 “Apollo” for the two sniffling, acne-faced hoodies with car badge necklaces? If baseball bats were as rare as baseball games in Ireland, the hoodies might have to resort to buying hurleys. Beating someone with a hurley is less convenient and would possibly do less damage than a bat. Maybe, for reasons of street-cred, culchie-phobe hoodies would then resist buying hurleys and turn their gaze on hockey sticks or other minority weapons of even more limited availability. An arms amnesty? How about a baseball bat amnesty?;
    • Why do our beloved journalists insist on telling us (and the future criminal generation) the street value of every drugs find? If I was an out-of-work, under-educated, under-privileged youth looking for a career, the potential “earnings” from drugs, drummed into me by journoes, would seem attractive. If drugs finds were reported by weight or volume, the majority of the public could figure out the approximate value (if they were remotely interested) while the arithmetical prowess and attention span of the typical novice crim would prevent a conclusion;
    • When will the outraged public realize that their and / or their buddies recreational use of drugs creates the environment for this type of atrocity? The nationality of the perpetrators or victims is irrelevant – bent entrepreneurs are multi-national and fill voids wherever they find them. And since a large proportion of the outraged public know or know of sources of recreational drugs, how many of them report this to the Guards?
    • Oh, and regarding "People kill people": Guns make it a whole lot easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Yet another gun crime in Ireland.:eek: This incident, with one Irish person and one "non-national" dead, and one of each wounded as well, is bound to spark some interesting comments about immigration, plus racist rants from the usual suspects.:rolleyes:

See the Indo article and, quelle surprise!, some of the reader comments about our "liberal society".:D

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/two-dead-two-injured-in-co-kildare-gun-attack-3041728.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0307/kilcock.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0307/breaking7.html
    As pointed out already the guns that they're using are illegal.

And if you take the guns away from them, they'll just use knives, or fecking crossbows, or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Do the shop assistants raise any eyebrows when wrapping a €20 “Apollo” for the two sniffling, acne-faced hoodies with car badge necklaces?

I know exactly what you mean, I'm sick of being attacked by the Beastie Boys, circa 1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

If ever there was a reason to take drugs out of the hands of criminals, this is it.

Joe- But...but... Drugs are bad, people who smoke weed are heroin addicts, ..well they might as well be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Jaysus! Used to live right behind that house last year, walked past it most evenings on my way to the shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

kylith wrote: »
    As pointed out already the guns that they're using are illegal.

And if you take the guns away from them, they'll just use knives, or fecking crossbows, or something.

With knives it would be easier to catch them, all that blood evidence on the killers bodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Statistician

A large magnet and a helicopter could be used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

• Beating someone with a hurley is less convenient and would possibly do less damage than a bat.

I doubt it - a hurley has an edge to it.

• Why do our beloved journalists insist on telling us (and the future criminal generation) the street value of every drugs find? If I was an out-of-work, under-educated, under-privileged youth looking for a career, the potential “earnings” from drugs, drummed into me by journoes, would seem attractive. If drugs finds were reported by weight or volume, the majority of the public could figure out the approximate value (if they were remotely interested) while the arithmetical prowess and attention span of the typical novice crim would prevent a conclusion

You might have a point there alright. With different contrband having a different price per kilo/unit it's easier for joe public to grasp the scale of a drugs find. I understand that sentences vary depending on "street-value" which is a different topic.

• When will the outraged public realize that their and / or their buddies recreational use of drugs creates the environment for this type of atrocity? The nationality of the perpetrators or victims is irrelevant – bent entrepreneurs are multi-national and fill voids wherever they find them. And since a large proportion of the outraged public know or know of sources of recreational drugs, how many of them report this to the Guards?

They won't. Most will continue to appeal for legalisation of their drugs of choice and continue to use them illegally in the meantime despite them knowing that the majority is sourced via violent criminal gangs. They hold fast to the notion that they're current support for violent criminal gangs is caused by government and state not legalising these drugs and, presumably, allowing current producers and suppliers to turn legal and get CRO and VAT numbers.

So supporting violent crime is ok, as long as you complain to all who'll listen that you'd prefer not to be doing it.

Unless, of course, you're one of the many, many, many people in Ireland who don't buy drugs from violent criminal gangs. These people buy drugs from friends, buddies, guys they went to school with who a really sound guys. Guys they met down the pub who just lets his close circle of friends buy stuff off him. You know, the good guys.

• Oh, and regarding "People kill people": Guns make it a whole lot easier!

They do indeed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

fryup wrote: »
    yes, but guns make it easier for people to kill people

look at the united states where gun crime is rife..you can practically buy a gun with your groceries

> people will lose their temper all the time its natural, but if there's a gun nearby it can be deadly

Gun law and gun crime varies widely across the states. The homicide rate in the US versus Europe is 4.7 versus 3.5 per 100k of population. In Ireland its 1.25 in Canada which would have very strict Firearms licencing its 1.62.

Guns with your groceries is in specific areas and in other areas its far stricter then here. Gun crime in Ireland is overwhelmingly done with illegal firearms imported with drugs or hanging around from the IRA. If there was an easy way to pull in those guns they would have done it. Illegal handguns are so common here they leave them in cars when they burn them out after the killing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Ever hear of bullets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭veloc123

kincsem wrote: »
    Ever hear of bullets?

Only after the wife had a sex op ya know nipples like bullets...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

veloc123 wrote: »
    Only after the wife had a sex op ya know nipples like bullets...
    sex op ?

not cosmetic surgery , like a full sex op, like transexual ? :confused:

Hang on, civil partnership is now legal.

Nevermind, carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Alot of the headline crime involves non-nationals
    I made a factual point about foreign nationals being in the news

You know that word 'fact' there you're swinging around the place like a monkey with a shotgun?

Well usually facts are backed up with Evidence but I haven't seen any presented yet...

So EOGTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Legalise guns
    legalise drugs

less crime, more darwinism.

Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDqJYp_IoGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

efla wrote: »
    Jaysus! Used to live right behind that house last year, walked past it most evenings on my way to the shop

That's a near-death experience if ever I've heard one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Buffman

kincsem wrote: »
    Ever hear of bullets?

Chris Rock on bullet control.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuX-nFmL0II

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Wrong on both counts!

....bullets kill people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Zio

Wrong on both counts!

....bullets kill people.

Safesurfer is not wrong on the first one though, people have been beaten to death with a gun like pistol whipping or with the butt of a rifle. A bullet isnt going too do much damage without a gun, the gun is the tool that makes it happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Were any of the people shot innocent? Thought i saw a headline that one of them was buying a car and was there by chance?