Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your drive.

• 09-02-2012 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

If you put up here that you have any drive over 300 yrd, people go a bit mental. As if it is not possible.

1) do you think amatures can hit a 300 yrd drive. Have you seen this ?

2) what is your driving distance when you hit a good one ?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Car-crash internet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Bubba Watson played a fourball recently with three boards.ie members. He was poor all through, as he couldn't get used to hitting his ball first on the fairway.

I stole this joke from another golfing forum, but I like it too much not to use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Bubba Watson played a fourball recently with three boards.ie members. He was poor all through, as he couldn't get used to hitting his ball first on the fairway.

I stole this joke from another golfing forum, but I like it too much not to use it

Yes, I know.

That is the point. People don't believe an amateur can hit over about 270 for some reason.

If some pros are hitting average (Average). 300 to 320. What are good club golfer with good equipment hitting the ball ?

Just a genuine question ,how far are club golfers hitting ball, not a car crash in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Between the both tours in 2011 37 players averaged 300 or more. Dose not take a mathematical genius to work out that not a huge amount of amateur players hit it that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

Ok -I'll go first! Got fitted for a driver in 2009, was playing off 3.6 at the time (never got down to 3 though- dammit!!!).

Hit balls for an hour with the pro using all the cameras, monitors etc & hitting out to the range. By the end I had my average carry distance up to 265-270 (according to the tracker - hard to see exactly where it landed) with a few nailed ones getting up to 280. I would never have been considered short, but in many matches I'd be up first as often as not. Many of my pals can hit it past me,but use big slinging draws bordering on hooks - but I wouldnt be surprised if a percentage of club golfers can get up to 270 or so.

I think the real difference with the pros is that they'll get their distance all day every day - whereas we're more likely to throw in a few mis-hits a round. We also all know the big hitters who can't hit an iron to save their lives or take 3 from the edge of every green - they might be able to get into the vicinity of the pros off the tee but are screwed from there!

k.p.h wrote: »
    Between the both tours in 2011 37 players averaged 300 or more. Dose not take a mathematical genius to work out that not a huge amount of amateur players hit it that far.

So for the mere mortals how do we know where we are . I would be surprised if there are stats.

Total guess

Hcap 1 to 9 Average 275 yrds
    Hcap 10 to 16 Average 260 yrds
    Above 16 Average 220 yrds

Corkblowin wrote: »
    Ok -I'll go first! Got fitted for a driver in 2009, was playing off 3.6 at the time (never got down to 3 though- dammit!!!).

Hit balls for an hour with the pro using all the cameras, monitors etc & hitting out to the range. By the end I had my average carry distance up to 265-270 (according to the tracker - hard to see exactly where it landed) with a few nailed ones getting up to 280. I would never have been considered short, but in many matches I'd be up first as often as not. Many of my pals can hit it past me,but use big slinging draws bordering on hooks - but I wouldnt be surprised if a percentage of club golfers can get up to 270 or so.

I think the real difference with the pros is that they'll get their distance all day every day - whereas we're more likely to throw in a few mis-hits a round. We also all know the big hitters who can't hit an iron to save their lives or take 3 from the edge of every green - they might be able to get into the vicinity of the pros off the tee but are screwed from there!

Fair play,

That is what I was looking for.

So you were 280, "not considered short", was there anybody in your playing circles 20yrd ahead of you and what hcap were they ?

Car-crash internet...

More like hit and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

It depends on whether you're asking for total distance or carry distance. My best carry distance on the range was 280, but I hit it fairly straight so don't get excessive roll. I have one buddy off 2 who hits a 50 yard draw when he's looking for a big one & if he gets a good bounce could be up to 40 yards ahead of me!! He could as easily be OB or 2 fairways away too! :) I think you'll find with the really steady low guys is that they may 'only' hit it 280 or so - but they'll do it 10 times a round, with a couple better and a couple worse.

I played in a junior scratch last summer with a guy off 7 or 8 & I didn't get near him all day - there's always one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Said it in other thread, but I can reach just over 300 yards from time to time.

I don't really care what anyone else thinks personally, I ain't no pro cause if I were I would not be here;)

I have only got back into Golf last year, after 10 years away.

I had my old Taylor made driver(bubble burner) which was a pretty wanted driver 13-14 years ago, but when I used my new set which is only beginners set I was hitting the ball 50 yards further then before.

The equipment now is far superior.

Corkblowin wrote: »
    It depends on whether you're asking for total distance or carry distance. My best carry distance on the range was 280, but I hit it fairly straight so don't get excessive roll. I have one buddy off 2 who hits a 50 yard draw when he's looking for a big one & if he gets a good bounce could be up to 40 yards ahead of me!! He could as easily be OB or 2 fairways away too! :) I think you'll find with the really steady low guys is that they may 'only' hit it 280 or so - but they'll do it 10 times a round, with a couple better and a couple worse.

I played in a junior scratch last summer with a guy off 7 or 8 & I didn't get near him all day - there's always one!!

Well what we get from sky , euro pga, etc is total distance. so I guess that is the only way to look at it. Also on the course the only thing we can measure is total.

So Corkblowin, you would be near 300 at total.

Said it in other thread, but I can reach just over 300 yards from time to time.

I don't really care what anyone else thinks personally, I ain't no pro cause if I were I would not be here;)

I have only got back into Golf last year, after 10 years away.

I had my old Taylor made driver(bubble burner) which was a pretty wanted driver 13-14 years ago, but when I used my new set which is only beginners set I was hitting the ball 50 yards further then before.

I hit two or three over 300 yrds in a round. It would be total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

I'd average 250-260 yards with the driver but it can get up to 280 on a good flushed drive which are few and far between. The main point I have to make though is who cares how far it goes as long as its in play or in the fairway. I'd trade a 280 yard drive in the rough for a 225-230 yard drive in the fairway. All day everyday, on almost any course in Ireland that'll have you in decent shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I hit two or three over 300 yrds in a round

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

The lowest handicap player I've play a round with was +3, albeit a lady she was not the longest in the world but the odd time won the longest drive (from the womens tees) in work outings. That would have been around the 260-280 mark. Around the greens she was outstanding, anything from 100 yards or less was the mother of all divots, a bounce and check to within a few feet. Anyhow, suppose that comment is to amplify other comments that driving distance is not everything.
    Best I've seen was a guy off -1, sweet Je$us, when the used the driver on the 3rd hole of the round we played together I thought someone was shot, the impact noise was unreal, he uses a SkyCaddy and drops it 270-280, full distance was in or around 300-310, I've played with lots of "big-hitters" who murder their drives but his guy was in another world, all technique and no brute force, he hit all fairways off the tee, was a pleasure to have a round with him.
    Regarding pro driving stats, those stats are not from every par 4 and par 5, if I'm not mistaken they are taken from selected holes on a course so a pro could be hitting them a lot further on "non-selected" holes and thus have a much longer average driving distance.
    If amatuers were to take the same data points I think our driving distance statistic would fall somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

Yeah thats really the main point a lot of sceptics dont take into account. Hitting a driver nowadays is probably unrecognizably easy compared to the old days. ive had shots where ive basically completely missed the ball and managed to catch it with the toe or heel of the clubface, expected a disaster - then watched in astonisment as the ball sails down the fairway!

Personally if im hitting my diablo 10 degree stiff ill usually drive about 220 to 260 max this time of year, generally straight enough mind.
    On the other hand if im hitting my g2 8.5 stiff in the summer with the breeze at my back i could (with a sweet contact and full swing) be pushing up close to 300 yards. the longest i think ive hit was about 335, that was with the wind and a very generous roll.

the problem for me with that club is its a little harder to hit so over a round can actually cost me more shots than it saves.

however - for a good golfer i dont think that is an issue and in my experience of playing with low handicappers they will be consistently long and reasonably accurate, prob averaging 275 but easily pushing 300 on occasion.

on a bit of a side issue, my experience of people who cant hit their irons very far is usually that they arent compressing the ball. ive heard of lads saying they hit their 7 120 yards - well unless you have some physical issue then odds are your point of contact on the ball is all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

A guy (+12h/c) that I play with can easily drive it over 300yds. Most times he drives into the rough, but when he gets it right, middle of the fairway, 300yds no problem.

But for him he has no finesse. Take a short 370y par 4, he drove to within 50yds of the green and still walked off with a 5. He duffed his second just onto the green with a back flag and 3 putted. He would have been better off with a 3 wood off the tee and playing a 9i from 100y for he second.

My drives when I get them right down the middle are about 230yrds (I'm along way from the distance markers to get accurate distances).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

There are probably about 30 people (that I know about) in my club that I know for sure drive it longer than I do. If I really bust one out I could probably hit it about 250 or so in the summer. My carry would rarely be better than 210 or 220 - I play off 10, got to 9 last year. Anytime I hit it 280/290 or 300 there would be exceptional circumstances, downwind, downhill, huge kick forward etc. etc. The longest hitter at my club could probably hit the ball routinely over 250/260. He plays off 5. I'm sure he could carry it 240ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Davd

I average around 265 - 275 yrd and have occasionally hit the 300 yrd mark under the right conditions and a bit of luck but those would be rare occasions. I would be considered long among my usual golfing buddies but my brother would be consistantly anywhere from 10 - 30 yrds past me. We measured one monster 2 summers ago that he hit 302 meters (330 yrds). He was just outside the 100 meter mark on a 403 meter hole but haven't witnessed another like that since.
    About 2 weeks ago I joint a 3 ball and all 3 were long drivers and equally impressive handicaps - 1, 3 and 4. The guy playing off 3 was consistantly 20-30 yrds past me, so would be hitting the 300 yrd mark in summer conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

My normal drive is 240-250 with 250 being very good. I have hit it just over 260 the odd time (without really knowing how I did it :o). Every club seems to have the odd exceptionally long hitter...there was one playing in the group behind us about 6 months ago and I couldn't believe how long he was. Having said that a lot of the low, single figure golfers I've played with tend to be only 10-15 yards longer than my good drives...so about the 260-265 yard mark. The thing is though, is that their next club "goes further" too...so even if we were both 150 yds out I would be hitting 7 or 8 and they might be hitting a 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

It's incredible how many skeptical there are .. quite sad really.

Majority of distance comes from lag and timing, and quite simply, certain players have a lot more lag than others.

I played with a 15 year old who was playing off 2 last week. With very little run on the ball he was consistently getting 290.

And it's the high handicappers that are usually the skeptics !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jaggiebunnet

started last year and was hitting my drives straight and getting around 225 until i went for a lesson and changed my swing (which helped my irons but has screwed my drives :) ) anyway have a lesson next week for driving, but...having read some on this and changing my stance and making sure i get the right leg tensed and bent during rotation to drive off from i can and have hit 275 quite often at the range...unfortunately I wouldn't use this as a gauge coz my driving on the course at the weekend was minging.

I guess I am saying that with my limited experience it would not surprise me to see single digit players all hitting over 300.

Dr.Silly wrote: »

Majority of distance comes from lag and timing, and quite simply, certain players have a lot more lag than others.

I played with a 15 year old who was playing off 2 last week. With very little run on the ball he was consistently getting 290.

I'd love to have played with him and said "Jees, that's some driver you have there...what kind of shaft is on it?) - the younger players get a great kick out of this and no doubt have the craic with their mates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Loire wrote: »
    I'd love to have played with him and said "Jees, that's some driver you have there...what kind of shaft is on it?) - the younger players get a great kick out of this and no doubt have the craic with their mates!

He was playing a Titleist D3, RIP stiff shaft, 9.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

So for the mere mortals how do we know where we are . I would be surprised if there are stats.

Total guess

Hcap 1 to 9 Average 275 yrds
    Hcap 10 to 16 Average 260 yrds
    Above 16 Average 220 yrds

Off 16 and I'd average 220 I'd say

Hit 3 x 300 yard drives on one hole once
    Lee Valley playing on my own
    Big wind behind and fairway kicks hugely left to right
    I stood there for 5 mins in shock looking at the distance markers when I got to the balls
    I was hitting my second shot from 10 yards behind where the group in front had been hitting their third

Never got anywhere (and I mean anywhere) near that since nor will I I'd think :D

just thinking about this, id say the course you play would have a big impact. i play a course that lets you rip it without any major danger whereas lads on short tight tracks would obviously be a lot more concerned with accuracy and would tailor their equipment and technique to this requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Jesus I don't know what i'm doing wrong so. This time of year a good drive of mine would be about 240 yard and I'd say id average 220.
    Never though I was lacking distance until now!!

Dr.Silly wrote: »

That sums it up for me.

Well, I'd say the top handicappers have gained most (as a %) from new equipment.

It is of no importance in scoring in a game of golf. But it is poured down our throat by TV, Golf Magazines, Euro PGA, Adverts.

When you look at the young lads on the range, who are slim and play other sports (hurling, Football, swimming, etc), they have R11s etc all the top gear. There is no reason why they can't get near 280 +. Sure at that age, it is their raison d'etre. It takes time in life to know the game is way more than distance.

I would go as far as to say, these lads are in better shape than a good few of the pros. The pros have moved to the gym the last 10 years and the game is changing due to T Woods who started it.

We are not talking Rory Mcilroy , Quiros, Watson, Johnson on here. That is a combination of everything, skill, core strength, height for some.

About 20 years ago, people talked about over 270 was a great drive (for amateurs). I just find it interesting that when someone puts down a long drive figure on boards it is discounted. The game is hard enough without your fellow hackers giving you a lash, funny in a way.

There is no doubt that some people exaggerate their distance, but we need to be aware that distance for the mere mortals has moved on. Has this been quantified ? ( I don't know).

I guess that is why you ask, but there is always a hurler in the ditch , who could hit the ball over 280yrds in my view.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Redzah

That sums it up for me.

Well, I'd say the top handicappers have gained most (as a %) from new equipment.

It is of no importance in scoring in a game of golf. But it is poured down our throat by TV, Golf Magazines, Euro PGA, Adverts.

When you look at the young lads on the range, who are slim and play other sports (hurling, Football, swimming, etc), they have R11s etc all the top gear. There is no reason why they can't get near 280 +. Sure at that age, it is their raison d'etre. It takes time in life to know the game is way more than distance.

I would go as far as to say, these lads are in better shape than a good few of the pros. The pros have moved to the gym the last 10 years and the game is changing due to T Woods who started it.

We are not talking Rory Mcilroy , Quiros, Watson, Johnson on here. That is a combination of everything, skill, core strength, height for some.

About 20 years ago, people talked about over 270 was a great drive (for amateurs). I just find it interesting that when someone puts down a long drive figure on boards it is discounted. The game is hard enough without your fellow hackers giving you a lash, funny in a way.

There is no doubt that some people exaggerate their distance, but we need to be aware that distance for the mere mortals has moved on. Has this been quantified ? ( I don't know).

I guess that is why you ask, but there is always a hurler in the ditch , who could hit the ball over 280yrds in my view.;)

Off 2 and probably average about 270-275 (with mostly carry). I'd bet that there is less than 10 golfers in the hole country that hit it consistently 300 yards. I'm neither long nor short at my level and occasionally I see a big hitter when playing in scratch cups but he'd probably average around the 285-290 mark.
    Most golfers have a chance of hitting the ball over 300 in the right conditions (downwind, downhill, links golf) but this is not due to an exceptional strike, its merely the conditions. Sure i once hit a drive 415 yards and a sand wedge 142 yards on the 567 yard 1st in Doonbeg, my point is not that I am a long hitter, more that conditions play a huge factor in the length. On a flat parkland course in calm conditions there would not be many drives over 300 yards in my opinion.

Redzah wrote: »
    Off 2 and probably average about 270-275 (with mostly carry). I'd bet that there is less than 10 golfers in the hole country that hit it consistently 300 yards. I'm neither long nor short at my level and occasionally I see a big hitter when playing in scratch cups but he'd probably average around the 285-290 mark.
    Most golfers have a chance of hitting the ball over 300 in the right conditions (downwind, downhill, links golf) but this is not due to an exceptional strike, its merely the conditions. Sure i once hit a drive 415 yards and a sand wedge 142 yards on the 567 yard 1st in Doonbeg, my point is not that I am a long hitter, more that conditions play a huge factor in the length. On a flat parkland course in calm conditions there would not be many drives over 300 yards in my opinion.

So with any sort of slight wind , you will get 3 to 4 chances on most courses to be over 300 yrds.

On most rounds you'll get one over 300 yrds I'd say. You will get a bounce at some stage. In the summer you are over 300 yrds for every round my guess. With a long distance ball ?

But look your off 2. Who needs a long drive at that.

Fair play is all I can say.

BTW , I'd say there is more than 10.

I'd say there are lads off 18 who can go near 300. Ok not consistently, but 5 times a round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

I hit it about 220-240 but longest is about 280 yards.
    I was a member of Ballinrobe and the first is Par 4 346 metres off back tees, saw plenty of juniors in the interpro a couple of years ago attempt to drive green in weather so bad there was about a foot of run if lucky.

So with any sort of slight wind , you will get 3 to 4 chances on most courses to be over 300 yrds.

On most rounds you'll get one over 300 yrds I'd say. You will get a bounce at some stage. In the summer you are over 300 yrds for every round my guess. With a long distance ball ?

But look your off 2. Who needs a long drive at that.

Fair play is all I can say.

Ok point taken, in the summer possibly one will hit the 300 yard mark per round but on avarage i will be around 275. I will not have hit the 300 yard ball better than all the others around the 275 mark, it will merely be the wind, a downhill shot or an exceptional bounce or a combination. However, i am skeptical about individuals saying they hit hit over 300 3 times a round.

Also, as far as i am aware the length of the hole is measured from the tee box down the middle of the fairway and up to the middle of the green. If there is a slight bend on the shape of the hole this can add yardage. If an individual hits the ball 275 yards off the tee on a 400 yard hole, they could end up at the 100 yard mark off the tee. This is not due to a 300 yard drive, it is merely due to them cutting the angle of the hole.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    I hit it about 220-240 but longest is about 280 yards.
    I was a member of Ballinrobe and the first is Par 4 346 metres off back tees, saw plenty of juniors in the interpro a couple of years ago attempt to drive green in weather so bad there was about a foot of run if lucky.

lol,

And are you saying they had a chance or were you just laughing at them ?

BTW , I'd say there is more than 10.

I'd say there are lads off 18 who can go near 300. Ok not consistently, but 5 times a round.

Not a chance, absolute max times a driver is used is probably 14 times (avg 4 par 3's) per round. There's no way there are guys hitting it 300 more than 33% of the time (especially not 18 handicaps) unless they are exceptionally long for which i reckon there are less than 10 in the whole country who hit it 300+ 5 times a round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I'm off 16 and would comfortably drive 250 yards and a good one would get to 275 - I'd have a couple of these per round.

The odd time I'd catch one just right that would be over 300, or have a wind with me, a good bounce or downhill. So it happens, but it's certainly the exception.

The problem I have is a couple of drives per round will get away from me, often costing me a hole. I'm not particularly good around the greens either.

Now, I'd love to take 20 years off my drive, keep them all on or near the fairway and be a bit sharper around the greens (I'd probably lose a couple of shots if I was), but I'm simply not. It happens quite often when I'm playing that people will remark "It's no use hitting the ball that far if you're not going to get the next one on the green" or "it's no good hitting a wedge in from there if you're going to three putt".

I know these things already.

It is of no importance in scoring in a game of golf.

Sorry but I (a high hc) cant agree with that.
    If i drive over 250 on a normal 400 yd par 4 my chances of making GIR are usually pretty good, better than 70% i would say. If I drive less than 230 my chances are basically 0.
    There is a critical yardage between 220 and 270 than will make all the difference for a golfer at my standard. Now that is probably not so much a factor for you because you are a long hitter and plus corballis is prob not a long course. but for me it is well worth squeezing an extra 20+ yards out of my average drive if i can - it allows me to play the shorter irons in.

blue note wrote: »
    It happens quite often when I'm playing that people will remark "It's no use hitting the ball that far if you're not going to get the next one on the green" or "it's no good hitting a wedge in from there if you're going to three putt".

Sounds like you need different playing partners!:D
    Jeez theyre fairly ignorant things to say to a chap whos probably already frustrated enough.

Davd wrote: »
    I average around 265 - 275 yrd and have occasionally hit the 300 yrd mark under the right conditions and a bit of luck but those would be rare occasions. I would be considered long among my usual golfing buddies but my brother would be consistantly anywhere from 10 - 30 yrds past me. We measured one monster 2 summers ago that he hit 302 meters (330 yrds). He was just outside the 100 meter mark on a 403 meter hole but haven't witnessed another like that since.
    About 2 weeks ago I joint a 3 ball and all 3 were long drivers and equally impressive handicaps - 1, 3 and 4. The guy playing off 3 was consistantly 20-30 yrds past me, so would be hitting the 300 yrd mark in summer conditions.

David,

Just for info.

What general age is your brother and what sports has or does he play.

blue note wrote: »
    I'm off 16 and would comfortably drive 250 yards and a good one would get to 275 - I'd have a couple of these per round.

The odd time I'd catch one just right that would be over 300, or have a wind with me, a good bounce or downhill. So it happens, but it's certainly the exception.

The problem I have is a couple of drives per round will get away from me, often costing me a hole. I'm not particularly good around the greens either.

Now, I'd love to take 20 years off my drive, keep them all on or near the fairway and be a bit sharper around the greens (I'd probably lose a couple of shots if I was), but I'm simply not. It happens quite often when I'm playing that people will remark "It's no use hitting the ball that far if you're not going to get the next one on the green" or "it's no good hitting a wedge in from there if you're going to three putt".

My point is that it is not that you have caught it 'just right' that you hit it over 300 yards, in fact you probably hit it the same that the good one you hit 275 yards a few holes ago and the elements dictated the rest.

If i drive over 250 on a normal 400 yd par 4 my chances of making GIR are usually pretty good, better than 70% i would say. If I drive less than 230 my chances are basically 0.
    There is a critical yardage between 220 and 270 than will make all the difference for a golfer at my standard. Now that is probably not so much a factor for you because you are a long hitter and plus corballis is prob not a long course. but for me it is well worth squeezing an extra 20+ yards out of my average drive if i can - it allows me to play the shorter irons in.

Fair enough, I'm talking over 250 yrds, sorry.

But, If that 220 yrds is on fairway every time, you will score better than a 280 yrd erratic OB head case.

Squeezing that extra 20 yards out will come with a consistent strike not a faster swing, you'd be amazed how by slowing the swing down and concentrating on the strike how u will not loose distance. I often hit the ball longer when i just swing smoothly on a hole where I don't need to launch it long.

My point is that it is not that you have caught it 'just right' that you hit it over 300 yards, in fact you probably hit it the same that the good one you hit 275 yards a few holes ago and the elements dictated the rest.

Redzah,

Is it possible, that the margin at the exact sweep spot is very small and you are not exactly the same ?

But, yes I would go along with your "elements factor" as the largest cause of variance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Been recording my drives with GPS so far this season (all carry distances as there no run on fairway or rough in the winter on my home course and all shots in very cold conditions)

Longest carry: 240
    Average carry : 210 - 220

If someone asked before how far I hit my drives I'd say 250 to max of 265 if I hit a really good one but usually about 220 - 240. I think my GPS stats confirm those figures.

Redzah,

Is it possible, that the margin at the exact sweep spot is very small and you are not exactly the same ?

But, yes I would go along with your "elements factor" as the largest cause of variant

No i don't believe that it is very small on modern drivers. I believe the difference between a marginally off centre hit and a good hit to be about 20 yards. However, i do not believe the difference between a good one and one 'just right' to be a further 25 yards, i'd think 5-10 yards would be a more accurate assessment of the difference between a well struck drive and a sunday best. Therefore, discounting completely wayward and way off centre hits, i believe a max range of 30 yards could be developed between an off centre hit that flys ok and a sundays best. With any variant from this range due to the conditions.

I don't believe that somebody who hits it 250 on average can hit the ball 300 if they get it just right without the conditions being a large factor. This is down to a good strike of probably 260 and the rest down to the elements.

Forgot to add...I played with a 5 handicapper last year who hit it 365 yards...the ball landed on the path and hopped twice more down the same path (which was only a few feet wide). Eejit bogeyed the hole too.

Squeezing that extra 20 yards out will come with a consistent strike not a faster swing, you'd be amazed how by slowing the swing down and concentrating on the strike how u will not loose distance. I often hit the ball longer when i just swing smoothly on a hole where I don't need to launch it long.

A big +1 to that. If I'm having an off-day with my driver I start thinking "80%" on the tee and I'm usually back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

I hit about 270-275 yards average, h/cap 7, titleist907 d1 9.5* stiff, also I think my height, 6ft 4, helps to create a good arc and lots of club head speed. For other reference, I hit 7iron about 165 yards

I'm one of the longest hitters in the club and have played plenty of interclub comps, and usually one of the longer hitters.

I have hit some monsters but equally hit some awful ones!

I wish I hit more fairways.

But as to averages, in my experience, most guys, that is decent ball strikers are 10-15yards behind me, so I'm going to suggest the average drive is about 255-260.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Been recording my drives with GPS so far this season (all carry distances as there no run on fairway or rough in the winter on my home course and all shots in very cold conditions)

Longest carry: 240
    Average carry : 210 - 220

If someone asked before how far I hit my drives I'd say 250 to max of 265 if I hit a really good one but usually about 220 - 240. I think my GPS stats confirm those figures.

Yeah I'm pretty similar to yourself. There is zero roll on a parkland course and its been between 7 and 12 degrees over the last few months. The ball is just not moving.
    I have a swing speed of just a shade over 100 mph.

To hit it over 300 yards I guess you would need a ss of about 130--140 mph.
    Fair play to the guys that have that kind of speed.

stringy wrote: »
    I hit about 270-275 yards average, h/cap 7, titleist907 d1 9.5* stiff, also I think my height, 6ft 4, helps to create a good arc and lots of club head speed. For other reference, I hit 7iron about 165 yards

I'm one of the longest hitters in the club and have played plenty of interclub comps, and usually one of the longer hitters.

I have hit some monsters but equally hit some awful ones!

I wish I hit more fairways.

But as to averages, in my experience, most guys, that is decent ball strikers are 10-15yards behind me, so I'm going to suggest the average drive is about 255-260.

Yes definately that arc would help plus consistent ball striking. As mr pitchmark pointed out this average would be more apt to look at it by handicap range as 270-275 would be average for 0-4 handicaps but at the longer end for 5-10 handicaps. There is always some guy off 12 who can hit it as far as a big hitting scratch golfer but this is a rarety.

I think we are at least forming a general consensus that 300 yard drives are due to the elements and not due to hitting it just right with the exception of in my opinion only a very limited amount of golfers who bomb it close to 290/295 regularly.