Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monad Contractors Canada Interviews in Ireland next week

• 22-02-2012 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35

Hi

Monad Contractors from Edmonton, Canada are coming over holding interviews here next week. I have mine in Dublin on Tuesday. Just wondering if anybody is in the same situation, or anybody had any dealings with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭memaul

Hi

Monad Contractors from Edmonton, Canada are coming over holding interviews here next week. I have mine in Dublin on Tuesday. Just wondering if anybody is in the same situation, or anybody had any dealings with them.

hi rockstar,

just wondering where you heard about this. have you any info if they are looking for graduate civil engineers by any chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bagenal

I have just read the RTE Teletext regarding jobs in Canada. "delegation from Western Canada ................ is visiting Ireland this week." "The projections are that around 335,000 job opportunities will arise in British Columbia and Alberta between now ans 2014, mostly in construction." Those are just a couple of quotes from the article.
    It appals and saddens me to see the forced emigration of Irish people to find work. Best of luck to anyone that decides to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Think this is a fantastic opportunity for a lot of Irish people. Up to 80,000 jobs available for Irish for a 2-3 year period in a land not impossible to return home for Christmas, and not massively different in terms of culture to Ireland.

Get over there, get some work, get some cash, keep your skills fine tuned, and hopefully by the end of that stint things will be a little better.

Best of luck to all who apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

Any links for info on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Don't forget RTE ran a story a short while ago saying there were thousands of jobs going in New Zealand due to post-earthquake re-construction.
    Turned out be both premature and highly exaggerated , can't help feeling these '' 350,000 '' jobs in Canada is another inaccurate story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

was just talking to a friend on fb who is after coming home from canada because he couldn't find a job! maybe he was in the wrong area or something..but yeah id say its massively exaggerated so that they get as many applicants as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bagenal

http://www.workingabroad.net/expo/dublin.html
    Theres a link for anyone that is considering emigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Barry Ham

Hi everyone, just wondering if anyone actually recieved a job offer as a result of the interviews last sat morn in the Silver Springs Cork and if so whats the next step?

Hi rockstar, I was offered a job with them as a carpenter and signed a contract. Not sure if they offered everyone the same and then cherry pick when they get back to base?? As they dont add their signature to same contract till then either.Let me know if you hear any more. PS. was it the Agrium mine in Vanscoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 alot2say

My h2b got offered the job too!! He signed contracts and he needs to go get medical and tests done as well as Garda clearance! They said they wanted him in 6 weeks or so!! The job he was offered is in vans coy so we are lookin for accommodation in Saskatoon!!

Hi alot 2 say.. Me also looking in Saskatoon as Vanscoy looks pretty small and not much happening. Saskatoon seems reasonable price wise for accommodation and Monad bus too and from daily... Best of luck to you both!!

I think it's an opportunity not to be missed!! Very hard to not to go with what they are offering!! Who knows we could b neighbours yet!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Joe30

hi, new to this boards, (a few min to be exact).

I had an interview in Silver Springs in Cork last sat, and got offered a job as a shuttering carpenter as well.

can I ask what web sites people are using to get housing/accommodation?

and where is the bus pick up points? be handy to get place near the bus stop.

Yes, what they are offering sounds pretty good, not sure if the wok is underground or above,but then being underground may be better in the winter months. Saskatoon seems to be a compact enough city much smaller than Cork?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 rockstar086

Was anybody offered a concrete finisher job?

http://saskatoon.kijiji.ca/ For all your housing, cars etc needs.

Morning RockStar, Went for a concrete finisherjob, but got offered the chippy's job

Hi Joe, Sounds like a good few have been offered jobs now. They told me they didnt need the the concrete finishers till June, I didnt get offered anything yet anyway. Money great though, hopefull they will come back to me. When are you going? Did they ask you for Garda Clearance and a medical too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Chris12

Hi Rockstar086. My husband was offered concrete finisher job :D

Hi Chris12
    You must be delighted, wish you all the best. Was he interviewed in Dublin or Cork?

Dublin rockstar086

RockStar, Thanks for web address. Did you go for concrete finisher’s job? Signed contract on the day, told them free from paddy’s day. Under impression wanted soon after but not given start date, Say’d they’d email copy off contract, no word back yet. Which I need to show the Guard for the Clearance Cert also need medical and drugs test.

Hi Joe, Did they tell you go ahead and get gardai clearance???? do they not need to apply for that??? They are not back in Canada until mid march so assume contracts will be sent out at that point. Are you going on your own or do you have family??
    Chris12

Chris how's it going? no they never say’d to, but in the info pack it say's to get. it's just a page to fill in in Garda station you need pass port and birth cert. Guard say's 10 days to get back cant see any harm in having in sorted. Yes am going out on own. Wood rely like to get in more info off them, especially where the bus picks up so have some idea where to look for place

We are the same, contracts signed, told h2b to start process of Garda clearance, medicals and drugs/alcohol tests too. Said a lady would email over the coming weeks requesting the info from us! So we got forms from guards last night and medical booked for next week!! Have looked into flights but it's hard to decide what route to take?? H2b is heading out on his own initially and me and dd will follow in August, I'm pregnant so need to hold off for a whole here to sort house and finances here!! But it's really exciting, I hope it works out for everyone offered the jobs!!

Hi Joe, good idea get it sorted in advance. My partner will head out whenever they give a start date, we will follow later. I think he picked it up at theinterview that the bus will pick up in saskatoon area, wherever in the area you live. Be an idea if a few of you are going at the same time to travel out together! Doesn't seem as daunting when there is someone else going! Accomodation costs seems reasonable! I suppose when ye get your contracts ye might get more info. From what is inthe information pack it looks like a really good opportunity.

Hi alot to say.... flights are a bit of a nightmare alright, check out skyscanner they have the best rates, going from dublin to saskatoon with stop in new york and minnieapolis from €569 return, but its a long journey...... We have dd also 6yrs, its daunting and exciting all at the same time:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 happymammy

Hi guys

Mu hubby wants to look into MONAD aswell, we didnt even get in the doors to the expo because we had no tickets, but would really appreciate any info you can give me regarding wages they are offering carpenters, like yous im staying here for know and hopefully going to head over when the hubby is settled and organised. It is very exciting and know that i see other mums on here i dont feel to scared about the whole thing. Ive two girls age 8 and 4.
    Excited, nervous etc about the whole thing. Its bittersweet.
    If anyone could give me some info regarding what they where offering in terms of wages or a package? also where in Canada? my hubby could contact whoever was at the expo. Absolutely raging we couldnt get in. But sure if it is meant to be it will be. Im based in Meath if anyone of you are going to be home alone when the hubbys head off. Oh god cant beleive i just said that! :( but i know its the right thing to do and he is only 33 and loves working. Anyway really glad there is others on here interested in heading to the same place. Support is so important.

K & P :)

Happymammy, check out. http://ireland.thinksask.ca/available-jobs
    alot off the canadian company's from the rds are listed

Really appreciate that thank you. Any idea of the money they where offering carpenters???

defo be idea to go as group or at least meet up out there, wood be lonely for first fue day’s in strange town until work starts, even to meet for coffee (no beer with pre employment test)

Joe30 wrote: »
    defo be idea to go as group or at least meet up out there, wood be lonely for first fue day’s in strange town until work starts, even to meet for coffee (no beer with pre employment test)
    The wives will be glad to hear that lol. Definitely, keep in touch here. Will let you know when we receive contracts.

What visa's are you guys getting? Are you going to get a working one and head over asap and then the wives follow? Im delighted there is other wives heading the same direction with kids.

Chris, only $300 to las vegas, sure we can make up for weekend or 2 off missed beer

Joe30 wrote: »
    Chris, only $300 to las vegas, sure we can make up for weekend or 2 off missed beer
    I won't tell husband :)

Happymammy the company applies for the work visa on your behalf

Hi all, has anyone who signed contract received any further info. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Pjpattyjo

Hi all, had interview in Cork, offered job but haven't heard anything further. Any idea on the timeline for work to start?

Havent herd any thing back yet me self, they were at the show in cork last tue. prob only back in office this week so hope fully hear some thing buy weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 madrarua2012

Did anyone go to the interview and get told to supply some more info but havent heard anything since? I had my interview in Cork, they requested more info, I emailed it to them and am still waiting to hear. I have phoned a few times but was told they are looking into it..anyone else in the same boat?
    or anyone know of any other companies in Saskatoon hiring carpenters or construction workers?

Thanks for the reply there Joe. Hoping the same thing,

Did anyone go to the interview and get told to supply some more info but havent heard anything since? I had my interview in Cork, they requested more info, I emailed it to them and am still waiting to hear. I have phoned a few times but was told they are looking into it..anyone else in the same boat?
    or anyone know of any other companies in Saskatoon hiring carpenters or construction workers?

Hi Mandraua
    I am still waiting for them to get back to me too, they are not back in office till Thur and then I imagine they will be snowed under. There was another company at the expo they were offering silly money $15 p/h, they will get nobody working for that. A lot of the reps at the expo were saying just to head out to Saskatoon and most companies will take you on for a trial and then take it from there. The company offering $15 p/h was saying, if the company take on work in Canada and cant complete it they will get sued. They cant get enough workers over there, was saying you only have to pick up the phone over there and your hired. Lucky them with all the jobs while we have nothing. Let me know when you hear back, I will do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 barne

hi all i got offered job as well and signed contract for cippy as well as any 1 heard any more back from them yet would defo b interested in going as a group would make easier out there to start with who else is going as a chippy

Ive just emailed them today in relation to the medicals and getting a form to fill in what they are looking for. But they came back to me and told me they are trying to sort all the paperwork out from Ireland and will be in touch soon as to what the next step is.

We sent off the garda clearance forms on Monday so Ill call the garda clearance section on Monday and follow up on it. They said max it could take is 4-5 weeks, but im going to try and get a push on it so as H2B can be one of the first batch out on site.

Hay Barne, am going as a chippy, defo be grate to know fue people that are going over.

Alot2Say,4-5 weeks, the station hear say'd 10day's, but wont let me apply until can show them the visa application or the job contract

Hi all. My partner got his contract by email. They will send another email with details for applying for visa

If you want to see what it's all about I found a video at www.agriumwholesale.com

Chris12 wrote: »
    Hi all. My partner got his contract by email. They will send another email with details for applying for visa

Glad to hear something is moving were you in Cork?

Pjpattyjo wrote: »
    Chris12 wrote: »

Glad to hear something is moving were you in Cork?
    Hi pjpattyjo. Partners interview was in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 kerryaviva

near nutana its a suburb in saskatoon and also betts ave its the last pick up point at 6.15 the first one is at 5.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭tonysea

Ive also just recieved my contract by email, ill be working as a pipefitter on the job. Just wondering what is the plan for most people? will you book a hotel for the first week maybe? then look for more perm accom when over there? And when are you planning to go? It would be great to have a contact over there when you arrive.