Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic of Telly trailer vandilised

• 04-03-2012 5:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭

RTE had the rePublic of telly trailer in Waterford tonight,
    The usual shenanigans all night in front of its cameras.

I'm hearing now that it was vandilised by some yobs.

Anyone else got info on it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Nypd wrote: »
    RTE had the rePublic of telly trailer in Waterford tonight,
    The usual shenanigans all night in front of its cameras.

I'm hearing now that it was vandilised by some yobs.

Anyone else got info on it ?

Now that show is some waste of the licence fee, still tho if it got vandalised it doesn't show our city in a good light......yet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭FatB

I was out of town for the night and got back to Railway Square around 2.30am, headed over to the ATM across from CTI but saw what I thought was a crepes van being rocked back and forth. I just kept going as the cops were heading up to it. Didn't realise it was RTE. Hopefully it wasn't too badly damaged...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Bloody students!! It's about time something was done.....oh, wait now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

FatB wrote: »
    I was out of town for the night and got back to Railway Square around 2.30am, headed over to the ATM across from CTI but saw what I thought was a crepes van being rocked back and forth. I just kept going as the cops were heading up to it. Didn't realise it was RTE. Hopefully it wasn't too badly damaged...

Mixed reports so far !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

some scum in this town!! no wonder business's won't come here and start up and give employment with monkeys like that giving the place a bad reputation!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Hope they lock up the scumbags who did it. Some idiots in this town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

In fairness, that's only the shell of a hired trailer. They did some damage to some cardboard. Republic of Telly people were well gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

In fairness, that's only the shell of a hired trailer. They did some damage to some cardboard. Republic of Telly people were well gone.

It doesn't matter. Who gave them the right to randomly vandalise things?

Of course...but I'm willing to bet that if there were RTE people there with some equipment, there would have been a lot more respect shown.

It's immaturity and stupidity, but let's not get carried away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

Down with that sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

They mustn't have been that long gone. The footage that they show is usually from when the night is over isn't it?

AdMMM wrote: »
    They mustn't have been that long gone. The footage that they show is usually from when the night is over isn't it?

That's what they want ya to think.

I'm not condoning any behaviour on the video, but sometimes the people in this town like nothing more than to hop on a bandwagon and ride all the way to hysteria.

Ahhh, maybe I just assumed it was the end of the night going on how drunk some of the goons on it usually seem to be :p.

A mob mentality amongst club-goers at the end of the night is nothing new nor is it something exclusive to Waterford. It's just frustrating that we seem to have new videos to look at every weekend that will be used as ammunition on talk shows and for journalists during slow news weeks to further paint a negative picture of youth culture and the drinks industry. No doubt we'll see more articles next week about how "Low-cost alcohol at SuperMarkets to blame for latest Waterford City riots".

Ah yeah...but if you type any county in ireland into youtube...and add the tags drunk, night, etc...you'll see the same kind of videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭jayboi

That's what they want ya to think.

I'm not condoning any behaviour on the video, but sometimes the people in this town like nothing more than to hop on a bandwagon and ride all the way to hysteria.
    Wont somebody please think of the the children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

Did they break the trailer open??

Looks like there was only a piece of cardboard in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Didn't look like there was any equipment in the trailer.

The people who vandalised it are pure scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

Waterford is becoming a horrible place to go out in and not only this but just the last few years all regular heads are not going to town for few drinks anymore its a ****hole the hill id the best spot now in Waterford for me anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

Looks like there was only a piece of cardboard in the way.

Yeah that's all it looks like,
    I wouldn't say pure scum did just pure idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

jo06555 wrote: »
    Waterford is becoming a horrible place to go out in and not only this but just the last few years all regular heads are not going to town for few drinks anymore its a ****hole the hill id the best spot now in Waterford for me anyway ;)

Saturday nights are a disaster, I would rather go out on a Friday than a Saturday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

You would not see the likes of it in fallujah:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

The whole point of the republic of telly camera is to record people acting stupid while drunk, so not really a suprise some drunk tards acted that way to be honest. What do they expect when they are purposely recording people drunk for a cheap way of getting laughs.

To the people abusing Waterford this could happen anywhere in Ireland or abroad, the people who are abusing Waterford I wonder do they leave much and see different places because every place that has lots of people drinking in a small place is going to have its small bit of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Ahhh, maybe I just assumed it was the end of the night going on how drunk some of the goons on it usually seem to be :p.

A mob mentality amongst club-goers at the end of the night is nothing new nor is it something exclusive to Waterford. It's just frustrating that we seem to have new videos to look at every weekend that will be used as ammunition on talk shows and for journalists during slow news weeks to further paint a negative picture of youth culture and the drinks industry. No doubt we'll see more articles next week about how "Low-cost alcohol at SuperMarkets to blame for latest Waterford City riots".

I see what you are saying about people talking about the drinks industry but if people were smoking weed or taking headshop drugs and done something like this there would be outcry, but because they are drunk people still complain but there is not half as much hysteria there would be if they were taking drugs.

It annoys me that people defend alcohol so much when it is obviously a very bad drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 floor

typical waterford knobs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Marchandire

floor wrote: »
    typical waterford knobs!!

As a typical Waterford knob, I'm afraid I have to agree :D

Bit of a sausage fest on that video too - didn't see a single woman. Feckin' losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

it was disgusting to see the carry on.....

i am sure they will be braging about it... hope the garda use the video ... and i would love Republic of TV to show it ... name and shame the scum

Ah yeah...but if you type any county in ireland into youtube...and add the tags drunk, night, etc...you'll see the same kind of videos.
    I know that. But it seems as if Waterford is unfortunate to be too small for these things to just go unnoticed by the general public (pretty sure the people of Dublin don't worry about revellers running around with traffic cones on their heads for 15 minutes of an entire week) and too big for anything to be done immediately should anything kick off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

deisedave wrote: »

I see what you are saying about people talking about the drinks industry but if people were smoking weed or taking headshop drugs and done something like this there would be outcry, but because they are drunk people still complain but there is not half as much hysteria there would be if they were taking drugs.

It annoys me that people defend alcohol so much when it is obviously a very bad drug.

Id say you would have loved if this was outside Harveys deisedave :) haha

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,091 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Do you think those eejits in the video are impressed by their claim to fame, or do they think 'oh god, I look gormless'?

Was anything at all going on between the ears of the fat fella in the red tee shirt, who looks very pleased with himself, or the shaved head one jumping around like a chimpanzee fool (sorry, that's insulting to chimpanzees)?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭overhand_right

Id say them lads have some fear today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Id say them lads have some fear today

I'd say they couldnt care less tbh, nothing will come of it. nobody will be arrested and no charges will be brought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Nickfro

IQ levels in this city must be seriously dropping if anyone thinks this is funny or a bit of a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

I think the most shocking thing is its saturday night, busiest pub area in the city, people start vandalising things and there is not a Garda to be seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I'm amazed anyone finds this at all surprising; shiny distraction amidst a field of drunkards within sight of women = ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

This town is gone to the dogs boy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTv26IOkarw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

deisedave wrote: »

Alcohol is morally neutral. Blaming alcohol for people's bad behaviour is akin to blaming cars for road traffic accidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Finneen

Is that Waterford's Tommy Tiernan? It's a city not a town boi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

Finneen wrote: »
    Is that Waterford's Tommy Tiernan? It's a city not a town boi.

gway dublin is barely a city, waterford is a fishing village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

watched rep.of telly last night out of interest, awful. I thought this stuff was meant to satirise the morons who run/are-on RTE not some vehicle for unfunny/dimwitted small time model. I have seen the Bernard fella live and he was very funny in fairness, he should run a mile from this stuff. I cant imagine anyone enjoying this over the age of 20. Maybe the trailer vandalisim was carried out by some irrate TV licence payers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Finneen

I thought Waterford City had its own TV channel a few years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

comeraghs wrote: »
    This town is gone to the dogs boy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTv26IOkarw

My God that is awful.

Its bad part of the show other than that he was good, and the killer is his waterford accent, way too strong, the waterford accent is horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

The Waterford accent is sexy out! Boy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

To be fair to Tony Kelly lads, his material is very good in the main. I know him years and wondered would I be able to take his standup seriously, but he is very funny. That clip is spot on. The reason people like Des Bishop, Tommy Tiernan and Neil Delamere are so successful is they hold up a mirror to our behaviours and quirks. Tony does the same, only in a Waterford accent. I would hope people can see past that and at least hope a local lad does well honing his craft in the States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭molby

S28382 wrote: »
    Its bad part of the show other than that he was good, and the killer is his waterford accent, way too strong, the waterford accent is horrible.
    Go way boi will Ye it's a great accent.Would you rather listen to the rest of Ireland's accents, like Kerry or Cork or Tipp ? I think the Waterford is mild compared to the rest of Ireland.Id love to lock you in a room with a fellow from Ovens in Cork for a couple of hours, you would be begging to hear a Waterford accent then boi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

I know Tony myself a fine actor and comedian and a huge pair of balls to do a stand up in front of your peers in a small place like Waterford, as regards the town/City badge its simple, if your from here you can call it town if your not you better not.

molby wrote: »
    Go way boi will Ye it's a great accent.Would you rather listen to the rest of Ireland's accents, like Kerry or Cork or Tipp ? I think the Waterford is mild compared to the rest of Ireland.Id love to lock you in a room with a fellow from Ovens in Cork for a couple of hours, you would be begging to hear a Waterford accent then boi.

Haha i know the waterford accent isnt as bad as the Cork accent but it still sounds ****e :p