Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Respect for place kickers

• 08-02-2012 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Hi All - This is my first post to this site and was wondering if anyone else has a big issue with lack of respect that place kickers are getting.. I am a Leinster season ticket holder and as a result attend alot of games home and away.. It just really annoys me when either kicker has a penalty or conversion that the opposing fans start trying to put the player off.. Saying that I have also heard Leinster fans shouting out "Go Leinster" or "Go Johnny" just as Johnny Sexton is about to take a kick..Its a long time since I heard the old saying by commentators when watching at home, "you could hear a pin drop".. Its something that really bugs me and have recently read a blog posted by another leinster fan that has written about it.. In the piece.. he/she refers to younger kids shouting out and their parents laughing which is encouraging them. I remember as a child my Father telling me how important it is to remain quiet during these kicks.. Anyway just wondering if it bugs anyone else and do stadium announcers need to get more involved to try and cut it out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Up to the individuals really. If they want to be seen as part of a crowd that hassles the kicker, then they'll go on with it.
    If not, they'll shut up.

Doesn't really bother a kicker if the crowd is screaming or not. Yes the silence can put them off as much as the noise but no real biggie to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

It only takes one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

JustinDee wrote: »
    Doesn't really bother a kicker if the crowd is screaming or not. Yes the silence can put them off as much as the noise but no real biggie to them.

Pretty sure I have seen a few of the SH kickers saying that the silence in Thomond is one of the most intimidating things they have faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I hate those lone eejits that shout out when the rest of the crowd is being silent. It was funny when I was 12 at an SCT match but it's just annoying now.

Teferi wrote: »
    Pretty sure I have seen a few of the SH kickers saying that the silence in Thomond is one of the most intimidating things they have faced.
    An American player said it in 1999 following a fluff in front of the posts in the Aussie v USA RWC game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Stadium announcers do get involved. The announcer at the RDS once asked people to "respect the kicker" a few years ago, when people were counting Keatley's squats when he played for Connacht.

Personally, I think that it's up to the crowd to police this kind of thing. You are in your rights to make noise, but equally in your rights to tell people making noise to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I don't think it's a huge problem, tbh. Certainly not in the RDS, anyway. You might get it a tiny bit more in the Palindrome, alright, but in my experience, even there, anyone who does it is swiftly told to shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I remember when Clermont came over to the RDS in 2010, they were going ballistic as their own lads were taking kicks, turns out in France you make as much noise as possible to drown out the opposing fans who are trying to put your guy off.

To be honest, I think the notion that Irish crowds are so respectful of kickers is a bit of self-congratulatory back-slapping, "look at us, aren't we great rugby purists". It's boll*cks. When you hear the crowd jeering the opposing full-back as he's trying to catch an up-and-under; how is that different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

The boos before place kicks in Murrayfield at the weekend were pretty awful. I was glad when a bit more respect was shown for the kickers during the Ireland Wales match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 pigeon shooter

ray jay wrote: »
    The boos before place kicks in Murrayfield at the weekend were pretty awful. I was glad when a bit more respect was shown for the kickers during the Ireland Wales match.
    Yeah that was shocking!!!:mad: What was all that about??:confused:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

ray jay wrote: »
    I was glad when a bit more respect was shown for the kickers during the Ireland Wales match.

Was Halpenny not boo'd out of it when he was taking one or two penalty kicks? He definatley did for the last one, I was disgusted when I heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Dero

beertons wrote: »
    Was Halpenny not boo'd out of it when he was taking one or two penalty kicks? He definatley did for the last one, I was disgusted when I heard it.

I think that may just have been the last kick where it was more an indication of the crowds disgust at the penalty/YC (especially in light of the Donnacha Ryan incident).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 pigeon shooter

Dero wrote: »
    I think that may just have been the last kick where it was more an indication of the crowds disgust at the penalty/YC (especially in light of the Donnacha Ryan incident).
    As far as i can remember it was more than just one kick!! It was especially bad for the last one alright!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Do whatever puts the opposition off imho. I think silence for the kicker is more tradition than "respect" at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Leinster blue

I remember when Clermont came over to the RDS in 2010, they were going ballistic as their own lads were taking kicks, turns out in France you make as much noise as possible to drown out the opposing fans who are trying to put your guy off.

I remember that Match very well, and you are right they made some noise which I couldn't understand until I read an article on French Rugby about drowning out the opposing supporters. However, is it not different to Booing and roaring. As I remember it these guys were chanting and banging drums instead of just screaming and booing.. Maybe I'm a bit mad but I think this would be different as it is happening from the moment the kick is awarded and not just as you start your run up!!

Here is the link to the blog I was refering too:
    http://putitinrowzrugby.blogspot.com/2012/02/no-peace-for-place-kicker.html#!/2012/02/no-peace-for-place-kicker.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭SoulRock

I think for sure the quieter it is the more it can spook a place kicker, its the shouts just as the kicker is about to kick the ball that P!sses me off if your gonna make noise do it for the whole routine of setting the ball up through to the kick like they do in france, but the sudden roar just as the kick is being taken is really bad form in my opinion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I remember that Match very well, and you are right they made some noise which I couldn't understand until I read an article on French Rugby about drowning out the opposing supporters. However, is it not different to Booing and roaring. As I remember it these guys were chanting and banging drums instead of just screaming and booing.. Maybe I'm a bit mad but I think this would be different as it is happening from the moment the kick is awarded and not just as you start your run up!!

Here is the link to the blog I was refering too:
    http://putitinrowzrugby.blogspot.com/2012/02/no-peace-for-place-kicker.html#!/2012/02/no-peace-for-place-kicker.html

I remember the Clermont support bang out a steadily faster beat as their kicker lines up for his shot. It's sounds class over in the Stade des Michelin. It's their thing the same way that silence is ours. What really impressed me about them was that they stayed quiet for Johnny in the away game last year. So a few of us decided to do their thing in Landsdowne last year for their kicks. A few of the Leinster fans around us got seriously upset about it.

The funny thing is we expect the crowd to stay quiet for us and our opposition, which is a bit "oh look how great we are" all right and the rest of you are lesser fans of the game if you make noise. But if a team or country have a tradition (like Clermont) in the same way we do then for me it's more in the spirit of the game to partake in that.

Of course then you just have the booing that we often see over in Wales etc. That's bad form for me. The intent is simply nasty and really comes across as sour grapes, as in "how dare they get a penalty" or whatever. It's different than the up-and-unders thing, which is more just good humoured banter than anything malicious.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I really don't get the "preciousness" of respecting the kicker. I don't boo them as I see no point really but I am amazed at the amount of people who get riled up at people who do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

molloyjh wrote: »

Of course then you just have the booing that we often see over in Wales etc. That's bad form for me. The intent is simply nasty and really comes across as sour grapes, as in "how dare they get a penalty" or whatever. It's different that the up-and-unders thing, which is more just good humoured banter than anything malicious.

How do you differentiate between the two though. Both are one guy being singled out as they are about to perform an action that involves them waiting and preparing themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

molloyjh wrote: »
    I remember the Clermont support bang out a steadily faster beat as their kicker lines up for his shot. It's sounds class over in the Stade des Michelin. It's their thing the same way that silence is ours. What really impressed me about them was that they stayed quiet for Johnny in the away game last year. So a few of us decided to do their thing in Landsdowne last year for their kicks. A few of the Leinster fans around us got seriously upset about it.

The funny thing is we expect the crowd to stay quiet for us and our opposition, which is a bit "oh look how great we are" all right and the rest of you are lesser fans of the game if you make noise. But if a team or country have a tradition (like Clermont) in the same way we do then for me it's more in the spirit of the game to partake in that.

Of course then you just have the booing that we often see over in Wales etc. That's bad form for me. The intent is simply nasty and really comes across as sour grapes, as in "how dare they get a penalty" or whatever. It's different than the up-and-unders thing, which is more just good humoured banter than anything malicious.

Yeah it looked mental in Clermont for the Ulster game a couple of weeks back. Here's a vid from a match against Ospreys - fast forward to 2:45 and 6:30 for a sample of the noise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Stadium announcers do get involved. The announcer at the RDS once asked people to "respect the kicker" a few years ago, when people were counting Keatley's squats when he played for Connacht.

Personally, I think that it's up to the crowd to police this kind of thing. You are in your rights to make noise, but equally in your rights to tell people making noise to stop.

Ha ha I remember that match. About three Years ago over xmas.
    We were mesmerised by the squats. It was quite funny when a section of the crowd started counting, but it was unfair I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Im very old fashioned perhaps but I think respect for the kicker is an important aspect of rugby. Further its something that should be encouraged and not dismissed.

The move to professionalism has brought us faster, stronger players playing better quality rugby, sadly it has also brought in the marketing, money men and exaccerbated the tribalism. So now the winning is the be all and end all and we have brought football style fan behaviour into the game.

On the pitch it was hard fought, (literally) with no quarter asked or given once you crossed the white line. Afterwards you'd have a beer with the bloke who youd been scrapping with all afternoon. For me, those happy days define the spirit of rugby.

As a spectator I was brought up to respect the opposition and the officials even when they were considered wrong. Ive even been known to applaud an opposition try or good bit of play. So keeping silent for a kicker comes from that respect. I have to say I think its something we should try to encourage in the youngsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

What does irk me is that Leinster PA eejit doing his schtick at score time

:D:DLEINSTER 32:D:D

:(Bath 8:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Honestly prefer it in France. It's kind of weird that everyone goes mad quiet and you get looked at funny for coughing. It can also kill the atmosphere.

I agree with the sentiments above that Irish people can be very self congratulatory about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Was very disappointed to hear the jeering during Halfpenny's winning pen on Sunday.

I also recall an incident at Croke Park in 2010. Dan Parks slotted a last minute pen to take the match for Scotland, I was mortified in front of my Scottish mates at the level of noise the crowd were making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

Was very disappointed to hear the jeering during Halfpenny's winning pen on Sunday.

I also recall an incident at Croke Park in 2010. Dan Parks slotted a last minute pen to take the match for Scotland, I was mortified in front of my Scottish mates at the level of noise the crowd were making.

That particular one was because he was winding down the clock, took well over his minute allowance - the referee should have blown up. It was directed at the ref, I felt (I was there too, with my mouth shut).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

davidpfitz wrote: »
    That particular one was because he was winding down the clock, took well over his minute allowance - the referee should have blown up. It was directed at the ref, I felt (I was there too, with my mouth shut).

I think you'll find that was not the case. He hit that under a minute. It was a big thing here I remember. 53 seconds from tee in hand to landing the kick iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Too many sanctamonious tools at matches, cant stand the gob****es who insist on shhhushing everyone the minute the pen is given.

if i want to shout, ill shout if i want to cheer ill cheer, but please dont tell me what to do.

at the last connacht game there was a group around me who were really getting pissed off with the "respect the kicker" crap and telling everyone to shut up during the kicks.

do what you want yourself but dont try and impose your view on everyone else.

Shelflife wrote: »
    Too many sanctamonious tools at matches, cant stand the gob****es who insist on shhhushing everyone the minute the pen is given.

if i want to shout, ill shout if i want to cheer ill cheer, but please dont tell me what to do.

at the last connacht game there was a group around me who were really getting pissed off with the "respect the kicker" crap and telling everyone to shut up during the kicks.

I think you should respect the norms of whatever environment you are in.

shut up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Tell you what cracks me up, the clowns who when watching the game in a pub will try to shush everyone when there's a kick.

I may be showing my ignorance here but isn't the whole 'silence for kickers' thing a Munster tradition and a relatively new thing for Ireland?

Tell you what cracks me up, the clowns who when watching the game in a pub will try to shush everyone when there's a kick.

I may be showing my ignorance here but isn't the whole 'silence for kickers' thing a Munster tradition and a relatively new thing for Ireland?

nope it's been there for the 30 odd years I've been watching rugby. Agreed that doing it in the pub is daft though.

davidpfitz wrote: »
    He actually didn't go over the minute.
    The sore losers amongst the crowd, as on Sunday, booed the kick taking place that sneaked the win away from Ireland. Didn't bother Parks, nor did it bother Halfpenny hence two successful kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

I think its appauling, and shelflife i think you should be banned for trolling, its a similar scenario with a professional golfer, you don't hear too many people shouting at the top of their backswing.

Its common etiquite to not be loud when a kicker's taking his shot, i don't think there's a need for pin drop silence, as stated before im sure thats nearly as intimadating as someone shouting just before you make contact with the ball but i do think that quiet conversation is acceptable.

I was always taught at school and by my Ol fella about general etiquitte and politeness and this is one category that definitly fell under those learnings.

At school, the main key was treat others how you would expect to be treated, and as an avid leinster and ireland supporter i would want Johnno or ROG (despite the munster thing) to have the best chance of getting their kicks.

In order to get that, I feel we should respect the oppossing kicker, it reminds me of the leinster v scarlets in Llanelli for Heineken cup a couple of years ago.

The Llanelli fans were constantly trying to rise sexton into missing a penalty, yet during theirs we were absolutly silent, after about 3 times it seemed they realised as our penalties and conversions went silent as well.

The other side of it was as a player, especially in schools rugby that we wanted our supporters to be remembered as good, not the hooligans that some other teams had.

If we behaved well, generally we were treated well.

Even in football now its more and more common for penalties and free kicks to be taken in silence.

Any time you hear someone shouting at in irish or provincial match, they generally don't do it again as the crowd around them tends to give them filthies or a boll0king

No. Something that grinds my gears big style. Saw a video of Connacht v All Blacks in Galway back in '89 and every kick was silent.

My 1st game Ireland Fiji mid 90's, I remember clearly my Grandfather telling me to be quiet for kickers and we bloody were!

Some Munster fans (not all of course) love taking credit for sh1te like that. Like the Fields, etc. lol

I'll give you up & unders though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

BBDBB wrote: »
    shut up

if you have nothing useful to say don't say it at all.

If people have issues with a post please report it or ignore it, as responding with unhelpful crap will probably just lead to you getting banned.

Remember everyone is entitled to their own view

I was always taught at school and by my Ol fella about general etiquitte and politeness and this is one category that definitly fell under those learnings

With that in mind, have you had a look at your profile's location?? Lol
    The noise doesn't bother the players.
    What bugs me is feckless drinkers constantly getting up and out of their seats to go to the bar or to the toilets. Also early leavers and late arrivers. This happens in both provincial and international rugby.
    As for the know-nothing-never-heard-of-advantage-one-eyed wally constantly jumping up and yelling "REF-ER-EEEE!" even though the ref has made a correct call or has arm out for advantage, I have to just bite my lip and pray they get tired of acting the buttnugget.

if you have nothing useful to say don't say it at all.

If people have issues with a post please report it or ignore it, as responding with unhelpful crap will probably just lead to you getting banned.

Remember everyone is entitled to their own view

apologies, given the content of the post, I thought the humour was self evident, my mistake

BBDBB wrote: »
    apologies, given the content of the post, I thought the POOR ATTEMPT AT humour was self evident, my mistake

:D no offence taken !!

Matt Dublin i didnt realise that having an opinion was trolling!!

I never said that that i was one who shouted or jeered , i just stated that i didnt like the tools that would start shushing people the moment the player indicates that hes going for posts.

:D no offence taken !!

grand,

we are all entitled to an opinion and in my opinion you should shut up when the kick is on

if you are the defender of freedom you claim to be, surely you should welcome people expressing equal freedom to tell you to shut up. Thats only logical isnt it?

You claim a right to boo if you want

by the same right others can tell you to hush if they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

If you want your team to win, you should encourage your team and do whatever (within reason) to put the other team off. Jeering an opposing kicker is most definitely within reason.

I don't want to be jumping in here just to criticise rugby and I know the staying quiet thing is more etiquette than anything but the respect shown to referees and their decisions is something which many other sports could learn from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I kind of agree with Shelflife.

Nobody else does this as far as I can see.
    The SH teams certainly don't.

This all reminds me of the nonsense Haka argument actually.

If you can't hit your kicks in a noisy hostile environment you shouldn't be kicking in an international rugby match. That really, really is all there is to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

You can shout and scream all you want but I'll be keeping quiet.
    It's a tradition, and quite a good one actually, that's not back slapping there, it's just is good etiquette and good manners, it's part of what we do. You can scream if you wish and unless your being an absolute **** I'm not going to tell you to stop you're well within your rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,876 ✭✭✭✭bilston

If you want to put an opposition kicker off than keep completely silent. While kickers will be "in the zone", complete silence amongst 26,000 at Thomond or 50,000 at LDR might make him think that the eyes of the world are watching his every move and that in itself can put him off.

If you want your team to win, you should encourage your team and do whatever (within reason) to put the other team off. Jeering an opposing kicker is most definitely within reason.

I don't want to be jumping in here just to criticise rugby and I know the staying quiet thing is more etiquette than anything but the respect shown to referees and their decisions is something which many other sports could learn from.

I prefer my team to win by using better tactics and hopefully the only thing I contribute to their performance is encouragement, support & respect.

I'll tell you one thing there was no rugby players past or present roaring or booing during kicks the last day #yobculture

Booing someone (who is doing their job/role honestly and within the rules) to give yourself an advantage. . . sickens me.

I hope my team wins by my support helping them be better. I do not hope for my team winning by my abuse & booing making the other team worse. Only a step away from cheating in my eyes.

Yikes. Relax there, fella. Its only a game and as said earlier, players couldn't give a stuff if the crowd is yelling or not when they take a kick.

I wish I could. I deplore it. And it's bigger than that.

It's more than a game to me. It has employed family members, given us a social output, etc and I despise people fluffing on the traditions of the game by relating to their own social norms or those of other sports.

I wish I could. I deplore it. And it's bigger than that.

It's more than a game to me. It has employed family members, given us a social output, etc and I despise people fluffing on the traditions of the game by relating to their own social norms or those of other sports.
    It is a game. Your despisement is a little strong and over the top, in my view anyway. You're entitled to your view, of course.

Making noise during opposition kicks is not even the norm of any other sport. It has been in rugby union for many many decades.

It is a game. Your despisement is a little strong and over the top, in my view anyway. You're entitled to your view, of course.

Making noise during opposition kicks is not even the norm of any other sport. It has been in rugby union for many many decades.

I am fully aware rugby is a game. But it is not just a sporting activity but a social or family thing for myself.

I think you are slightly missing my point. I hate lads booing. . . full stop. But what get's me is that - every game I went to for the first 20 years of my life adhered to customs I admired and respected that no other sport had - making it the sport I love. This has changed recently with the expansion of interest in the game. And IMO not for the better (regards customs & traditions of the game, I think it's great it's more popular).

I remember when someone scored an unreal try against you; you applauded. That doesn't happen now, people boo. And I can't stand that.

Cat calling Sexton, booing Parks, etc. Can't stand it. Back before Christmas a guy roared at NOC that he was "a cnut". That would not have happened years ago.