Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ajax -Vs- Man Utd - Europa League last-32 first-leg

• 16-02-2012 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭

match.png
    Kick Off 18:00

Live on: 3e / Five
    Online : check out www.aertv.ie and select 3e

Patrice Evra, Ryan Giggs and Dimitar Berbatov all rested

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Should be a very interesting game. Score draw I'd say.
    Berbatov is getting alot of rest lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

He's well rested.

Ah i'd say it's a Utd 2-0 win,

Ajax are having a bad run at the min,, anything can change tho.

We should be going all out to win this Tournament - Might end up with a double for the season :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Manchester United squad: De Gea, Amos; Fabio, Rafael, Evans, Jones, Smalling, Fryers, Ferdinand; Valencia, Nani, Carrick, Young, Park, Scholes, Cleverley, Pogba; Rooney, Hernandez, Welbeck.

I'd say the starting line up will be

De Gea
    Smalling--Evans--Ferdinand--Rafael
    -Valencia--Carrick--Scholes--Park
    ----Rooney----Welbeck

There are a few younger lads in the squad that might get a surprise start, Nani and Jones are just back from injuries so I dont think they will start.

Young might start instead of Park as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Live on 3E too.

Should be a comfortable win for United.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Is the Europa League not on 3e this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Would have been a decent game circa 1995!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Ajax have a lot of injuries so the youngsters they have for tonight lack the experience but I'm sure it will be an interesting game.

They're sixth in the Eredivisie which is pretty gash so United's second string should beat them fairly comfortably over the tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

united to win by four or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Seen it on www.manutd.com that the match is on Channel 5 in the UK. Interesting as I got a free app from App store last week on iPad called 4 films or something like that (memory is shot to bits) which defo had Channel 5 as one of the TV stations it shows live. Hopefully so, as it means I can watch the match online with English commentary for once :)

it's probably geolocked.

which means connecting from an Irish IP address will mean you can't watch it.

For instance, the matches on RTE.ie in the CL are only viewale in Ireland.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Have a soft spot for Ajax and would love to see them win but they'd do well to get a draw tonight considering the difference in form, experience and squads called upon. United to win by at least a couple of goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

got a text from a mate. A few 'skirmishes' between fans already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

got a text from a mate. A few 'skirmishes' between fans already

70-odd Ajax and 50-odd Anderlecht fans arrested for carrying weapons, planning an attack and carrying drugs apparently.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Could be an ugly night, United should win by three or four with that Ajax side..

Des wrote: »
    it's probably geolocked.

Will be interesting to see alright. Sure googling now how best to get a UK IP on my device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

hahahaha United fans

Thursday night football hahahahaha delighted for yee :)

Looking forward to this actually. Hopefully Young has a good game if he starts and we end up injury free.

Going to go with 2-1 United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Seen it on www.manutd.com that the match is on Channel 5 in the UK. Interesting as I got a free app from App store last week on iPad called 4 films or something like that (memory is shot to bits) which defo had Channel 5 as one of the TV stations it shows live. Hopefully so, as it means I can watch the match online with English commentary for once :)
    it's probably geolocked.

If you mean an app called Filmon its not geolocked. I use it in Sweden to watch UK tv all the time. Very handy app. I presume its "bending" the rules. Its basically the freeview or freesat UK channels (not sure which is correct term). On both iOS and Android.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

united to win by four or more.

You have watched us in Europe right?:D

I'd say we'd be happy with a score draw. We will try to win the game while staying a bit cautious.

Trilla wrote: »
    hahahaha United fans

I could have sworn you were a United fan :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

baz2009 wrote: »
    70-odd Ajax and 50-odd Anderlecht fans arrested for carrying weapons, planning an attack and carrying drugs apparently.

All cos we stuffed them 10-0....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

hahahaha United fans

Thursday night football hahahahaha delighted for yee :)

Looking forward to this actually. Hopefully Young has a good game if he starts and we end up injury free.

Going to go with 2-1 United.

"hahaha we didnt come close to qualifying for Europe but we can mock you for getting knocked out of the champions league, hahahahaha"

etc, etc, etc

s.welstead wrote: »

A bit short termist, obviously very complacent this season but made 3 CL finals in 4 years prior to this year. With no weekend game Fergie will want to get this more or less wrapped up tonight, they'll probably line up reasonably strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭TheLynx

A one nil victory for Ajax tonight due to Ajax having a water tight defence with the goal being scored by Sulejmani

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

My line up:

De Gea
    Jones Smalling Evans Fabio
    Nani Cleverley Park Pogba Young
    Hernandez

Probably very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,814 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

really looking forward to this - really hope I get to see Cleverley and Pogba for a decent amount of time. Cleverley for 60, Pogba for 30, would do me.

Fergie has said, a lot, that it will be hte strongest team available though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Already 88 people arrested, 40 Ajax fans yesterday.

Only 1 English guy so far.

"hahaha we didnt come close to qualifying for Europe but we can mock you for getting knocked out of the champions league, hahahahaha"

etc, etc, etc

See the way WMJ got it Des? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

s.welstead wrote: »

I'd say we'd be happy with a score draw. We will try to win the game while staying a bit cautious.

I have seen Ajax in the eredivisie.
    This is men vs boys.
    If united takes this a bit serious tonight they go home with 3 of 4 goal advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,814 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

inforfun wrote: »
    I have seen Ajax in the eredivisie.
    This is men vs boys.
    If united takes this a bit serious tonight they go home with 3 of 4 goal advantage.

that has been our problem in Europe this year.

We got knocked out of the CL becuase we didn't take it seriously, not because we are not good enough (imo). I can easily see us taking the Europa League even less seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Thats why I would like to see the younger guys and the guys needing game time more to be playing, they will be sure to take it serious as it is their opportunity to shine.

The CL debacle should hopefully cop on some of the regulars anyway though

jaykay74 wrote: »
    If you mean an app called Filmon its not geolocked. I use it in Sweden to watch UK tv all the time. Very handy app. I presume its "bending" the rules. Its basically the freeview or freesat UK channels (not sure which is correct term). On both iOS and Android.

Thats it, jeez I wasn't even close. If you ever get mugged pray I am not a witness as my memory is terrible.

Nice one, between that and watching the Arsenal match last night via sopcast lite its been a good move cancelling my sky sports subscription :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

No I think she sports Ars4niL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

that has been our problem in Europe this year.

We got knocked out of the CL becuase we didn't take it seriously, not because we are not good enough (imo). I can easily see us taking the Europa League even less seriously.

Even if United decide to play on clown shoes, they still should have enough to beat THIS Ajax.

They still miss a lot of players. They played Real when they were not having many injuries and got brushed away 3-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Rekop dog wrote: »
    A bit short termist, obviously very complacent this season but made 3 CL finals in 4 years prior to this year. With no weekend game Fergie will want to get this more or less wrapped up tonight, they'll probably line up reasonably strong.

Not short termist at all. We are generally very cautious away from home in Europe for the last number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

There really is no need for that dig at Arsenal/their fans.

Anyways, I'm dead excited for tonight, would prefer it we had played over the last 2 nights, but screw it. Confident enough here, to repeat myself again, can't wait to see Eriksen.:p

she?!

she?!

bytelove-haha-20-20zoom.jpg

Ya big girl ya! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Should have read Trillas location as well, before jumping in calling him a gooner. Hes one of us....one of us....one of us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Fecking Ultras :p

Anyway, I predict United to line out as:

DDG
    Rafael----Ferdinand---Evans
    Fabio
    Valencia--Carrick
    Cleverley---Young
    Rooney

Hernandez

#MUFC XI: De Gea, Jones, Ferdinand, Evans, Fabio; Nani, Carrick, Cleverley, Young; Rooney, Hernandez

#MUFC bench: Amos, Smalling, Park, Scholes, Valencia, Welbeck, Pogba

Le Pog on for Cleverley, Welbz on for Rooney and Smalling on for Jones at various intervals and I'll be happy out!

Ajax XI v MUFC (4-3-3): Vermeer; Anita, Alderweireld, Vertonghen; Koppers; Aissati, Eriksen, Sd Jong; Sulejmani, Bulykin, Özbiliz

Strange that the team sheet is out 75 mins before kick off. Is that normal for the EL?

baz2009 wrote: »
    #MUFC XI: De Gea, Jones, Ferdinand, Evans, Fabio; Nani, Carrick, Cleverley, Young; Rooney, Hernandez

#MUFC bench: Amos, Smalling, Park, Scholes, Valencia, Welbeck, Pogba

Le Pog on for Cleverley, Welbz on for Rooney and Smalling on for Jones at various intervals and I'll be happy out!

Would that be a confirmed line up or just your guess?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Nice line up youngish but also experienced . Be nice to see Fabio play well and put pressure on Evra .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Please please please please please let the traffic be kind to me.

kryogen wrote: »
    Would that be a confirmed line up or just your guess?

Confirmed.

Throwing a fair bit on money on a Utd win, very strong team out. Have a few euro on Utd -2 as well at 6/1. Good chance of a comfortable win imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Please please please please please let the traffic be kind to me.

You need to get yourself one of these lad...

Yeah just put a nice bet down on United straight out and -1

Hopefully they turn up