Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

‘Frugal’ John O’Donoghue

• 23-02-2012 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭

Just read this - ok it was in the Indo but they are quoting the Kerry Eye so perhaps its not complete BS.
    FORMER Ceann Comhairle John O’Donoghue, who dramatically lost his seat last year, wants to run for Fianna Fail in Kerry in the next General Election telling voters today: "You’ve tried the rest, bring back the best".

Mr O’Donoghue (55) was forced to resign as speaker of the house in 2009 over his extravagant expenses claims.

In an interview published in today’s edition of Kerry’s Eye newspaper, he said: "A lot of people would say 'What's wrong with that fellow? He's got a damn fine pension now. Wouldn't he walk off into the sunset?' That's not how it's going to be.

"I would venture to say that I am the most experienced politician in this county who is offering himself for election. Outside of Dick Spring, no other politician has as much experience as I, except I didn't have the privilege of leading the party."

He said he lived a frugal lifestyle: "Most people who know me in the constituency would be well aware of the fact that I actually live very simply.”

And he added: "I don't say it in a boastful way, but I doubt if there was a TD in the history of the constituency who achieved as much for it."

Mr O’Donoghue was forced to resign in October 2009 from the position of Ceann Comhairle after a controversy over his expenses, exposed by the Sunday Tribune newspaper, had dragged on for months.

During two years while he was Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism he claimed Ministerial expenses of €126,000, including attending major race meetings in Australia and France under the guise of political necessity and taking limousine rides between airport terminals.

In one six day period in 2006 he used the government jet at a cost of €32,450 attending the Cannes Film festival, returning to Kerry for the opening of the Fexco company, travelling to the Heineken Cup final which Munster won and then travelling back to Cannes before going to London for a Ryder Cup event.

Car hire services on four trips to London came to €21,289 and three of the four visits were connected with race meetings at Cheltenham and Ascot.

He also sent his state car to Kerry to pick him up at the airport after he had flown from Dublin.

Before a planned Labour party motion of no confidence in him was put to the Dail, Mr O’Donoghue resigned his position as Ceann Comhairle strongly defending his conduct and claiming that he had been scapegoated.

When he lost his seat last year to Independent Tom Fleming he said: “I hope that the irony will not be lost upon you that I stand here, on my evening of defeat, in a hall – this magnificent sports complex – which I helped to build.”

He receives an annual pension of €119,000.

He claimed in today’s newspaper interview, that two of the sitting TDs in South Kerry Independents Tom Fleming and Michael Healy Rae are completely powerless and have been reduced to the role of spectators.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/frugal-john-odonoghue-i-want-my-ff-dail-seat-back-3029517.html

"You’ve tried the rest, bring back the best". ?????

"Most people who know me in the constituency would be well aware of the fact that I actually live very simply.” This from a man embroiled in controversy over expenses and lavish spending!

It will be interesting to see how FF react to this - if they do select O'Donoghue it would, IMO, be a fairly damning indication that nothing has changed in FF.

Surely even FF wouldn't be that foolish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Eh, Lowrey was voted back in, so was Willie O'Dea, and others. No suprise at all if the cute hoor gets in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

walshb wrote: »
    Eh, Lowrey was voted back in, so was Willie O'Dea, and others. No suprise at all if the cute hoor gets in.

Oh, I wouldn't be surprised if he was elected if selected to run. What I am wondering is would Martin, who is trying to rebrand FF as a changed party, intervene if O'Donoghue was selected as the party's candidate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Oh, I wouldn't be surprised if he was elected if selected to run. What I am wondering is would Martin, who is trying to rebrand FF as a changed party, intervene if O'Donoghue was selected as the party's candidate?

And show some leadership, scruples and class? Don't hold your breath!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

There would be a high level of reluctance within FF to put forward O'Donoghue to stand again for election. There has to be a break from the past and it is time for new candidates to be allowed go forward for election.

At the end of the day it will be down to the local FF organization in Kerry to select a candidate at a future selection convention. To be honest O'Donoghue struggled to get selected at the last selection for GE2011, I don't think he has much of a chance this time around. I would imagine the local organization will look to Senator Mark Daly to represent them.

This is likely a case of John O'Donoghue attempting to secure a seat for his son - however at the end of the day if Mike Pat O'Donoghue wishes to go before the electorate he will have to do so on his own merit and not on that of his father.

There would be a high level of reluctance within FF to put forward O'Donoghue to stand again for election. There has to be a break from the past and it is time for new candidates to be allowed go forward for election.

At the end of the day it will be down to the local FF organization in Kerry to select a candidate at a future selection convention. To be honest O'Donoghue struggled to get selected at the last selection for GE2011, I don't think he has much of a chance this time around. I would imagine the local organization will look to Senator Mark Daly to represent them.

I agree.

So I wonder what is O'Donoghue's agenda in making those statements?

It's not as if a GE is just around the corner and, Vatican spat notwithstanding, the coalition seems to be still holding together.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I agree.

It's not as if a GE is just around the corner and, Vatican spat notwithstanding, the coalition seems to be still holding together.

John O'Donoghue is probably just trying to reaffirm that he remains on the scene, although to be frank it does not seem as if he has been involved with FF in any way at a national level since the election. It also might be a signal that his Mike Pat O'Donoghue is interested in running down the line.

An election is a long way off yet, but I would expect FF to hold early selection conventions to allow candidates to build a high profile in the run up to the next election. Your still talking two years from now though I would imagine, assuming the government runs its full course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Just like his auld jousting partner, Jackie Healy Rea, O'Donoghue, is a simple man, who "eats his dinner in the middle of the day". That, surely is qualification enough for a permanent seat in Dail Eireann:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I doubt if there was a TD in the history of the constituency who achieved as much for it
    The reason he shouldn't be considered. When will they learn that they are there to serve the good of the country - not their constituents.

That's more of an issue with our electoral system more than anything. So long as the electoral system rewards those who take a parochial approach to 'national' politics then there will be John O'Donoghue's throughout Ireland.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Given recent statutory instruments being passed lately by the Dail, it might be better for a parochial approach approach instead of automatically passing legislation required of it by the EU and/or multi-national recording companies.

Manach wrote: »
    Given recent statutory instruments being passed lately by the Dail, it might be better for a parochial approach approach instead of automatically passing legislation required of it by the EU and/or multi-national recording companies.

As worrying as the attempt to use statutory instruments to by pass any vote in the Dáil, I don't think it is an either/or situation. As for passing legislation required by the EU, I think that given the fact that most of our equality reforms were required by the EU we don't want to throw the baby out with the bath water when complaining about the EU either.

Parish politics, and nepotism in candidate selection, are separate issue to EU requirements and have been instrumental in creating a culture of cronyism and gombeen politics in Ireland and really do need to be dealt with.

I am reminded of the arrogance of O'Donoghue's comment, referred to in today'd Indo article, when he lost his seat in GE2011 and it's tone of how very dare you -'I hope that the irony will not be lost upon you that I stand here, on my evening of defeat, in a hall – this magnificent sports complex – which I helped to build.' It has always struck me as indicative of the whole mind-set behind parish politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0223/breaking41.html

During interviews in today’s Kerry’s Eye newspaper and on local radio, the former minister said there wasn’t a parish in the constituency that had not benefited from his time as a minister in two cabinets.

He said his successes as a TD remained standing and that opinions expressed in national newspapers on the expenses controversy which marred his last term in the Dáil were "yesterday’s fish and chip paper".

“I have delivered enormously for the constituency,” he said.

Or in other words, "Forget about how far I dug my snout into the trough, and remember the scraps I threw to you plebs."

(BTW, interesting to see how literally he takes the expression "parish pump politics.")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wingsnfire

I know in Killorglin John O'Donoghue became unpopular when he took the Ceann Comhairle post. A lot of people said they felt conned after voting for him and he also had local 'image problems' after he threatened to ruin a Garda. I've put a link as it was a big story for us but I don't know about outside Kerry.

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/index.php?aid=3160

He's also got another problem as in an upcoming international film called BURNED due at the Movies That Matter Amnesty International Film Festival it's going to be covered in the film that John O'Donoghue and Pat O'Donoghue would not help a relative because

“It was too politically sensitive and he would not upset the British”.

You couldn't make it up!

They are going to be covering O'Donoghue's 'comeback' attempts on Drivetime after the 5 o/c news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

The European Elections aren't all that far away if he is thinking in terms of making a comeback for those. And there might be enough eejits out there who will vote for him.

Godge wrote: »
    The European Elections aren't all that far away if he is thinking in terms of making a comeback for those. And there might be enough eejits out there who will vote for him.

I hadn't thought of that!

Oh Lord, hasn't our reputation in Europe suffered enough?

They are going to be covering O'Donoghue's 'comeback' attempts on Drivetime after the 5 o/c news.

Oh thanks, I'll try and catch it now.

wingsnfire wrote: »
    Oh thanks, I'll try and catch it now.

They are still discussing Pathways and JB will be on talking about that in a bit . O'Donoghue should be after that so you have a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

I agree.

On the other hand, Fianna Fáil are always thinking about the next election.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

That's more of an issue with our electoral system more than anything. So long as the electoral system rewards those who take a parochial approach to 'national' politics then there will be John O'Donoghue's throughout Ireland.

I appreciate the general sentiment but I don't think this is the case here. How is it flawed for a local politician to put himself forward and test the waters by doing 'awareness' interviews like this in a local paper? Would it be better he gave the interview to a national paper and discussed the Greek economy?

Nevertheless, O' Donoghue represents the worst of the culture you decribe: when he lost his seat in the Killarney Aqua Centre he made an obscene fuss that he was standing in a builing he secured the money for. The man doesn't understand that his 'gift' to Killarney does not mean people must vote for him. And they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

All we need now is Callely and Dick roche to throw their pompous arrogant inflated hats into the ring.

Don't you love when ego distorts some peoples perception of their unpopularity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Godge wrote: »

I dont think FF will stab Brian Crowley in the back for John O'Donoghue and there is no way in hell FF will win 2 seats there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

I dont think FF will stab Brian Crowley in the back for John O'Donoghue and there is no way in hell FF will win 2 seats there.

Crowley was asked to run in the general election to save some seats. He turned them down.

He was also asked to run for the Presidency but I don't know what happened.

At this stage Crowley owes FF more than they owe him. won't be able to argue against a strong running-mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

ok, first 55???? 55 yrs of age???

ok, it might mean the 55th CC.

I know Kerry doesn't operate like the rest of Ireland (likewise Donegal) but FFS.

Not a chance.

surely?

Surely???

Have you been asleep for 30 years ? FF are the embodiment of backstabbery .!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Without jumping to a conclusion that democracy doesn't work (as I have many years ago), how do we get around this issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ah JOD

I remember when it was Minister for Sports, Arts and Tourism and he was free and easy with the money for Kerry projects.

His niece was selected Rose of Tralee.

It's a sure thing I said ;)
    JOD has so much pull down in Kerry, I even think he secured the money to build the venue.
    Even if he does nothing the judges will feel obligated to the local minister.

Made a huge bet in the bookies and told everyone to get on

Bet lost
    He failed me, the one time I needed him to be corrupt he let me down :(

I've gone way offtopic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

raymon wrote: »
    Have you been asleep for 30 years ? FF are the embodiment of backstabbery .!

Of course I know they are. But FF also play smart politics, hence they kept on getting re-elected time after time. If FF were to run 2 candidates for the Munster MEP elections there is a chance that they could win zero seats due to splitting the vote. FF will do everything they can to keep what they have.

I agree with you there

My point is that FF have "back stabbed" Crowley already.

He believed he could win the presidency, but then they rang Gay Byrne ...... before covertly supporting a spoofing envelope collector.

Crowley had even gone on late night talk shows to declare his desire to run

Humiliating stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

raymon wrote: »
    I agree with you there

My point is that FF have "back stabbed" Crowley already.

He believed he could win the presidency, but then they rang Gay Byrne ...... before covertly supporting a spoofing envelope collector.

Crowley had even gone on late night talk shows to declare his desire to run

Humiliating stuff

Precisely what happened!! No love lost between Micheal & Crowley!

419968_2674451463369_1318650850_1965187_1028608741_n.jpg

Another Soldier of Destiny not quite ready to retire yet!!! This is what comes of "Care in the Community"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Not that I particularly care, but if this party wants rebirth. Surely they need to remove all vestiges and associations with their previous debauchery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Maisy7

hospitals "he built". arrogant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭lorcan122

I could not believe this article at all, when I saw it, this man was a crook plain and simple, and awful politician.

Without jumping to a conclusion that democracy doesn't work (as I have many years ago), how do we get around this issue?

Personally, I would like to see a list system introduced based on a national constituency alongside more localised constituencies.

What do you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Personally, I would like to see a list system introduced based on a national constituency alongside more localised constituencies.

What do you suggest?
    It would be a great start. I'd go further-Ireland is a small country and the practicalities mean that to govern a country in any sort of a pragmatic way, you need political parties. You need some sort of consensus. Given this, I'd introduce a national list for all seats in Dail Eireann. I guarantee you that Ireland as an entity would be better run.

No more Michael Lowrys, Jackie Healy Raes, and yes, dare I say it, no more Tony Gregorys (more well meaning than the other two and not a crook, but still completely parochial in his outlook). In short, never again would we have some independent holding the government to ransom over some local issue when a national issue was at stake.

If it's good enough for the Netherlands, it's good enough for me. We might even get a proper socialist/conservative type choice, that we've never had and that other countries take for granted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

So with this list system I'm not going to vote someone I know and now I'll be voting for party hack number twenty seven or maybe party hack number thirty three

And the only thing I know about them was they worked in the administration of their party for years and the leadership put their name forward

I'm going to vote for someone who I've never heard speak, never got to heckle or praise and never got to read about them in the local paper.

Now I'm voting for someone who never stood for election and is just someone who is connected with the party chairman and got put on the list

No thanks

mikemac1 wrote: »
    So with this list system I'm not going to vote someone I know and now I'll be voting for party hack number twenty seven or maybe party hack number thirty three

And the only thing I know about them was they worked in the administration of their party for years and the leadership put their name forward

I'm going to vote for someone who I've never heard speak, never got to heckle or praise and never got to read about them in the local paper.

Now I'm voting for someone who never stood for election and is just someone who is connected with the party chairman and got put on the list

No thanks

That is pretty much the normality within many political systems - you do not have to know a candidate personally in order to determine whether they are adequately suited to enter into political office. You can vote for councillors who you are likely to know personally - they will be the primary link between local and national politics. That is the whole purpose of councils in the first instance, to govern locally and let TD's focus on national politics - whilst also providing feedback on the decisions undertaken nationally by TD's. That is not occurring currently.

Also, when people vote for a particular political party in a General Election you will find that many people cast their ballot on the basis of the quality and expected performance of that parties front-bench. Most people channel their vote for a political party via a candidate who is likely to be a backbencher, whilst they are pretty much voting based on the perceived qualifications of frontbenchers they probably do not known in person.

That is pretty much the normality within many political systems - you do not have to know a candidate personally in order to determine whether they are adequately suited to enter into political office. You can vote for councillors who you are likely to know personally - they will be the primary link between local and national politics. That is the whole purpose of councils in the first instance, to govern locally and let TD's focus on national politics - whilst also providing feedback on the decisions undertaken nationally by TD's. That is not occurring currently.

Also, when people vote for a particular political party in a General Election you will find that many people cast their ballot on the basis of the quality and expected performance of that parties front-bench. Most people channel their vote for a political party via a candidate who is likely to be a backbencher, whilst they are pretty much voting based on the perceived qualifications of frontbenchers they probably do not known in person.

And should we adopt such a system, who says that those selected must hail from political parties?? Whatever you might think about the Senate, this time round the Taoiseach's Appointments were interesting and a step in the right direction. A register of those to serve could be compiled from all walks of life!!

Pandora2 wrote: »
    And should we adopt such a system, who says that those selected must hail from political parties?? Whatever you might think about the Senate, this time round the Taoiseach's Appointments were interesting and a step in the right direction. A register of those to serve could be compiled from all walks of life!!

Oh of course I agree it would not have to be limited to political parties. Although I do think that it would be easier for political parties to attract more candidates with expertise once said characters know they do not have to go through the parochial political system to get elected.

Yes, I would have a great deal of experience with this particular group, and they wouldn't be long manipulating the system however, it would be up to us to create a fair and representative system for all and with time, thought and pre-planning it is not impossible!!

With any powerful section of society.....It always comes down to the Golden Rule....They got the gold they make the rules....There would have to be a huge surge of people power before we could aspire to a National Assembly of all the people for all the people!!

Oooop's!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

I don't say it in a boastful way, but I doubt if there was a TD in the history of the constituency who achieved as much for it.

Does anyone here beg to differ on this? Are the people of Kerry happy that he delivered for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Exactly. I think I would be good at helping run the country in a small way. I would be interested in being a parliamentarian and helping draft legislation to make Ireland a better place.

I would have absolutely no interest in "being seen to get things done" which is what the current system requires of politicians if they want re-electing, so I would never put myself through the charade.

Councils and councilors (reformed, amalgamated, streamlined ones-not the current setup) are there or should be there to serve the needs of the locality. TDs should be primarily concerned with improving life overall, not in a particular part of the country.

Do people really think that we have good politicians in Dail Eireann because we can choose them directly? I would say ask people to look at the TDs we elect, then answer that question. Many/most are not fit for purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Pandora2 wrote: »
    419968_2674451463369_1318650850_1965187_1028608741_n.jpg

Another Soldier of Destiny not quite ready to retire yet!!! This is what comes of "Care in the Community"!!

Leave it to the Crosbies. FF to the core, the Echo and Examiner never miss a chance to big up FF and knock the present incumbents.

Employees of said publications also think that the internet is a cesspit, and that newspapers should get a chunk of Pat Rabbitte's proposed replacement for the TV license charge, and have gone on the record to say as much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Just like his auld jousting partner, Jackie Healy Rea, O'Donoghue, is a simple man, who "eats his dinner in the middle of the day". That, surely is qualification enough for a permanent seat in Dail Eireann:D

Strange how the phrase "simple man" seems to to be popular with these types ?

Who was the "simple man" who played cards every Monday night for a limit of a fiver ?

Who was the simple man down in Kerry with the frugal lifestyle...of course you have a frugal lifestyle now Bull .......because you are paying for it yourself !

No ****in free trips at the expense of John Q Taxpayer...jeeze does the brass neck of these people have no limits. ?

The "simple man" from Cavan Tyrone is using every trick in the book to prevent The State getting it's due monies.

Let the poor taxpayer pay for me and my families gambles...fucking fools that they are.

Me ......? I will just slum it it in the 10 bathroom mansion and fuck the begrudgers :eek:

What doesn't help in relation to politics is "it isn't what you know but who you know" and your face has to fit before ANY party will have anything to do with you or even talk to you. I've especially found that since moving from Kerry to Clare. That could be putting a lot of people off becoming involved with politics.