Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North Korea

• 23-02-2012 5:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever been to North Korea. Do you know of anybody who has. I am reading about it on the Internet. Crazy place all together. But the opportunity has arose to visit later in the year. I will be in Beijing. Think it would be a shame not to visit given that I'll be next door and it's always interested me However not sure whether it's really safe. Or would people have problems visiting based on principals. I'm reading about Camp 22. Seems like a very harsh place and visiting is only contributing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

You'll most likely be detained, tortured, tickled with feathers and killed.

They don't take kindly to wide-eyes out there.

Matt Damon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Anyone ever been to North Korea. Do you know of anybody who has. I am reading about it on the Internet. Crazy place all together. But the opportunity has arose to visit later in the year. I will be in Beijing. Think it would be a shame not to visit given that I'll be next door and it's always interested me However not sure whether it's really safe. Or would people have problems visiting based on principals. I'm reading about Camp 22. Seems like a very harsh place and visiting is only contributing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

North Korea is the greatest country in the world.
    Please visit us and you are welcome.
    We have many many nice things for you to see.

Please don't shoot me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Arec Bardrin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Best of luck getting a visa!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Daniel2590

I thought no one was allowed in / out of the country :confused: apart from Mr Great Leader and his possy;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭VagnerLove

I thought they only let in so many tourists at once and they're not allowed to go around on their own, they're given a guided tour to the limited places they're allowed to see.

Great bunch of lads though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

There is only about 200 foreigners let in every year and you are only allowed to visit the sites the governemtn wants you to see, and there is a goverment person with you at all times. It would be crap is what im saying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

You can get in alright. These are the guys you call.

http://www.koryogroup.com/travel_tours.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Daniel2590 wrote: »
    I thought no one was allowed in / out of the country :confused: apart from Mr Great Leader and his possy;)

A common misconception.

OP you have to go to South Korea first and run across the border, dont be fooled by the warnings and gun shots its their way of welcoming you. Sounds a little unconventional I know but they're odd people these Koreans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

I haven't been to North Korea but have been to South Korea.
    Two diverse worlds side by side.

I got interested in the idea of going to N Korea when I was in S Korea.

Beforehand I thought it'd be totally wrong to go there under any circumstances to support the N Korean regime by paying for a tour there.

To do a tour you have to start in China and take a train to the N Korea border. A three day tour is about 1,000 Euro.

The book Nothing To Envy by Barbara Demick makes for interesting reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Visit the Chinese community of Craggy Island instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Its not that easy I don't think. You can't just catch a flight from beijing. They are essentially cut off from the outside world. As far as I know there is some sort of government controlled tourism program, where they shuttle you around on buses for a few days. Id imagine you would have no real freedom and you would only see exactly what they want you to see. I doubt it would be much fun to be honest.

I have been to North Korea several times. Didn`t have much trouble at the border. Never even asked for a passport. Once you`re in you do need to be careful. They`re very wary of strangers. It`s a horrible place really...full of torture camps,people starving at the side of the road...just awful. Oh wait...no...that`s Mayo I`m thinking of. Never been to North Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Try and get a round of golf in while you're over there. See if you can break the Pyongyang Country Club course record of 38 strokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Daniel2590 wrote: »
    they want to earn money so apparently it's not that difficult to get a visa. You have to go as part of an organised tour though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

According to google maps there are no roads in N.Korea so you'll have to walk there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

You can get in, they let a few tourists in every year. Be a great spot for a honeymoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Try and get a round of golf in while you're over there. See if you can break the Pyongyang Country Club course record of 38 strokes.

The dear leader got through the course in one shot. 18 holes in one. Then he flew home on a magic carpet.

token101 wrote: »
    The dear leader got through the course in one shot. 18 holes in one. Then he flew home on a magic carpet.

Er...18 holes in one is 18 shots. Not a golfer,are ya?
    You`re right about the magic carpet tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

You might find this interesting, OP:
    http://testroete.com/northkorea.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

all i know is that North Korea is Best Korea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

You can go, there are several different videos of people who went there on youtube. However, you wont have any freedom and will be guided around by 2 people who do nothing but shove propaganda down your throat.
    There is even a tour group who you can book with located in London. Costs about £2000 for 1 week.
    I would love to do it some day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

North Korea is like so last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

North Korea is like so last year.

Eh, so last 200 year you mean

ScumLord wrote: »
    According to google maps there are no roads in N.Korea so you'll have to walk there.

Where he's going, you don't need roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm going over for 10 days in August :D I've already paid the deposit and have been granted a visa. Took a whole lot of planning and is going to cost me over €3,000. I've been saying for years that I wanted to see the place so decided a few months ago to bite the bullet and do it. I'm traveling on my own too. Nervous as fcuk about it tbh. I'm looking forward to seeing the place with my own eyes though.. and can't wait to see the Mass Games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

Have a look at the Vice Guide to North Korea. Pretty informative overview of holidaying in North Korea.

I'm going over for 10 days in August :D I've already paid the deposit and have been granted a visa. Took a whole lot of planning and is going to cost me over €3,000. I've been saying for years that I wanted to see the place so decided a few months ago to bite the bullet and do it. I'm traveling on my own too. Nervous as fcuk about it tbh. I'm looking forward to seeing the place with my own eyes though.. and can't wait to see the Mass Games.

Fair play to you. Thats an adventure:) Make sure you tell us all about it when you get back, Id love to hear how you get on. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

North Korea is Best Korea.

Yes, I know it's been said but it's worth iterating.
    Come visit soon OP, welcome welcome..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

some web stuff to help you

http://www.friend.com.kp

http://www.naenara.com.kp/en/great/ - politics

http://www.naenara.com.kp/en/
    Kim Jong Un's Activities
    1 [02/22/2012]

KPA Unit 842 Inspected
    2 [02/18/2012]

Concert of Unhasu Orchestra Enjoyed
    3 [02/17/2012]

Homage Paid to Kim Jong Il
    4 [02/08/2012]

Headquarters of KPA Large Combined Unit 324 and Its Unit Inspected
    5 [02/07/2012]

Headquarters of Combined Unit 597 of KPA Navy and Its Units Inspected

Update News
    1 [02/17/2012]

KPA Three Services Meet at Sacred Temple of Juche
    2 [02/17/2012]

Grand Performance Given on Day of Shining Star
    3 [02/16/2012]

National Meeting Held to Commemorate 70th Birth Anniversary of Kim Jong Il
    4 [02/15/2012]

Decision on Awarding Title of DPRK Generalissimo to Kim Jong Il Issued
    5 [02/15/2012]

Equestrian Statues of Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il Erected in Mansudae Art Studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Marcus_Crassus

You might find this interesting, OP:
    http://testroete.com/northkorea.html

Interesting, but also very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

I went there 18 months ago... and I'm still in a prison camp!

OK - no prison camp, so you don't need to be nervous. It's super-safe and they bring you round the 'best' spots so you won't see directly the life of the average North Korean.

The Arirang mass games were excellent. The food for the week I was there was terrible (the best meal I had was dog. Alas poor Rover...)
    No wonder they have salt, pepper and MSG as condiments! So eat well before you go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

I'd love to go. The traffic cops are hot. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YVIBawHaQY&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

A hilarious first hand look at tourism in North Korea by a fairly funny tourist!
    It's a 9 part series, but well worth the watch if you get the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Popeleo wrote: »
    I went there 18 months ago... and I'm still in a prison camp!

OK - no prison camp, so you don't need to be nervous. It's super-safe and they bring you round the 'best' spots so you won't see directly the life of the average North Korean.

The Arirang mass games were excellent. The food for the week I was there was terrible (the best meal I had was dog. Alas poor Rover...)
    No wonder they have salt, pepper and MSG as condiments! So eat well before you go there.

Yeah, I was talking to a couple who visited a few years ago and they said the food was truly awful. They also maintained that most of the 'side' dishes etc you're served are merely there for show and whatever isn't eaten is carted out to the next lot of people. It's definitely one of the things that I'm most apprehensive about. Do the guides and restaurant workers take offense if you don't eat the food?

I'll certainly be packing a bag full of ready meals to take with me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

ScumLord wrote: »

Have a look at Google Earth, They have a lot of hideous style motorways that just carve through the landscape, Don't appear to be line painted or have any central median either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Haven't been, but I've seen it from South Korea. You can stand on a watchtower and look across the demilitarized zone at it from the south. It looked nice, kinda like an empty field. Lots of grass and stuff, and no houses.

You can however, presumably due to the amazing satellites the US have in place, see the country in amazing detail via Google Earth. At least, you can zoom down to a really low level in Pyongyang (apparently just filled with amazing empty edifices). It's way better than the satellite imagery we have of anywhere in Ireland anyway :)

Night time shots of the place just show the lights on in Pyongyang, the rest of the country barely seems to have a candle between them. Wouldn't imagine it would make much of a spa break destination then OP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

Yeah, I was talking to a couple who visited a few years ago and they said the food was truly awful. They also maintained that most of the 'side' dishes etc you're served are merely there for show and whatever isn't eaten is carted out to the next lot of people. It's definitely one of the things that I'm most apprehensive about. Do the guides and restaurant workers take offense if you don't eat the food?

I presume you're going with Koryo, like I did. The group was far bigger than I expected - over 30 of us, so they didn't really take much notice of who was eating what.

I was surprised that I was allowed bring in my laptop - I knew that phones weren't allowed, so I presumed that computers would be forbidden too. Not too many wireless hotspots though :D

A weird place all and all - PM me if you want to ask something that's far too boring and practical for AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

I've always been fascinated by North Korea. Would love to visit the place. Url, you have to let us know how you get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A Pot Noodle has probably got a street value equivalent to 5 million Euro.You'll be locked up for smuggling.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"So, how's life in North Korea?"

"Well, I can't complain."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I'd love to go, I'd say it would be a very interesting but surreal and sad experience. Only government officials and athletes are entitled to live in Pyongang, so it's already surreal from the get go. The facade they put on is amazing, apparently you should expect to see hand-chosen beautiful girls posing on benches as some sort of advertisement for health, no gaunt starving here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's actually not as bad as you think, as a friend of the government and a part of the western correspondent research team I've been treated well. To be gifted internet access in this country is a luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

OP, if you're flying in from beijing with air koryo, make sure you're towards the front of the queue and grab a copy of the pyongyang times. it's hilarious propaganda, and listen out for the announcement when you fly into north korean air space, recalling some epic victory by kim il sung.

bring some apples or something like that with you, the guides will appreciate them, and bring some photos with you on an ipod or something. that won't be confiscated at the border, but your phone will. you'll get it back on the train on the way out.
    and.... i hope you picked the option that you spend a night in dandong on the chinese side of the border. the guide will tell you to go to a club where the dancefloor is on springs. very surreal to stand on!
    just make sure you have enough memory cards cos you'll be (trying to) take photos of everything!
    enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

you could always try to tunnel into north korea.... just use one of the many abandoned tunnels north koreans used to get OUT of the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

if your north korean and have tunnelling experience you would be great for building subway systems.