Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead or Alive 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,850 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

The thing about DoA is: it's Virtua Fighter, but with more silly flashiness, and more annoying gameplay (combo-counter mid-combo...)
    So I don't know why I'd ever play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

DOA2 was a great PS2 launch title and all-around good stupid fun.

I mostly picked Jan Lee and spammed the flying kick unblockable and the double backwards elbow slam that knocked people through walls.

Haven't played a DOA game before or since.

OK, on having viewed the video...

Juunen hayaindayo!

Mini DoAxVF crossover is both unexpected and welcome... even if I maintain that the game is generally better to view than to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭LiamKK1982

The game is weeks from release so I decided to give this thread a bump. Looking forward to this very much. I hope the difficulty has been toned down from DOA4, evil Kasumi was a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Lythero

I just hope you can choose more than 3 stages and have two people playing on one xbox online in tag team mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

My sis was going on about this game and how it's looking better than the previous games. I dunno what the big deal is though, I've always found DoA annoying to play and not deep enough in terms of skill to really make it a game to continously go back to. Wouldn't be buying any fighting games other than TTT2 now seeing as how amazing it's turning out to be.

The anime-style look of DOA is being toned down but they still have the porn-fighting game thing going on. I really don't like the counter-mechanism in , I think it's chops up the pace of a match or something - but maybe they've fixed that for this new one. I'll see how it fairs on me sis' 360 when she eventually gets it, I don't think either of us deem it worth a full price buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭TheWitch06

Cannot wait to play this game! Been a DoA fan for the past 10 years or so. I'll definitely be playing this a lot.

I do hope that people give the game a chance as its really fun to play! The previous game was pretty unbalanced but it looks like they've learned from their mistakes now. :)

I think there are about 5 people here (including myself) on boards are looking forward to this. Are there really so few people interested in this, it's a really good series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭The Hound

LiamKK1982 wrote: »
    I think there are about 5 people here (including myself) on boards are looking forward to this. Are there really so few people interested in this, it's a really good series.
    Whats good about it? I need some solid persuasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Scavenger XIII

I'll buy it and play it casually like the rest of the series but I don't see it seriously taking off.

What I really like about it is the speed of the fighting, I know a lot of people don't like the counter heavy focus of it, but I have always got a kick out of it. I like how the the stages have multiple levels to them. Oh and before I forget, it has bouncy tits, not integral to gameplay but they can't hurt the appeal of it.

Sounds great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Sairus

Hound's all about them tits. Even Sagat in his signature is trying to cop a feel on himself.

Sairus wrote: »
    Hound's all about them tits. Even Sagat in his signature is trying to cop a feel on himself.
    I'm more of an ass man so I probably wont bother with this game

The Hound wrote: »
    I'm more of an ass man so I probably wont bother with this game
    You should change your sig to have Alternate 1 Sagat instead so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭GorySnake

I was wondering why Fergus was mad for DOA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

GorySnake wrote: »
    I was wondering why Fergus was mad for DOA.

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

Prospective 360 players:
    The save file is apparently unlocked, so you can get all characters/costumes from the internets.

That link is dead, Kiki.

Also, from Siliconera.
    “We were getting feedback from the overseas offices to tone down the sexuality—to tone down the sexiness of the game, and of the characters,” Shimbori recalls. However, once feedback came direct from fans, Team Ninja decided to alter course slightly.

“We actually got a lot of feedback from people who were playing it, saying, ‘We want bigger breasts. Make the characters more like that.’ That was kind of surprising,” Shimbori reveals.

I'm sure you could find a working save file if you sleuth hard enough.

I'm still surprised that DoA (of all games!) doesn't have a custom-character mode.
    Would've been insta-buy if it had...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 EVanB

Anyone order the CE from Gamestop Online? It had the CE code included but no sign of the Gamestop pre-order costumes

Well I have the game now, just been playing it for about 2 hours and its F**KIN' FANTASTIC. It doesn't quite reach the level of SSF4 but it fixes everything that was annoying about DOA4. The environments are very dynamic and the way they destruct and change is very cool. However, the Virtua fighter characters are really out of place and don't fit very well & there is an online pass (thanks EA for inspiring other publishers with your bastard greed).

The online pass is a once-off thing though, right?
    Not a 1-year one, with the EA promise of "no, it'll definitely be online forever actually make that 1-2 years, tops".

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    The online pass is a once-off thing though, right?
    Not a 1-year one, with the EA promise of "no, it'll definitely be online forever actually make that 1-2 years, tops".

Yeah it's a one off, no annual subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭2gen

“We were getting feedback from the overseas offices to tone down the sexuality—to tone down the sexiness of the game, and of the characters,” Shimbori recalls. However, once feedback came direct from fans, Team Ninja decided to alter course slightly.

We actually got a lot of feedback from people who were playing it, saying, ‘We want bigger breasts. Make the characters more like that.’ That was kind of surprising,” Shimbori reveals."

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

2gen wrote: »

We actually got a lot of feedback from people who were playing it, saying, ‘We want bigger breasts. Make the characters more like that.’ That was kind of surprising,” Shimbori reveals."

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

Breasts need to be at least 20% Bigger :D:pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Also, sexiness /= Big boobs.

Who's playing this game, 13 year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Yreval

Actual GameFAQs (low-hanging fruit and all that, I know) forum thread on DOA5:
    Sign if you want nipple bumps

Don't know why my other thread got deleted... Anyway, DOAX2 had nipple bumps on almost every bikini, yet I have seen none in DOA5. This is quite unfortunate, but perhaps could be changed with future DLC. Sign here if you want to see the return of nipple bumps!
    There's much more where that came from, too!

They're just tits. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    They're just tits. :/

who are you and what have you done with kiki

And this is why people refuse to take DoA seriously. :(

The real DOA fans don't take any notice of the digital diddies, though it's hard to miss them.

Probably why there's like ten of them.

Ten tits on one woman. Its DOA not Total Recall.

Psh. I'm going to go back to Skullgirls. Double has all the tits you could ever want. Now there's a game with class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭J0hnick

And this is why people refuse to take DoA seriously. :(

Much like how some people cant take this poor girls excellent Japanese lessons seriously

Some people are so shallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

J0hnick wrote: »
    Much like how some people cant take this poor girls excellent Japanese lessons seriously

Some people are so shallow

I fecking hate these vids

What about you Fergus!?

It would break my heart if you were subbed to this individual:pac:

Nutrient wrote: »
    I fecking hate these vids

I'm watching on mute and it is fantastic. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Yreval

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Chris IWS

Yreval wrote: »

I actually stopped going to GFAQs for a loooooong time. Recently went back and rediscovered my "car crash" interest of just not being able to look away, very similar to Kotaku in that regard. Very disappointed in myself.

As for the game itself, haven't played a DOA since Ultimate. Tempted to get back in to it for some laughs.

Its sad to say but this is one of those games I couldnt play in front of my girlfriend without a lot of questions from her :rolleyes:.

I do want to buy this game though since Pai Chan, who I use in VF5, was made official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Anyone bringing this along to Saturday's event? Would love to try it out.

Ayane for life

One frame more lag input on PS3 than on 360. Time to burn your clearly inferior PS3s.

Would really like to get this but It's hard to justify buying yet another FG at full retail, barely finding time to play the ones I've already got. :(

One frame more lag input on PS3 than on 360. Time to burn your clearly inferior PS3s.

Hasn't this been the way it is since day one. An extra frame of hardware based lag isn't something developers can do anything about, unless they wanna add a frame of lag to the 360 version to even the playing field. At least in this instance, there isn't an arcade release that the PS3 version can be compared to. :P

The game has dropped to just below €30 on Amazon

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dead-Alive-5-Xbox-360/dp/B0087BTY1K

Been playing this at a friends recently, what really sold me was how well Pai and the other characters from VF transferred over, I didn't even need to look at the move list to hand him his ass with Pai :).

Will probably pick this up now depending on the netcode ?, Ive heard its gone from really bad at launch to decent now with the latest patch, but not a lot of people in Europe are playing it online apparently. Did anyone here buy it ?.

That's just cheap enough for me to buy knowing I'll not play it a terrible lot. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Junsuina Chikara

I've been playing DOA since DOA3 so I'm not a hardcore DOA fan but I just can't see this being a serious fighter. It's faaar too simple compared other fighters so while it can be a lot of fun, it just can't be elevated to being a tournament standard game IMO. VF and Tekken are just much more rewarding to an advanced player than DOA.

Though I'll probably pick this up when it goes around the €15 mark to go pick on DOAers with my Akira KNEE :pac:

J0hnick wrote: »
    Did anyone here buy it ?.

I did, but for PS3. Haven't played much, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Junsuina Chikara

In case anyone hasn't been near their PS3 in a while, DOA5 is free for PS+ users.

I don't know what to make of it. It seems to me they just took the VF system and substituted it with counters instead of guarding. Strikes beat throws, throws beat holds and holds beats strikes. It's fun and IMO, the best looking 3D fighter. The way character's clothes pick up dirt as the fight progresses and sweat, I thought that was a nice touch to the game. Combos in this game are WAAAY too easy compared to Tekken or VF. I only messed around in the dojo for 20 minutes and I already got a 121 damage combo with Akira. Still though, it's a fun game to have a bit of craic