Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead Lift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Tom

Heres my two cents. As a guy whos 1RM deadlift is 200kg I gotta say that the ease at which he seemed to me to lift the 190kg would mean that he should do the 200kg lift with ease. Psychological maybe?? You should see the cut of me lifting 190kg and 200kg :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

What's with all the rolling around before you lift?

You should get a vid from the side, it gives a better picture of the lift.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

What's with all the rolling around before you lift?

Rolling around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Rolling around?

He is rolling the barbell to and away from him before he goes to lift. Like he is psyching up

Oh Yea just to make sure the bar was in the middle. Lol!!

Tomorrow a 142.5KG Bench press is the goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Savage!! Fair play!

Oh Yea just to make sure the bar was in the middle. Lol!!

Is this you lifting?

I don't see how you can be set up right to pull when you roll the bar around like that. It's important to set yourself correctly when beginning the pull, that's probably the cause of the miss on the 2nd pull.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Is this you lifting?

I don't see how you can be set up right to pull when you roll the bar around like that. It's important to set yourself correctly when beginning the pull, that's probably the cause of the miss on the 2nd pull.

if anything it'd make the lift a bit easier, giving it some kinetic energy before you lift it maybe.

and i don't like making this kind of argument but... benny magnusson does it. :P

Parsley wrote: »
    if anything it'd make the lift a bit easier, giving it some kinetic energy before you lift it maybe.

and i don't like making this kind of argument but... benny magnusson does it. :P

Fair enough, I would have thought that being that loose at the start of the lift could only be negative.

Edit, what Benny does is a bit different as well. He rolls the bar to himself a short distance and then pulls.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4jO21-a2W0

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭diegowhite

Fair enough, I would have thought that being that loose at the start of the lift could only be negative.

Edit, what Benny does is a bit different as well. He rolls the bar to himself a short distance and then pulls.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4jO21-a2W0

I like that guy!

Ye man I reckon you could go over 200 easy, you find the belt makes much different in terms of the weight you can pull?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I was going to suggest this myself :P

Good work though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Parsley wrote: »

Not really. Or at least the kinetic energy would basically dissipate when the bar comes to rest at the point he pulls it from the floor.

When benni does it he just rolls it in and pulls. He sets up with his hamstrings stretched out, rolls the bar in while dropping his hips and pulls from there.

Looks to me like that is whats going on in the OP. In the 190kg vid he times the dropping of the hips so that when the bar comes over the right spot on his foot, he pulls it and all goes well. The end of the hip drop motion happens at the same time as the end of the roll.

In the 200kg vid it looks like he mis-times it, getting his hips down a bit later so the bar comes to his shins rather than his shins coming to the bar. He drops his shins and the roll has a bit to go.

I believe that this is basically the problem with rolling the bar. If your timing is off your pull is off.
    That's why Andy Bolton tells people not to do it.

I don't like how Freds feet stick out and knees stick in, but its not really my place to say.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I don't like how Freds feet stick out and knees stick in, but its not really my place to say.

I found that by keeping my feet pointing relatively straight ahead it was easier to lift, same for squats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I found that his stance is way too wide and causing his feet and knees to go all sticky pointy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

d'Oracle wrote: »

I've seen quite a few people do this and it always makes me cringe. It actually looks worse when I see knees buckle during the deadlift than during the squat.

Dathai wrote: »
    I've seen quite a few people do this and it always makes me cringe. It actually looks worse when I see knees buckle during the deadlift than during the squat.

I would have said the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

I don't know the first thing about lifting weights but looking at the video I wonder why is one hand under the bar and one over? From seeing weightlifting in the Olympics (the only time I see it) they seem to have both hands over the bar. Or is it because in this exercise the bar goes only to the waist, or thereabouts, and in the Olympics it goes over the head?

Mongarra wrote: »
    I don't know the first thing about lifting weights but looking at the video I wonder why is one hand under the bar and one over? From seeing weightlifting in the Olympics (the only time I see it) they seem to have both hands over the bar. Or is it because in this exercise the bar goes only to the waist, or thereabouts, and in the Olympics it goes over the head?

This is a deadlift.
    It is from a different sport.
    Lots of people lift with that grip because it is usually very heavy and that grip allows as stronger grip.

Powerlifting: Squat, Bench Press, Deadlift.
    Not in the Olympics

Olympic Weightlifting (or just Weightlifting) : Snatch, Clean & Jerk.
    In the Olympics.

My bruised shins say that the alternate grip is better :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Yes, is the answer you were looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Thanks all (for exorcising some of my ignorance!).

I will watch with more interest in the Summer and also keep an eye out for the non-Olympic exercises when they're on sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

I think his feet are too wide too. A lot of people do that.

It's hard to see from the front but looks a bit like his hips shoot up first.

And he looks down just before giving up, never look down. I think he might have got it if he didn't look down.