Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vapers meetup

• 26-02-2012 1:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭

so i was over on ukvapers and noticed they have an irish vapers forum, with a dormant thread about an irish meetup that never got off the ground over there
    I remember seeing a few people post here asking about having a meet as well so i figured between both forums there must be enough people to agree a time and place at some point in the future

http://ukvapers.com/topic/3942-irish-meet/page__st__40

a good chunk of them are up north, and a good chunk of us are all over the bloody shop so as much as it pains me to say this (hating Dublin as I do) maybe somewhere in that urine soaked hellhole would be a good middle of the road place for a venue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

so i was over on ukvapers and noticed they have an irish vapers forum, with a dormant thread about an irish meetup that never got off the ground over there
    I remember seeing a few people post here asking about having a meet as well so i figured between both forums there must be enough people to agree a time and place at some point in the future

http://ukvapers.com/topic/3942-irish-meet/page__st__40

a good chunk of them are up north, and a good chunk of us are all over the bloody shop so as much as it pains me to say this (hating Dublin as I do) maybe somewhere in that urine soaked hellhole would be a good middle of the road place for a venue?

Funniest man on the forum by a country mile :D

Yeah i'd probably up for that depending on the date, maybe do a poll if there is enough interest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I'd be up for it too if I'm free.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

I work EVERY weekend, but i could see if i could work something out if i had enough notice to get the day off.

Maybe if we could get a function room in a hotel, and maybe try get some of the vendors to come along also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

eeloe wrote: »

Maybe if we could get a function room in a hotel, and maybe try get some of the vendors to come along also?

That would be a great idea.

Vendors could organise some sort of 'trade show' to cover the cost of the function room.

Seeing that there seems to be no actual 'walk in' shops in the country, it would be a great way for them to demonstrate their wares & generate extra sales.

If it was in Dublin, or anywhere else in Leinster, I'd certainly go,so long as it was a weekend night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

you think there'd be enough vapers around to justify a trade show though?

it'd be a good idea, but maybe just a small meet up first.. keep expectations low :) a cafe or a pub, rather than a hotel

you think there'd be enough vapers around to justify a trade show though?

it'd be a good idea, but maybe just a small meet up first.. keep expectations low :) a cafe or a pub, rather than a hotel

Maybe a small Trade Show?:D

Vapers tend to be people giving up the Smokes & people who are giving up smoking tend to be over the 30/35 mark.

People with work commitments, small kids, bills, etc....

I think there would have to some kind of 'event', no matter how small to attract people from this forum.

A few vendors demonstrating their products would be of intrest to a good few on here, I think.

*shrug*

all I know is i'm not organising anything, I just said I'd make the thread here to see if people were interested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

http://www.world-vaping-day.com/
    Too soon?
    Dublin probably best for transport to and from, cafe or pub for size and vendors would be welcome.
    I'm up for it. Not got much to share though. Twould be nice to put faces to avatars.

hrm, it's a thursday.. could be awkward for people to travel on a weekday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭achieve

World Vaping Day is Thursday March 22. Maybe tie in with that. I would tend to agree with comment above about age of vapers etc, but have no evidence of same, but I would think that an evening would suit people better than day time. I also have no idea of level of interest.

If your right about the average age, I'm definitely the youngest. Wehey! Haha

A meet up would be cool, I only suggested about the vendors so we could have the chance of bringing home some new toys, and juices and what not aswell as meeting up with everyone! :-)

I personally think somewhere in Carlow would be best, I mean with the new motor ways and all it'd be pretty central for anyone traveling.

yeah
    carlow
    definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Carlow is good for me too, How vape friendly are pubs or cafes in Carlow?
    In Kilkenny on my own, no problem ever, but if 20 of us turned up???
    This would apply inside the pail too or anywhare, a venue would need to know exactly what was involved. Just asking around would be an interesting experiment in itself.

yeah, dunno
    it really depends on when it's on too
    weekends most pubs would have quite a few people in them, but you'd get a few scumbags walking in seeing people vaping and then lighting up fags. pubs might not want to deal with that

i dont even live in carlow town anymore, and am rarely able to head in so dont know when ill be able to head in to ask in any pubs

i suppose if it's a good day we could head to a beer garden.. or even a pub with a roofed smoking area

Carlow good for me too.:D

I live fairly close to town.

ah, great
    you sort it out so

If I could ask anyone who's actually arranging this, to try and keep it away from a bank holiday week? It'd be a near impossibility for me to get any time off on a BH weekend, and I would really like to attend this.

:-)

ah, great
    you sort it out so

Well, if there's sufficient intrest, I could look into something in the Carlow area venuewise.

well lets keep bumping the thread for a while, see how many people might be interested. let the ukvapers crowd have a say as well
    once we get a feel for how many people might turn up, we can look at dates and venues I guess

all else fails the four of us could just meet up for a few pints some weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭newmark

Just to put the spanner in the works would Portlaoise be a better location to suit me ha ha.. Great idea and I love the thoughts of being able to purchase goodies from vendors (They might even run some promotions on the day!) and people could share knowledge etc... I do honestly think Portlaoise is more central Ireland though and I'd definitely be interested in going.

I knew someone would mention Portlaoise...I've never been there, so couldn't comment on the place! :-)

I'd say we're best to leave this as it is for another week, and see what kinda numbers we have then, an decide if it should be a meet up or a mini event!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

I knew someone would mention Portlaoise...I've never been there, so couldn't comment on the place! :-)

Same as Carlow, really. Central to Ireland and not much else. Great prison though.

How about Cahrrrrk, the centre of the world, like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

as i have said before im up for it.dont mind giveing a lift to ppl eather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Elevelyn

grindle wrote: »
    How about Cahrrrrk, the centre of the world, like?

Would defo be up for it then :D, Carlows a bit too far for me cause i cant drive :(

that's ok, stealthirl can give you a lift

doubt they will travel from kildare!!! Have it in Cork and I can get ye good rates at a snobby hotel I work in!!!!!! maybe :-)

ahh but the advantage of carlow is that it's on the main waterford - dublin road
    bound to be busses from cork to carlow :)
    weirdly enough there's none from carlow to cork.
    that oughta tell you something

Yep takes about 4hours and costs about €30+ for a return :(

30?!
    jesus

mad to think in a country this small we have more trouble getting people together than you'd likely find in california

I know yeah, was in waterford last weekend and bus cost 28 return, fecking crazy!!! but thats a thread for the R&R forum I think! don't think I'd be up for it (can hardly get time off work) but if a date is fixed ill see what i can do :-)

Can you edit in a poll for locations, might be the easiest way to see who can get where?

This thread has slightly died in the water?

Let's revive this bitch! :-)

I'm not sure how to edit in a poll? Anyone got any ideas on how to do that?

http://ukvapers.com/topic/16288-world-vaping-day-meet-up/page__pid__254459#entry254459

there's a world vapers day meetup on the 22nd in londonderry if anyone's interested.
    doubt i'll be travelling all the way for it, but maybe some people here will be interested

Up North is quite a distance to travel in fairness, doubt i'll be making the trek either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Let's revive this bitch! :-)

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

I think haveing a meet up someplace that dose food and drink would be good,like TGI or frank and bennys type of place

Right, this thread needs to be kicked in to gear.

Who's up for a mini little meet up type of thing?

I could speak to a couple of vendors and ask them if they would be interested in popping along with some stock, and juices so we could try em and so on?

When suits people best, a weekend? an Evening Mid-Week?

and i think, which suits Sir Digby best, the location would probably have to be Carlow, it's pretty central for everyone...

if you leave it until around august I'll have moved back into carlow then and we could just have it in my tiny little 1 bed apartment :)

plus I have a 42 inch tv so we could watch movies and ****

Hahaha, you'd get some land if 30-40 people turned up, and a couple of vendors with stock! :-)

hehe

honestly im struggling to think of places in carlow we could have it

i was vaping in a pub in town last weekend, if it was during the day maybe in there

i honestly dont see any of the foodie places letting a crowd of vapers in, although that pub I was in has pool tables.. if they're working we could take over the downstairs pool area :)

Yeah foodie places in a no no I'd say!

That pub sounds interesting....

Might be worthwhile trying the local hotels around the area as those of us travelling could book in as well and make a night of it. If the hotels were shown the UKvapefest website they would get an idea of what we are about. They might even supply a large room for free so that vendors could setup stands and some cheaper room rates for those that want to book in.

It would have to be a vape friendly hotel of course. Personally I wouldn't like it to be in a place that wouldn't allow vaping as I think that just sucks :D

We could organise a raffle and get some vendor donations to entice people from around the country to go, Vendors would in return get a free pitch to show there wares to the hundreds that may turn up lol.

I think it would be a great way for new vapers especially to get involved and some of the more expeienced vapers could help them with setting up devices and giving advice first-hand, etc.

Personally I think a Saturday around late September would be a good time and give everyone plenty of time to get organised but no matter when ye want to organise something I'll do my best to be there and will also help out in organising in anyway I can.

If I am being too optomistic tell me to shut up. :pac:

lol
    you sure as hell think big newmark :)

i'd say we'd be doing well to get 10 people to turn up, wherever it's held

I think there's two slightly different things being talked about, one is a small social type meetup, the other more of a vaping convention. The only obvious compromise is a full on convention around at Sir Digby's place.

lol
    you sure as hell think big newmark :)

i'd say we'd be doing well to get 10 people to turn up, wherever it's held

I dunno, a few plugs on the radio, Today fm and the likes, couple of ads on adverts, boards, donedeal etc, We could do up an A4 poster advertising an event and ask all the vendors to send it out with every order to make all the vapers of Ireland aware of event. Some of the lurkers here might be enticed to go too.

If everyone regular here brought 1 or 2 along with them we just might have one hell of a party and manage 50+. There's the lads on UK vapers as well who might go. I think the key is having a few decent prizes for a raffle and vendor support. I'll shut up now I'm off for a pint or 3.:D

honestly if we were gona do something of that size.. it'd have to be dublin
    dubliners won't travel outside the pale, they're afraid of the dragons and there's far more people in that small area compared to the rest of the country that if you're hoping for interested footfall it makes sense to hold it somewhere with a high population density

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭wingnut32

We would definitely attend and support something like this, I think it could be successful if its done properly and we would have no problem helping out.

if it was something of a moderate to large size we could probably get some of the ukvapers northern crowd to come down and maybe some juice samples and whatnot from some of the uk suppliers

i dunno though, I think we're still a ways off something like this being viable

are there any health/safety implications? if someone with a pg allergy tries a sample vape and breaks out in a sudden rash or their head explodes, what happens
    it'll have to be 18s plus but who enforces that, would bouncers have to be hired?
    if it's held in dublin dubliners are going to show, do you want to deal with them?
    so many things to consider :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭wingnut32

Those pesky Dubs!! Seriously though I think we could set aside an area in a pub. Get 20-30 people which is achievable, a couple of vendors and see where it goes from there in the future.

There are a good few people I deal with that dont post on the boards that I know would go to something like this!

yeahh, probably
    im just too sick to study and getting grumpier by the hour so I feel like ****ting all over something :)