Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fears that Limerick Gang may set Tallaght ablaze!

• 10-02-2012 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

Fears gang may ‘set Tallaght on fire’ after killing

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/fears-gang-may-set-tallaght-on-fire-after-killing-183184.html#ixzz1ltJq864Z
    Gardaí fear a notorious Limerick gang might head to Dublin and "set Tallaght on fire" in revenge for the murder of Melanie McCarthy, 16.
    Officers are organising extra patrols around the south-west Dublin suburb, while detectives in Limerick are gathering intelligence on the McCarthy-Dundon gang.

Gardaí suspect that Melanie, who also went by her mother’s surname McNamara, was not the intended target.

She was a back-seat passenger in a stationary car on Brookview Way in west Tallaght at about 10.35pm on Tuesday when a 4x4 pulled up.

A gunman took out a shotgun and fired twice into the car, hitting Melanie once in the head.

Detectives suspect her 21-year-old boyfriend, who was in the back of the car with her, may have been the intended target.

Melanie’s father is related to Larry McCarthy Jr, a settled Traveller from Limerick who served a jail sentence in Britain for firearms.

Her boyfriend’s family is also related to the McCarthy-Dundon family.

Officers believe the attack may have been carried out by a criminal gang in Tallaght in revenge for the murder of a man in the area in 2009.

This gang suspect that a Traveller gang in the Brookfield/Fettercairn area was behind the 2009 murder, and Tuesday night’s attack may have been in retaliation.

Gardaí are investigating if a hitman from Ballyfermot, used by the criminal gang, was involved.

Detectives said this gang had been "lashing back" at the Traveller gang in recent months, including with pipe bomb attacks.

A respected drug activist in the area said there had been reports for some time that a Traveller gang was "going to war" against a rival gang.

This community worker said: "Guns are everywhere and gangs will resort to using them at the drop of a hat. The fabric of society that was there is gradually being eroded, which is being exacerbated by the removal of supports that were there for communities."

There are reports that Melanie will be buried in the family grave in Limerick.

Her family described her as an "innocent child" who was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

This is pretty scary, anyone think it could happen? I can't imagine they'd go to war in the middle of the streets. It's so tragic that a 16 year old was killed, poor child didn't deserve that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Good might improve the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Could do hundreds of euro worth of damage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Nice addition to newspaper headline, DD!

As long as they can keep them out of Tallaght and shepherd them all off to some secluded field to blow each other to bits, there might be a plus side to this yet - two gangs wiped out in one go ?

Too much to hope for ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Tallaght should kick Limerick in the nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Her boyfriend was 21 and she was 16?

Ew...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Could do hundreds of euro worth of damage

Only if they manage to get the social welfare hut.

Ew...
    Halve his age, add 6...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Halve his age, add 6...
    it's +7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Halve his age, add 6...

that doesnt apply if you're cousins though

it's +7
    Not in Tallaght

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Ew...
    They're related too - though it's not clear if it's by blood.
    Different culture really. They might see nothing wrong with that but think having several partners is shocking or even sex before marriage.
    If that channel 4 documentary I saw hasn't misled me that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Its like the crusades all over again:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭elvis99

Ew...

Finally someone pointed out how fúcked up this is, im 21 and the thought of roidin a 16yo makes me feel like gary glitter

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Ohh noo, not Tallaght :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

krudler wrote: »
    that doesnt apply if you're cousins though

Who said they're cousins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Can we not just suspend the justice system for a few days and purge the bloody country of these monkeys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Why cant they all just be friends and play together.
    They should go on the Jeremy Kyle show hed sort them out.;)

kraggy wrote: »
    Who said they're cousins?
    It's suggested they might be in the bit I quoted before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

RichieC wrote: »
    Can we not just suspend the justice system for a few days and purge the bloody country of these monkeys...
    I dont see why not. Put it to the people.

Because 16 y/o girls might get killed in the crossfire.
    That's kinda exactly what happened to cause the incident that makes you suggest this.
    I wish you sounded like you were being ironic :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

From Tallafornia to Tallaferno.... as long as damage control is in place - quite the show!

Because 16 y/o girls might get killed in the crossfire.
    That's kinda exactly what happened to cause the incident that makes you suggest this.
    I wish you sounded like you were being ironic :/

I mean a professional round up of known criminal leaders. Not a bunch of vigilantes.

The mere fact the article knows the family names just fking galls me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Irish Journalism 101.

If a crime happens in Limerick, report it non stop.
    If a crime happens in Dublin, bury it unless you can find a way to link it to Limerick, then report that angle non stop.

I mean a professional round up of known criminal leaders. Not a bunch of vigilantes.

that's worse imo.
    State sanctioned violence is always more shocking than criminal violence really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I would be devastated if both factions wiped each other out....DEVASTATED, I TELL YOU!!

Irish Journalism 101.

If a crime happens in Limerick, report it non stop.
    If a crime happens in Dublin, bury it unless you can find a way to link it to Limerick, then report that angle non stop.

Limerick people say this quite often and it is simply not the case.
    Loads of violent crime is swept under the carpet in Limerick in a way that it really is not in Dublin.
    For example the girl getting pulled out of her car in broad daylight on William St and beaten with chains by a group of men. Good luck finding reports of that in the media.
    Yes it did really happen. Here is another thread where I mentioned it - where its veracity was supported by a reputable poster I dont know personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

telekon wrote: »
    I would be devastated if both factions wiped each other out....DEVASTATED, I TELL YOU!!

I'll have a tough time sleeping tonight I will....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The shame.

As a native of east Tallaght, I wish for a partitioning. West Tallaght and East Tallaght...perhaps separated by a large wall and barbed wire.

Tallaght is too fckin big anyway.

I think they should click system then thunderdrone and sort it out there
    Or click here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=484
    Id say their grammar would be nearly as good as mine.

It's suggested they might be in the bit I quoted before

Just because she is related to the McCarthy's and he is "related to the McCarthy-Dundon" gang does not mean they are related themselves.

He could be related to either a wife of one of the McCarthy's or be related to a Dundon.

kraggy wrote: »
    Just because she is related to the McCarthy's and he is "related to the McCarthy-Dundon" gang does not mean they are related themselves.

He could be related to either a wife of one of the McCarthy's or be related to a Dundon.
    Yes. Hence the word "might", and my comment in my first post that it wasn't clear if they were blood relatives.

that's worse imo.
    State sanctioned violence is always more shocking than criminal violence really.

Bolloxology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Loads of violent crime is swept under the carpet in Limerick in a way that it really is not in Dublin.
    For example the girl getting pulled out of her car in broad daylight on William St and beaten with chains by a group of men. Good luck finding reports of that in the media.
    Yes it did really happen. Here is another thread where I mentioned it - where its veracity was supported by a reputable poster I dont know personally.

Are you kidding me??

Of all the neighbours comments after this Dublin murder, almost everyone of them mentioned that pretty much every other week there are bomb squads in their area doing controlled explosions, it has gone out of hand so much. That pipe bombs etc are being left on doorways.

I have heard sweet FA about much of this, certainly not on a weekly basis.

If one of the 'family' members blows his nose in Limerick it is seen as a gesture of intimidation and threat and mickey, johnny and joey In Dublin are on the Limerick hit-list again. It's actually humorous at this stage.

This type of journalism is actually embarrassing. The lads in Limerick probably didn't give a flying fcuk, but not that they are reading that they are 'expected' to do something about it, they probably will. Just for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

It'd be odd a fire starting in Limerick to spread a 100 odd miles to Dublin.

Firemen not doing their job.

Who would win in a fight , Limerick or Dublin.

Bolloxology
    Nonsense!

I like the simplification of this debate.

That's my opinion anyway. Clearly you dont agree. But an agent of the state is no more likely to avoid this sort of splash damage than a criminal. An agent of the state is no more likely to be right than a criminal. The only difference is one is supposed to be bound by laws while the other is not (by its very definition). Take away those laws and what do you have?

Fizman wrote: »

Are you kidding me??

Of all the neighbours comments after this Dublin murder, almost everyone of them mentioned that pretty much every other week there are bomb squads in their area doing controlled explosions, it has gone out of hand so much. That pipe bombs etc are being left on doorways.

I have heard sweet FA about much of this, certainly not on a weekly basis.

If one of the 'family' members blows his nose in Limerick it is seen as a gesture of intimidation and threat and mickey, johnny and joey In Dublin are on the Limerick hit-list again. It's actually humorous at this stage.

This type of journalism is actually embarrassing. The lads in Limerick probably didn't give a flying fcuk, but not that they are reading that they are 'expected' to do something about it, they probably will. Just for the craic.

Why give these animals coverage in the papers. It only encourages them.

I moved from Limerick to Dublin recently.
    I work in a very busy shop just off Henry st.

In the last few months, I've had Gardai calling into my shop to ask about a murder investigation in the area.

A very serious 4 on 1 beating just down the road.

On Christmas Eve, eve (ie: the 23rd) I walked past security mopping up a masive pool of blood in the Ilac Center (still not 100% sure what happened, I was told by a witness it was a violent attack and stabbing).

And the piece de resistance was the running battle on Henry street involving more than twenty young gang members with knives, baseball bats, chains, and metal pipes.
    This on a Saturday afternoon I may add.
    Resulting in three people rushed to hospital, one of the gang members, and two innocent people who were crushed in the stampede to get away.

Not one of these was reported in the news.
    I checked at the time, for obvious reasons.

Now if there was a running batle on Cruises street in Limerick, first page news.
    Somebody gets stabbed in broad daylight in one of the busiest shopping streets in the country, on the second last shopping day before Christmas.
    Not a word in the national media.

And all this is just what I've noticed, in the few months I've been here, in the area where I work.

I can see why a lot of people from Dublin don't understand this.
    Unless you're there at the time, or know somebody involved, you never hear a fraction of the stuff that happens.

I mean, I've lived in Limerick for most of my life, and I was only in Dublin two months before I was threatened to be stabed for the first time.
    Gotta laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Ah cmon when am I going to get a chance to wear an ear necklace again.

Added bonus, we could sort out the eurodebt by selling pay per view tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

So hes 21 and shes 16. So by a school system she'd be in 4th or 5th year depending if she skipped? And if he went to college he'd probably be in 2nd or 3rd year ?

Staying classy I see..

You're making the rather generous assumption that they can even read.

cloptrop wrote: »
    Who would win in a fight , Limerick or Dublin.

http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=Limerick&word2=Dublin

So hes 21 and shes 16. So by a school system she'd be in 4th or 5th year depending if she skipped? And if he went to college he'd probably be in 2nd or 3rd year ?

Staying classy I see..

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

That's exactly what I'm getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

:pac::pac::pac:

Good point. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

So do you think that the Limerick thing is just where the media chooses to focus on? Kinda like The Wire or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I can see it now. Going for a cycle up the Dublin mountains on Sunday and looking down, "Oh Noes Tallaght is on fire", "Dial 112". They'll have to use a lynx can to set the whole place in flames.
    Just hope they get the Tallafornia guys and gals out first.
    I hate to see Cormac burn.

So do you think that the Limerick thing is just where the media chooses to focus on? Kinda like The Wire or something?

1N44S48e.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

The headline is from the Cork Examiner, drawing attention to Limerick & Tallafornia and keeping their own heads down, the fecken cute hoors.

Yes. Hence the word "might", and my comment in my first post that it wasn't clear if they were blood relatives.

I wasn't talking to you with my initial post. It was directed at Krudler.

He didn't include a "might". He implied that they were actual cousins.