Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More [road] tax hikes on the way

• 05-03-2012 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I welcome a doubling of my motor tax. Woo Hoo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

The only hikes I'm concerned with are long ones in the Wicklow mountains while on the razz, ending with an epic meal. My friend Jerome is flying in on Thursday and we'll sort one out for the weekend. I'm psyched.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

I think it's a a welcome reversal of hippy green policy. We can expect alot more tax hikes over the next 2 years due to IMF demands.

The only sympathy I have is for people with a half a brain cell who thought they would be saving money buying a more expensive post 2008 car. This was always going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

So they're trying to get people to buy new cars so as to cut down on co2 emissions by reducing tax, now they realise they wont make money they're ****ing people up the arse with no lube? lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I love austerity........

.................sure we haven't had this much crack since the 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Damn...I'm just after upgrading to an 'S' model...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

Just keep voting 'Yes' for them. It makes their task of pillaging us just that little bit easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056567929

The previous Government did the motor industry a favour by pushing people into buying cars with the idea of them being cheaper to run and now the realisation hits that they are making less on road tax so they are going back to the old system of a tax on engine size.

We'll be like the Flintstones soon with the price of motoring skyrocketing in this country.It won't bother the politicians in their cars that we pay for of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There will be a glut of unemployed garage staff and insolvent car dealers, to add to the glut there already is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

when will they learn that putting taxes on people just wont work, it causes more problems.

until we cut our spending, we are going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Its amazing that it actually took the clowns in government this long to realise what a joke the tax system is, the last government (green party in particularly) single handly destroyed the car industry with the emission based tax system. The value of older cars plummetted when the new system was introduced and so people were unable to sell them and buy new cars and therefore the sale of new cars dropped accordingly.

They were losing thousands on each car in lower VRT and tax.

If they were to return to the engine sized tax system and have 3 or 4 bands instead of the ridicous amount they currently have then they would be able to double the intake from tax.

I have no sympathy for anyone paying pittance for car tax on their new car, if they can afford to buy one then they should have no problem paying 3 or 400 a year in tax for it.

It was a totally f**ked up system, basically reward those who could afford to buy new cars with cheap tax and screw the arse of those who had older pre 08 cars and couldnt afford a newer car with extortionate tax rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Glad I drive an ancient banger then.

Motor tax rates already scary though, this is not good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

CJC999 wrote: »
    Its amazing that it actually took the clowns in government this long to realise what a joke the tax system is, the last government (green party in particularly) single handly destroyed the car industry with the emission based tax system. The value of older cars plummetted when the new system was introduced and so people were unable to sell them and buy new cars and therefore the sale of new cars dropped accordingly.
    Everyone knew it was a joke from the day it launched, even the government. There was uproar over it and they lost millions. That's why they introduced carbon tax on fuel! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

On your bike so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 sosull

Motor tax will always take the hit. The whole "green incentive " was always going to back fire !!!! It is unfair on those who did purchase a motor under this agreement . Fortunately I wasn't one of these ;) and I will continue to drive my existing motor until it ceases to function!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Time to break out the horse and cart lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

jonon9 wrote: »

We can eat the horses if things get really bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I don't like the Government anymore.

I don't even own a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

jonon9 wrote: »

i bet if that happened the gov would introduce and horse tax and a hay tax @ 70% per hay bale

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

zerks wrote: »
    We'll be like the Flintstones soon with the price of motoring skyrocketing in this country.It won't bother the politicians in their cars that we pay for of course.

The current government got rid of garda drivers and now use their private vehicles. Only the Taoiseach, Tanaiste and Defence Minister retained their garda drivers and ministerial cars.

This also applied to former Taoisigh and is the reason Bertie was seen stuck in traffic on Baggot St on the way to the FF Ard Fheis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

More taxes? This sadly does not surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Less money going into the Economy

well done well done:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

CJC999 wrote: »
    I have no sympathy for anyone paying pittance for car tax on their new car, if they can afford to buy one then they should have no problem paying 3 or 400 a year in tax for it.

It was a totally f**ked up system, basically reward those who could afford to buy new cars with cheap tax and screw the arse of those who had older pre 08 cars and couldnt afford a newer car with extortionate tax rates.

I wholeheartedly agree. Well put sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Motorist wrote: »
    The current government got rid of garda drivers and now use their private vehicles. Only the Taoiseach, Tanaiste and Defence Minister retained their garda drivers and ministerial cars.

They counteracted that cutback with an increase in office expenses.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I was seriously considering buying a newer car (not brand new) as I currently drive a 2001 and fancied a change. I have been good with my spending, have cut back all unnecessary costs and just fancied something a bit newer.. not new, not a chance!!

Is there anything else they can possibly tax us for? Seriously? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

well that sucks, I bout a new focus last year as my older car was on its way out and it was worth more to scrap it and get a new car than it was to repair it and buy another 2nd hand one, the tax thing was just a nice bonus really as its only 150 a year as opposed to 140 every 3 months on my older car. you're fcuked no matter what you do in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Is there anything else they can possibly tax us for? Seriously? :mad:

Savings... get that money back into the economy or they'll tax you 25%! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    ...Is there anything else they can possibly tax us for? Seriously? :mad:

Give them time, they WILL think of more things.
    ...And no, I do not jest. I honestly wish I was! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Please use Motors for anything car related thanks.
    As said above there is a thread there discussing this already.