Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trocaire Boxes

• 22-02-2012 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭

Do they still give out trocaire boxes?
    I havent seen one in years.When I was a youngster I used raid the oul trocaire box at home when I was stuck for fags or cans.Easter would come and the box would have a few coppers rattling around the bottom of the box.
    God bless those third world countries ,they looked after my teenage years.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

they are called troika boxes now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

now they have trocaire boxes in africa with pictures of celtic tiger kids on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

You're supposed to just feed coppers to black babies on the streets instead these days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Heh :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

There is no need for them these days as it seems 'Irish Aid' gets hundreds of millions of our taxes to give so generously away to the starving millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I got a nama box the other day ...

You put in a euro and then a banker comes around and rapes you.

It's not very successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 sadbob

this thread made me smile - especially this post. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup my nephew brought his out to me today and informed me that i've to stick a euro for every time i say a bad word during lent. Guess i wont be calling over there for 40 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Looks great.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Ive seen one of the troika boxes,its got a picture of Noonan on it with a slit in his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Kiera wrote: »
    Yup my nephew brought his out to me today and informed me that i've to stick a euro for every time i say a bad word during lent. Guess i wont be calling over there for 40 days.

Tell him to **** off. A euro well spent.

Tell him to feck off. Well worth a Euro. :)

stimpson wrote: »
    Tell him to **** off. A euro well spent.
    Duiske wrote: »

Daddy ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ive seen one of the troika boxes,its got a picture of Noonan on it with a slit in his head.

There the old USSR Gorbachev boxes.

Reduce. Reuse. Recycle.

Yep, ours arrived home this evening and the first thing the other fella said was "jaysus, do they still have trocaire boxes, is there a picture of Ireland on the front".

I'm sure I have some punts somewhere I can stick in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Duiske wrote: »

I was playing CoD with him and someones user name was F**K.... and stupid me says out loud "oh look at fúck playing along with us" "Euro in the Trocaire box, Kiera"

Dammit :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

efb wrote: »

Reduce. Reuse. Recycle.
    They airbrushed out the hammer and sickle birthmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

efb wrote: »

Reduce. Reuse. Recycle.

Perestroika boxes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Alice1

Yes, the Trócaire box came home from school today. 'Fraid they won't be getting much from me this year - I just Googled salary of Justin Kilcullen, CEO of Trócaire.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You better sell the gaff....... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Alice1 wrote: »
    Yes, the Trócaire box came home from school today. 'Fraid they won't be getting much from me this year - I just Googled salary of Justin Kilcullen, CEO of Trócaire.....

To be fair he took a 9% pay cut, he has to get by on only €133,605 a year now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Years ago my sister was told by the teacher to bring in money the next day for the 'black babies'. So my sister, who was either four or five at the time, went home and announced that she needed some money for "a black baby", so my mother gave her 50p. The next day, the teacher collected the money and that was it. My sister was very upset when she came home, and after much crying and sobbing it turned out she thought that for her 50p she would get a 'black baby' to keep for herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Jake187

My dad, who is in his 60s, has often said that in the 1950s when your average person didnt have a pot to p*ss in, were being tapped to help the 'poor black babies of africa'

Said it before, i'll say it again, 'Charities' are a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Great stories all. :)

There was war in our house one year when I was about 10. About 2 weeks into Lent, the Trocaire box was bulging with so many coins it looked like it was about to burst. This was not normal. It normally took our family the full 40 days of Lent to fill it up. The mammy was beside herself with with glee at the prospect of a tenner (or better) going back to my school on collection day, as opposed to the usual fiver.

The box was emptied out to save it from tearing apart. Lo and behold, the box was found to be bulging with mere coppers.... ha'pennies, pennies, two pence pieces & the odd 5p piece. All of the 50p, 20p, 10p coins and the odd 1 pound note that we had all put into it were gone. :mad:

My mother hit the roof. She put my brother and sister and I thru the Spanish Inquisition. When no one admitted their guilt, we were all sent to bed with no tea. Even worse, our pocket money for next two weeks was forfeit to the Trocaire box to make up for our supposed thievery. Talk about injustice ! :(

Twenty years later and my brother and sister and I still talk about it. No has ever admitted their guilt or been busted on their guilt. I blame the baby sitter from next door myself ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Jake187 wrote: »
    My dad, who is in his 60s, has often said that in the 1950s when your average person didnt have a pot to p*ss in, were being tapped to help the 'poor black babies of africa'
    As bad as things were in Ireland in the 1950s, its people did enjoy freedom from extreme levels of poverty, war, disease and famine resembling what was rife in Africa at that time. Any such comparison is quite preposterous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

lastlaugh wrote: »
    There is no need for them these days as it seems 'Irish Aid' gets hundreds of millions of our taxes to give so generously away to the starving millions.

Yes, how awful of them for wanting to feed starving people. For shame!

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Yes, how awful of them for wanting to feed starving people. For shame!

Ah, aren't they great.

All they want to do is feed starving people (and line their own pockets in a lot of cases)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Said it before, i'll say it again, 'Charities' are a business.

We just didn't realise we were sending them an airfare.;):rolleyes:

A lot of charities do good work. Let's not forget that. Especially in Ireland itself. However, I refuse to contribute to those who pay their CEOs exorbitant sums of money. One charity in Ireland pays three employees a total of €400k a year (EIGHT GRAND a week) between three of them. That takes some fundraising - just to pay wages.

later12 wrote: »
    As bad as things were in Ireland in the 1950s, its people did enjoy freedom from extreme levels of poverty, war, disease and famine resembling what was rife in Africa at that time. Any such comparison is quite preposterous.

Not really. It was practically the same. Without the bombs and bullets. We are very quick to forget how poor people were in Ireland then. And there was no foreign support for them.

To be fair he took a 9% pay cut, he has to get by on only €133,605 a year now :rolleyes:

FFS.:mad: Wouldn't even a half of that be a reasonable salary for a CEO of a charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

syklops wrote: »
    Years ago my sister was told by the teacher to bring in money the next day for the 'black babies'. So my sister, who was either four or five at the time, went home and announced that she needed some money for "a black baby", so my mother gave her 50p. The next day, the teacher collected the money and that was it. My sister was very upset when she came home, and after much crying and sobbing it turned out she thought that for her 50p she would get a 'black baby' to keep for herself.

Did she grow up to become Angelina Jolie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I was playing CoD with him and someones user name was F**K.... and stupid me says out loud "oh look at fúck playing along with us" "Euro in the Trocaire box, Kiera"

Dammit :mad::mad::mad:

A euro? tell him to go f**k himself and then put 10 cents in,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Great stories all. :)

There was war in our house one year when I was about 10. About 2 weeks into Lent, the Trocaire box was bulging with so many coins it looked like it was about to burst. This was not normal. It normally took our family the full 40 days of Lent to fill it up. The mammy was beside herself with with glee at the prospect of a tenner (or better) going back to my school on collection day, as opposed to the usual fiver.

The box was emptied out to save it from tearing apart. Lo and behold, the box was found to be bulging with mere coppers.... ha'pennies, pennies, two pence pieces & the odd 5p piece. All of the 50p, 20p, 10p coins and the odd 1 pound note that we had all put into it were gone. :mad:

My mother hit the roof. She put my brother and sister and I thru the Spanish Inquisition. When no one admitted their guilt, we were all sent to bed with no tea. Even worse, our pocket money for next two weeks was forfeit to the Trocaire box to make up for our supposed thievery. Talk about injustice ! :(

Twenty years later and my brother and sister and I still talk about it. No has ever admitted their guilt or been busted on their guilt. I blame the baby sitter from next door myself ! :D

f**k that sh*t, my ould man took the money outta the trocaire box to go down the pub...the night before it was due to go back. I grassed him up the next day to the teacher and told him it was only a lend.

Freddie59 wrote: »
    FFS.:mad: Wouldn't even a half of that be a reasonable salary for a CEO of a charity?

Ah come on now, there's a lot of responsibility involved in dishing out other people's money!

Oh yeah!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

In fairness, he is responsible for managing a very significant budget, funded by a variety of donors, in 20+ countries around the world. Do you think running a charity of that size is somehow less responsibility than running a successful business? I don’t think his salary is extortionate given the level of responsibility he has. If no one wants to donate to them fair enough, but I think criticising his salary without giving any weight to the level of responsibility he has is pretty unreasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

smash wrote: »
    You're supposed to just feed coppers to black Roma babies on the streets instead these days

fixed that for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Ah, aren't they great.

All they want to do is feed starving people (and line their own pockets in a lot of cases)

Source?

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Source?

I think Tax Revenue is the source? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i'm racist so i just put broken glass in my trocaire box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

I think Tax Revenue is the source? ;)

You think or you know? Perhaps you should link to a source where it shows that Trocaire is lining the pockets of its staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My Brothers and I went to different schools and we all used to lie and say we already had one in the house. Those things are a pain in the hole to carry back to school after Lent.

Apparently the local sweet shop saw a huge surge in sales every year on the day they were due back at school :pac:

Not really. It was practically the same. Without the bombs and bullets. We are very quick to forget how poor people were in Ireland then. And there was no foreign support for them.

Without the bombs and bullets... and famine... and drought... and lack of any basic infrastructure, or educational infrastructure.

Seriously. Whatever about 1850, which is probably when Ireland was last remotely comparable to an African nation, Ireland had the same GDP/capita as Italy in 1950 (which placed it approximately within the top 30 in the world at that time). Not really comparable to Ethiopia then, or anywhere in sub Saharan Africa.

Comparing 1950's Ireland to a typical sub saharan economy is quite incredible.

You failed to see the point.
    People had nothing in Ireland. But yet charities were still looking for people to give.

... give what.

People had nothing in Ireland. But yet charities were still looking for people to give.

... give what.
    No, I'm not arguing that Irish people were wealthy as some objective fact, I'm arguing that they were wealthy relative to African standards. You are claiming that Ireland was essentially comparable with Africa in the 1950's; that is blatantly untrue.

In terms of GDP per capita, Ireland was way ahead of the rest of the world in 1950. It was fairly poor by European standards, yet richer than Spain, Greece, and much of Central & Eastern Europe. It was certainly far richer than Africa both in terms of distributed income levels and life expectancy (by a long shot). Not a single country in sub Saharan Africa enjoyed life expectancies of an Irish standard - many were half, some even less than half.

While Ireland was not a rich country by its current standards in the 1950s, my issue here is with your frankly daft suggestion that a country whose wealth was comparable to Italy would also be comparable in any sane way to famine, drought, war and disease-ridden Africa. That is total rubbish.

No, I'm not arguing that Irish people were wealthy as some objective fact, I'm arguing that they were wealthy relative to African standards. You are claiming that Ireland was essentially comparable with Africa in the 1950's; that is blatantly untrue.

No. you are wrong.
    You have just made a very poor attempt at redeeming yourself/Masking your mistake. Dont believe me? re-read my original post here:
    My dad, who is in his 60s, has often said that in the 1950s when your average person didnt have a pot to p*ss in, were being tapped to help the 'poor black babies of africa' ... I said it before, i'll say it again, 'Charities' are a business.

You took me up wrong so I responded with:
    People had nothing in Ireland. But yet charities were still looking for people to give. ... give what.

There in black and white. But yet you had to come back with:
    While Ireland was not a rich country by its current standards in the 1950s, my issue here is with your frankly daft suggestion that a country whose wealth was comparable to Italy would also be comparable in any sane way to famine, drought, war and disease-ridden Africa. That is total rubbish.

Do you understand my posts?
    I dont mean to be rude but its like you are brushing through my posts trying to spot a flaw. something you can argue with.

do ....you....understand....that...no... one...had...anything.....to....give?????....that...people....could....barely....feed...themselves....let....alone...give....to...charity....to...another....country? .... Do you understand later12?

No. you are wrong.
    You have just made a very poor attempt at redeeming yourself/Masking your mistake. Dont believe me? re-read my original post here:

You took me up wrong so I responded with:

There in black and white. But yet you had to come back with:

Do you understand my posts?
    I dont mean to be rude but its like you are brushing through my posts trying to spot a flaw. something you can argue with.

do ....you....understand....that...no... one...had...anything.....to....give?????....that...people....could....barely....feed...themselves....let....alone...give....to...charity....to...another....country? .... Do you understand later12?

The point you seem to be making is that Ireland did have a pot to piss in, to use the term which you choose to employ. You're drawing some comparison between Ireland and Africa, as though both were equally badly off. They were not. Ireland was poor by European standards in 1950, on a par with Italy. Yet it was rich by most African standards, and comfortable by all African standards in 1950.

How much Ireland could reasonably have donated is questionable: yet I believe it did donate generously to Africa in the 1950s and I think that somewhat disproves your point that it had nothing to give.

The point you seem to be making is that Ireland did have a pot to piss in, to use the term which you choose to employ. You're drawing some comparison between Ireland and Africa, as though both were equally badly off. They were not. Ireland was poor by European standards in 1950, on a par with Italy. Yet it was rich by most African standards, and comfortable by all African standards in 1950.

How much Ireland could reasonably have donated is questionable: yet I believe it did donate generously to Africa in the 1950s and I think that somewhat disproves your point that it had nothing to give.

are you dense? :confused:
    do you not understand that the average person in the 50s was struggling to provide for ones own family?

can you not grasp that?
    so what were they meant to give?
    the shirts off the back?
    the money for food for the next week?
    Mate, it wasnt the late 90s with disposable income to burn.

are you seriously clutching at straws trying to win an argument or something? :confused:

are you dense? :confused:
    do you not understand that the average person in the 50s was struggling to provide for ones own family?

can you not grasp that?
    so what were they meant to give?
    the shirts off the back?
    the money for food for the next week?
    Mate, it wasnt the late 90s with disposable income to burn.

are you seriously clutching at straws trying to win an argument or something? :confused:
    No. I'm using statistics to demonstrate Ireland's position relative to the African states, and the fact that Ireland evidently did give generously to Africa in the 50's; both of which render your question "give what?" rather redundant.

Clearly Ireland did donate. Therefore it had resources to donate.

No. I'm using statistics to demonstrate Ireland's position relative to the African states, and the fact that Ireland evidently did give generously to Africa in the 50's; both of which render your question "give what?" rather redundant.

Man, you are living in your own head.
    My posts were all about what were people meant to give in the 50s. As they had nothing themselves. Thats all my point was. As I said, re-read my posts.

wait ...
    I am dealing with a person who wants to be right. You took me up wrong and doing your best to mask the fact you took me up wrong :)

Get a life Later12 :) Its not healthy to prove yourself right to some joe blow you dont know on the net.