If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What other Crazy calls / requests member of AGS have been asked to do?

• 22-02-2012 12:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

Just for a bit of a laugh what other strange jobs / services have been requested from day to day by members of the public...

i know that whether it's a medical emergency or a house on fire we seem to be the first called and on arrival expected to deal with but :

I attended a domestic in which the "Domestic" was a child would not put on his/her school uniform and go to school. said parent rang in the "domestic" to scare the child to put on their uniform. the said child was 16!

I also attended what was supposed to be a childs hand stuck in the kitchen sink and on arrival the child (4 years old) decided that mammy wedding and engagement ring would be safer flushed down the toliet. i informed "mammy" that the ring were most likely in her septic tank, where she said "i know that gaurd but can you check it for me please".... i dont think anyone need to know the answer to that question was.

finally a man rang in that his car would nt start outside his house and requested gardai....the person taking the call informed said member of the public that it wasnt a garda matter. an hour later he rang in a traffic accident outside the house. on arrival there was no accident and Mr. Joe Bloggs said we had to help get his car started because he was convicted in court for public order and fined €500, and as a result cancelled his AA membership for the year and felt we were the reason the AA couldnt come out and thus rang us!

i could go on, but would like to hear other members or am i the only one who gets these type of calls....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

A frequent call we got in limerick city was from people locked out of their cars(with heys in the ignition usually). We had the tools and skills for the job, but you'd always get some arsehole who decided it was funny to say "The lads from southill would have this open in no time".
    Eventually we'd get back into our patrol car and say "call them instead so. Goodbye."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Com1186 wrote: »
    finally a man rang in that his car would nt start outside his house and requested gardai....the person taking the call informed said member of the public that it wasnt a garda matter. an hour later he rang in a traffic accident outside the house. on arrival there was no accident and Mr. Joe Bloggs said we had to help get his car started because he was convicted in court for public order and fined €500, and as a result cancelled his AA membership for the year and felt we were the reason the AA couldnt come out and thus rang us!

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

A frequent call we got in limerick city was from people locked out of their cars(with heys in the ignition usually). We had the tools and skills for the job, but you'd always get some arsehole who decided it was funny to say "The lads from southill would have this open in no time".
    Eventually we'd get back into our patrol car and say "call them instead so. Goodbye."

I thought that Gardai had ended the practice of helping folks break into their cars over fears of people later alleging their car was damaged ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭d3exile

not a call i've been dispatched to but a regular call we get

-999 call-

it's ******, will ya ring caredoc for me?

have you a medical emergency? ring for an ambulance

no i need medication i need me doctor

ok well ring them yourself there, 999 is for emergencies only

i have no credit

sorry 999 is an emergency line please ask for an ambulance, goodbye

-5mins later-

it's ******, will ya ring caredoc for me?......

repeat about 8 hundred times of a night shift and you have what our comms room gets :D

some lads give in and ring caredoc for her but guarantee she'll ring every night then knowing she'll eventually get a response...

Delancey wrote: »
    I thought that Gardai had ended the practice of helping folks break into their cars over fears of people later alleging their car was damaged ?

Probably, this would have happened in 1996.

d3exile wrote: »

-999 call-

i have no credit

-5mins later-

repeat about 8 hundred times of a night shift and you have what our comms room gets :D

some lads give in and ring caredoc for her but guarantee she'll ring every night then knowing she'll eventually get a response...

I'm fairly sure I know who that caller is and the problem there is that there is no consistency in how she is handled - if after a few nights of nobody helping her she would get the message.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

As a customer I've made a number of calls asking for the rules of the road to be enforced. Things like parking on double-yellows, parking on footpaths, parking (and damaging) on green areas, parking on corners.

Only now that I realise they're crazy things seeing as the guards totally ignore these offences despite them being part of the rules of the road.

More fool me - a law abiding customer expecting that the law be upheld.

Don't bother with the usual excuses of being busy with a murderer or restraining a junkie. These don't wash when you see the Traffic Corpse drive up and down the road ignoring the illegally parked cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Ah yes, the Traffic Corpse, the mythical being that supposedly enforces Traffic Law!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

A member of the new south Wales traffic corp was shot and killed today. There but for the grace. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

"I have diarrhea and my washing machine is broke. The plumber can't come til Monday"

"I'm not really sure how I can help you."

"Can you not get him to come over today? We have a baby in the house too and everything has sh1t on it."

"Have you tried an emergency plumber?"

"Can't you do that?"

"My cat won't talk to me and now he's gone off."

"When did you last see him?"

"(aggressively) Listen, I love my cat and you can't take him. I know what your kind are like" hangs up phone

"Can i report something anonymously?"

"Of course"

"Someone is threatening me. If i give you their number can you tell me who it is?"

"I'm afraid it doesn't work like that. You would have to make a statement of complaint and it would be investigated."

"I just want to know who it is so i can avoid them. I already know who it is but I want to know for certain so i can avoid them."

"We can't give out that kind of information but if you think one of your friends would do this then you should probably avoid them anyway."

"I don't hang out with him anymore."

"So what exactly do you hope to achieve by learning if it's his number if you don't want him prosecuted?"

"Ah you're useless" hangs up phone

"Suck my cock"

"You seem to have rung the wrong number"

"Suck my cock Garda"

"You do know that private numbers don't stay private on the emergency line? And you've actually rung from you house phone so I can tell you your name and address too"

hangs up phone

Those are the ones that spring to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭RangeR

parsi wrote: »
    As a customer I've made a number of calls
    More fool me - a law abiding customer ...

Customer?

I believe BTP ( British Transport Police ) had to take emergency phones out of rail stations as people were using them to ring up and enquire about train times !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

RangeR wrote: »
    Customer?

Ignore him.. :rolleyes:

Customer?

All patrol car's accept Laser and visa now for accepting payment for services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

These don't wash when you see the Traffic Corpse drive up and down the road ignoring the illegally parked cars.

Well in fairness I would imagine it takes all of your concentration just to drive a car when your dead

As a customer I've made a number of calls
    More fool me - a law abiding customer ...

Customer?

Yep. For a few years now we've all been customers of state agencies. Empowerment of the citizen and all that lark.

Eru wrote: »
    These don't wash when you see the Traffic Corpse drive up and down the road ignoring the illegally parked cars.

Well in fairness I would imagine it takes all of your concentration just to drive a car when your dead

Yet another victim of autocorrect. I blame Steve Jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭pah

As a customer I've made a number of calls asking for the rules of the road to be enforced. Things like parking on double-yellows, parking on footpaths, parking (and damaging) on green areas, parking on corners.

Only now that I realise they're crazy things seeing as the guards totally ignore these offences despite them being part of the rules of the road.

More fool me - a law abiding customer expecting that the law be upheld.

Don't bother with the usual excuses of being busy with a murderer or restraining a junkie. These don't wash when you see the Traffic Corpse drive up and down the road ignoring the illegally parked cars.

I often respond to these types of calls and act appropriately for the situation. I also take these calls and dispatch units. No problem.

I have however received these calls from "customers" on the 999 and that's something. I don't deal with. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

"Suck my cock"

"You seem to have rung the wrong number"

"Suck my cock Garda"

"You do know that private numbers don't stay private on the emergency line? And you've actually rung from you house phone so I can tell you your name and address too"

hangs up phone
    Pwnd! Well done. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

d3exile wrote: »

-999 call-

i have no credit

-5mins later-

There should be a button on whatever system you use that you can press that charges them premium rate for the call when you've figured out that it's not an emergency. That would soon stop them calling.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

This type of time-wasting nonsense which is just absolutely hilarious of course:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭CaseyRyback

Com1186 wrote: »
    what other strange jobs / services have been requested from day to day by members of the public....

I went to this one job where the complainant kept insisting he was my customer. Damnedest thing I ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Customer?

All patrol car's accept Laser and visa now for accepting payment for services.

MasterCard is sponsor the new fleet of Garda cars

Not 10 minutes ago...

Garda... I put €20 credit in my phone last Thursday and I tried to make a call now. Some aul bitch came on the phone and told me I had no credit left over the liar!! Can you call me a cab?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

pah wrote: »
    Not 10 minutes ago...

Garda... I put €20 credit in my phone last Thursday and I tried to make a call now. Some aul bitch came on the phone and told me I had no credit left over the liar!! Can you call me a cab?

I hope you told him to foxtrot oscar. :)

Thankfully my inate professionalism prevents me from speaking my mind to keep me in a job, for another while at least :D

I used to work in the 999/112 section of Eircom . Incredible just how many calls to AGS were total bollox.
    Most common one would go something like this :

Caller : Hello Guard ?
    Garda : Go ahead caller , what's your emergency ?
    Caller : Them f**king bolloxes on the door of Gougers nightclub won't let me in , I need the Guards.
    Garda : What for ?
    Caller : To make them c**ts let me in

What followed was the inevitable explanation that management actually do have the right to refuse admission and that really AGS cannot get involved , caller then hangs up with the usual comment '' all Guards and bouncers are bolloxes '' :rolleyes:

My favourite was the taxi driver who called over a disputed fare with his passenger , the amount in dispute was 10 cent ! Garda told the taxi man that there was no way he was getting a patrol car over 10 cent.

A huge number of calls from people without phone credit and wanting AGS to make '' urgent '' calls on their behalf .

For every 1 bullsh1t call that the Fire or Ambulance service got AGS got 100.

^^

at least eircom used to vet the calls to a certain extent - EsatBT don't. Painful at times

pah wrote: »
    ^^

at least eircom used to vet the calls to a certain extent - EsatBT don't. Painful at times

Yeah , we did operate an ' unofficial ' type of screening - rationale was that the bullsh1t calls were tying up Garda lines and delaying our connecting real emergency calls.
    I'm not the least surprised that EsatBT are not doing screening but given they only pay around 10 quid an hour perhaps that's inevitable ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I would also be interested to hear from what stupid/crazy calls other ES members get.
    one I have heard is an ambulance responding to someone complaining of a tooth ache. Probably said something different over the phone to 999. Imagine how annoying something like that must be to arrive to.