Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frontline RTÉ 1, 13, February, 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

My plan for obesity in Ireland would be to stop parents driving the kids to school. The local school is like a drive thru, with parents racing to school in the morning while the same parents complain that they can't let their kids walk or cycle to school because the roads are so dangerous. Kids get driven everywhere these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not drinking out of a cup when you win.

Ah come off it ta fuk. That ridiculous. :mad:

Passing the cup around is part of a victory celebration.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Has anyone mentioned the "nanny state" argument? Is there any balance on this programme tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Live and let live ye pack of do gooders...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Lapin wrote: »

Ah yeah, but do it in private like! You don't want to be seeing O'Driscoll or O'Connell doing that in public or on camera if they win the cup, it's a bit irresponsible in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Fine ban advertising alcohol but also ban all soft drinks, fast food places and toys being advertised by 10pm....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Has anyone mentioned the "nanny state" argument? Is there any balance on this programme tonight!

The anti-ban side has pretty much been taken on by the sports and festivals.

How about the free loaders at the galway tent

Looks like they're going to introduce minimum pricing on alcohol, but put the sponsorship on the long finger.

Let's hope competition rules kick in for minimum pricing and they won't be able to do anything.

token101 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, but do it in private like! You don't want to be seeing O'Driscoll or O'Connell doing that in public or on camera if they win the cup, it's a bit irresponsible in fairness.

Is it the sight of it that you object to, or the contents of the cup?

Would you object if it was filled with red lemonade?

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

Yeah Tom, but it did not stop people smoking...
    more than ever smoked

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    The anti-ban side has pretty much been taken on by the sports and festivals.

And no one listens to them because we know they have a financial agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

fatalll wrote: »
    Yeah Tom, but it did not stop people smoking...
    more than ever smoked

I can see it now on moore street get your smokes and cans 20 euro..:D

Is it the sight of it that you obfect to, or the contents of the cup?

Would you object if it was filled with red lemonade?

The content obviously, but everyone knows or will assume its alcohol. It's just about having a bit of cop on. These guys are role models whether they admit or not. They have to have a little responsibility in public. Asking them too not pour booze all over their face when they win isn't a massive thing.

Will they stop advertising food...cos it makes (Some) people fat!!
    or is that cos they are eating too much

Hmm think il go for a nice ice cold pint of beer quench my thirst..

patwicklow wrote: »
    Hmm think il go for a nice ice cold pint of beer quench my thirst..

Dont forget the Donegal Catch on the way home...

The content obviously, but everyone knows or will assume its alcohol. It's just about having a bit of cop on. These guys are role models whether they admit or not. They have to have a little responsibility in public. Asking them too not pour booze all over their face when they win isn't a massive thing.

Fair points. However this custom has more to do with tradition than sponsorship.

Alcohol sponsorship is banned in France, yet the Formula 1 drivers on the podium after the French Grand Prix still drown each other in Champagne.

And no one listens to them because we know they have a financial agenda.

Wouldn't dismiss them like that. The pros and cons would both would really need to be weighed up. A blanket ban may very well cripple some industries we take for granted. And I don't think the drink culture is influenced much by the advertising to be honest.

If you remove heineken as the chief sponsor of the heineken cup, the fans aren't going to forget what to order when the go to the pub afterwards. It wouldn't fix the problem.

Fair points. However this custom has more to do with tradition than sponsorship.

Alcohol sponsorship is banned in France, yet the Formula 1 drivers on the podium after the French Grand Prix still drown each other in Champagne.

I'd agree, that makes the entire ban pointless!

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

wahey! The nanny state!

bandit197 wrote: »
    wahey! The nanny state!

BINGO!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

The fat necked tie porker strained. We know what is good for you. And you do not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

It's about education of the educators!:rolleyes:
    Everytime there is an event in my kids school they get filled with rubbish, crisps, sweets stuff they don't get at home all that often.

Thats a good point about the restaurants.

If you're out for a nice meal you don't want to be reminded about healthy choices. Its supposed to be a treat.

Fast food places on the other hand should have their food labled.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

James Reilly replaced Mary Harney as --- Health Minister --- Calories -- ha ha ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

i picked the wrong evening to pig out while sitting in front of the tv

Excercise and Parental responsibility...
    No Video Games,less tv, less junk food = normal weight in most cases

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Why do they think you get a cup when you win? It's always been for celebratory drinks, even the Ancient Greeks did that.

But golfers can skull pints after winning or sip champagne, and no-one blinks.

And I wonder will our TDs and Senators show some leadership by closing the Dail Bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

goose2005 wrote: »
    Why do they think you get a cup when you win? It's always been for celebratory drinks, even the Ancient Greeks did that.

But golfers can skull pints after winning or sip champagne, and no-one blinks.

And I wonder will our TDs and Senators show some leadership by closing the Dail Bar?

AND will R.T.E. stop advertising unhealthy food like white bread, cornflakes, chips etc ? Bet not as it comes down to money.