Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EU Licences confirmed for 19th January 2013 - Same Design as Finland

• 29-02-2012 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0229/licence.html

I wonder how much the photo renewal will cost (every 10 years?)

8I4H1.jpg

I think RTÉ did that mock up, using a Finnish licence.
    They just changed the name to Mary Murphy and put Eire/Ireland, Ceadúndas Tiomána Driving Licence on the top.

All the EU licences look similar.

Ours will look very similar to the Finnish one, here's a better idea of what it will look like:

Finland:

MDshZ.jpg

Austria:

SPAmW.jpg

Norway:

x76NS.png

Sweden:

RAyeX.png

Denmark:

oQDIW.jpg

Italy:

j892A.jpg

Czech Republic:

t9NyR.jpg

Netherlands:

<snip>
    UK:

sZyRv.jpg

DLTIK.jpg

Lithuania:

Iodc1.jpg

Germany:

9Td1A.jpg

Latvia:

NmbE0.jpg

Hungary:

zPLcs.jpg

And of course the famous Prawo Jazdy
    http://i.imgur.com/ffhQM.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

About fcukin' time!

Now we won't look so silly renting a car abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

i watched the rte clip on their website
    there is no mention of a counterpart license like the uk have
    it seems all the info is on the barcode / rfid
    am i understanding it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Horrrray! I'm up for renewal in may 13 aswell. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I like the old, faux-leather wallet licenses. They were a
    good deal more elegant than the current yokes, which
    remind me of the school bus tickets I used to have as a Gosling.

These new card jobbies are a bit too Kennkarte for my liking.
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    About fcukin' time!

Now we won't look so silly renting a car abroad.
    I've never looked (or felt) silly renting a car or motorcycle abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Random wrote: »
    i watched the rte clip on their website
    there is no mention of a counterpart license like the uk have
    it seems all the info is on the barcode / rfid
    am i understanding it right?

What info?
    All info (name, address, DOB, licence categories, etc) will be written on licence like it is now.

It looks like we won't have the drivers address on the licence;

what do people think of this?

It will make it less handy for id, eg opening a bank account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Nor does a passport yet that still works along with a utility bill. It's a good move OP. And its about time too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Looks pretty much the same as my UK licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

My licence expires 2017 so does this mean i will have to pay again or wait till 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭emanresu

The address on a driving licence could be years out of date.
    A passport or driving licence is used for photo id,
    a recent utility bill or official letter is used for proof of address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Looks like she's a Transam, says M at the bottom yet appears to be a female in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

They need a couple of other things/
    • An EU wide licence numbering scheme for points and the like.
    • If an address appears, that people are obliged to update this information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

ardmacha wrote: »
    They need a couple of other things/
    • An EU wide licence numbering scheme for points and the like.

Licence numbering is a very little problem in realtion to points, as opposed to actually unifying penalty points system in EU.
    At the moment every country has different penalties policy, and they are all different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

2055? Are these going to be lifetime licences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

patwicklow wrote: »
    My licence expires 2017 so does this mean i will have to pay again or wait till 2017

Pay again. I'll gladly pay to get rid of the shíte I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭emanresu

Apparently in Finland, they are valid until the 70th birthday
    (but that is going to change because of EU rules).
    That is an altered image of a Finnish licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"Later versions of the card are likely to include a micro-chip which could be used to store other information"

So they are already outdated? Why not put the effort in and include the chip now, even if it stays blank for the first few years?

Looks like she's a Transam, says M at the bottom yet appears to be a female in the picture.

If they use Irish it will be 'F' for men (Fireann / fireannach) and 'B' for Women (Ban).

Perhaps they should use toilet symbols

p9Cj6.jpg

If they use Irish it will be 'F' for men (Fireann / fireannach) and 'B' for Women (Ban).

Perhaps they should use toilet symbols

p9Cj6.jpg

Perhaps they should just have it all in english and not have to double up on everything (yes I know about the stupid law).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭racer1

If everyone is made to update to these licences it will get rid of all the fake ones out there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Perhaps they should just have it all in english and not have to double up on everything (yes I know about the stupid law).

Even a Finnish licence has Ceadúnas Tiomána on it, so I suppose it's not entirely unreasonable for those of us who still have some vestige of national pride left and have not descended into the deepest abyss of West Britishness to expect an Irish one to have some Irish on it.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

See here on the right just above the date 10.01.2055 (which is the expiry date, the bearer's 70th birthday):

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-iI0OkO4qfb4/TpdHo3_WhJI/AAAAAAAABD0/3_5MkI26hsw/s1600/Ajokortti2a.jpg

The Finnish driving licence on which the Irish one is supposedly modelled is bilingual (Ajokortti is Finnish and Körkort Swedish).:):)

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Even a Finnish licence has Ceadúnas Tiomána on it,

Even goign by the tone of the rest of the post, I'll assume thats a joke, yeah?
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    so I suppose it's not entirely unreasonable for those of us who still have some vestige of national pride left and have not descended into the deepest abyss of West Britishness to expect an Irish one to have some Irish on it.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Seriously? the lowest common denominator response? and a roll eyes to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Mikko Mallikas

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ellis Dee viewpost.gif
    Even a Finnish licence has Ceadúnas Tiomána on it,

Even goign by the tone of the rest of the post, I'll assume thats a joke, yeah?
    Yes it does, along with "driving licence" in another 11 languages, The number under the picture is your Finnish social security number and it used for everything, it is combined of date of birth (ddmmyy) -(20th century) random 3 numbers ( even for females and odd for males) and 1 letter ( don't know how it is chosen) and is valid till 70, I have one.

Yes it does, along with "driving licence" in another 11 languages, .

I was referreing to the header. Possibly should have been clearer. Old ones had it in plenty of languages too (passports aswell iirc)

Point is, on a small card like that, usefull information should take priority over doubling upon languages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Mikko Mallikas

You´re right the heading is only in Finnish and Swedish, the 2 official languages of Finland. It is very plain, simple and clear, like all Finnish design.

It is very plain, simple and clear, like all Finnish design.

Maybe thats why they dont make cars. :p

Though they'd probably be quite successfull with the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

emanresu wrote: »
    The address on a driving licence could be years out of date.
    A passport or driving licence is used for photo id,
    a recent utility bill or official letter is used for proof of address.

Not if you follow the law and have it updated when you change address (for those countries where it's included)!

I was referreing to the header. Possibly should have been clearer. Old ones had it in plenty of languages too (passports aswell iirc)

Point is, on a small card like that, usefull information should take priority over doubling upon languages.

There's very little language on these cards, mainly numbers / codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

If I get a full licence before the end of the year, can I "lose" it and opt to get one of these guys?

edit:
    Once this new form of licence is introduced, the old paper style will no longer be issued, but they will be still valid. However any driver can trade in their old model for the new one before their renewal date for a fee which has yet to be decided.

o/

racer1 wrote: »
    If everyone is made to update to these licences it will get rid of all the fake ones out there.....

... yeah, and the new type are impossible to fake too...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Looks like a piece of ****e, I could make a better one in my sleep.

Carefull you dont anger the finns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

I imagine the final draft will cost both €100m in consultants fees and €1 in graphic design ehm Leap Card anyone.
    I do agree with the card as a concept though it's about time the Irish licence can be kept in a wallet like a credit card the current format is awkward.
    As for those with existing 10 year licences that don't expire until 2022 I'd assume you can just trade in if you choose.

As for the suggestion of a Europe wide system for exchange of penalty points. Wtf so if I speed in Germany the Irish gov is going to give me points? How is that legal or fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

They should put your PPSN on it, it would be a handy way of tying a Person to their licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

hold on that cant be right:confused:, 19th of january 2013:confused:, cause i thought the world ended in december 2012:confused::confused:

:D:D:D

mmcn90 wrote: »
    They should put your PPSN on it, it would be a handy way of tying a Person to their licence.
    Only if you choose to yourself. Many countries give the option to leave the personal number off the licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

They are saying penalty points can also be displayed on the license.. so whenever you get or lose points you have to get a new license?

Oh the ways of thinking in this country..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

patwicklow wrote: »

You can upgrade to the new licence style for a fee. They have not yet decided what that fee will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

And by 2060 they will arm the guards with the necessary equipment to electronically read the licences at the roadside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

They are saying penalty points can also be displayed on the license.. so whenever you get or lose points you have to get a new license?

Oh the ways of thinking in this country..

Well we got to make money for the outsourcing company! Morons in office! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Pataman wrote: »
    And by 2060 they will arm the guards with the necessary equipment to electronically read the licences at the roadside.

I'll bet they get SCMODS

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Only if you choose to yourself. Many countries give the option to leave the personal number off the licence.

Yep, I'd agree with that, but, even if it's not printed, I think it should be in the database for the licences, similar to passports.

Well, they already have that as you need to supply your PPS when getting a licence.

Oh, didn't realise that, it's been a while since I applied for my licence.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I was just thinking that, what a disgraceful looking yoke! Even the garda age card is better looking and its around years

conzymaher wrote: »
    I was just thinking that, what a disgraceful looking yoke! Even the garda age card is better looking and its around years

I think RTÉ did that mock up, using a Finnish licence.
    They just changed the name to Mary Murphy and put Eire/Ireland, Ceadúndas Tiomána Driving Licence on the top.

All the EU licences look similar.

Ours will look very similar to the Finnish one, here's a better idea of what it will look like:

Finland:

MDshZ.jpg

Austria:

SPAmW.jpg

Norway:

x76NS.png

Sweden:

RAyeX.png

Denmark:

oQDIW.jpg

Italy:

j892A.jpg

Czech Republic:

t9NyR.jpg

Netherlands:

UH7Nx.jpg

UK:

sZyRv.jpg

DLTIK.jpg

Lithuania:

Iodc1.jpg

Germany:

9Td1A.jpg

Latvia:

NmbE0.jpg

Hungary:

zPLcs.jpg

And of course the famous Prawo Jazdy
    ffhQM.jpg

The Austrian one looks like its got a stain on it from getting wet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

The Austrian and Italian ones look the best of the above.

Wouldn't mind the style that many US States use though:

sample-license.jpg?w=500

The Swiss manage to get 5 languages on their licence

QFL4l.jpg