Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Person of the year - Richard Lynch aka Rich Anthon

• 05-03-2012 9:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭

Following in the footsteps of Paul O'Connell and JP McManus.

They'll be giving him a statue next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

RonMexico wrote: »
    Following in the footsteps of Paul O'Connell and JP McManus.

They'll be giving him a statue next.

april 1st isn't for another three weeks? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I had to google his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

There will be no stopping him now in his quest to conquer the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Fair ****s to him imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Our Brian

God help us all , Mother Theresa himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

What is his actual surname, and why does he go by two different ones depending on what is being reported on?

Sniper might be able to answer this for me as he knows the guy.

Real name is Richard Lynch, Anthony being his middle name.

Richard Lynch, being his official name, Richard Anthony being a nickname, and Rich Anton being a shortened version of this nickname.

Cheers, had wondered why he went by two names.

No problem! :) Its like some people being called Johnathon going by John etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

So out of all the people in Limerick that did great things last year, including the youngest Irish person to climb Everest, this guy was crowned limerick person of the year?

Something is rotten in the state of Limerick!

No problem! :) Its like some people being called Johnathon going by John etc.

Or CKs being called Shorty. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Are they giving out awards now for getting your mug into every picture going? BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭SnoopyGunner

Are they giving out awards now for getting your mug into every picture going? BS.

Yeah you'd wonder! He does some work for Limerick from what I hear but seriously there must have been someone more deserving of the award. Why not a carer or someone else who does hard work for people or Limerick in general

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Overlooked once again. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

shur who'd be interested in a carer, all we want are "celebs" innit??!!???

I am surprised they didn't have a text vote in to eliminate people....

seachto7 wrote: »
    shur who'd be interested in a carer, all we want are "celebs" innit??!!???

I am surprised they didn't have a text vote in to eliminate people....

Believe it or not, he's actually a fulltime carer for his mother too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭SoapMcTavish

Jaysus ... seriously ..!!!!! I went to school with Richard - he's a nice chap ( always in goals in PE class - heehee ) - but c'mon. All he does is pout in photos all over the shop. :confused:

Not knocking him for doing that, but there are a hell of a lot of people who have been or are a full time carer for a parent, child, relative etc and who don't have the time to be out and about on a regular basis as a result.

Personally I think Insectoid boy was robbed, and that there should be a re-count. Just walk along the river bank in town if you want to see the impact that IO has had in Limerick. Loads of swans down there that have grown up sporting dark thick wavy hair on their heads which leaves no doubt as to who their daddy is.

I reckon this year's batch of cygnets will have a number with similar hair when they grow up. :p

I would have voted for you Sniper, but your girl dumping ways went against you.:p

My bad, I was not having a dig at him.

I just notice that every competition has a voting system these days!

He is not just a full-time carer, he is also a Presenter, Songwriter, Producer, Creative Director & Actor(as per his Facebook). All of that on top of running ilovelimerick

Some man. How he manages to do all of that is clearly the secret to his success at beating the youngest Irish person to climb Mount Everest and the fundraiser who raised €1,000,000 for charity.

Those achievements pale into comparison with Rich Anthon promoting local businesses and posing for photos with Limerick "celebrities" in the back pages of the Post every week.

How dare ye criticize this decision:mad:

Kess73 wrote: »
    Just walk along the river bank in town if you want to see the impact that IO has had in Limerick. Loads of swans down there that have grown up sporting dark thick wavy hair on their heads which leaves no doubt as to who their daddy is.

<mental images of IO and the guy from the "go compare!" adverts, appearing on the Jeremy Kyle show, titled "the ugly duckling- who's yer daddy!">... :D

RonMexico wrote: »
    He is not just a full-time carer, he is also a Presenter, Songwriter, Producer, Creative Director & Actor(as per his Facebook). All of that on top of running ilovelimerick

Some man. How he manages to do all of that is clearly the secret to his success at beating the youngest Irish person to climb Mount Everest and the fundraiser who raised €1,000,000 for charity.

I'm going to be a cynic here, and assume that person could have still raised €1,000,000 without having to climb Everest?

*runs for cover* :eek::eek:

I don't get these trips to South America to raise money for charity and so on, or climb Kilimanjaro and so on. Why not just use the money spent on climbing and chuck it into charity instead.

Completely off topic. I know.

I'm going to be a cynic here, and assume that person could have still raised €1,000,000 without having to climb Everest?

*runs for cover* :eek::eek:

I don't get these trips to South America to raise money for charity and so on, or climb Kilimanjaro and so on. Why not just use the money spent on climbing and chuck it into charity instead.

Completely off topic. I know.

Eh what:confused: Read my post again. Two different people. One was the youngest person to climb Mount Everest. The other is a local woman that raised €1,000,000 for charity.

@RonMexico.

My bad. Again. I'll get my coat...... :(

@RonMexico.

My bad. Again. I'll get my coat...... :(
    Hehe no worries. I'd love to see Richard Lynch climb Everest. No doubt he'd do it in record time in a pair of shorts, raise €1,000,000,000 for charity and can you imagine all the fabulous photos he'd get the sherpa lads to take of him at the summit to promote their business? I think he should run for president after Micky D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Posted on March 6, 2012 Decide between a person who climbed Mount Everest to support the Shane Geoghegan foundation, a grandmother who raised a million euros for charity and a man who writes an obscure blog. Who should be the Limerick person of the year?Well, the winner this year was not the man who climbed Everest or the grandmother who raised a million euros for charity. This year’s winner was somebody who writes an obscure blog and tries to get his face in as many photos as he can. Richard Lynch, founder of I Love Limerick dot Com took the honours in the face of stiff opposition. The judges, who included the new city manager and the editor of the Leader, decided that a blog ranked 18 millionth in the world was an achievement worthy of the award, and of course this had nothing to do with the fact that Richard contributes to the Leader without pay. The winning blog is ranked far below both of the Limerick councils’ websites and could not possibly have achieved more publicity than they did. It is, in fact, ranked approximately 14 million places behind both websites, making it completely irrelevant in internet terms. The councils would have had far more luck promoting Limerick if they put whatever Richard wrote on their own sites. A lot more people would have read it. Despite this, the person who set up the blog is deemed to have publicised Limerick in a positive light more than anyone else in the last year. There is no evidence for this and nobody in the Leader challenged Richard’s claim that his blog, which he calls an internet channel, is hugely successful. They didn’t ask basic questions about where the numbers are coming from. They just reported what he told them. The statistics don’t support what he claimed. The blog is not hugely successful. The number of people reading it is very small. This is something that anyone with even a small amount of skill can easily check, so why is this man named Limerick person of the year?Is it because the title means nothing or because Limerick is still a place where bull****ters can get away with murder?This is very good news for bull****ters

@Vanolder

Excellent Post. You summed it up.

You mean there is a whiff of cronyism about this? Say it isn't so!

Am I the only person that is actually happy for him? Or for that matter actually thinks that he is sound?

Vanolder has a fair point though, even if it's a bit too harsh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Am I the only person that is actually happy for him? Or for that matter actually thinks that he is sound?

You work for/with him don't you?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

It's not really an issue of whether he's a nice guy or not. We've all heard and seen at this stage how much effort he puts into his projects.

The problem as I see it is that others have done more and been overlooked. Now, it's a pretty meaningless award anyway, but if it's going to be plastered all over the local rags and radio stations it should promote something/someone that's actually made a major difference for Limerick. Photo ops with the local model agencies and fashion houses just isn't enough really.

Sniper i'll always be happy for, and respect anyone that works as tirelessly as Richard does, but his particular business is, at least from what I can see- the business of self-promotion.

he does it though with such mastery and aplomb that it would be nothing short of begrudgery to not admire how the man has ingratiated himself into the higher echelons of limerick's high society inner circle.

im still actually not sure though how he contributes anything towards the promotion of limerick, over himself. there seems always to be an angle to the way he operates, effectively promote himself first, limerick second.

should he have won an award that seems to be circulated only amongst his peers? absolutely.

i'd rather see the other contestants nominated for the people of ireland awards, where the fact they came from limerick will give limerick itself far greater exposure and at far less expense than Richard and his "circle of friends".

Are you saying that he deserved it more that Insectoid swancuddler? Shame on you.

As for being happy for R Lynch winning it. Could not give a fiddlers either way to be honest. He is no friend of mine and as such I could not be happy for him in the way I would be for a friend.

Don't know what he is like on a personal level so I could not comment on him along those lines, but he has tried to have dealings with me before with regards to the company I used to work for, and I cannot say I care much for him in a professional sense as he talks too much in a vague and somewhat vapid manner for my liking, but then again that kind of thing probably works well within small local circles.

I guess the best I could say is that if winning this award is a big thing for him and it makes him feel good or whatever, then I don't see any harm in it or him enjoying the win. But what it does show, for me anyway, is that the person of the year award has nothing to do with real achievements given the calibre of those who were overlooked for the title.

But if he is a friend of yours, then it should not matter a damn to ya what others think, you should just be happy for him.

It's not really an issue of whether he's a nice guy or not. We've all heard and seen at this stage how much effort he puts into his projects.

The problem as I see it is that others have done more and been overlooked. Now, it's a pretty meaningless award anyway, but if it's going to be plastered all over the local rags and radio stations it should promote something/someone that's actually made a major difference for Limerick. Photo ops with the local model agencies and fashion houses just isn't enough really.

True. It really should be for people who have had their picture taken with swans, zombies and a transvestite.:D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I don't really understand this. He promotes Limerick, and gets his picture published a lot.

Big swinging...........Is that enough to make him Person of the Year? I'd have said not.

Enough people seem to have voted for him however.

Kess73 wrote: »
    True. It really should be for people who have had their picture taken with swans, zombies and a transvestite.:D

You've lost me now! Which one was that?

The days with the swan pictures (CCSL) and the zombie events (Zuroph) were some of the most fun I ever had in this city. The power of Boardsies FTW.

You've lost me now! Which one was that?

The days with the swan pictures (CCSL) and the zombie events (Zuroph) were some of the most fun I ever had in this city. The power of Boardsies FTW.

You really have to ask as to who I mean? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

so being a professional photobomber makes you a man of the year, sweet jesus this town has low standards.

krudler wrote: »
    so being a professional photobomber makes you a man of the year, sweet jesus this town has low standards.

Richard is basically the poor man's answer to Brendan Courtney, who himself is only the poor man's answer to Gok Wan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

Anyone who gets off their backside and does something positive gets a thumbs up from me, yeah he is in a lot of press but they seem to be charity events that he is at so free publicity for the charity how bad.
    I think every one of them is a winner though (how liberal of me) :D

You work for/with him don't you?

I have done work with him, but I also know him at a personel level too, and would consider him a really good friend of mine.

Wow I'm outnumbered here in that sense.

Hell, we all have our own opinions - I'd have said fair ****s to whoever won it anyway, even if it wasn't him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

Never heard of him before this thread. Had to google him after reading this thread and still not 100% sure who he is and what he does (seems to be a little bit of everything but not a lot of anything). Congrats to him as he seems well meaning but I would be interested to see who else was on the shortlist.

I have done work with him, but I also know him at a personel level too, and would consider him a really good friend of mine.

Wow I'm outnumbered here in that sense.

Hell, we all have our own opinions - I'd have said fair ****s to whoever won it anyway, even if it wasn't him.

You are probably the only person in this thread who can say they regard the guy as a really good friend, so in that regard I suppose you would be alone. But like I said to you earlier, it should not matter a damn what anyone else thinks of him. If he is your friend, then you should be happy for him.

I still think you, Dr. Frank-N-Furter, are a traitor for not supporting Feather Fondler for the person of the year award though. ;)

Hell I don't see you supporting me for it either! :P

Why would I support you?

Beak boy is your wife. You should support your wife.

You ain't my wife, you are my beeyatch so I don't have to support you. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Limerick91

Wow, we have somebody named by a newspaper as Limerick Person of the Year and all the bit*hing starts.
    Richard or none of the other people nominated looked to be nominated.
    There was not a vote so none of the candidates were canvassing.

Fair play to all the people nominated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭TONY DAY

I would have given it to any one of our great politicians who have worked so hard this past year to get all the jobs we have seen arrive in Limerick recently!!!!!!!!!!!!

Limerick91 wrote: »
    Wow, we have somebody named by a newspaper as Limerick Person of the Year and all the bit*hing starts.
    Richard or none of the other people nominated looked to be nominated.
    There was not a vote so none of the candidates were canvassing.

Fair play to all the people nominated.

If there was no vote, how did the panel decide who won?

As for the bitching, well I think most are able to make up their own mind of Mr Lynch public persona, and it would appear that persona is not liked by many who have posted. But anyone who posted something positive about the man were not shouted down.

As for what the man is like on a personal level, well I don't know as he is not a friend of mine, but his public persona is fair game for praise or criticism because he puts it in the public eye.

Those that know and and like the man will be happy for him as they should be. Those that dislike his public persona will think he is a joke winner. I see nothing wrong with people going one way or the other as long as people are not abusive about the guy in a personal manner. Just because people are told someone has won something does not mean everyone has to be happy for that person or think the person deserved it. Much better that people are honest in whether or not they think he should have won than to have loads of people smile and lie. There are already far too many people who do the whole two faced thing in this world, so genuinely honest replies should be respected and not passed off as b*tching just because they don't suit.

well put Kess (yet again!), as Kess said, nobody was shouted down, we all love the Sniper around here, its a public forum so we all may not agree on everything sometimes, but we always respect each others opinions and each other.

This thread isn't about taking personal swipes at Richard, as i already posted- i admire the man for his sterling work in self-promotion!

The general vibe i got from this thread is not that Richard in his own right was not deserving of recognition from his peers, but that there were far more deserving nominees! The fact the vote was not public at least explains somewhat why the other nominees really didnt have a hope, as opposed to had it been put to a public vote, Richard would not have won, because he really isn't that well known to the general public.

Either way that's neither here nor there now, and the award isn't something that means anything to me personally, nor i doubt does it mean a whole pile of beans to people i meet every day in business who not only promote and support Limerick business, but also work tirelessly to promote and support local Limerick charities. Their work seems to go unrecognised as most of it is done in the background and under the radar, they dont seek the limelight as Richard does, their reward is simply the positive feeling they get from giving back to their community and to the city of Limerick.