Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power Apology

• 18-02-2012 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭

This is their apology for todays madness :rolleyes::rolleyes:

http://bit.ly/zsHCf0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

l tried leaving a reply at the bottom but it wont let me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

they've become very arrogant i find. mate really pissed off couldn't get bet on sunderland today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

robbie1977 wrote: »
    l tried leaving a reply at the bottom but it wont let me.

Exact same for me :mad:

I had wrote out a long reply, clicked post and it never showed up, did it again and same thing happened.

I dont know how other people are managing to get their reply posted.

Anyway his lousy generous offers to come this week mean f*ck all, probably just the usual crap, money back on 1st or last goalscorers, correct score, scorecasts singles crap, the people who are affected today may not even win on their offers, he would want to compensate people properly with free bets of at least €20 and even that isnt good enough

shocksy wrote: »

I had wrote out a long reply, clicked post and it never showed up, did it again and same thing happened.

Anyway his lousy generous offers to come this week mean f*ck all, probably just the usual crap, money back on 1st or last goalscorers, correct score, scorecasts singles crap, the people who are affected today may not even win on their offers, he would want to compensate people properly with free bets of at least €20 and even that isnt good enough

yep ...money back if your horse finishes 2nd to a three legged 40/1 :rolleyes:

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    yep ...money back if your horse finishes 2nd to a three legged 40/1 :rolleyes:

Exactly, he'll have his traders make it impossible as always, they'll end up giving **** all away, they will let the dust settle for a few days and hope everything is forgotten. :mad:

he would want to compensate people properly with free bets of at least €120 and even that isnt good enough

FYP

They must be censoring the posts before putting them up.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    FYP

They must be censoring the posts before putting them up.

Most likely, dont know why mine would be removed though, i didnt use any bad language, unless maybe it was too long haha, i was just making similar points to what other people had already said.

try now its working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

That's why you should have at least 3 online accounts.
    At least then you'd get on somewhere.
    No reason not to and you'll get some form of bonus along the way.
    How long was it down for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

I know a lad who works there and he says that their systems are ****e. If you remember last Grand National day they alos had massive problems on the back of heavy traffic.
    They are arrogant as they are dominant in the market, they have a share price north of 40 euro and all the staff are due to sell their SAYE's soon leaving them quids in as a result of being allowed to buy at approx 10e. On average most are in for 50k profit.
    Paddy Power himself could not care less about clients, its just meeting the markets expectations and he knows that the investment required to bring their service up to scratch would impact figures too much at this point.
    The bottom line is that all punters will still go back to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm not in betting mode these days but a few times in the run up to the 3 pm games the site would get horribly slow at times, you'd need to refresh your account details
    to check if the money had gone through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I go on there website to check prices and it must be the slowest website to load on the market, people should open accounts elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Amigomenor wrote: »
    I know a lad who works there and he says that their systems are ****e. If you remember last Grand National day they alos had massive problems on the back of heavy traffic.
    They are arrogant as they are dominant in the market, they have a share price north of 40 euro and all the staff are due to sell their SAYE's soon leaving them quids in as a result of being allowed to buy at approx 10e. On average most are in for 50k profit.
    Paddy Power himself could not care less about clients, its just meeting the markets expectations and he knows that the investment required to bring their service up to scratch would impact figures too much at this point.
    The bottom line is that all punters will still go back to them.

Couldn't disagree more.

Online bookmakers can't afford to be arrogant with customers as people will simply just go and bet elsewhere if they get annoyed. Unlike say the mobile phone market, all of these bookmakers are offering the same product. The difference between them all is obviously the prices they offer but also how much they spend on marketing to get customers on board. PaddyPower are big in the European market but are basically one of literally hundreds of bookmakers globally. okidoki987 is right in that people should have more than one account, primarily because the prices between different books can be large.

Regarding the staff getting a pay off on their shares, good luck to them. Plenty of employees don't get share options in companies. Profits for the first six months of last year were €57m so the suggestion that they can't be assed to upgrade their systems is laughable.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2011/0831/1224303236759.html

I don't bet with them much but they are one of the few bookmakers to pay out when they have made mistakes. Betfair tends to do the exact opposite and have had their market position and share price hit by basically not being fair with customers.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1230/1224309630961.html

They do have terrible customer service. Regardless of profits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I always got decent enough customer service off them, apart from in a shop when I had a run in with a manager, but that was by me trying to get a free 20 euro via one of their offers, but we have since made up.

The website is so slow that it's annoying. I stopped using 365 after a bitch got smart with me on live help. Boylesports is my main bookies now, but they are so bad it's unreal for in play sports, but that's something I never back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭shangri la

Exactly, he'll have his traders make it impossible as always, they'll end up giving **** all away, they will let the dust settle for a few days and hope everything is forgotten. :mad:
    it always is forgotten.

I'll be honest in saying anytime i am onto live help i am treated respectfully, never had any arrogance whatsoever, and my local shop is no different, very nice staff in there who you can easily speak with, maybe all shops are not like that but my local paddy powers is very friendly from a customer service point of view. If only they would fix up their site so crashing never happens and offer better odds on BTTS and Overs etc i wouldnt go anywhere else, but as they dont i continue to use William Hill as an alternative when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Anyone care to fill me in on what they're apologising for? Link in OP not working for me.

Collie D wrote: »
    Anyone care to fill me in on what they're apologising for? Link in OP not working for me.

Yesterday afternoon, their whole website went down, crashed completely, no bets were able to be placed because of this, the phone line was also no use as the staff at the other end couldn't get access to the systems either, so alot of people were unable to bet, caused alot of uproar

Here's a link to their apology page

http://blog.paddypower.com/2012/02/19/im-very-sorry-site-disruption-and-mobile-issues/

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I was raging yesterday tbh, as there were 2 definite winners (Real -1 in 2nd half and Deportivo La Courna, the latter I tipped) I missed out on. As a result I somewhat in a panic placed a bet on Real -4 (I wanted -3 but there was no option) at HT which is when the site was back up and running. Sure enough Real won 4-0, after taking their breaks of the gas for most of the 2nd half. Go figure. So yeah, not amused by their pathetic apology.

I should have placed bets beforehand, and topped up my 365 account admittedly though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

Share price remained the same and they got free exposure for their new ad in the UK.

They dont give a rats arse TBH otherwise this would not happen. It will only get worse.

My suggestion is to sell any shares you have in them now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Not sure if what happened over the w/e had anything to do with their shop specials today but they gave a 25% bonus on 2 races, 45% bonus on 1 race and money back in 2 races.
    The share price wouldn't move because their systems went **** up over the w/e.
    You'd have to wait for a few days/weeks to see if anybody closed their accounts because of it.

apart from their phone problem..the online site via google chrome is ****e. reported same to no avail. given up and punt elsewhere now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

apart from their phone problem..the online site via google chrome is ****e. reported same to no avail. given up and punt elsewhere now.

I have no issues with the site via chrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

I know you are probably angry because you didn't get your bets on but you hardly expect PPP to give every customer 20euro free bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

ft9 wrote: »
    I have no issues with the site via chrome.

It's painfully slow for me, I usually just give up and go somewhere else, Takes an age to scroll down pages and very jumpy

It's a good time for it to happen coming up to Cheltenham.
    I would expect some superb offers sometime soon :cool:.

I know you are probably angry because you didn't get your bets on but you hardly expect PPP to give every customer 20euro free bet.

Thats exactly what we expect yes. And it wouldnt be to every customer, they would easily be able to find out who was logged in at such a time, and €20 to PP is f*cking peanuts anyway.... They are a disaster, and have lost customers over this, I havent backed with them since and wont be doing so either, William Hill all the way now, and the in play betting on their site is superiour to paddy powers.

I would advise everyone to ditch powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭luis suarez

I'm sorry for your troubles mate but you are a clown.It is your problem that you stayed with powers for so long and if you want in play betting bet365 is the only site to bet on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

If you want to bet in play you want to be on the exchanges, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

If you want to bet in play you want to be on the exchanges, simple as that.

agree,problem is a lot of people i know prefer to have cash card accounts where there is absolutely no trace of their little habit,banks are really clamping down on giving out loans to people with betfair/pp accounts.

I work for a bank and one of my workmates had his laser card revoked and changed for a normal passcard after a meeting with his manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

They could always use pay pal?

Also most bank staff can't access Betfair in work.

I'm sorry for your troubles mate but you are a clown.It is your problem that you stayed with powers for so long and if you want in play betting bet365 is the only site to bet on.

If your referring to me, get a grip of yourself, big hard keyboard warrior. I was posting this apology to show other users what PP had said in regards to the website error, not because i was frustrated.

Where i bet is my business, not yours, regardless of where anyone bets does not make them a clown, PP has one of the best websites for navigation. FACT, of all the websites i have visited or used in the past bet365 is the worst, their prices are not even better than PP most of the time, the amount of sh!te that people continue to go on and on about bet365 on this forum is unreal, they are made out to be gods, if i didnt know any better i would say half of the users on here are being paid to promote them. The live betting markets doesnt affect me much because i dont do, corner bets, card bets, next goal scorer bets etc, and when it comes to overs etc they are nearly always the same price as PP if not lower.

So next time you feel like having a rant move on over to the ladies lounge

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Banned for a week. Pointless abuse is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,957 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

You know it's an absolute pleasure betting on bet365, free bets 10 euro this week, great live betting. I dislike the site format but damn it's a great bookie. I really would advice people to close their pp account and sign up with bet365. Why would you stay with a bookie like pp that has awful site management?

Withdraw money from bet365 on Monday and it's in my account Wednesday, that is great going

I am sorry and mortified at the service we offered on Saturday.
    All Saturday afternoon our customers had a lot of difficulty getting their bets on, either through our website or our mobile services. We were also slow to in getting winnings back into people’s accounts. This was due to serious technical problems in our systems.
    There is nothing more frustrating than not being able to get your bet on and no apology from me can get around that. Rest assured, we will resolve it.
    At Paddy Power, we want to provide the best sports betting service in the world with a top quality customer experience. Clearly, we were a long way from that today and for that I am truly sorry.
    There is some good news, however. We will dig deep into our pockets over the next few days to make up for the problems you experienced on Saturday. Expect lots of generous offers in the coming days and weeks. While we cannot buy your loyalty, I hope that you will give us another chance to give you the service you deserve.
    Paddy Power

This was the appology posted on sunday.
    I have'nt received and compensation or seen any generous offers.

Sure even if they did a bet365 free 50 bet on the football it would be something.(considering bet365 can afford to do it every month)

their prices are not even better than PP most of the time

Won't agree with that comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭CFC007

Just got this from PP and 50e in my account for a free bet!
    Many of our customers suffered very poor service when trying to place their bets on www.paddypower.com last Saturday. This was caused by some technical problems on our site. Our techies have been working hard to ensure these problems never happen again.We pride ourselves on providing excellent service, so when we fall down, we put our hands up.

We are putting our money where our mouth is and giving you a FREE BET - no catch, no fancy terms & conditions or hoops to jump through. Just don't waste it! Just log into your account at www.paddypower.com and punt away.

I hope this goes some way to show you how sorry we are, and our desire to give you the service you deserve.

Kind regards

Paddy Power

CFC007 wrote: »
    Just got this from PP and 50e in my account for a free bet!
    Many of our customers suffered very poor service when trying to place their bets on www.paddypower.com last Saturday. This was caused by some technical problems on our site. Our techies have been working hard to ensure these problems never happen again.We pride ourselves on providing excellent service, so when we fall down, we put our hands up.

We are putting our money where our mouth is and giving you a FREE BET - no catch, no fancy terms & conditions or hoops to jump through. Just don't waste it! Just log into your account at www.paddypower.com and punt away.

I hope this goes some way to show you how sorry we are, and our desire to give you the service you deserve.

Kind regards

Paddy Power

I got €2 :rolleyes: told them to shove it and take it away.

okidoki987 wrote: »
    Won't agree with that comment.

Well thats your opinion, i have watched a good few times now, numerous infact, and they are not any different than PP, best prices go to William Hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭PopTarts

I got a €10 free bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Free €20 bet.

I didn't even know they had a problem with the site.

I backed 2 horses online with them Saturday and had no problems placing them or viewing the races...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Got nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Just opened my a/c to see I got a 50 quid freebet, shocked :eek:

What terms do freebets have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭PopTarts

colly_06 wrote: »
    Just opened my a/c to see I got a 50 quid freebet, shocked :eek:

What terms do freebets have?

With this freebet, no terms.

Obviously any winnings are minus the stake.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Just got a tenner. I didn't even log onto the Paddy Power on Saturday. Not complaining.

They must have their ****** in the shops today.
    Doubled the odds on at least 5 winners at Warwick or Sandown.
    Didn't hang around to see what else they were doing today though but I'd say tomorrow will the time to be online as it's the 1st Saturday since it all went pear shaped for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SORT YOUR ****ING WEBSITE OUT!

/transfer to paypal....waiting waiting waiting...too late its 3 pm.

edit paypal seems to be the issue not PP (!) weird it loads in FF but won;t in Opera.

edit edit, trying again and it still is not transferring across despite having Paypal open in a different window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu