Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pod is gone ?

• 12-02-2012 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭

Lot of messages on FB saying it's closed

Is this true ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭francois

dubsbhoy wrote: »
    Lot of messages on FB saying it's closed

Is this true ?

apparently so, was in a few newspapers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Im devastated :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Been bought up by a consortium who are going to gut the place and turn it into a "Wright Venue-style Superclub" apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

T'was a load of balls anyways. Long live the pepper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SmallBalls

T'was a load of balls anyways. Long live the pepper!

Whatever you think of the clientele or the music policy,
    Dublins a lesser place when venues like this close :(

SmallBalls wrote: »

I felt the very same way when the ASYLUM closed, didnt you;)

Less venues = bad news for everyone.

Hmmm, not really. The pod I hadn't attended in years but any reports I'd heard from people going had been dire and the tripod was truly one of the worst venues for bands I have ever encountered.

Less venues = bad news for everyone.

Yes, that would be accurate seeing as everyone encompasses all types of people that like all types of music, but i would content that the POD represented the very commercialisation & snobbery around electronic music that almost all lovers of the music detest, so looking at it from a promotion of quality music, and advancment of electronic music in its own right in dublin perspective, i dont think it will be a major loss.

It doesnt quite get you in the gut the news now does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Yes, that would be accurate seeing as everyone encompasses all types of people that like all types of music, but i would content that the POD represented the very commercialisation & snobbery around electronic music that almost all lovers of the music detest, so looking at it from a promotion of quality music, and advancment of electronic music in its own right in dublin perspective, i dont think it will be a major loss.

Well that crowd has to go somewhere....so over the next few years expect to see the TP taking in a lot of the crowd, a lot of the gigs and slowly but surely becoming what the POD used to be.

Cash money calling.

To be honest, while i like the TP as a venue and have great memories of both playing and attending gigs there I'd like to see a couple of more places springing up.

Pretty much every bass music, dubstep, dnb and associated gig happening in there is, frankly, boring...and has been for a while.

I understand why people do it...but still.

Hmmm, not really. The pod I hadn't attended in years but any reports I'd heard from people going had been dire and the tripod was truly one of the worst venues for bands I have ever encountered.

Don't get me wrong I'd no love for the place meself, the last
    time I was there was maybe 2-3 years ago and remember it
    being fairly poo with little or no atmosphere.

But a healthy vibrant scene needs all types of venues for all types
    of crowds. We all love electronic music and clubs closing down no matter
    what genre you're in to is bad news for the whole scene.

Bull**** tbh. There was loads of great music in there over the years and yeah there was plenty of rubbish in there over the years as well, that's the same with all venues; nobody likes EVERYTHING and when you have a venue as large as a place like Tripod you have to get bums on seats and fill the place or you go bust.

And the irony of you being snobby about a venue that you accuse of snobbery might be lost on you, but it sure isn't lost on the rest of us by the way.

And if you mention the Asylum, Sides DC or the Olympic ballroom in your next post, or indeed if you use the word "rave" and spell it with a capital R then I'll have to thank the gods that the technology to beam through the internet and give someone a well deserved slap has yet to be invented.

Bull**** tbh. There was loads of great music in there over the years and yeah there was plenty of rubbish in there over the years as well, that's the same with all venues; nobody likes EVERYTHING and when you have a venue as large as a place like Tripod you have to get bums on seats and fill the place or you go bust.

And the irony of you being snobby about a venue that you accuse of snobbery might be lost on you, but it sure isn't lost on the rest of us by the way.

Ah well you see thats where your wrong horse, all power to anyone who goes anywhere for their kicks, just pointing out that it is not a major loss to Electronic music that a commercialised venue has closed.

I certainly aint no snob:)
    And if you mention the Asylum, Sides DC or the Olympic ballroom in your next post, or indeed if you use the word "rave" and spell it with a capital R then I'll have to thank the gods that the technology to beam through the internet and give someone a well deserved slap has yet to be invented.

Ye but the Rave that was played in the Asylum, Sides DC & Olympic was groundbreaking & full of energy.

So a club should stay open even if it's long gone past its sell by date, which was unable to draw the crowds in, had a terrible reputation because of the security that worked there and the promoters ran nights there because it helps a scene? I can't really think of anything positive about the Pod in recent years. 10-15 years ago it might have had some importance in Ireland but the last couple of years it's been sh¡t from all accounts.

I'm probably getting too old to buy into the notion of an over-riding scene that should be protected but then tbf I'm not really the target audience for most promoters. For the couple of times every year I go out clubbing, the Twisted Pepper has never let me down. Can't say I've found it boring like LF but I suppose I'm not going out enough to it to get jaded

Will the influx of people who use to go to the Pod dilute the atmosphere in the TP? Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Tripod got in the commercial DJs but I've seen plenty of acts downstairs with an amazing atmosphere in POD and Crawdaddy over the past few years who certainly wouldn't be commercial. Always thought it was a far more enjoyable place to see a DJ there than the Twisted Pepper, which I think is overrated - besides the amazing sound system it's always cramped and like a sweatbox when there's a big booking, very hard to move around in too. The smoking area is also a horrible experience.

Jello wrote: »
    besides the amazing sound system it's always cramped and like a sweatbox when there's a big booking, very hard to move around in too. The smoking area is also a horrible experience.

Wow, sounds just like the Asylum, which was an amazing Rave experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

as a fan of the TP my only concern is that it will now maybe attract more of the crowd I avoided by not going to Tripod/POD/whatever. is that logical/fair?

Wow, sounds just like the Asylum, which was an amazing Rave experience!

I reckon you'd actually really enjoy the TP, Is mise.

Well as someone who puts on nights in the TP and who needs bums on seats to continue putting on nights in the TP I just want a full dancefloor for every gig I play at and every night I put on.

It's not like any of the various promoters who deal with the TP are going to magically start putting on different music and pissing off the regulars just to attract the Pod crowd anyway...

Might be a boost for venues like the Cavern, the Mezz, the Kitchen etc etc though - three perfectly decent venues that just need a bit of a buzz about them. (and some beefier soundsystems).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Rastapitts

So a club should stay open even if it's long gone past its sell by date, which was unable to draw the crowds in, had a terrible reputation because of the security that worked there and the promoters ran nights there because it helps a scene? I can't really think of anything positive about the Pod in recent years. 10-15 years ago it might have had some importance in Ireland but the last couple of years it's been sh¡t from all accounts.

I agree that it's best days are well behind it, just means there'll
    be less DJ's visiting which is always a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭gsparx

Seems these places have a certain shelf life. Think Ormonde, Temple of Sound, Sides, RedBox, Spirit, The Kitchen etc.
    Twisted Pepper could be next to go lads. ;)
    I wasn't in love with the place but I think it was always good to have that option there if you wanted it. Had some good clubbing and live music nights there.
    The more options the better.
    The last thing this city needs is yet another chart music venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Sad to see and it appears the Dublin club scene is in decline and has been for a good while now with only a very small few clubs left.

The POD was always snobby but the music there was superb in the mid 90's club classics and vintage house i used to go there the odd time and despite the influx of D4 heads the atmosphere was always good but as years went on the nazis on the door become more and more selective so fu*k that.

As for the Red Box, i had some amazing nights there from Carl Cox to Sasha and Digweed to Underworld to MTV Music party i could list hundreds, again as time went on and new bouncers came on the door and they were right cun*s, it was never the same when it reopened as Tripod although i did have the occasional top night there, regardless everyone is going to have their own opinions, IMO it was never as good as legendary clubs like Sides, Asylum and the Ormond but the Red Box/POD did have many memorable nights and it is a big loss to clubbing in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Does anyone remember Sasha & Digweed in the Red box around 96, it was an epic night and i don't think ive ever seen it so packed, i used to love it when they had the access all areas when you could wander between the Red Box to the POD and the other small place cant think of the name of it, the MTV Dance party with Carl Cox in the Red Box and Pete Tong in the POD around 97/98 was another memorable night.

In the DJ Box with Dave Clarke around 97 after blagging our way backstage mad out of it was another mad one :)

Alistair Whitehead in the POD 95, CJ Mackintosh in 95 too great nights.

Has anyone any footage from any of the nights??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Been bought up by a consortium who are going to gut the place and turn it into a "Wright Venue-style Superclub" apparently.
    "Wrights for boggers," is what I've heard through the grapevine. Will be avoiding Harcourt Street like the plague in times to come.

Might be a boost for venues like the Cavern, the Mezz, the Kitchen etc etc though - three perfectly decent venues that just need a bit of a buzz about them. (and some beefier soundsystems).

I really like the Cavern i must say, nice little spot, decent enough system as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I was in the Mezz or whatever it's called before Christmas - was surprised how much of an improvement it was down there - a whole new back room. Still didn't get a great feeling from the place though, smell of pish is hard to get rid of...

My question is this - why aren't there more decent gigs in the Button Factory? Nice setup there now, a little wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭gsparx

joker77 wrote: »
    My question is this - why aren't there more decent gigs in the Button Factory? Nice setup there now, a little wasted.

https://www.facebook.com/PODDance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

joker77 wrote: »

yea button factory great for gigs, sound can be sh!t sometimes though.

also noticed at jeff mills that one of their fire exits was shut tight, thought that was well dodgy, said it to the security, who didnt seem too bothered, wonder are all the fire exits locked in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

brianc27 wrote: »

also noticed at jeff mills that one of their fire exits was shut tight, thought that was well dodgy, said it to the security, who didnt seem too bothered, wonder are all the fire exits locked in there.

You should email them, that really not acceptable. Today is the anniversary of the stardust and I thought we've moved on from carry on like that

actually completely slipped my mind til i saw the post here about the button factory being great for gigs, 4 of us tried opening it and it wouldnt budge, was the emergency exit up near the stage

Which is a ****ing disaster if something goes wrong. It's where most people are and where most people are facing.

Dumbasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭francois

Was nothing learned from the Stardust? I'd mail them at fire@dublincity.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭stoksyXL

Speaking of the old days in the pod/redbox.

Did anyone ever hear the story about Johnny Moy having a poo in the dj box in the redbox during his set there one night? That's how he got the name of Johnny "sh*t in the box" Moy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

That opens out onto the street right? I'd reckon they keep it closed so people can't let their mates in from the street. I'm sure there's a pretty quick way to get it open if something happened.

I can't at all see the Twisted Pepper 'becoming more commercial and turning into the Pod'. The people booking the gigs now are going to be doing so for the forseeable future, and their not going to magicly start liking shit music.

Definitely sad to see it go. There was some good stuff on there, especially the live stuff in Crawdaddy booked by Pod, and that isn't really going to have anywhere to go now. Every time I went in over the last year, I spotted about 10 problems that could have been fixed in a few minutes, stupid things like the lights not being turned on etc. That kind of attention to detail would IMO have kept the place open longer, even if it doesn't translate directly into money on paper. Would have encouraged me to go more often anyway.

That opens out onto the street right? I'd reckon they keep it closed so people can't let their mates in from the street. I'm sure there's a pretty quick way to get it open if something happened.

yea it does, well four of us couldnt budge it and if theres a nack to getting it open people can hardly wait around in an emergency for one of the security to come along and open it, it supposed to open with 1 easy push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

jonnny68 wrote: »
    As for the Red Box, i had some amazing nights there from Carl Cox to Sasha and Digweed to Underworld to MTV Music party i could list hundreds, again as time went on and new bouncers came on the door and they were right cun*s, it was never the same when it reopened as Tripod n.

Too right. I havent been home in years but I thought the sound system in the refurbished Tripod wasnt a patch on the Red Box. The bass there used to go through you.

Just on the fire exit, there are very strict legislative guidelines on emergency exit doors, they have to be able to be opened by Anyone, not just staff, they are required to have panic latch across the door so it is easy to find if you are in smoke & cant really see the door or are in distress, they must open outwards & cannot have an auto close swing bar on the top.

My guess would be that they have them locked because they are also required to trigger fire alarm if they are opened & they dont want anyone opening the door mid flow of a gig & setting off an alarm, Now they could disarm the alarm which would make it irrelevant if the door was opened, but they would put the entire fire system down doing this, only alarm enginneers would be experienced/trained to isolate one zone only & they would not do that for anyone except during tests.

They would need to have the entire system rigged up correctly for auditing reasons so it appears they are just taking a huge fúcking risk by having this door locked, whatever way they are doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Is this a poem?

ThirdMan wrote: »
    Is this a poem?

A paean to mediocrity and poo

ThirdMan wrote: »
    Is this a poem?

Killer input ThirdMan, well done :rolleyes:

There was a club called the Pod,
    It died, it died!
    People said it was great,
    They lied, they lied!
    Why, oh why is that club dead,
    Couldn't they kill the Wright Venue instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

There was a club called the Pod,
    It died, it died!
    People said it was great,
    They lied, they lied!
    Why, oh why is that club dead,
    Couldn't they kill the Wright Venue instead?

yer man Skrillex would put some well tasty dubstep to go with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Fitze

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember Sasha & Digweed in the Red box around 96, it was an epic night and i don't think ive ever seen it so packed, i used to love it when they had the access all areas when you could wander between the Red Box to the POD and the other small place cant think of the name of it, the MTV Dance party with Carl Cox in the Red Box and Pete Tong in the POD around 97/98 was another memorable night.

In the DJ Box with Dave Clarke around 97 after blagging our way backstage mad out of it was another mad one :)

Alistair Whitehead in the POD 95, CJ Mackintosh in 95 too great nights.

Has anyone any footage from any of the nights??

Certainly do mate, think i was in there with your good self..

What about Renaissance in the POD Xmas 95, one of the best club nites i ever had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Fitze wrote: »
    Certainly do mate, think i was in there with your good self..

What about Renaissance in the POD Xmas 95, one of the best club nites i ever had

'94 was way better.

ianuss wrote: »
    '94 was way better.

You obviously missed '93…

Fitze wrote: »
    Xmas 95, one of the best club nites i ever had
    ianuss wrote: »
    '94 was way better.
    You obviously missed '93…

Ah, i missed them all, i was sweating my balls off in the Asylum them years to some serious hard trance Rave:D