Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Ireland Run 15/4/12

• 02-03-2012 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

Last year's thread
    Garmin profile
    Race website

Anyone else having trouble entering the AAI 10k road race? That bit of the website seems to be broken...

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 43 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    32%
    My name is MudShane O' MalleyNewaglishstrifeJohnnio13TheCavemanrovers_runneru2livecdhawkwingPaddyOisinsolovelyLong Time ReaderDial SquareJRJNT 14 votes
    3 stars (average)
    53%
    seamusgnuSeve OBsomedoodsmunchkinsOrando BroomEire Go BrachCCRliamogkwalsheroarladsmoochie06Ol' Doniebeamgirlcwgatlingshane1981stevekavowoody1Mr_Andysureitsgrand 23 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    11%
    RacoonQueenBenEadirocnocswimgalDow99 5 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    2%
    Shedite27 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Well on course for getting a Personal Worst in this race - but 5th year in a row and work are paying for it so has to be done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I wouldn't do it myself but a guy in work has a fundraising group. At least this year I'll be in the AAI section...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

I have not done this race for 5 years or so. Is there a section for AAI members?

I've signed up against my better judgement, not doing a spring marathon for the first time in 3 years mean's I need to aim for something:rolleyes:

Pronator wrote: »
    I have not done this race for 5 years or so. Is there a section for AAI members?

Yes, but it's a separate entry. AAI members are running the National 10k road race championships, which just happens to run the same course as the Great Ireland run, starting 5 minutes earlier. At least that's how I understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

RayCun wrote: »
    Yes, but it's a separate entry. AAI members are running the National 10k road race championships, which just happens to run the same course as the Great Ireland run, starting 5 minutes earlier. At least that's how I understand it.

The start is 5 minutes earlier for the ladies AAI & ladies elite race.

For the men its a combined start with the rest of the field but with a different style bib which gets you up front immediately behind the elite men. (At least that was last years solution)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

The start is 5 minutes earlier for the ladies AAI & ladies elite race.

For the men its a combined start with the rest of the field but with a different style bib which gets you up front immediately behind the elite men. (At least that was last years solution)

Yes and you have to wear both your club singlet and your 'special' number bib. I did it two years ago and although a few non club runners managed to sneak in several few club runners wore their singlets and tried to get into the elite pen with a normal number (I assume they entered the normal race instead of the Nataional 10k) and were not allowed depsite their protests.

Club runners are in the same pen as the elite runners and get to warm up alongside them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

2 stars (poor)
    I think I've been put in for this(the national 10k part). Don't want to do it but a few old friends are thinking of doing it for the larf so I'll do it if they are for the post race beers. :D

Really hate this race so can't see myself putting too much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I wouldn't do it myself but a guy in work has a fundraising group. At least this year I'll be in the AAI section...

How do you go about entering through the AAI? Do you have to join the AAI beforehand, I wasn't going to do this race due to the congestion but if I could get into the club runner pen then I might.

pconn062 wrote: »
    How do you go about entering through the AAI? Do you have to join the AAI beforehand, I wasn't going to do this race due to the congestion but if I could get into the club runner pen then I might.

You need to be an AAI member. On the web page you'll see a link (on the right, under the main picture) that says "Enter the AAI National 10k championships". If you enter through that link you'll be in the club runner pen BUT you will be asked for your AAI membership number during the application.

Cheers for that, I was looking for a place on the AAI website to sign up for membership but I can't see one, I can probably sign up through the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Cheers for that, I was looking for a place on the AAI website to sign up for membership but I can't see one, I can probably sign up through the club.

If you're in a club, you are likely already an AAI member. Ask them for you number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭TheCaveman

4 stars (good)
    Maybee a dumd question, but, do an of you know if they have a left luggage section at this race?

A place to leave some stuff during the race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

TheCaveman wrote: »
    Maybee a dumd question, but, do an of you know if they have a left luggage section at this race?

A place to leave some stuff during the race?

Last year they had outdoor pens separated into sections based on your race number for you to leave bags and stuff. They sent out a bag with your race info and you could write your number on that and most people, myself included, just tied their bags to the metal pen fence.

I imagine it will be a similar setup this year, but I probably wouldn't leave anything valuable in it. I kept my car keys and phone on me and just left some tracksuit bottoms and a old fleece in my bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Signed up for this on the spur of the moment, and everything I've heard about it, and everyone I've talked with that has already done it, has only had bad things to say about the organization and the course itself :(

Anyway, timing is perfect and it's easy to get to, so I'm going to ignore the reputation and look forward to it.. It's been over a year since I did a running race so its about time I got off my ass and did one! Even got myself a pair of fancyass runners for it ... now I just need to do some training :D

AAI members entry is working again

Sorry if I seem to be overcomplicating this but I just want to be sure before I enter as I definitely don't want to end up in the main field, I got my AAI number through my club so I just go onto the Athletics Ireland website and click on the link on the right hand side of the page and enter that way? It's asking me for a username and password so I presume I just set up a new account and take it from there?

Yes, you'll need to set up an account before you can enter. Just make sure you click the
    Enter the AAI National 10km Championships
    link, not the regular link

Thanks Ray, appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 TheRunningDude

Last year's thread
    Garmin profile
    Race website

Anyone else having trouble entering the AAI 10k road race? That bit of the website seems to be broken...

It looks like there's a fair bit of elevation gain on that there course. Is it a tough one? Are they long inclines or steep climbs?

It is a fairly tough course, because all of the hills are in the second half of the run.
    The first 4k are very flat, around the north side of the park.
    Then we run down Kyber Road, not a steep downhill but a long one, from 4k to 5k.
    Turn the corner and it's straight up Military road, about 20 metres up in 250m distance. The mountain runners are sniggering, but it's a bit of a shock - there are a lot of walkers on that stretch.
    The next few k are rolling, up and down the s-bends and the glen road, then we run down into the Furry Glen and climb back out. From there to the finish it's flat.

I suppose the good thing about having the hills in the second half is it means things have spread out a little - otherwise the race would grind to a complete stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭gnu

3 stars (average)
    I just took the plunge and signed up for this one, despite the annoyances people reported from last year and the high price. I'm a bit nervous as I'm not ready to run 10k yet (my longest run is about 7.5k). I did this race years ago (mostly walking) so I figure I could always do some sort of walk/run combo if need be. I remember those hills, felt the last one went on forever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭npresto

How are the organisers dealing with Car Parking for this event?

npresto wrote: »
    How are the organisers dealing with Car Parking for this event?

Encouraging people to use public transport.
    They'll be sending out a race info pack soon enough, and it will tell you there is no parking in the park (there is some, but nowhere near enough for everyone) and that there will be a shuttle bus running from the park gate to the race start.

I ran this last year and parked at the Red Cow and took the Luas in. It worked out ok but it was a surprisingly long walk from the Luas stop at Heuston to the start line. I took the shuttle bus back afterwards as I was a bit wrecked after the 10k and in someways it took even longer. The only grace was that I was sitting down and having a rest.

I walked past quite a few people pulling in and parking on Chesterfield avenue on the day and it made me think I should have done the same thing.

Anyway, I'm not running it this year but might go along to see Kenenisa Bekele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Its a bit of a disaster of a race in fairness. Badly organised and always starts 20 mins or more late.

The run to the first roundabout is a disaster as over crowded there.
    Kyber Pass too narrow for the crowds going down it.

To be honest i would skip this race and do the 10k in K club the following weekend, miles better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

In terms of the Hills, Very very quick, downhill 1st 5k! So quick that I set a 5k pb split during it last year ha! But then the hill hits you about 6k going up Military road, as Ray said, theres a hell of a lot of people walking up this, This was even true last year up the sharp end of the field, I passed a good few sub 34min people who had blown up!

As average runner just said also, It wouldn't rate highly in terms of 10ks, Plenty others on around the same time for cheaper, better course, less hassle with parking/crowds etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 munks

I've ran this for the past 3 years. I swore last year that I wouldn't do it ever again!
    But I've signed up again..!
    One question though. Can anyone remember if there are port-a-loos on the route ? I know it seems a silly question for a 10k, but I'll be 5 months pregnant by time race comes about & I'm sure I'll need to make a pit stop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

3 stars (average)
    I registered for this race a few weeks ago but mistakenly entered the general race rather than the AAI Championships. I have emailed the info email address from the website now a couple of times to ask if it is possible to transfer my registration but have received no reply. Anyone have any good ideas as to what I should do next?

I was targetting this race for a PB, but am having second thoughts after reading some of the posts here :(

Thanks for your help.

b

2 stars (poor)
    You're probably better off phoning the AAI and seeing if they can help. Emails are easier to ignore or someone in your club (captain or coach) might be able to sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

wrstan wrote: »
    I registered for this race a few weeks ago but mistakenly entered the general race rather than the AAI Championships. I have emailed the info email address from the website now a couple of times to ask if it is possible to transfer my registration but have received no reply. Anyone have any good ideas as to what I should do next?

I was targetting this race for a PB, but am having second thoughts after reading some of the posts here :(

Thanks for your help.

b

I'm in the same boat. I've emailed the AAI a couple of times and called too. For fear of offending some people, I'll say no more than its a mess. Like a lot of things in athletics, little will be learned from this and probably people will be in the same boat next year.

Sure we could have paid more attention and entered the AAI competition but it cannot be this difficult to transfer?

Why oh why does the national 10k have to be as part of this event?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

2 stars (poor)
    Why oh why does the national 10k have to be as part of this event?

After reading the thread, there appears to be a lot of negative feedback and the above question was floating through my head is well.

Would it be that its the only (open to correction) IAAF Silver labelled event in the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I'm in the same boat. I've emailed the AAI a couple of times and called too. For fear of offending some people, I'll say no more than its a mess. Like a lot of things in athletics, little will be learned from this and probably people will be in the same boat next year.

Sure we could have paid more attention and entered the AAI competition but it cannot be this difficult to transfer?

Why oh why does the national 10k have to be as part of this event?:mad:

I'd agree with that. National road 10k was a lot better as a stand alone event. Poxy course aswell.

2 stars (poor)
    tunguska wrote: »
    I'd agree with that. National road 10k was a lot better as a stand alone event. Poxy course aswell.

Never understood why they felt the need to lump it in with the GIR. If they're going to lump it in with another race there's far better 10ks on the calendar to join it with than this.

Suppose it means the AAI don't have to put any effort in since the bupa team organise this race for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Never understood why they felt the need to lump it in with the GIR. If they're going to lump it in with another race there's far better 10ks on the calendar to join it with than this.

Suppose it means the AAI don't have to put any effort in since the bupa team organise this race for them.

and prob the only way the national 10 will make the TV also.

Any AAI members received their race packs yet?

2 stars (poor)

AAI numbers have to be collected from Lifestyle or from the AAI table on Sunday AFAIK. They made a complete f*ck up of all this last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

AAI numbers have to be collected from Lifestyle or from the AAI table on Sunday AFAIK. They made a complete f*ck up of all this last year.

I remember queuing to get my number last year and thinking the big effort that was put into the hand written AAI sign :)

2 stars (poor)
    BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I remember queuing to get my number last year and thinking the big effort that was put into the hand written AAI sign :)

The AAI 'Information Marquee'. Ha!

For those doing the national 10k who will have f all information on this as you won't be getting race packs etc in the post, you can get the info booklet here.

http://www.greatirelandrun.org/app_files/gr_files/SPAR-Great-Ireland-Run-2012-Comps.pdf

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

This is a dog of a course in the second half, but a good test , hopefully the weather holds up..

Elite lists are up
    http://www.greatirelandrun.org/Events/2012/EliteAthletes.aspx

Is it easy enough to spectate at this? I was thinking I'd like to get to the start-line and get a few photo's and the like and see the elites. I ran this last year myself but I don't remember if spectators could watch at the start and finish lines or what.

G-Money wrote: »
    Is it easy enough to spectate at this? I was thinking I'd like to get to the start-line and get a few photo's and the like and see the elites. I ran this last year myself but I don't remember if spectators could watch at the start and finish lines or what.

You can, but it's pretty crowded at the start and finish lines. If you want a clear view stand on the route somewhere.

Cool.

What time do the elite women and men start?

According to their timetable, ten past one and half past one.
    So no earlier than that anyway.

According to their timetable, ten past one and half past one.
    So no earlier than that anyway.

Yeah. I remember doing this race last year, it wasn't exactly punctual when it came to start times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Just got the race pack.

Race number has some coupons attached. Trainer scrappage scheme from Lifestyle sports. 25% discount.

Only available from March 7th - April 8th.

Yeah thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

3 stars (average)
    Signed up for this as my first ever running event after starting running last September. I reckon that for a first timer, I'd probably be better off being somewhere in the middle segment of 19,000 people than floundering at the back in a small event of 190 people.

Best 10k in training is between 51 and 52 mins, so without having any idea what to expect either course-wise or running-wise, I'd be happy with the same again, though I know a good day would be sub 50 and a really good day closer to 45.

Any recommendations on parking? Herself will probably want to come in to spectate. Better off parking in Castleknock on that side and walking in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

G-Money wrote: »
    Yeah. I remember doing this race last year, it wasn't exactly punctual when it came to start times.

It has never been punctual...Generally has been 20-25 minutes late going off.
    (No idea why, every other race I have ever run has been on time or within a few minutes of being on time).

It has never been punctual...Generally has been 20-25 minutes late going off.
    (No idea why, every other race I have ever run has been on time or within a few minutes of being on time).

It was annoying that the race info said to be at the start line for 1pm and I'm 99.9% sure it was 1.47pm when I finally got across the start line, although I was in the last wave to be fair also. But by that stage I had been standing there for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

2 stars (poor)

Did this race last year (as my first ever 10k) and two things really stood out

1) the hills over the 2nd 5k - nearly killed me
    2) the delayed start and the fact loads of people who were walking started ahead of people who were running. I've done a few races since and despite the wave starts and pleas by organisers it seems to me that some walkers love to start in the wrong wave and simply block the path of runners. Why would anyone want to do that? :confused:

I'm in the pink (final) wave and hoping to do the race in under an hour but as it's the last wave I'm guessing it'll be full of walkers. Can/should I just move up into the (back of the) Green wave in order to avoid as many walkers as possible or would a slow coach like myself starting in the Green wave giving out about walkers starting too far forward be a little hypocritical?

Also, I have my two kids doing the junior and mini 2.5k runs but there is a gap of at least 90 minutes from the end of the mini race to the start of the main race - WTF?? :rolleyes: It doesn't exactly encourage you to get your kids involved when a) you have to be there 2.5 hours before the start of your own race for their race and b) they have to hang around 2.5 hours from the end of their race to when I'll (hopefully) cross the finish line. Would it not make sense to have the Junior and mini races finishing close(er) to the start of the main race?

I'm not being critical for the sake of it, just wondering why the need for such a timing gap.

Cheers,

Ben

BenThere wrote: »
    I'm in the pink (final) wave and hoping to do the race in under an hour but as it's the last wave I'm guessing it'll be full of walkers.

if you're planning to run the race from start to finish you're in the wrong wave, you should be in the second (orange?) wave.

The elite women start before the main race, so there's about an hour between the end of the kids race and the start of the 10k. I guess it could take 30 minutes or more to get all the kids and parents away from the finish area and have the course clear to run on.