Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunt

• 28-02-2012 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Hunt want to go through my land. They day that they are insured and that their policy will cover me in the event of an accident. They have hunted over the land for years, probably 20+.

Now I know that there is a hunt in Cork that is trying to blame the farmer for some accident that happened when they went through his farm.

Anyone know if I should tell them to feck off and run the risk of falling out with neighbours, or should I let them through? what happens if someone falls in my land though - will my insurance go through the roof? Family is split on this. Parents want to let them continue as they have done in the past, but I am now the owner of the land and dont want to lose it! Twas hard enough to get it when I married someone not of 'farming stock'!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭island of tighe

you better ask her "not of farming stock" what she thinks as she owns half the place!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Your land, you decision.
    The politics of relationships between your family, neighbours, and the greater community are unknown to us here, so we can't really give meaningful advice on that.

If the insurance is your main concern, ask them for a copy of their policy and have your own insurance company (and/or your solicitor) have a look at it. Your insurance company will also advise on whether you'd be risking any liability by allowing them access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

ravima wrote: »
    I am now the owner of the land

Those eight words sum it up for me. You have two feet, put down one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 saddlesoap

If you dont want them to go through then dont let them.. its Ur land.

I Hunt and i have fallen off and the last thing i think about is its the farmers fault. Must people who hunt are like this. There gratefull for being left through your land..
    In our hunt club the people who are organising the hunt will walk the hunt before hand and open any gaps and clear away anything that will be harmful. Then after the hunt they will close all the gaps and fix anything that was broken.
    To have a hunt club you must have insurance and they should show it to you if you ask for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

I used to hunt a lot, and still did a bit this season. If it is a recognised hunt, they should show you the insurance. As saddlesoap says, "proper" hunters wouldn't dream of suing you in case of accident, but you can never be sure.
    That said, if you were sued, it would close the country to the hunt, so I'm sure they'd look after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Was away over the weekend but was chatting to the ol lad Saturday night. He called in the evening, he out checking the cows when the dogs got very agitated, he could hear people calling dogs in the next field, now our land is used for shooting but anyone that shoots here always comes to him for permission. When he got closer he heard horses and hounds. He was fairly pissed off and when he confronted them about what they were doing on his land and not so much as an apology. Cheeky feckers had no problem opening gates and fences, I fairly sure the same crowd would be fairly annoyed if I went playing football in their gardens.

The fields got a fair doing this year last thing we need is them getting rutted up by a shower of trespassers. That's what they have point to point races for. It probably a good idea I wasn't around as I probably would have lost the plot. That shower better not set foot (or hoof) round here again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Ravima
    Do you have public liabiity? If you do you got no bother.
    Cannot understand peoples problem with hunt is it some deep rooted problem with horses or the riders?

delaval wrote: »
    Ravima
    Cannot understand peoples problem with hunt is it some deep rooted problem with horses or the riders?

Why should I let someone ride through my fields in the middle of winter sure why dont i let a load of lads in track bikes tear them up too, this isn't fairy house. And the point was we didn't allow them on they just let themselves in.

You didn't answer the question

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

It would be most unusual for a hunt to go where they do not have permission. if the hounds go onto to land they don't usually hunt, the huntsman will usually follow them to get them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Ravima

I would imagine the fear of being sued is the issue.

What happens if someone from the hunt falls, and then decides to sue the farmer, can the hunt club stop the person in this case?

It would be most unusual for a hunt to go where they do not have permission. if the hounds go onto to land they don't usually hunt, the huntsman will usually follow them to get them out.

Doesn't seem to be that unusual. From chatting to some of the neighbours this is fairly common occurrence and they went through a few neighbours fields without permission too. my dad said the last time they crossed our place with horses was about 20 years ago and went straight across the beet and potatoes, we have in calf cows out wintered and they were in the neighbouring field and broke though the fence. I'll be very pissed off if anyone of them throws a calf.

You let the insurance companies sort it. I am assuming the hunt has insurance.If a farmer is sued no hunt would ever meet again.
    All this talk of farmers being sued is purly heresay I doubt anyone knows one person that was sued!
    As I said earlier it's something else............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

All this talk of farmers being sued is purly heresay I doubt anyone knows one person that was sued!

I know a farmer that was sued. The case was settled out of court but he was sued nonetheless.

"it's something else" you say. What is it?

If it was settled out of court who paid compo farmer or ins company?
    I suspect a lot of the problem with the hunt is because it is still seen as elitist but in fact most hunt members in our area are farmers

You let the insurance companies sort it. I am assuming the hunt has insurance.If a farmer is sued no hunt would ever meet again.

The suing over some eegit falling from their horse hadn't dawned on me. We have the local gun club and drag hunt around every winter, but they will always ask for premission and will always ask if there are any sheep or cattle so they don't spook them. The hunt just came on without any thought for anyone else except their own fun. So yes it is something else, ignorant pricks thinking they can go anywhere they want whenever they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Those hunt lads are not simple had plenty of hassle with them.

Not a bit uncommon for them to go without permission.

In our area permission is always sought. What they did in your area is unacceptable

If it was settled out of court who paid compo farmer or ins company?
    I suspect a lot of the problem with the hunt is because it is still seen as elitist but in fact most hunt members in our area are farmers

There was a " Sporting Association" involved, the particular sport is irrelevant, but club insurance paid the claim. The farmer is still out of pocket.
    In relation to a hunt. Why would I as a farmer invite in a crowd on horseback to break fences, poach ground, and disturb livestock just to catch a fox?
    Much simpler to lamp one.

"The unspeakable in pursuit of the inedible" Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭namoosh

The registered hunts have insurance to cover loss of livestock etc caused by the hunt. Most hunts advise their members to take out personal insurance as well, its about €75 a year from IFA Countryside and covers most risks associated with field sports. It's a high risk sport and you take your chances I can't see how the farmer can be held liable, particularly if he or she did not give permission to go through their land. The hunts are the guests of the farmers and would take an extremely dim view of anyone, member or otherwise threatening to sue.

[QUOTE
    In relation to a hunt. Why would I as a farmer invite in a crowd on horseback to break fences, poach ground, disturb livestock just to catch a fox?

My point exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

i would imagine if you give them permission to ride through then you become responsible for health and safety. so if anything goes wrong they could possibly sue you for negligence etc. the local hunts are firmly banned from our land. they just lead to destruction. and after the summer we've just had you'd be mad to let 50+ horses through on wet ground!

bb12 wrote: »
    i would imagine if you give them permission to ride through then you become responsible for health and safety. so if anything goes wrong they could possibly sue you for negligence etc. the local hunts are firmly banned from our land. they just lead to destruction. and after the summer we've just had you'd be mad to let 50+ horses through on wet ground!

I can't see how as its the riders decision to come across your land, plus you haven't invited them in they've asked to come across.

namoosh wrote: »
    I can't see how as its the riders decision to come across your land

Is it the horse that dictates to the rider?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

I told them take a run and jump last year,sick fixing fences after them and poched fields.
    A few people very annnoyed with me over it ,our land split some very good hunting ground.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Is it the horse that dictates to the rider?

The rider makes the decision to get up on the horse, if he or she can't control the horse they shouldn't be there. Riding through livestock is unacceptable as is riding through sown ground, land you haven't permission to be on etc. etc. Pest control is a job for a lad with a gun and a lamp. The hunt is a hobby, I'm amazed it still goes on as there is nothing in it for the farmer who's land they cross apart from poached ground, cut wire, broken fences and blocked ditches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Hi delaval,

I would imagine the chances are low, but that doesn't mean it wouldn't happen.
    My fear would be the hunt would just shrug their shoulders if anything happened, and say "don't you have public liability" to the farmer.

Personally, I wouldn't let the hunt in, or anyone just to run around playing in my fields. But everyone to their own.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Any registered hunt will fence any gaps opened.As to poaching ground, again registered hunts will insist people ride the headlands. except in unplanted stubbles.What hunt had a member that sued?I'd be fairly au fait with what goes on and never heard of this.

The rider makes the decision to get up on the horse, if he or she can't control the horse they shouldn't be there. Riding through livestock is unacceptable as is riding through sown ground, land you haven't permission to be on etc. etc. Pest control is a job for a lad with a gun and a lamp. The hunt is a hobby, I'm amazed it still goes on as there is nothing in it for the farmer who's land they cross apart from poached ground, cut wire, broken fences and blocked ditches.

Agreed!

Looks like great ol crack though:D.......................But not at my expence.

caseman wrote: »
    I told them take a run and jump last year,sick fixing fences after them and poched fields.
    A few people very annnoyed with me over it ,our land split some very good hunting ground.

My point exactly, if they paid a lad to fence after them, came back the next day and spoke to you to make sure everything was ok and remedied any deficiencies you mightn't be so annoyed. They have to give something back, I'd imagine no chance from the hunt of a bottle or tickets to the hunt ball or point to point as a thanks very much?

Agreed!

Looks like great ol crack though:D.......................But not at my expence.

It is

Any proper hunt has premission from all landowners,they also send out "stock cards" in advance to these farmers and have fencers in place too.farmers get free passes to the point to points and food in the caterer's tent.

Any registered hunt will fence any gaps opened.As to poaching ground, again registered hunts will insist people ride the headlands. except in unplanted stubbles.What hunt had a member that sued?I'd be fairly au fait with what goes on and never heard of this.

There was one threat fom a visitor to the local drag hunt who was a fat f**k who fell off and threatened to sue the landowner. He was immediately blacklisted by all the local hunts aqnd the error of his ways pointed out to him. He had no case. The farmer in question wont let the hunt through his land since, why should he take the chance!

Re: fencing. There is fencing and there is fencing. Cutting a high tensile, well strained fence, and simply reconnecting is not fencing.

Re: Hunt member that sued. I didn't say it was a hunt, but a "Sporting Assoc". The same issue though from the farmers point of view.

I figured as much,any registered hunt wouldn't allow such a thing to happen.Fencing tends to be done by professional fencers too.

My point exactly, if they paid a lad to fence after them, came back the next day and spoke to you to make sure everything was ok and remedied any deficiencies you mightn't be so annoyed. They have to give something back, I'd imagine no chance from the hunt of a bottle or tickets to the hunt ball or point to point as a thanks very much?

They did pay a lad to fence my 7 year old nephew would do a better job.

Did you raise this with them?Where I grew up, most of the farmers hunted and still do, so it would never be an issue.

Did they come back the next day to see everything was OK?

Did you raise this with them?

Why should he, easier to fix it yourself and erect a no hunting sign at the same time.

I can't see any registered hunt cutting a high tensile fence.

I told them take a run and jump.

Had it done to me!

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭The prowler

I have never heard of the hunt around me give anything like free point to point tickets or tent passes or anything,not even a bottle of jamie,i think alot of the hunts people are up their own holes,i no that the hare coursing lads give a bottle of whiskey to everyones land they use to catch hares on,i know who i would prefer on land if i owned it,eapecially after the last year of weather. Even just a small acknoledgement makes a big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

must just be the shower around here so. local hunt are not too bad, county hounds are a yoke. I stopped them two years ago after they cut there way in over a boundary fence, if they kept following the path they were going they would have being crossing 4 mains fenced paddocks, so it would have being cut cut cut. No permission sought and when told they are not wanted they will appear again later in the season. complete disrespect. The hunt im talking about is going to end up in a nasty situation IMV as there are some very highly strung people locally that now lose the plot when they see the hunt about. just looked up the pack of hounds Im talking about and the joint masters - one is from the UK and the other lives 2 counties away. I dont know anyone that hunts with this crowd. I see they charge visitors €200 notes to hunt alone, nice when you dont have to pay a penny for your playing pitch

mf240 wrote: »
    Had it done to me!

If they were any good they would have jumped it. Completely unacceptable, I hope you sued!

Is that not exactly what they intended doing:D

must just be the shower around here so. local hunt are not too bad, county hounds are a yoke. I stopped them two years ago after they cut there way in over a boundary fence, if they kept following the path they were going they would have being crossing 4 mains fenced paddocks, so it would have being cut cut cut. No permission sought and when told they are not wanted they will appear again later in the season. complete disrespect. The hunt im talking about is going to end up in a nasty situation IMV as there are some very highly strung people locally that now lose the plot when they see the hunt about.

Report them to the HAI, IFA and local Guards, they are trespassing and giving other hunts a bad name. Sue for damages! They won't be back. They hunt is supposed to be a local club not a load of yahoos riding roughshod over other peoples land!

If they were any good they would have jumped it. Completely unacceptable, I hope you sued!

Of coarse I didn't sue them.
    I fixed it myself and put up a no hunting sign.

Is that not exactly what they intended doing:D

In the opposite direction:D