Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dit Architecture Course. 2012

• 13-02-2012 4:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

Hey everyone, i put a 5 year architecture course on my CAO and i have a Suitability test in a couple of months but im not sure what to study at all. Any clues anyone? also what would you think about doing a 5 years course to be a profession architect? Also do you think points will drop down this year?
    Thanks in advance :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭overshoot

Hey everyone, i put a 5 year architecture course on my CAO and i have a Suitability test in a couple of months but im not sure what to study at all. Any clues anyone? also what would you think about doing a 5 years course to be a profession architect? Also do you think points will drop down this year?
    Thanks in advance :)
    wouldnt say the points will change much, remember the DIT points are marked out of 800, 600 LC +100 suitability test, +100interview, (with a minimum of 57 in the test the only extra requirement for acceptance)
    not much you can study for it, they will tell you to write about yourself for a bit, hobbies, intrests etc. there will be boxes with some little shape or a dot and they say draw something from it. the test is a load of ****e really, dont see how it is a valid way of screening people. cant remember too much else about it been many years at this stage. there is someone from the junior years on here, he might be able to help more than me.

interview is easier to prepare for. 2 lecturers, and you should really have a portfolio, the will mostly want to see arty, creative stuff but 1/2 tech drawing pages or cad if you know it wont hurt, they will just flick over them but may buy you a few points. pictures of construction, woodwork, metal work pieces also good, the design of them might count towards creative too. read up on a couple of architects to show an intrest but they wont be expecting a good knowledge. interview could be viewed as purely a points gathering exercise, no need to stress out, i know people have got in with 10

also its 5 years to call yourself an architectural graduate, you must then be able to show you have worked on all 8 stages of a project and do some professional practice exams before you can claim part 3 and join the accreditation awarding RIAI and get use of the title architect.

still want to do it?

well as you saw its 5 years, not too sure if you will get a Bachelor of science in Architecture after 3rd and a Masters of arch after 5th or the current system of full B(arch) (with a possible 6month course to get a masters about to start) after 5. either way you are still in the same position regarding use of the title, its just a matter of the letters after your name.

but thats all the background noise nothing to do with day to day life on the actual course! its not bad, hours gradually ramp up each year, there will be all nighters from third year on, lots of sleep deprivation towards the end of projects in senior cycle so unless your willing to work long hours dont do it! the studio design module will take most of your time with design technology, environemntal, theory, structural modules (professional practice & law in senior years also), most of them are tied into your work in studio.

it would be worth your while doing a few days in an architect's office to see what the profession is like if possible. when up for the interviews wander around the college to see what life is like, (first years are still on the top floor of bolton street above the kings inn entrance, everyone else is across the road in a renovated Linenhall (more renovations over summer will bring first years over and few other changes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Jonathan redomond

Thanks for the above! A great help :)
    I'm still interested but as i live far away , What would be the hours of a typical day for first years. ? is the course laborious and not enjoyable as its too much effort to graduate? Is college life still good when doing this course ? I hear no campus is a turn off , do you become friends with fellow students. ? All nighters from third year???is that to catch up or to keep up to date. ? Are topics hard to understand? Lectures helpful? Did you live nearby ? Did you work part time or when you could? ... I know its a lot to ask but sure , what can i do ! :)

first year is handy enough, ya could easily limit your work to inside college. i went home every weekend in first year and couldnt live much further away. you probably could go home every week,(definately in junior cycle, senior not everyweek) especially of you have a car, personally iv gotton so sick of bus eireann i prefer to stay up.

course has a lot of work, if you like it its enjoyable, if not you will walk away but you wont know untill you try... (thus give an architects office a go)

social life-probably was out twice a week in first year and it gradually dropped off
    you will make plenty of friends dont worry about that

all nighters are due to the nature of the work, you constantly change things until the last minute and then to produce the final drawings for presentations sleep loses out

understanding topics-some can be but its down to the teaching of some lecturers not using plane english. wikipedia goes a long way in these cases. studio lecturers are pretty helpfull alright.

most non dubs(they live at home), live right next to college, plenty of houses around, something like broadstone accomodation might be decent in first year... right next to the college and you will meet people not on the course (nice to have an escape from architecture)... its pricey though in comparison to houses.

on work, iv tended just to work like a bollox and do 60hrs a week in summer and take the weekends off in college (hatred of bus eireann probably the main cause) but plenty do it

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭PaperArchitect

Unlike overshoot, I managed to pack a few all nighters in during first year( actually due to lack of organisation mostly though). I found that I've done far less in second year this year as I'm more organised now but the few I have done have been very necessary, It depends on your work method also and the level of detail you want to get to in your projects.

The test doesn't seem to do what it's meant to do but it does weed people out, although they could be more than capable than those that pass. An essay on why you want to be an architect and an essay about your town, a building or a landscape. They give you a choice. The interview is a method of ensuring prospective students have an interest in architecture. Up until the second semester of second year you could get away without working on weekends but after that you should probably pack the part time job in.

Points probably won't drop anymore; the department puts a limit on how low points can go depending on the test and interview, I'd say that 525 is at it's lowest. Technically, if you get 325 points in your leaving cert. then you have it, provided you get 100 in test and interview to bring you to 525. Good luck.

thanks !! Could you give me an example of a project title? And is it enjoying ? do you party a lot? Is it from nine to five or what hours?

look up the pritzker prize and look around some of the winners there... maybe not gehry, he isnt well liked, his work can be justified but you could well end up digging yourself into a hole, safer to ignore. id say browse about, there is selected works when you go into past laureates profiles., your not expected to know much and if you pretend you do they might start to call your bluff.
    02 winner Glen Murcutt was a visiting lecturer in DIT for a few years, Craig Dykers of Snohetta now has his job.
    your social life will slowly drop off as you go through the years but it wont die. it will take second place to college work though or you wont make it through the course. you will end up going out at the start of projects not at all at the end of them. its a long, hard course and soul destroying (all nighters before hand ups, slaughtered at a crit) at times but you will work out pretty fast if you with its worth it or not.
    studio is open 8am - 10p mon-friday and til 5 on saturdays, and you will work from home and make your own hours really (im doing work right now... easily distracted tho). lectures are spread out and random times.
    heres last years yearbook if ya want a look too

Fair play to ya overshoot !! Il look at the yearbook soon. I'd like to go gym mainly while in college , would there be time? Im put off doing this course after your help and explanations. Id love a career helping people reflect who they are or to solve a function requirement for people elegantlt through builings and landscape. I like working with people also. I wouldn mind sitting at a computer trying to work it out . Would this be for me do you think? Also , list some Positives of college and the course surely there are some perks afterall;)

well there is a small gym in the building you will be in, the ben dunne one on wolfe tone square is huge though and decent value if you use it. trip there is great for clearing the head.
    architects are nearly generalists, (although you can specialise) you have a good knowledge of structural systems, detailing, materials, environmental, working with context and all these gradually develop over the course. its one giant problem solving game in some ways, finding a balance between it all and your own architectural idea for the project too. you look at other years work in first year and think how but you just make the step each year.

senior cycle you will see history theory criticism module, (tied into studio in final year) its great for developing how you think about things, basic critical awareness of your own work. if you can ask yourself the key questions and realise why things are so, it makes it easier to ask others their position and re-evaulate their stance.

i would say get into a architects office for a few days, while the workload is intense in college, its not as bad when you enjoy what your doing. you will only find it out through experience, you either like the challenge or not. its great when you finally get things to start falling into place and get the finished article.
    while the hours are long, studio, where you will spent most of your day is good fun, basic banter etc. you become good friends with everyone in the year, its almost impossible not to (unless you dont like em;))
    Id love a career helping people reflect who they are or to solve a function requirement for people elegantlt through builings and landscape.
    ^^that really is well towards what an architect should be doing, designing to suit the users, understanding their needs and pointing out things they wont have seen in bungalow bliss (its a book a huge chunk of houses in the country are probably based on)

fantastic stuff overshoot , ive an intro about DT101 march 3rd . Might have more questions then! thanks..!

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Open A

When I studied architecture in UCD roughly half the students had failed the aptitude test for DIT. Only 20% 'passed', its just a method for them to interview less people. Also, some that had passed had been able to get a copy of the test of their career guidance teachers. Might be worth trying the net, or failing that, ask DIT for past tests.

The course is hard - nightmare if its not for you, but one of the most rewarding experiences you'll have if it is. Keep up the research!

Thanks a million :) What are the rewards you speak about ? Is UCD is a good college?

I thought UCD was great, but a bit of a rollercoaster. When your project is going well its brilliant, but when your work is ripped apart infront of a room full of your peers its pretty rough.

The best thing you can do is sit in on a few 'crits' where students pin up their work, describe it and there is discussion and feedback. Just call Richview / DIT to see if you can arrange.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭PaperArchitect

You'll still have time for the gym but you'll have to be disciplined with time management and coming up to finals you'll probably forget about working out as your body will be destroyed from all nighters.

There are a lot of positives like overshot as pointed out. When you have a great crit, it keeps you elevated for a few days; but a bad one can push you down for a while too. I find if your confident with your project and you have strong ideas to why the project is a certain way, then it is usually received well by the lecturers. UCD is as good a college as DIT, they are both equally worth considering.

and do you still have good breaks such as christmas hols etc. its seems no fun , really busy and no time for anything but architecture. good rewards after it of course. ill have to go work exp to see for myself. thanks again 4 ur comments

some years you get work some years over christmas, others you dont, you should knock it all out in a week tho and your off for a few weeks. as the course is mostly continous assesment its a fairly handy few weeks after too when everyone else is doing exams. if you can focus and avoid distractions(im tempted to close my boards account for a bit;)) you have plenty of time for other stuff. gym is no bother except for maybe the final week of a project which is about 4 times a year
    mid term (usually semester 2) is the college trip, optional but its advisable, 90+% go. drink all night look at buildings during the day, power nap do it all again of that cheap cheap european drink! savage craic.
    Limerick is also worth considering, they had their first graduates last year and are investing a good bit of money in the course. developing a very good set up down there

• Registered Users Posts: 6 alexandropolis

Can someone give me more relevant examples of the suitability test?
    Is it a computer-based or a paper-based test?
    How many questions are there?
    Type of questions (except the essay)?

Thank you!

If someone will take the test this week, we can discuss the answers after that.
    I really don't know what to expect... I haven't been on any of these 'open days' at DIT and I am very nervous.

unless its changed in the last 5 years the test is a load of bull!
    but anyway, paper based, no computers. struggling to remember it but essay is write about yourself for a while till we tell you to stop.
    there are a load of boxes with a dot, line, some sort of little shape and its draw something.
    hmm struggling to think of more. its not a formal right/wrong test

That's why I was hoping for more info.
    Does anyone have some example tests... or some links with tests which are close to this one?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 RockMySocks

Hey, I have architecture down in DIT and just got a letter to say I got an interview on the 14th and that I need a portfolio. Haven't a clue what to put into it... They say you can include drawings. Do they have to be of buildings or of anything? Also, what are the hours for it? What's the male/female ratio? And also is there an erasmus year? Any other info you could give me would be much appreciated too! Thanks!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Hey, I have architecture down in DIT and just got a letter to say I got an interview on the 14th and that I need a portfolio. Haven't a clue what to put into it... They say you can include drawings. Do they have to be of buildings or of anything? Also, what are the hours for it? What's the male/female ratio? And also is there an erasmus year? Any other info you could give me would be much appreciated too! Thanks!

Already being discussed here: http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056548095?page=2#post_78341188 op

Do a search next time to make sure your nor doubling up.

Would you like me too merge the two threads or do you want me to just close this one?

Oh yea, I saw that. It didn't really answer my questions though, since it was mostly discussing the suitability test, which I've already done.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Oh yea, I saw that. It didn't really answer my questions though, since it was mostly discussing the suitability test, which I've already done.

Well I'm gonna merge the two, no point having two threads on the same course

im pretty sure iv done this before so keep looking for a more detailed answer cos im gonna be quick here.
    portfolio anything at all, cad/tech drawing will be glanced over but will buy you a few points, included anthing that shows creativity, i had woodwork stuff even. drawings of anything, had some buildings to paintings of flowers, just abiltiy in these things is what they are looking for. dont be to worried about it either, no cut off like the suitability. if you have done a ucas one they are the same
    have a look at some architects to show you have a interest. look up the riba sterling prize and better the pritzker prize.
    hours - gets worse as it goes, iv definately covered that in another thread... on the verge of deleting my boards account for a few weeks atm! you will do allnighters unless you are the most prepared person in the world! 1st year is handy enough though but decide if its for you fast, torture in places
    yea there is erasmus, link ups with various college in france, germany america etc. used to be mainly 4th year but think its expanded now

Thank you! That's very helpful! Do you know anything about the gender balance in architecture? I heard DIT Bolton street is a bit of a 'sausage fest', but wonder is that more cos of the engineering courses..?

more in bolton street than the likes of mountjoy alright (but you will be going there for books anyway (interior arch is there). not exactly a scarcity of girls tho
    arch is close enough on 50/50, maybe slightly more men (60/40). your by the time you start you will be in Linenhall across the road, only 1st year technology & arch not there atm. few FáS trades too, maybe 1 girl between the lot usually but we are all on different levels, and each group of them passes in a few months. UCD arch is also away in a separate building from the rest of its college.

in fairness if thats your priority going to college you got problems! your in dublin anyway for christ sake its not like there is a shortage in the city

Hey,
    What did the test look like last week?
    I will sit it next week. I had an extension of time as I am an international student.
    Are there any questions which you remember?
    Please give me some examples!!! :) PLEASE.... I am sooo nervous...

• Registered Users Posts: 31 dath

If ye are still interested, the final reviews for 5th year will be on this week. Would be the best time to see what the course is all about before you commit. PM me if you want details.

How did your test go, Jonathan?

Sorry For late reply.
    I got 60/100 in Written Exam. Exam not quite what I had anticipated but okay result :P

Although , my Interview didn't go well , in DIT. I had to wait hours, I can live with that but i Scored 40/100. I didn't really have one famous architect to talk about also my repertoire was minimal conversation didn't really maximise what I was capable of producing.

My portfolio was too basic and I should have brought in my Junior cert wood project , a very decorative and functional and would have helped me achieve more marks and impressed them . I gained good experience from my disappointment and i hope others may benefit from reading this. Also if they need to know about Written Test , just ask .

My leaving came , and past , now results have nearly arrived. My yeargroup wasn't spectacular as a bunch , and If i did TY like my 99% of my friends i would have done better I feel. Chemistry and Irish were really hard . Plus with Project maths , and other issues not to be discussed , I just hope i can salvage something. 350 points would be okay , not architecture but , a course anyway. I can see how people can be stressed and un happy at times, The Leaving Cert is a game, don't let it play you. I learned this one most important thing. Scoring high LC points isn't sitting down saying nothing in class. It can be having great craic especially when teachers are cool , but simply take down notes and go home and read them and do homework after . Trust me, If i could have kept on top of things and not crammed badly , I would have. Makes life less stressful in the long run!