If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

More miles mean more improvement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

menoscemo wrote: »
    +1 Good luck Ray!! Hope you got your trail shoes...

cheers lads,yep just got them in time,cant wait now:)

mon=26 miles, dublin pacing,felt very tired the hole way,but was a plessure to help the pacess around
    tue=rest
    wens=rest
    thurs=rest
    fri=rest
    sat=rest
    sun = 66 miles,white rose ultra,1st place,was the hardest thing i ever done but loved it.report to follow when i can walk properly again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Congrats ray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

sun = 66 miles,white rose ultra,1st place,was the hardest thing i ever done but loved it.report to follow when i can walk properly again.
    You don't need your legs to type :D
    Brilliant stuff, looking forward to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Congrats!
    Sher just buy a pair of trail shoes the week of the race and head over and beat them all in a 100km trail race. Unreal stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

devastatingly casual, maximum effect. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Well done Ray. I was following the updates on Facebook, sounded tough alright. Congrats on the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Well done Son......... Super stuff

WHITE ROSE ULTRA 100K

after been out injured for so long i was having trouble getting fit to race a ultra this year,dingle i wanted to do but i could of easily ended up injured again trying to get into shape to race a 50miler so instead i raced achill instead,was lucky to win that race as i wasnt fully fit but still gave it everything i had,so when achill was over and dingle less than two weeks i wasnt going to risk it.
    last year i was racing to soon after each race so i was very caustous not to make that mistake again,so dingle came and passed and i wished i had of been there.(next year for sure)

in the mean time i needed something to get my teeth into so i called my ultra runner friend dave and said to him go online and have a look for a good ultra in the u.k,what distance he said,anything over 50mile or 60mile
    later that evening dave wrong me backand said the white rose ultra looks brillant.the only question i asked him was do we need to navogate in the race,no not at all he repied,ok im in i said,had a quick look online and within 15min we were already planning our journey for our first 100k ultra race.

so i han 8 weeks training to get into shape for it,i was already in ok shape from achill island ultra and had two easy weeks recovery from it so decided to train hard for 5 weeks and than do a good 3 weeks taper for it,last year i trained like a animal for dingle running up to 150mile a week but only taper 10 days out and a week after dingle was over i only got the benefits from all that milage,i was running on clouds for a few weeks.so a 3 week taper this time sounded like a good plan to be nice and fresh for my first 100k,i also had planned to be a pacer for the dublin city marathon 5 days before the 100k so had to take that into account aswell.

the 5 weeks training i put in were 5 x 100mile weeks.because i was out injured for so long i wasnt going to risk running anything over 100miles a week but instead added a bit more quality instead of just loads of junk miles like last year,so 5 weeks came and passed,done some great training and pushed through the pain and suffering and was feeling very fit.

while i was training for this race we had a great group running together,there was 4 other friend running the dublin marathon so they ran with me on alot of long runs and some speed sessions,along the way they asked me for advice on how to achieve there goal times and we worked together to go get the times.there most important weeks training was the first week of my taper
    so i was so focused on them that i forgot about my own needs and by the end of the first week i had overtrained,i cursed myself that i had made this rookey mistake but at the same i was happy that my friends were ready for dublin.over the next week or so we all had a good taper,but i was really struggling to hold any sort of pace,i realy had overtrained,exausted.dublin marathon morning arrived,2 of my friends were going to run with my 3.30 group,paul ran his first marathon in waterford this year and he was going for a pb my almost a hour,he done all the hard training even 20 milers at race pace but after 17 miles he had to pull up with his it band,it was heartbreaking to have to leave him there but i had a pacing job to do,my other friend meabh was running her first mrathon and ran with me all the way to achieve a great 3.29.05 finish,great future ahead for her,my other two friends,david was going for 3.10 and achieved his time thanks to thomas the 3hr10 pacer,great job he done.my other mate mick went for sub 3.15 and ran 3.13.so a very succesfull day,as for me i felt awfull running around and in the later stages questined who was pacing who.

so with dublin done and the 100k only 5 days away and feeling really tired i started to carb load like mad and was sleeping 10 to 14 hours some days,after 4 days my stomach was almost ready to explode,i didnt run at all after dublin so wasnt sure how i would run on the day,i was just praying that i would come strong again,so the morning before the race i was up at 4am,breakfast washed and i quick run down the road to catch the 5.05 bus to dublin airport,left tramore and headed into waterford were dave sheridan was coming over with me to take on the whiteroseultra,dave was using this race as a training run as hes bigger fish to fry in a 100miler next year,he had missed alot of training due to a injury he picked up,but done the long runs and there the ones that matter so he was confident on what lie ahead.

arrived in dublin airport and checked in and than off for some more carb loading(fry up).board the plane and of we headed to the manchester,i shoudnt of laughed but on the flight we had some really bad turbalance and there was tea and coffee flying everywhere and a lad two seats up from us got it on the ceiling and all over his head,he tried to play it cool but didnt have anything to clean it off.(sorry for laughing but it was funny).

manchester we arrived and off we went to hire a car,huddersfield was only about 50miles from manchester but we didnt want the head ache of public transport and walking around all day,so the car hire seemed the best option.about 5 miles from hudderfield we started to see the landscape change,from flat roads to nothing like i have evere seen before,it scared the ****e out of me and dave.what have we left our selves in for he chatted about,nothing we can do about it now dave but its a challenge we want then hear it is.arrived at the hotel(premier inn only 1.5miles from tha race start)and checked in and up to the room to unpack.
    we needed supplies for the race tommorow so we headed of to a nearby sansburys in the car and we shocked how hilly the place was,up down up down where ever you went,every place was called hill land,hill top park,hill lane,big hill walk,top of hill road,the only place i didnt see was no hill land.you had to see this place to believe it.
    one thing we had notiched was how windy it was and then going into the supermarket the rain started hammering down.i looked at dave and said im glad them trail shoes came in the post,maybe i shoulnt of said that to dave as he was running the race in his vibrams.well if your mad your mad.off back to the hotel and into the resturant for some more carb loading or dave case liquid dinner of 5 pints,well if your mad your mad.sat down with the dinner and watched the football game,but i coulnt watch it as i was worried about the weather out side,it was a full blown storm out now with thunder and lightning,i said to dave now we have ever hard element against us tommorow,distance,hills,rain,wind,and most of the race on muddy trails.
    off we headed to bed and we geared ourselves up for the morning,got all our well wishes from friends and ultra friends as the new what lie ahead,there kind words and encouragment had me ready for war before i shut my eyes.

5.am comes and the alarm is going off and i open one eye and the first thing that comes into my mind is the weather,jumped out of bed and over to the window,no rain thank god but it was very windy and really cold,nothing we can do now about the weather and reminded myself we all have to run the same conditions course etc,had the breakfast and jumped back into bed for another hour,dave slept through the alarm,all that liquid had something to do with it,at least he was well hydrated,haha.
    alarm goes off again and i jumped out of bed,dave woke up and panicked about the time,i had a quick shower and got the running gear on and packed everything i needed,i wanted to get up to the registation early to get my head in the zone,sorry for rushing you dave,he had to have his pasta and chicken breakfast in the car.
    so we arrived at the race headquarters and it was bitterly cold,i had brought a rain jacket with me but didnt entend on using it but it was on me straight away,we walked up to sign in and get our race back,the place was like headless chickens flying all over the shop up there as everyone looked in a panic as to what lie ahead.we said helo to some friendly faces and but name to faces that we had et online.
    15min before the race was about to start KERRY the race organiser called us out side for a race briefing,shes stone mad and made us all laugh and put everyone in great spirits before the off.5 mins later we all headed down to the start about 5 min walk.we all arrived at the start line,have a think where yep bottom of a hill.
    i wished dave goodluck and shock anybodys hand around me and then we were off.
    straight away i took the lead up the hill,it was very steep and was on the top off my toes running up it,by the time i reached the top i was almost out of breath straight away,we hit a flat section and a lad came right up next to me and there was 3 other runners about ten seconds back.within the first mile we had run straight on instead of left,but we heard a shout to come back and now or group was 5 runners,i checked to see if any off them were in the 100k but they were all in the 50k so was happy to be were i was,within another half mile we went right instead of left again as we were climbing a huge long climb,there was spray paint on the ground to tell us were to go but with all the heavy rain it had washed away,but in our group there was a local runner and spotted we had gone wrong,we quickly got back on course but another group had closed behind us,then all of a sudden the rain started to come,i just stook my hood up and got stuck into the job in hand,it was a driving rain and wind now which made it very hard to run,my plan was to run 8min pace all the way for a 8 hour finish but in the wind the pace was 9.30 so my plan went out the window within 3 miles,i didnt mind to much as i was happy to be leading the race.

at the race hq were giving a map of the course and a card that we had to get stamped at every 5 mile checkpoint.i didnt even bring my map with me as wasnt sure which was even the right way up so just through it in the hired car boot.the card we had to get stamped i put it in a bag and warapped it around my waterbottle with a elastic band.the first checkpoint came and my hands were shacking trying to open the bag to get it stamped.i should of taken the card out sooner coming up to the check point to save time,just passed the checkpoint the 5 of us heading straight and ran past a right turn where we were ment to go,about a half mile later the locl guy said lads we are gone wrong again,we all stopped dead in our tracks and one of them took out his map and said no we are going the right way.the local lad turned back and i followed the other group,we ran on another mile and came to a tea juntion and there were no signs,everyone started to argue about were to go and i left them fight it out and took advantage of the situation and had a crap in the field,yes we were lost so headed all the way back and seen the other runners on the opissite road and joined up with them again.i went from first to 30th place with that move.up to the next check point i ran as hard as i could and overtook 20 runners and was back up to 10th,when i got to the mile 10 checkpoint i asked the lady were there many 60 mile runners ahead of me and she said 2 or 3.now i was 12miles in and started to feel like crap,still hadnt recovered but it didnt bother me to much as if you give everything on the day you can walk away happy that you gave it your best go.over come crazy croos country fields we went and then a right hand turn comes on a road and i just looked at this steeoest hill i have ever seen,and could see 7 other runners half way up it so i just powered up it hard as i could and closed on them within a minute and relized the were all walking hands on knees,i got some crazy looks as i was the only one running up it but as a road runner stooping isnt in the plan,but on this course walking hills is part of the plan,as i was about to pass the 7th lad i reconized him from online so stopped and walked with him as we were near the top,i tried to copy thisnew hands on knees dance craze and over the next 2 miles we had a great chat,he had recently ran his first marathon at 2.50 pace and blew up with 3 miles to go.so was in good company.after the next checkpoint we were running down this road and i seen a sticker pointing right and just looked over and all i could see was a huge grass bank,surely we dont go up that and waited for the next runner to catch up with me and he said yes,so i ran across the road and done my new dance move up this bank on some little stepping stones,we had to almost climb up it and at the top was a house like somethimg out of a horror movie and ran under a arch at the side of it and down through some fields and over 4 fenches.
    now we were running in the middle of nowhere(the moors)a ery looking place and i was lost again,i just started running along this stone wall and seen two runners ahead of me climbing over a gate and started chasing them.it turns out they were the two lads leading the 50 k race,they were about .25 of a mile ahead at atop of a big climb.i found i closed on all the runners on the climbs in both races but on the down hills the left me for dust.i had been talking to a few of the group earlier on and 3 of them were fell runners,you had to see these lads running down the hills,i was running down them side ways because they were so steep and these lads just flew down them with there hands out like they were just left out of the mental hospital.as i got to the top of the climb i coulnt see the two runners again and went wrong down a field again,straight away i new i was wrong again and rean back to the top of the hill again were i seen 3 other runners just ahead.now i was into 6th place but they were all in the 50k race.

over the next few miles we were running alondg the clyne valley,this was the nicest part of the course,lovely bit to run on even if it was full of mud,over some small bridges and up a few climbs,i passed the 3 runners going over this bit and just before the 20mile check point there was a really tough climb and the weather was now hail and i put the head down and forgot my new dance move and ran up it knowing i could have a break at the checkpoint.when i got to the checkpoint the 2 leaders in the 50k were just about to leave.one of them shot off and the other ran with me,we ran down a road and into a farm oand onto some trail again and crossed a river on some stones,if you fell in you were in trouble.the 2nd place runner said im going to power on and try catch the leader and ran on but we came to a climb and i was next to him again then over the climb he ran on again.i came to a tea juntion and seen the sticker to go right and looked left and the 2nd place was running up it,i started shouting at him to come back and he coulnt hear,my last shout he looked back to see a mad irish runner jumbing and waving at him.he ran back down and we headed right.into checkpoint 25 we came and left together.then instead of going right we went left down a big hill.after a mile i said to him this doesnt look good and he took out his map and said we are ok.a few minutes later he gave me the bad news,not again i said,this is complete madness,all these wrong turns weather first 30th 10th 3rd 6th and 3rd again started to take its tole,and the fact we just ran down a big hill.now we had to run back up it.we ran up it and got back on track again.a mile from the finish and we were lost again and asked a local and he put us right and with 400mtrs to go i was condemplating quiting as another lap of that course in them conditions and dark and the fact i would have to run it again on my own and not see another runner again and to be honest i was wrecked.when we got back to the finish there was 4 lads sitting down.the 2nd place finished in 5th because of the last few wrong turns.i sat down and the rest of them were looking at me like i was stone crazy to even try going back out.i sat there and decided to change every bit of clothing on me to lift my morale and headed back out to do it all again.the weather now was blowing a storm and not even 2 miles up the road i was going to turn back.then i decided that the only way im going to finish this race is start walking up every hill and run the rest.got to the 35mile checkpoint without getting lossed and at mile 38 i was running in a field up a hill with a bull in it,the wind was straight at me and i looked at my garmin and it red 20m34sec pace,i stopped dead in my tracks right next to the bull,we just looked at each other and i said im done,cant go on,then i thought of my friend that drove me on in training,hes not very well at the moment and hes a animal on hills.i said what would he do and just shouted as loud as i could,COME ON,and ran on again.in training i had not used gels and the plan was to take them in this race when i hit the 42mile mark,sis caffine gels,i get a real good kick of these and didnt take any caffine for 3 weeks before the race so just hung on until then.then a really strange thing happen got to mile 40 checkpoint without getting lost walk all the usual big hills and felt like i was running for hours since the last checkpoint,when i hit the 45mile one i was convinced i had missed the last checkpoint,we were told if we miss one we were disqualifiled from the race,i was in some state telling the woman the was nobody at the last checkpoint,i gave her my card and she looked at me funny and signed it,i looked at the card and i had got it signed,i hadnt even missed it,my head was playing tricks on me because i was so tired,headed through the moors again and into the wind and just before the 50 mile checkpoint i seen two runners ahead of me.i started to walk and didnt expect to see anyone out on the course for the 2nd lap.but i had just about lapped the two runners,i stopped at both of them as i dint want to act like it was a good thing to do a lap them,so stopped and realy encouraged both of them that the finish was in site and they were doing really well and we all got the same medal.got to the 50mile checkpoint and the lady said your in the lead,they new my name at this stage,i looked around were i just had ran and the one face i didnt want to see was ed melbourne,hes a very top ultra runner with massive experiance in trail running,he had one a few big rav=ces this year even the 100k race to the stones and has ran the UTMB the past two years.in his last 100k he waited until the 50mile marker to made his move and destoyed the field in the end,so if i could get to the 50mile mark with him not insight behind me i have a great chance of winning.
    i saved my eyepod for this moment and stuck it on and took another gel,up to this point i was in a bad state and just the pure will to keep moving was all i was living on,but within a minute the gels were having there effect,the music was blarring in my ears,the fact i could win this race was now not just a dream and i just started to run with no fatqugue in my legs,i was feeling like it was just a jog,the best feeling in the world,i started shouted my friends name out as loud as i could running across the country and now pitch dark,what a feeling that i will never forget.i had the plan that i could run the course in sub 8 hours so only got a head light from suppervalue for 9 euro 99.thinking i wont need it,the thing was crap and coulnt see 3 feet in front of me.i was feeling still so good i had to remind myself to calm down as there was still a checkpoint to get to.my garmin was now reading 59 miles and i still hadnt seen the 55 mile checkpoint,with all th ewrong turns etc i was running well over but didnt panic because i new everyone else was in the same boat,i was running down this lane and seen a staffbull terrier running towards me and his owner running behind him with another one.i was on another planet and just kept running and probally frightened the dog more,i kept running ahead and came to a cross roads and there was no sign,i started to cry as i relized i had got lost again,i rang my misses and put her in shear panic and then seen a guy walking a dog and asked him for directions,he told me a short cut to get to were i wanted to go.for a minute i thought why not as i had ran so much extra,but deep down i new i coulnt.
    so i ran back the same way i came and new i would lose the race now,i ran bavk up intoi the dark moors for a mile and a half and just stopped and was lost again.then i thought im not even going to finish the race.i took out my phone to ring a emergancy number i had and what ever way i looked i seen a sticker to go left into a field.
    i started to cry with excitment that i can finish the race now,i didnt give to ****s about winning now.got to the last checkpoint and the lady said are you ray,i said yep,she said we were expecting you ages ago,i told her i got completly lost,i then asked her was there anyone passed ahead of me in the mean time,she said one other runner,i new it had to be ed melbourne,i wasnt to upset as i was lost for 3 miles so new i would of been overtaken,at least im in second,for the next 4.5miles i ran with everything i had up everyhill trying to catch first but he was nowere to be seen.a half a mile from the finish my light was just dead and i was lost again,everywhere i looked i thought i could see little lights on peoples heads thinking im going to be overtook again,yes found the dark lane way and started belting down this,it was very dangerous with big rocks and deep mut but the finish was near,near the end i could see a figure on the road waving like mad at me,as i got closer i still didnt have a clue who it was,it was my mate dave shouting and waving at me to slow down as i was leading the race.i didnt believe him for a second,calm down and slow down he said trying to keep up with me as i ran as hard as i could to the finish still trying to catch ed.seen the finish line and ran towards it still not 100% believing dave,KERRY was there and everyone out in the dark to roar me on,crossed the line and then only found out i had actually had won the race,the emotion that came out of me at that moment is to hard to explain,i will never forget that moment,before the last checkpoint i had a hour lead over ed.he had clossed it to 39min with me going wrong before the last checkpoint.
    for am]nyone that has run a ultra or thinking about running one,then come over and run this next year,it wasnt just a race,it was a pure adventure that i will take to the grave with me.cant wait to do it all over again next year

p.s.next year there will be big signs and a trouphy,i was dissapionted i didnt recieve one but still i had the best experiance of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

That's incredible well done. You're like some kind of running machine. Bit scary but good :D

Wow wow wow. Not sure what the right words are, but something along the lines of: superhuman, amazing, awesome, terminator :)
    Think what you'll achieve if you ever learn to read a map :D

Any pictures from the race? Sounds like a spectacular course.

cianc wrote: »
    Wow wow wow. Not sure what the right words are, but something along the lines of: superhuman, amazing, awesome, terminator :)
    Think what you'll achieve if you ever learn to read a map :D

Any pictures from the race? Sounds like a spectacular course.

im not the best on the computer,you can get them on my facebook page,or on the whiteroseultra web site theres some pictures on peoples blobs there,it was a beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

WHITE ROSE ULTRA 100K

.....in the mean time i needed something to get my teeth into so i called my ultra runner friend dave and said to him go online and have a look for a good ultra in the u.k,what distance he said,anything over 50mile or 60mile
    later that evening dave wrong me backand said the white rose ultra looks brillant.the only question i asked him was do we need to navogate in the race,no not at all he repied,ok im in i said,had a quick look online and within 15min we were already planning our journey for our first 100k ultra race.

haha, great report. Amazing run congratulations on the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NoGutsNoGlory

fair play Ray well done .. i hope the waterford half is not as exciting!!! :)

the whiteroseultra web site theres some pictures on peoples blobs there,it was a beast.
    Yeah, those are some suspiciously sunny pictures they have up at http://www.whiteroseultra.co.uk/gallery1.html :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Insanity!

cianc wrote: »
    Yeah, those are some suspiciously sunny pictures they have up at http://www.whiteroseultra.co.uk/gallery1.html :)

wish we had those conditions alright

on the right hand side on the main whiterose page a few people have blogs about the race and took afew picture,will give you a good idea of what the course was like,there was a lady that videod some of it and shes going to put it on u tube soon enough

fair play Ray well done .. i hope the waterford half is not as exciting!!! :)
    funny that i have yet to run a half:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Brilliant report Ray, really enjoyed reading it. There's no stopping you! I often see you out on the roads and you make it look effortless.

I'd say to enjoy a bit of a rest, but I don't think you would :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Insane1

Ray, it was a pleasure to witness such an incredible display! You destroyed the field and the course, and did it with your usual modesty and humble way.
    Same time next year? At least we will have an idea of where not to get lost next time! lol

RubyK wrote: »
    Brilliant report Ray, really enjoyed reading it. There's no stopping you! I often see you out on the roads and you make it look effortless.

I'd say to enjoy a bit of a rest, but I don't think you would :D

no im going to take 4 weeks out of no training and give the body a break,and than i be fresh for next year again:)
    if you pass me out running again stop me and we have a chat,be nice to put face to name

thanks and keep up the great work

Insane1 wrote: »
    Ray, it was a pleasure to witness such an incredible display! You destroyed the field and the course, and did it with your usual modesty and humble way.
    Same time next year? At least we will have an idea of where not to get lost next time! lol
    thanks dave
    yep same time next year for sure,i no every bit of that course in my head now,we will deffintly run it a lot faster next year

thinking about putting a team of 4 together for the HARDCASTLE 24HR RACE in 2014.
    its a 5k trail route up a hill and back again.as many times as the team can in 24hrs.
    theres a solo option aswell.if anyone is interested let me no.

after 5 months out with severe knee pain and numerous combacks today i managed 6 miles with little knee pain,im training a lad up to break 3.30 in waterford and will pace him on the day aswell,i told him be at my door ready to run and be prepared for plenty of miles(and pain),happy days feeling very positive now,onwards and upwards.