Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boot MGR Error

• 21-02-2012 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭

I tried to restore my toshiba satellite windows 7 laptop back to factory settings but when I turn on the laptop I keep getting boot mgr error no windows 7 installation disc came with the laptop I need help and fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Well you'll need to get one. And fast.

You'll need to do a startup repair from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

chin_grin wrote: »
    Well you'll need to get one. And fast.

You'll need to do a startup repair from that.

Where would I get one from? Are they dear?

Would pc world have any ?

James__10 wrote: »
    Where would I get one from? Are they dear?

It doesn't look like a pirated copy as these would need to be activated, but you could try downloading the iso from this site (32 or 64 bit in the links at the end).

Again, my understanding is that these are un-activated copies so you'd need a license (seeing that you have one OP you're fine).

http://www.mydigitallife.info/download-windows-7-iso-official-32-bit-and-64-bit-direct-download-links/

So just download the iso, burn and boot from it.

Yeah so I just download that to a disc on another computer then stick it in to the "broken" computer and it'll be grand? That's great I'll try that tomorrow evening

It's not really a case of "sticking it in" to the banjaxed pc. You'll need to boot from the disk that you've burned then when it loads up select Startup Repair. Should work fine.

How do I boot from the disc? Just put the burned disc into the laptop and let it load up then follow the instructions?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

How do I boot from the disc? Just put the burned disc into the laptop and let it load up then follow the instructions?

You should enter the "Boot Menu" of the laptop (Usually [F12] while it POSTs) or set boot priority in bios to the cd/dvd rom drive first,

Nick

yoyo wrote: »
    You should enter the "Boot Menu" of the laptop (Usually [F12] while it POSTs) or set boot priority in bios to the cd/dvd rom drive first,

Nick

I have no disc ATM but as soon as I get my other laptop tomorrow evening I'll burn the disc using my other laptop.

What's the best thing to use to burn the disc ?

I use ImgBurn, its excellent and free. It will handle writing the boot sectors to the DVD no issues

Nick

Lads how do I find out what bit windows i'm using? The laptop wont even turn on. I know its Windows 7 anyway its a Toshiba laptop if that's any use

You're safe with the 64 bit iso. I had this exact problem today, got the 64 bit, burned it to a dvd. Booted and selected startup repair. Worked like a charm.

Fantastic :)

I was getting a bit worried that I broke the laptop ( its not mine btw ) Anyway how long did it take for you to download the iso? Looks like it'll take me around 6 hours?:(

Fantastic :)

I was getting a bit worried that I broke the laptop ( its not mine btw ) Anyway how long did it take for you to download the iso? Looks like it'll take me around 6 hours?:(

They are large files (3GB+) what connection do you have?

Am with Perlico but i'm away to football i'll leave the laptop on and hopefully it'll be downloaded by the time I get back:)

Will the 3gb file fit onto a DVD disc?

Yep, a DVD-5 (Single Layer) holds 4.7gb

Nick

Yep. A dvd will contain 4.7GB (double that if it's dual layer).

Burn the iso with imgburn.

http://www.imgburn.com/

Put it in to the machine and passed the initial bios screen if it doesn't say "press any key to boot from cd" you may need to adjust boot settings.

Keep on getting this error
    windows has encountered a problem communicating with a device connected to your computer, no devices connected

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Keep on getting this error
    windows has encountered a problem communicating with a device connected to your computer, no devices connected

Sounds like your laptop isn't booting from the CD, it's trying to boot from your Windows installation.

If you've got a working Windows 7 DVD, press and hold C as soon as you power on the laptop, and don't release it until you see/hear your DVD drive spinning up. That should boot from the DVD - which will then get you a "press any key to boot from the DVD" prompt as the Windows installation process on the disc checks whether it should start. Press any key to get to the Windows 7 installer window and then follow the instructions here to repair Windows.

Fysh wrote: »
    Sounds like your laptop isn't booting from the CD, it's trying to boot from your Windows installation.

If you've got a working Windows 7 DVD, press and hold C as soon as you power on the laptop, and don't release it until you see/hear your DVD drive spinning up. That should boot from the DVD - which will then get you a "press any key to boot from the DVD" prompt as the Windows installation process on the disc checks whether it should start. Press any key to get to the Windows 7 installer window and then follow the instructions here to repair Windows.

Got it sorted the disc I was using was dodgey.

Its asking me now where do you want to install windows?
    1. OEM (Reserved)
    2.System
    3.Primary.

Got it sorted the disc I was using was dodgey.

Its asking me now where do you want to install windows?
    1. OEM (Reserved)
    2.System
    3.Primary.

You need to click "Repair My computer", not "Install now". Should be written bottom left of the first splash screen. If you want to start fresh (delete all files), just delete all 3 partitions and install on the "unallocated space"

Nick

You need to click "Repair My computer", not "Install now". Should be written bottom left of the first splash screen. If you want to start fresh (delete all files), just delete all 3 partitions and install on the "unallocated space"

Nick

I clicked install and it installed a version of windows 7 but the screen is all zoomed in and it wont allow me to connect to the internet. I'm after booting up the system again this time i'll click repair my computer.

Cool, the reason the screen looks zoomed and net isn't working is you need drivers, download the following for the machine:
    * Chipset
    *Audio
    * Video
    * LAN
    * Wifi
    * Bluetooth/etc if included in laptop
    * Webcam

You should be good to go then. Look at the toshiba site for drivers, usually under "support and downloads"

Nick

Cool, the reason the screen looks zoomed and net isn't working is you need drivers, download the following for the machine:
    * Chipset
    *Audio
    * Video
    * LAN
    * Wifi
    * Bluetooth/etc if included in laptop
    * Webcam

You should be good to go then. Look at the toshiba site for drivers, usually under "support and downloads"

Nick

Thats great cheers. Can I download them on another laptop and put them onto a USB to use on the other laptop?

Yep, thats the way to go. Install in the order I've given btw, no need to restart after each driver, I usually just install em all then restart

Nick

Audio would be the sound driver? yeah? what would video be under?

Audio is sound card, video could be under graphics adaptor, graphics card, display etc.

Nick

Audio is sound card, video could be under graphics adaptor, graphics card, display etc.

Nick

Found it, it was listed under Display Driver. I downloaded lan for wifi? would that be right?

Nick, I've downloaded all the driver bar the wifi driver I cant find the driver anyway. Any chance you could put up a link to the driver?

Tell me the laptop model number, i.e: Toshiba Satellite xxx

Nick

Tell me the laptop model number, i.e: Toshiba Satellite xxx

Nick

Toshiba Satellite C660-21Z

The Wifi driver is one of these. Possibly Intel but follow the instructions on the page for detection

Nick

I keep getting a error message "The hardware radio switch is off"

I've tried to set up the wireless internet using the ethernet cable but to no avail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

I keep getting a error message "The hardware radio switch is off"

Use Fn + F8 to toggle WiFi on/off

(May require a hotkey/keyboard driver to make the Fn key combos work.)

Torqay wrote: »
    Use Fn + F8 to toggle WiFi on/off

(May require a hotkey/keyboard driver to make the Fn key combos work.)

I cant for the life of me find a link to such drivers. Any chance you could post up a link?

Would be too bloody easy if they'd actually call it Hotkey Utility, eh? :D
    The FN buttons are controlled by VAP (value added package) and Flash Card Support Utility.

You'll find the Value Added Package on the last driver download page, 32 & 64-bit

Would be too bloody easy if they'd actually call it Hotkey Utility, eh? :D

You'll find the Value Added Package on the last driver download page, 32 & 64-bit

Any chance of a link? I deleted my browsing history and cant seem to find the page.

I downloaded the Value Added Package and tried pressing FN and F8 and nothing happens.:confused:

Does the Toshiba hava an LED indicator for WiFi?

Nope just F8 . When I start up windows a WIFI logo appears but it dosen't seem to be picking up the wireless router?

Few Screenshots:

Capture-7.png

ddd-1.png

jfjfjfjfjf.png

The laptop just doesen't seem to pick up the Wireless router. :confused:

Looks like the wireless adapater is not installed, there is no icon in the tray (unless it's hidden there). Check the device manager?

The wireless adapter is not listed in the device manager

Any other/unknown devices? Care posting a screen shot?

Still sounds to me like the wifi radio is disabled, if it is Windows won't show any icon signifying presence of the wireless adaptor, are you sure you installed the driver and it installed fine?

Nick

Still sounds to me like the wifi radio is disabled, if it is Windows won't show any icon signifying presence of the wireless adaptor, are you sure you installed the driver and it installed fine?

Nick

Nick when I try and install the driver it says It will make changes to the hard-drive and then nothing happens :confused:

Are you confident it is the correct driver? Also when you press FN & F8 does any idon appear on screen? Or does nothing happen?

Nick

When I press FN & F8 nothing happens.

I'll download the driver again