Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steroids

• 04-03-2012 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

What are peoples opinions on steroid use? Would or have you used them?

I've never used them but I don't see it as a big deal. People need to educate themselves first though, or else you're going to **** up your body quite possibly.
    If you've ever watched a few documentaries on them you'll see that some people have take it to the extreme. It can look really, really ridiculous.

People are often quick to point out how weed doesn't cause anywhere near the amount of social problems alcohol does. But gym regulars who choose to use roids are also not affecting anyone but themselves. It's their body after all.
    As for deaths related to steroid use, there are extremely few despite public perception. In fact you'll even find it hard to find someone who has had to attend hospital with a direct relation to steroid use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Really don't see the need for gym members to be taking steroids when there are so many healtier alternatives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

They dont directly kill people but alot of people suffer from them .
    Look at chris benoit and his family situation. They also make you a bit of a dick . This is what Ive noticed from experience with people who did them . Taking them mildly and in the right amounts is fair enough but getting bigger and bigger is an addiction and it usually goes to far in the end.

Watch who you buy them from too alot of people sell you things that make you look bloated while you take them but you arnt getting bigger , they are an easy few quid selling them to skinny people looking for a once off steroid miracle.

After hours answer: they shrivel your balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

If you're an athlete they can be quite useful if used correctly,but I don't understand why people risk their health by ignorantly using them to just get bigger arms etc.

Actually I do,they're eejits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭200yrolecrank

If you're an athlete they can be quite useful if used correctly,but I don't understand why people risk their health by ignorantly using them to just get bigger arms etc.

Actually I do,they're eejits!
    Have you ever walked down a street in Cardiff or swansea and seem the amount of steroid injected goons.
    They call them roidies over there,the use of it is so common.
    I wouldn't bother myself but I think some are so obsessed they feel they need to.
    Massive rage issues associated with them not to mention heart complications in layer life (flojoe) being a direct case in kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

cloptrop wrote: »
    They dont directly kill people but alot of people suffer from them .
    Look at chris benoit and his family situation. They also make you a bit of a dick . This is what Ive noticed from experience with people who did them . Taking them mildly and in the right amounts is fair enough but getting bigger and bigger is an addiction and it usually goes to far in the end.

Watch who you buy them from too alot of people sell you things that make you look bloated while you take them but you arnt getting bigger , they are an easy few quid selling them to skinny people looking for a once off steroid miracle.

After hours answer: they shrivel your balls

That wrestler didn't go mental from steroid use. It was his brain that was the equivalent to a 90 year old Alzheimers patient from taking lots of blows to the back of the head.

People I know who've cycled said they noticed no difference in their mood or anything like that. Roid rage is only experienced by some people. It's only a short term outburst too, like a few mins of anger!

Generally it will be already extremely fit people using steroids to help their progression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The man whose arms exploded, up on youtube

I don't know if it's classified as steroids. But whatever was in his arm got infected and they had to drain the fluid from it
    His bicep like a water balloon, just puncture it, take out the fluid and watch it sag. More fluid then muscle there it seemed

Interesting documentary but not pleasant to watch

Ok, that's probably the most extreme example you'll find out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

mikemac1 wrote: »

I don't know if it's classified as steroids. But whatever was in his arm got infected and they had to drain the fluid from it
    His bicep like a water balloon, just puncture it, take out the fluid and watch it sag. More fluid then muscle there it seemed

poprobable one of the people that inject straight into the bicep to enlarge it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

mikemac1 wrote: »

Synthol. Like an implant, can be injected.
    http://www.stupidvideos.com/video/just_plain_stupid/Man_With_Implants/#275109

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

Its a pity that anabolic steroids have received such a bad rap. The amount of negativity that surrounds it is bewildering, most of it stemming from mainstream media and the ignorance of the general public. While I am of the opinion that in 99% of sports they shouldn't be allowed, to place them into the same league as drugs like heroin and cocaine is just silly. Funny how they fail to mention in these reports the positive effects of these drugs, in the case of leading to a better quality of life for AIDS patients.

Its quite ironic how the stringent legislation of these drugs, leading to a black market, and actually made the situation worse. People getting these drugs illegally, instead of being prescribed by doctors, leads to a lack of education on proper dosages and post cycle protocols which leads to the problem of abuse. These are very powerful hormones, but ones that when taken in a sensible manner can be relatively safe.

For the record I have never taken steroids, and never really felt the inclination to do so. I personally don't see the point unless you plan to make a living with your body.

I recommend anyone interested in this topic watch the documentary 'Bigger Faster Stronger.' Highlights the demonization as well as obsession of steroids in the US. Very thought provoking and takes both sides of view into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A fella named Chris Bell made a great documentary on Steroid use called Bigger, Stronger, Faster. Its on youtube I think if anybody with an interest in the subject wants to check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I'd say legalise it. Under proper medical supervision they can be quite beneficial, that's why seniors in the US are allowed hormone replacement therapy. Without medical supervision they're a nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

That wrestler didn't go mental from steroid use. It was his brain that was the equivalent to a 90 year old Alzheimers patient from taking lots of blows to the back of the head.

People I know who've cycled said they noticed no difference in their mood or anything like that. Roid rage is only experienced by some people. It's only a short term outburst too, like a few mins of anger!

Generally it will be already extremely fit people using steroids to help their progression.

I worked with a fella that went on them one of the lads slapped him on the back of the head with a rubber glove messing , he snapped and chased him across the factory throwing digs, after a few landed blows he realised and tried to pretend he was only messing.
    Ive been in and around weights years and if you are high strung or stressed they will push you a little bit more that way . Say for example the girlfriend cooks you breakfast and its burned. A normal lad may get a bit annoyed but pretend its nice and eat it or not eat it. Steroids could make this lad snap and say it **** .
    A prick who would snap and verbally abuse the missus for bad cooking when not on steroids may go that extra step and give her a slap for badly cooking the breakfast .
    It cranks you up a notch if you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

All athletes should be forced to take steroids. It would make every sport so much cooler.
    Especially Golf...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Apparently they make men grow boobs on their backs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

cloptrop wrote: »
    Say for example the girlfriend cooks you breakfast and its burned. A normal lad may get a bit annoyed but pretend its nice and eat it or not eat it. Steroids could make this lad snap and say it **** .
    A prick who would snap and verbally abuse the missus for bad cooking when not on steroids may go that extra step and give her a slap for badly cooking the breakfast .
    It cranks you up a notch if you know what I mean.

Surely the girlfriend is at fault here for burning the poor mans breakfast. What matter if its verbal of physical..... I mean he cant be eating burnt sausages !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

They allow someone to push themselves beyond their limits which is not in itself a bad thing. Without proper regulation this may be a problem where with the use of chemicals people can train and build muscle to the point where they are doing physical harm. With a bit of expert advise they are probably relatively harmless and could be used to supplement training etc. in the short term. Long term use would not be advisable as nearly all steroids have significant side effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

My knob is small enough and my emotional state is already ruined. None for me, thanks.

I do get the libertarian approach. but this sh!t CAN affect the lives of other people, not to mention that it can cost money fixing them, which could be better spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I would imagine occasional steroid use wouldnt cause much damage. Like all drugs, its when they are serially abused is when it becomes a health problem. Bodybuilder types are like the male equivalent of female anorexics. I think they have deep psychological issues. Regular meatheads with their skin tight tees and large muscles i find amusing unless they play rugby or some sort of physical sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

A fella named Chris Bell made a great documentary on Steroid use called Bigger, Stronger, Faster. Its on youtube I think if anybody with an interest in the subject wants to check it out.

I watched that last week, quite possibly after you told me too.

It's very good.
    I would imagine occasional steroid use wouldnt cause much damage. Like all drugs, its when they are serially abused is when it becomes a health problem. Bodybuilder types are like the male equivalent of female anorexics. I think they have deep psychological issues. Regular meatheads with their skin tight tees and large muscles i find amusing unless they play rugby or some sort of physical sport.

It's called Body Dysmorphia.

My stance on steroids is that if you want to do them, do them. If you participate in a sport where the use of steroids is against the rules, don't do them.

They are not inherently dangerous but they are dangerous when combined with ignorance.

This guy is as old as I am. He may or may not have used steroids. Found it interesting, waking at 2am for a shake. Sheer amount he eats is incredible.

squod wrote: »
    This guy is as old as I am. He may or may not have used steroids.
    He uses a lot of steroids.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    He uses a lot of steroids.

Shhhhhhhh. Sherlock could have your ass for that.

*Sherlock may or may not like asses*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Not all steroids are for making you a big buffed up psycho or are intended for that use. Well I dont really know much about them, but I suffer from extreme allergies/hayfever through the summer and due to this I now get a steroid injection every April/May that rids around 90% of my allergies and reactions for a few months. Its great and I dont know how I lived without it before.

Has no physical or mental side effects, as far as Im aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Not all steroids are for making you a big buffed up psycho or are intended for that use. Well I dont really know much about them, but I suffer from extreme allergies/hayfever through the summer and due to this I now get a steroid injection every April/May that rids around 90% of my allergies and reactions for a few months. Its great and I dont know how I lived without it before.

Has no physical or mental side effects, as far as Im aware.
    Steroids are widely used in medicine to reduce inflammations and these have nothing to do with anabolic steroids (which mimic the male hormone testosterone). Hayfever is caused by an unnecessary immune reaction to pollen causing inflammation of your upper airways, hence you're given steroids which would reduce that inflammation and thus reduce much of the discomfort that comes with hayfever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Just reading down this thread, anyone who takes steroids unprescribed or not under instruction from a trained physician is extremely fkucen stupid.

Steroid are a modern medicine wonder, but they should not be abused by those who don't medically need them, like all active medicines they are a toxin, but a toxin under control by trained people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

HGH is where it's at.

This is what someone was talking about I think.

Yeah, that isn't as a result of steroids, it's Synthol injections. It's basically an oily substance that is injected into the muscle to blow it up like a balloon.

It looks retarded, is a retarded practice and anyone who does it can safely be regarded as being retarded.

So that is an awful lot of retard right there.

You can see as the guy is lifting his little weights that there is no natural movement to the muscle whatsoever. I genuinely wonder what kind of self esteem issues a chap would need to have to do that to himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Yeah, that isn't as a result of steroids, it's Synthol injections. It's basically an oily substance that is injected into the muscle to blow it up like a balloon.

It looks retarded, is a retarded practice and anyone who does it can safely be regarded as being retarded.

So that is an awful lot of retard right there.

You can see as the guy is lifting his little weights that there is no natural movement to the muscle whatsoever. I genuinely wonder what kind of self esteem issues a chap would need to have to do that to himself.

Its sad they cant see how retarded they actually are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I was wondering why his forearms are tiny !! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Legalise them so people who cycle can source clean gear and get a proper PCT rather then getting it from kitchen lab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I recommend people watch "Bigger, Stronger, Faster", fantastic documentary:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1151309/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Are going to call people with eating disorders etc. retarded or just lads with obvious dysmorphic problems?

It's sad IMO that anyone feels a need to inject themselves with anything for vanity's sake.

Yea sorry I forgot to say that the guy was more than likely using synthol.
    Friend sent me this page earlier, check out these nice folks...

Also have a look at the guy on the far left of this video.

I don't get synthol use myself either, but I can see why people use steroids. You're body is going to reach a barrier eventually.

The idea behind synthol is to use a little amount to sort out problem areas that didn't get fixed during contest prep. Like anything else, some people decided to abuse it and go crazy. I don't think its a great idea injecting oil into my muscles but if I was a pro bodybuilder living off sponsorships and this meant first place, I might think different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Ive been working out for a while making slow, ok, not-great progress. If i could just do a cycle and put on 10-20 lbs of muscle even in a year, that would be awesome. I dont mind shrivelled nads, acne, rage or anything. But getting bitch-tits scares the crap outta me. Also sticking a needle in myself as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

DjFlin wrote: »
    All athletes should be forced to take steroids. It would make every sport so much cooler.
    Especially Golf...

I've always thought that an "anything goes" olympics would get a great viewing..
    Let them at it, take what you want, and as much as you want... 100m in 4 seconds and then his heart explodes at the end... How could that not be the king of sports :p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Men taking steroids is like women getting fake boobs.

Nature hasn't been kind to them and they have psychological issues, so they want to artificially pump themselves up to prop up their tiny ego.

It's genetically "cheating".

Men taking steroids is like women getting fake boobs.

Nature hasn't been kind to them and they have psychological issues, so they want to artificially pump themselves up to prop up their tiny ego.

It's genetically "cheating".
    I wouldn't agree with that. A lot of people using steroids would be professional bodybuilders who have great genetics already but they're competing with the elite so need that extra help.

But the "extra help" is cheating.

If they're "professional", surely that should rule out steroid abuse, otherwise it will force all other competitors down the same route.

If a chess player took some damaging "mind drug" to gain an edge, it would inevitably force others to use the same drug to level the playing field.

The people who take it in a non-professional context I think are the ones who are effectively engaging in a form of drug abuse/cosmetics, while the ones
    taking it professionally are cheating.

But the "extra help" is cheating.

If they're "professional", surely that should rule out steroid abuse, otherwise it will force all other competitors down the same route.

Its not cheating. If they are IFBB Pro then steroid use is a given.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm certainly for reducing the legal barriers so those who do want to do it can get medical supervision while doing so. There may be complications involved. Numero uno you're never sure of the quality of the drugs in question when it's black market stuff. Then you have the growing breast tissue, shrinking nads, skin issues, male pattern baldness, then the comedown as your body tries to adjust. Never mind localised infections in the the injections sites and a danger of liver problems.

As for the morality of using such enhancements? I'd have no real issue with that in small doses anyway. We take all sorts of drugs to "enhance" our lives in some way or another. I mean necking an aspirin when you have a headache while a mile away from anabolics is an enhancement of your life. I'd certainly be OK with people trying to keep a more youthful balance of hormones going as they age. Men's testosterone drops as they hit middle age, sometimes quite radically. Even what's considered within normal range for a 50 year old man is a helluva lot less than the levels in the same man at 20*. Human growth hormone the same.

*interesting one there; men who live with reproductive age women show a noticeably bigger drop in testosterone than men who are single. It seems nature selects for reducing the hormone in a stable couple for some reason. It used to be thought that test and extra test increased aggression, it seems this is not the case, or it's much more complex than that. At least in men with natural levels of the stuff. Higher test men are generally less aggressive

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

theres a lot lof misconceptions about fitness supplements in general, not just steroids.

Slightly off topic but what annoys me is seeing 15-16 yr old lads in the gym taking supplements for the sake of it, and more than likely taking them because theyre friends are taking them. not necessarily harmful supplements but people need to be educated/do their own research before they start taking them.

"jack3d" is the business though! ;)

Wibbs wrote: »
    *interesting one there; men who live with reproductive age women show a noticeably bigger drop in testosterone than men who are single. It seems nature selects for reducing the hormone in a stable couple for some reason.

That's evolution in action.
    In the past, reducing testosterone in the father must've increased the survival odds of the children, so genetics selected that trait.

Whether that means that the father got into less fights and was more likely to survive and help bring up the children, or that reduced testosterone meant that the father had a reduced sex drive and was more likely to stay with the mother.

Its not cheating. If they are IFBB Pro then steroid use is a given.
    Just to expand on that a bit, nobody looks like Arnie did in his prime naturally. If someone did the right exercises for twenty years they might approach it, but even then its basically not possible. At best you end up looking like Christian Bale or a lightweight terminator.

Every single one of those Olympian physiques are the result of steroid use.
    I mean necking an aspirin when you have a headache while a mile away from anabolics is an enhancement of your life. I'd certainly be OK with people trying to keep a more youthful balance of hormones going as they age.
    Sylvester Stallone approves this message. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

The amount of people in this thread who's only knowledge on the subject comes from common myths and misconceptions is alarming. People should really go and educate themselves before commenting, instead of just reading ''ROID RAGE HULK SMASH'' headlines in The Sun. Somebody already linked "Bigger, Stronger, Faster", it's a great documentary(look at the reviews) that everybody should watch IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

What are peoples opinions on steroid use? Would or have you used them?

I've never used them but I don't see it as a big deal. People need to educate themselves first though, or else you're going to **** up your body quite possibly.
    If you've ever watched a few documentaries on them you'll see that some people have take it to the extreme. It can look really, really ridiculous.

People are often quick to point out how weed doesn't cause anywhere near the amount of social problems alcohol does. But gym regulars who choose to use roids are also not affecting anyone but themselves. It's their body after all.
    As for deaths related to steroid use, there are extremely few despite public perception. In fact you'll even find it hard to find someone who has had to attend hospital with a direct relation to steroid use.

Ever heard of roid rage?

interesting one there; men who live with reproductive age women show a noticeably bigger drop in testosterone than men who are single. It seems nature selects for reducing the hormone in a stable couple for some reason. It used to be thought that test and extra test increased aggression, it seems this is not the case, or it's much more complex than that. At least in men with natural levels of the stuff. Higher test men are generally less aggressive

I demolished a similar study in the GC before. It basically painted a picture that men will have a large drop in test levels after a child is born and the people behind the study made the same argument.

However, there were too important factors they never measured, which reduced their study to rubble. One, they never tracked eating habits, which are a massive part of tests levels. Proper fats, zinc, magnesium and Vit B12 are all essential for decent test levels.

The second thing they never tracked was sleeping patterns before and after the birth of the child. Sleep is one of the most essential elements for humans with regard to endocrinal health. Having your sleeping pattern fall apart for a couple of weeks is enough to drop your test levels to about 75% of their norm, stretch that out to 2 months and you are looking at a drop of 50%, which is massive.

Every mate or family member I have ever had who had a child go there eating and sleeping pattern shot to **** for about 6 months if not a lot more.

As far as i am concerned, and until i see a decent deep study that looks at all the relevant factors, it has little to do with nature and everything to do with the same stuff that always ****s with a man test production.
    flyswatter wrote: »
    Ever heard of roid rage?

Any study i have ever read into roid rage always comes back with the same thing...aggressive person does roids and they will be aggressive, a non aggressive person does roids and they will not suddenly be prone to aggressive behaviour.

The roid rage concept is deeply flawed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Any study i have ever read into roid rage always comes back with the same thing...aggressive person does roids and they will be aggressive, a non aggressive person does roids and they will not suddenly be prone to aggressive behaviour.

Whatever about the concept, it still exists and that argument doesn't contradict the OP's statement that steroids don't affect anyone but the person taking them.

flyswatter wrote: »

Whatever about the concept, it still exists and that argument doesn't contradict the OP's statement that steroids don't affect anyone but the person taking them.

How does it still exist? :confused: