Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2012 on Setanta Ireland

• 11-02-2012 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭

For those wondering if this year's races would be on Setanta Ireland (free on UPC / eircom) or Setanta Sports 1 (subscription), they have tweeted that the races will be predominantly on Setanta Ireland but it is possible that a couple of races will be on Setanta Sports 1.

https://twitter.com/#!/SetantaSports/status/168338918083796993

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭cocalolaman

Well I only have Setanta Ireland. Fecking miserable what is happening to F1 broadcasting today. When I saw the ad on setanta ireland I thought it meant every race live. Once again I'm wrong in thinking that bernie isn't as greedy as I thought it would be. Can't wait to see his ratings plummet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Hopefully any races on Setanta Sports 1 will coincide with the BBC's race showing. Feckin' mess of a system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭smurf22

EnterNow wrote: »
    Hopefully any races on Setanta Sports 1 will coincide with the BBC's race showing. Feckin' mess of a system.

Oh it will coincide with bbc's race showing.

Setanta will show the races on SS1 when the races arent being shown on bbc in order to try con people into paying money for a channel that no one has any intrest in.

Its the reason why they havent confirmed what races will be on Setanta Ireland and which will be on SS1, because their waiting to see which races bbc will or will not be showing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭douglasman

smurf22 wrote: »

Setanta will show the races on SS1 when the races arent being shown on bbc in order to try con people into paying money for a channel that no one has any intrest in.

Its the reason why they havent confirmed what races will be on Setanta Ireland and which will be on SS1, because their waiting to see which races bbc will or will not be showing.

The BBC race calendar as to which races they are showing live and which are highlights is already decided. See

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/formula1/race-calendar/

What commentary Setanta use will be interesting as even though the BBC commentators Ben Edwards and David Coulthard will commentate live on all 20 races, I doubt the BBC will want Setanta having access to the commentary for the 10 races that the BBC itself isn't transmitting live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

douglasman wrote: »
    The BBC race calendar as to which races they are showing live and which are highlights is already decided. See

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/formula1/race-calendar/

What commentary Setanta use will be interesting as even though the BBC commentators Ben Edwards and David Coulthard will commentate live on all 20 races, I doubt the BBC will want Setanta having access to the commentary for the 10 races that the BBC itself isn't transmitting live.

But the BBC dont care about the Rep of Ireland as technically we view it illegally. You cant view Setanta in Britain as far as I'm aware. It went bust over there.

Unless you get an Irish viewing card or whatever its called :o (have a cable system so not interested)

But the BBC dont care about the Rep of Ireland as technically we view it illegally. You cant view Setanta in Britain as far as I'm aware. It went bust over there.

Unless you get an Irish viewing card or whatever its called :o (have a cable system so not interested)

BBC One HD is on my Sky Republic of Ireland subscription, so most definitely no illegal viewing going on there. Indeed Setanta is long gone from the UK, I was amazed they kept it on here to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Infoanon

But the BBC dont care about the Rep of Ireland as technically we view it illegally.

Completely legal - Irish/UK government agreement guarantees that BBC is available in the Republic of Ireland.

BBC is paid by UPC & Sky for carriage on their networks.

F1 - Setanta have stated that the 'vast majority' of races will be on Setanta Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Setanta will use whatever FOM provide as the live world feed. Last year it was the BBC coverage but I havent seen an announcement of who will provide it in 2012

frostie500 wrote: »
    Setanta will use whatever FOM provide as the live world feed. Last year it was the BBC coverage but I havent seen an announcement of who will provide it in 2012

FOM only provide the TV pictures. It is up to each broadcaster either to provide their own commentary or take someone else's commentary as they did with the BBC last year. As I said, the situation is complicated this year as the British public will not be able to hear Ben Edwards and David Coulthard commentating live for half the races so it would be ironic if the Irish public did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

very messy as regards the coverage. i was hoping that setanta will cover all the races , anyway i still prefer the bbc to setanta

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

FOM only provide the TV pictures. It is up to each broadcaster either to provide their own commentary or take someone else's commentary as they did with the BBC last year. As I said, the situation is complicated this year as the British public will not be able to hear Ben Edwards and David Coulthard commentating live for half the races so it would be ironic if the Irish public did!

The word on that front is that there was a clause in Sky's contract requiring it to provide its commentary to the BBC, if the BBC wanted it (it doesn't). It'd be even more ironic if it was Sky's commentary being heard on their former arch-rivals Setanta, but that may indeed be the situation we find ourselves in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The world feed I would say and that will be Sky
    But the BBC dont care about the Rep of Ireland as technically we view it illegally.

Nonsense. It is perfectly legal for anyone to view FTA broadcasts

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    The world feed I would say and that will be Sky

The FOM feed is only TV pictures and the sound of F1 cars, nothing else. FOM don't provide commentary of any kind. That's up to individual broadcasters to sort out for themselves, either by providing their own commentators or by paying another broadcaster in order to use their commentators, like Setanta did with the BBC last year. If Setanta do a deal with Sky for David Croft and Martin Brundle commentary, they will have to pay Sky for that service and it won't come cheap! It will be interesting to see what Sky do anyway, I will have access to Sky Sports F1 HD when it launches so looking forward to every F1 session in HD for the first time for me, BBC only covered qualifying and race in HD, with practice in SD which I was disappointed about last year. I don't get Setanta in HD as I don't have cable, but I wonder if Setanta will take the cheaper FOM SD feed or the more expensive HD feed that only their cable viewers would be able to see anyway. Was it the SD feed that they used last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭godihatedehills

smurf22 wrote: »

Setanta will have all the races on Setanta Ireland. They always do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Setanta will have all the races on Setanta Ireland. They always do.

Actually they dont ! but as per Setanta's official statement re 2012 coverage, the 'vast majority' of the races will be on Setanta Ireland.

Only time will tell - back to ads interrupting every few minutes as well and no build up or after race coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

FOM now provide the world feed with English Commentry. Uk, Ireland, south Africa, Australia, NZ all took FOM Commentry.

afatbollix wrote: »
    FOM now provide the world feed with English Commentry. Uk, Ireland, south Africa, Australia, NZ all took FOM Commentry.

FOM do not provide any commentary. The BBC provided commentary to those countries and the BBC charged a fee to all those countries broadcasters to receive their commentary last year. Martin Brundle and David Coulthard were BBC contracted commentators in 2011 and did not work for FOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

But the FOM contracted the BBC to do it.... It was on the world feed on tracks 3 & 4... Trust me I work for europes biggest sports channel I know what they send.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

I cant see why Setanta cant do practice aswell. That would really put two fingers up to sky! Shame we will have a second rate product all because of UPC. Tim eto move on I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I cant see why Setanta cant do practice aswell. That would really put two fingers up to sky! Shame we will have a second rate product all because of UPC. Tim eto move on I think

They don't do practice!:(:eek: Never knew that! Whats the story with the BBC and practice? Are they going to wait until Sunday and show highlights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

They don't do practice!:(:eek: Never knew that! Whats the story with the BBC and practice? Are they going to wait until Sunday and show highlights?

For the 10 live races its the same as last year and lookin at their website for the other 10 it looks like its just extended quali on saturday eve and extended race on sunday
    BBC:Other races

Extended highlights (90 mins) on BBC One and BBC One HD, 1700 for European time zone races and (120 mins) 1400 for early morning races

Qualifying: Extended highlights (75 mins) BBC One and BBC One HD, Saturdays at 1730 for European time zone races and 1300 for early morning races

(Hungarian Grand Prix qualifying and highlights will be on BBC Two and BBC HD)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

Also confirmed that they will be showing Practice as well as qualifying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭godihatedehills

Also confirmed that they will be showing Practice as well as qualifying

more details here: http://www.setanta.com/f1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i would like to take on setanta, they say no contract, which we can leave at any time,
    but the last time i had setanta and wanted to leave, i spent six months arguing with them to drop me, even though my contract at that time was for just 12 months, and my 12 months was truly up at that time,this is what puts me off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭WoundedRhino

I got UPC specifically to watch this season's F1, but saw an ad recently saying that if you're viewing F1 on Setanta you need to get a "Pit Pass" for 9.99E a month. Anyone know anything about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Thats only for setanta on sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I got UPC specifically to watch this season's F1, but saw an ad recently saying that if you're viewing F1 on Setanta you need to get a "Pit Pass" for 9.99E a month. Anyone know anything about this?

That's only for those with Sky who don't already have a Setanta subscription.

See here:

http://www.setanta.com/f1

UPC viewers can view at no extra cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭WoundedRhino

Score :-D

Thanks guys. Bring on the new season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭marco2068

recyclebin wrote: »
    That's only for those with Sky who don't already have a Setanta subscription.

See here:

http://www.setanta.com/f1

UPC viewers can view at no extra cost.

does this give you setanta1 as well does any one know?

As the f1 is only on setanta ireland, i would be worried that they won't trow in set1 for the nascar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

On Sky you have to take both Setanta channels. You do not have the option to subscribe to just one of their channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

For those of you on UPC, The F1 show is on Sky One at the moment. I know the UPC subscribers are mainly limited to the Setanta channel but at least there's something else to feed off when BBC aren't showing the practice replays (I know they do show it if you have Freesat too but at least this you can digital+ Sky One) ...let's hope Sky keep showing this on Sky One late on a Friday evening. :)

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Is Setanta stuck on a black screen for anone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

doubledown wrote: »
    Is Setanta stuck on a black screen for anone else?

Yep black screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭4ndroid

Ah for gods sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Black screen also. Setanta online is working for me though so clearly Setanta have a working feed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭edgy

Yeah same. Saw the opening credits, and a black screen since

Found a dodgy Sky stream for the moment. Hope this doesn't happen tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Black screen here too. Listening to bbc 5 live extra on mobile now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭acejeff

Sellotanta Sports strikes again!! Frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Inbox wrote: »
    Black screen here too. Listening to bbc 5 live extra on mobile now :(

Blank screen for me too. Very frustrating. Does anyone know what the story is? I presume setanta are blocking it deliberately. Fcuk all point in getting up to watch the race if setanta are acting the maggot this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hoarder

black screen too. Do we think that you have to buy the €9.99 package after all...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Found a pretty good river for that Session. Obviously wouldn't provide the link here. It was certainly for Race Fans Only

If you have a good one I actually enjoy the banter

Hopefully won't need it for the race tomorrow, and Setanta will get their act together. Bit pi$$ed off they didn't even put up a screen apologising for the interruption in service. I wonder if they missed a payment??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭rua1972

Just watched the quali through setanta online, no black screens here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Veloce wrote: »
    Blank screen for me too. Very frustrating. Does anyone know what the story is? I presume setanta are blocking it deliberately. Fcuk all point in getting up to watch the race if setanta are acting the maggot this way.

If they were blocking it deliberately, I would have thought that it have appeared in the info banner that it wasn't available to me, a bit like on ITV4 sometimes it says this programme is not available to viewers in ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭alang184

I presume setanta are blocking it deliberately.

There was supposed to be some live cricket or something on Setanta 1. This was not on Setanta Ireland, so I assume the cricket was still shown on Setanta 1. If that's true, then with regards the F1, to me it indicates either a technical problem, or maybe more likely a last-minute legal issue; maybe Sky Ireland kicking up a fuss about some kind of loophole.

All I'm thinking about now is the damn race tomorrow; should I even bother getting up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

Setanta online is working

Is it free access? Can you share details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

alang184 wrote: »
    I presume setanta are blocking it deliberately.
    All I'm thinking about now is the damn race tomorrow; should I even bother getting up.

I'm thinking the same. I'm pissed off bad enough as it is with the qualifying not been shown.

As said above you would think they would put a text on screen explaining what the fcucking problem is??

There wasn't a peep out of them. No graphic on screen. No apology. No explanation. Bad form. I hope they get it sorted for tomorrow.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭alang184

As said above you would think they would put a text on screen explaining what the fcucking problem is??

That's why I'm thinking it's some kind of last-minute legal issue.

If "Arsenal v Man Utd '97/98" (oh can't wait) begins at 0930 on the dot, then it seems pretty clear to me it's not a technical issue (especially since a previous poster said they had the feed online).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

zom wrote: »
    Is it free access? Can you share details?

Only for eircom broadband customers. The live feed is there and also a catch-up service.