Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United v Liverpool, Saturday, 12:45 (MOD POST: #47 and 644 **READ**)

• 09-02-2012 3:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77032075&postcount=644

7526346.bmpV 180px-Liverpool_FCNEW.png

Possible line ups:

de Gea
    Rafael
    Ferdinand
    Evans
    Evra
    Valencia
    Carrick
    Giggs
    Nani/Young
    Rooney

Hernandez/Welbeck

Carroll/Suarez
    Bellamy/Downing
    Suarez/Kuyt
    Gerrard

Adam
    Spearing
    Enrique
    Agger
    Skrtel
    Johnson
    Reina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

LOL hard at the Liverpool Crest :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sh__93

OK, I'm a Liverpool fan but i did laugh at the crest there!

Anyway.. blah blah blah suarez blah blah blah evra.

Now that we've discussed that lets talk about the GAME from here on cause i'm sick of hearing about the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Weird how both United and Liverpool fans dont want Evra to play, isnt it?

Gonna say 1-0 United, based firmly on United bias.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Ha, the crest!

If we had Nani and Rooney, I would be fully confident we could hammer Liverpool off the park but since only Rooney is fit, we'll probably only win by 2 or 3.

Nah, United to squeak it 1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

With your line-up I think it's Nani over Young of fit, and after SAF praising Chico in the Chelsea game I'd expect Chico to be in before Welbeck.

Any other differences possible may be Park over Valencia, or Park in there somewhere, or Scholes in before Giggs.

Gotta say I think Rafael has been great since he has come back; hope he keeps it up and owns that spot for the next ten years! :pac:

fabio-da-silva.jpg

That's a pic of Fabio btw . . . I think! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Can someone explain to me why Bellamy doesn't start every game for Liverpool? He's full of passion.

And he should definitely start on Saturday. He's scored at Old Trafford before. In another big game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,604 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Hope that little fecker Kuyt doesn't play, always seems to pop up with a goal(or 3) against United...

Because his knees are banjaxed.

@ Kraggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

J. Marston wrote: »
    Because his knees are banjaxed.

@ Kraggy.

Right. Thanks. Didn't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Can we make a sticky about bellamy's knees?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

True class shown for Liverpool crest..
    Shame on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

I would go with:
    De Gea

Rafael Rio Evans* Evra

Valencia Carrick Scholes Nani**

Rooney Welbeck

*If Smalling is fit then Smalling over Evans
    ** If Nani is not fit, then wouldn't mind Young or Park. With Scholes playing I would go with Park on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Superb subtlety with the crest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

True class shown for Liverpool crest..
    Shame on you.

Get over it.

Some well needed humour, especially for this fixture given everything that's gone on.

United at home, smarting from the cup defeat.

Liverpool in a bit of form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

I didn't kop the crest on the first couple of looks.

A cheap shot but hilarious all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

I think I might photoshop a vagina into the United crest later.

I'm sure you can figure out why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

All I ask is that Utd show some passion and determination, the type that's usually reserved for when they're 3-0 down.

This is Liverpool. They really shouldn't need to be asked twice. It's the fixture that the fans care most about each year, and the one that utd and particularly Ferguson seem to under estimate. Im sick of retarded team decisions by Fergie in this tie and annoyed by lack lustre player performances. Time to step up for a big match lads, like the good old days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Liverpool to leave OT with a hard earned point .

Des unfortunately a sense of humour is one of those things you can't talk people around to having. If you don't have it, you just don't have it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What I'd like to see.

De Gea

Rafael Ferdinand Evans Fabio

Valencia Carrick Cleverley Nani

Welbeck Rooney

:cool:

Rafael might be too adventurous for Ferguson for this fixture, imo. Also, he has probably the biggest chance of a red card if he plays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Des wrote: »
    Rafael might be too adventurous for Ferguson for this fixture, imo. Also, he has probably the biggest chance of a red card if he plays.
    True, although he's been pretty spot on with tackles in the last few games and well, let's face it, he has to start playing regularly eventually!! May as well be now with the form he's shown.

But, if Smalling and Jones are both fit, one of them will probably start instead.

You mean only Saturday's fixture or just against Liverpool in general?

True, although he's been pretty spot on with tackles in the last few games and well, let's face it, he has to start playing regularly eventually!! May as well be now with the form he's shown.

But, if Smalling and Jones are both fit, one of them will probably start instead.

f he gets carded he can be subbed off, but it's a waste of a sub. He also has a hot-headed petulant streak, which could also be costly.

If Smalling is fit, he should start Right Full, keep Evans in the middle, although I'd have question marks over Rio too.

And of course Evra. I'm a form believer that Evans causes Evra to play badly.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    You mean only Saturday's fixture or just against Liverpool in general?

against Liverpool in general.

In recent fistures United have been very conservative.

I wouldn't be surprised to see a "solid" back 4, and 5 in midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Won't somebody think of the children mods

They might just do a pre emptive strike and close this and the 2 superthreads for a week.

Also Liverpool Win 2-1

And of course Evra. I'm a form believer that Evans causes Evra to play badly.

That's not entirely true tbh. Evans plays as right CB, Rio as left CB. So it has to be either Rio or none. With Vidic, Evra's mistakes are covered, but with any other CB they are exposed Imo.

against Liverpool in general.

In recent fistures United have been very conservative.

I wouldn't be surprised to see a "solid" back 4, and 5 in midfield.

I would start Rafael over any RB we have, he has played against City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool in the past and apart from his two footed attempted tackle agaisnt Liverpool, I didn't see him losing temper in any game. (Vs Tevez it was Keanesque :D )

He is playing very well and you can see changes in his defensive game. I see where you are coming from by leaving out Rafael, but playing Smalling as RB is a waste of his talent. He is a beast as CB.

Edit: Nevermind. I didn't read your first post properly. Assumed something else. Yeah got it what you meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

He's been our best defender In his last 2 games IMO .

I haven't said otherwise.

But I do think the manager thinks there are certain players better suited to certain situations.

I'm not discussing the team I think should be played, because I actually think that's pointless and stupid, I'm trying to discuss what I think the manager will do, and giving my reasons for that.

Yes, he's probably been one of the better performers in recent matches, but he is hot-headed and he is liable to pick up an early yellow for something stupid, which then lessens the options.

Smalling is very good coming forward, is extremely solid defensively, and is less of a risk for a brainfart. Which is why I think Ferguson will play him at Right full, rather than Rafael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

LOL at the start to the thread.

Cant believe the crest issue is being discussed nearly as much as the match at this stage. although it is a funny and a good light hearted attempt at humour.

Anyway, going to say United to win 2-1 Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Racism isn't ****ing light hearted humour.

We might as well start cracking Heysel, Hillsborough and Munich jokes now too, in a light hearted manner of course.

Racism isn't ****ing light hearted humour.

hahahaha

It isn't a racist joke.

But you already knew that.

LOUD NOISES!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Love the double standards in this forum. I get infracted when I refer to the size and colour of a managers nose and someone is allowed to start a thread associating LFC with a racist organisation that tortured and killed people in the name of white supremacy. Nice one!!

Anyway the match will be tight. Going with a draw. Liverpool to park the bus;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I thought the Liverbird was dressed up as a ghost to scare United away, just like those damn Richers in South Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Oh Lampy :( :rolleyes:

Utd are due a win against us & to avoid slipping further behind City I think they'll be well up for this one. As such they have got to be big favourites to win this.

Be happy enough with a draw. Be over the moon with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

You have to laugh at it all really.

Oh wait no :mad:

2-0 to Utd with a bit of luck (I'm looking at you referee)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,861 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

This game from a United perspective is 3 things.

1. A game we should win.
    2. A game we need to win.
    3. A game we probably won't win.

I think the United side could be one of a few options. De Gea, Smalling, Evra, Valencia, Carrick and Rooney are certain starters for me - the rest depend on fitness and selection, which I don't know about yet. I think it should be welbeck up front with Rooney, instead of Chico because his work rate and link up play is better.

I do think Liverpool will cause us problems - they will load on set pieces with very good aerial threats, and with Suarez back they have a very different threat to what we faced (and failed to deal with, ultimately, at Anfield).

As I say, it is a game I think United can and need to win, but I really don't know what way it is going to go. I think dropping points will be a disaster for United though, we can't afford to be dropping points at home when already behind City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

As a Liverpool fan I thought the crest joke was funny. I cant predict a winner as you literally never know whats going to happen.

Id say deffo a sending off though.

Can't wait for this.

I think if we can keep 11 on the pitch I'm pretty hopeful we can nick something as we are set up well away from home this season.

Probably say a draw. A win and Saturday will be a great day. Don't want to contimplate defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I think Liverpool could do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I think United will win this.

If Liverpool get anything I'll be delighted but I'm not optimistic.

2-0 Man United. Both goals in the second half IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I want a win. Nothing else will do. Sick to the back teeth of draws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

This is a game United have to win, a must win game and we will tell a lot about how the rest of the season is going to go from this game imo.

The United teams of old have always managed to win the "must win" games, lets see if this team can.

I hope Welbeck starts with Rooney because I think he the better all round forward, other than that I think the team picks itself, I think as we are at home Rafael will start. He should be able to make mince meat out of Downing who I assume will play left wing?

He will also have the pace to trouble Enrique going forward. Think it will be Carrick and Giggs in the middle with Scholes being brought on for Giggs hopefully to see the team through if we are leading around the hour mark. Though if Jones is fit id love to see Carrick and Jones in the middle.

The centre backs will be, if fit, Evans and Rio imo, Evans is firmly first choice now, ahead of Smalling in the pecking order, only way Smalling plays is at right back or if Rio is injured. Nani will start if fit ahead of Young id say, Valencia is surely undroppable for the game given recent form like.

People really have to lighten up. I'm a Liverpool fan and found it funny. Who cares if it annoys people on here who have no sense of humour and are morally outraged by everything bad in the world. Just breath in and relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Liverpool tend to up their game against United, but really there's no excuse for not winning this game on home soil.

Hope to see Nani back and I would love to see Rafael start after his performance against Chelsea. Would be delighted with a United win and no penalties, red cards or controversy of any kind.

Also, Cleverly getting some minutes from the bench would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,470 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

ok, i took it as the joke it was intended as, but i’ve deleted all the off-topic posting.

I’m going to discuss this with the other mods, but from my point of view it’s just f***ing funny. Blatter doesn’t actually believe the club is racist, nor does any rival fan. Nor does he believe we as fans are racist. He may believe the club has dealt with it poorly, he may even hate the club, but he doesn’t think it’s racist. Come on. It’s a friendly jab, banter (as much as i hate that word) if you will.

I’ve seen Rooney being given a blow-job by Ronaldo on this forum.

I’ve seen photoshops of Rooney and his liking of grannies.

I’ve seen Torres with pig-tails.

I’ve seen Suarez in countless ridiculous gifs at this stage.

I’ve seen countless instances of stuff like this, and tbh, if all humour is taken out of the forum, we’ve got very little left. If someone wants to do their own photoshopped Utd crest, do so. I’m sure it could be funny too. As long as it doesn’t reference tragedies, because that is very very different. And if i have to explain why, i despair.

As I say, I’ll discuss it with the other mods, everyone’s points will be taken on board, but one of the things that makes this forum great is the humour that it can bring. If that post is all it takes for people to be offended, on the Internet of all places, well then, i just don’t know...the Internet may not be the safest place in the world to be for them.

Either way, please now keep it on topic (i.e. talking about the actual match).

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Shameful robbery of the crest from redcafe!

SlickRic wrote: »
    I’ve seen Rooney being given a blow-job by Ronaldo on this forum.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

SlickRic wrote: »

Either way, please now keep it on topic (i.e. talking about the actual match).

So the crest stays as "friendly banter" but no-one is allowed to respond to it as we must ignore it and discuss the match?

The crest is purposefully antagonistic and only functions to pit the two sets of supporters against each other, yet again, and draw debate away from the actual match itself right from the off. It is absolutely not the right note to start a match thread on.

This is supposed to be about discussing football, why go and post something in the OP that you know will drag things off-topic in a massive way??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really,
    really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really looking forward to this particular match!!!:D

Seriously, tho'...........Really cannot.

Man Utd will be desperate to win obviously to catch City and Liverpool I'd imagine will be attacking this game with all the vengeance of a grudge match.

Should be an absolute feast:D

The extra dessert of course will be the 3 pts for Liverpool *fingers crossed*