Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S**t Paddy Barclay says

• 08-02-2012 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Spotted this on twitter.

191940.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ouch...i have a feeling thats going to go down well..

his account appears to have been deleted since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Twitter is great. It really gives idiots a chance to show themselves up for what they are.

Barclay and Holt being two that spring to mind for me. Two men that have mastered speaking from both sides of their mouth at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

ouch...i have a feeling thats going to go down well..

his account appears to have been deleted since.

Barclay said he regretted the comment but you would think he would some cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

randomname wrote: »
    Barclay said he regretted the comment but you would think he would some cop on.

Yep he regretted it so much that he went on to make a number of similar comments soon afterwards. Then tried to delete the comments but many had already taken screenshots of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

Kess73 wrote: »
    Yep he regretted it so much that he went on to make a number of similar comments soon afterwards. Then tried to delete the comments but many had already taken screenshots of them.

The guy is an utter goon so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He is on (or was just on) Talksport back tracking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

You would think people wouldnt be so ****in stupid, but they go and surprise you every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

You stay classy Patrick Barclay.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Barclay is/was an excellent columnist though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Hopefully there will be no more croissants for PB with Brian Woolyhead on a Sunday morning now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

I tuned in for it on Talksport for the craic this morning. Keys and Gray tweeted last night they would ask him about it and fair play, they did, right of the bat. The squirming Barclay was something to behold, he could barely speak at one point and a direct question from Keys took him about 5 mins to get around to the tweet in the OP. Andy Gray just kept his mouth shut and was clearly uncomfortable imo. He said he regretted it.

Retard makes retarded comment on twitter, now here's Bob with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Obviously theres no defending what Barclay said, but as a seperate issue, this constant drone of "sky are evil" is tiresome.

I dont see anyone in this thread talking about Sky.

whats it got to do with sky?

have they been mentioned in the thread?

daithijjj wrote: »
    I dont see anyone in this thread talking about Sky.
    kryogen wrote: »
    whats it got to do with sky?

have they been mentioned in the thread?

The tweet Barclay was replying to.

Theres been a similar sentiment floating around here for ages too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

He's a bit of a fool but I remember 2 years ago at the start of the World Cup when he joined Twitter that he put one of my favourite Tweets. It was completely out of the blue.

9FfMo.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Do Sky not own Talksport?

Des wrote: »
    Do Sky not own Talksport?

Do they?

Well wouldnt that be a sneaky way of keeping Keys and Gray on the books eh?!

Dont know if they do or not, would have thought we would have heard about it with the uproar around the aforementioned dynamic duo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

UTV Radio own Talksport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

Us Liverpool fans are just being paranoid. :rolleyes:

YOU_TALKIN_BOUT_WILLIS_1313832211.jpg

Sense the sarcasm. I was highlighting the fact that a lot of journos out there dont like us very much yet other fans call us paranoid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The tweet was deleted straight away and someone forwarded a screenshot to Joey Barton, who retweeted straight away.
    The equivalent to mutterering something under your breath in class, and the guy beside you telling the teacher.

Sense the sarcasm. I was highlighting the fact that a lot of journos out there dont like us very much yet other fans call us paranoid

Journos dont like anyone! Cept Arry Redknapp (till he doesnt succeed as England manager)

Fergie is despised, journos always making up **** and trying to cause controversy with United and heaps of other clubs, your team is far from being the only one.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    The equivalent to mutterering something under your breath in class, and the guy beside you telling the teacher.

Not really, it would be more like standing up in the middle of campus and screaming something through a megaphone, then realising it was a bad idea and trying to pretend you said nothing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,841 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Journos dont like anyone! Cept Arry Redknapp (till he doesnt succeed as England manager)

Fergie is despised, journos always making up **** and trying to cause controversy with United and heaps of other clubs, your team is far from being the only one.

no no, they are the victims of journalistic hatred.

Not really, it would be more like standing up in the middle of campus and screaming something through a megaphone, then realising it was a bad idea and trying to pretend you said nothing at all.

Not really. Unless you follow paddy barclay and were on twitter for the couple of minutes it was up, you wouldn't have heard about it.

Forgetting the tribalism between United & Liverpool for a moment, there is nothing you can say to convince me of that comment you just made. United are the media darlings and many of them are United supporters. The ones who aren't seem terrified of him.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Un-freaking-believable!

You don't think the media love to go to town on Fergie and United?

UN-FREAKING-BELIEVABLE!

Not really. Unless you follow paddy barclay and were on twitter for the couple of minutes it was up, you wouldn't have heard about it.

It was up for hours. Paddy Barclay had tens of thousands of followers. And Twitter is public, you don't need to follow someone or even be logged in to read their tweets. So, wrong on all counts.

I genuinely have no idea how to respond to this.

The liverpool fans saying they hoped he died in a car crash, and hoped his entire family died of cancer weren't doing themselves any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

The tweet was deleted straight away and someone forwarded a screenshot to Joey Barton, who retweeted straight away.

Tweet was there 4 hours later I was able to see it on his time line

Screen shot in the OP is 55 mins after it was posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Far too many modern journalists love being the story. Twitter really exposes them for the fücking twats they are. That comment should cost him his job.

Tweet was there 4 hours later I was able to see it on his time line

Screen shot in the OP is 55 mins after it was posted.

Indeed. It was all over twitter long before Barton mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The tweet Barclay was replying to.

Theres been a similar sentiment floating around here for ages too.

There was no mention of sky in the tweet unless i'm missing something.:confused:

Rupert Murdoch is mentioned in the tweet, and he owns Sky. It is not a massive leap between the initial 'everything Murdoch owns/does is evil' to 'Sky are evil'.

EDIT: Actually, not going to get into what I think he meant, not worth it as not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

The original tweet directed at him is on about taking Murdochs cash. He works for both Sky & The Times so could be about either or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Joey Barton has weighed in now

''misconstrued your words, did they Patrick? Interesting for u to feel what its like on the other side of the street. How is it?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

jaykay74 wrote: »
    The original tweet directed at him is on about taking Murdochs cash. He works for both Sky & The Times so could be about either or both.

Exactly. It's not particularly having a go at sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I think we can add football journalists - to football players - of people who shouldn't be using Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Get off your high horses, all of you. We all say stupid stuff occasionally the only difference being that not everything we say is documented.

It was a stupid comment to make but if you are needled repeatedly throughout your day eventually you will crack and make an arse of yourself. A person should not be judged solely on one throwaway comment to a troll on the internet.

Unless you were in the college at the time you wouldnt hear him shouting either. He still said it to an awfull lot of people in a public way,

Kirby wrote: »
    Get off your high horses, all of you. We all say stupid stuff occasionally the only difference being that not everything we say is documented.

If it was would you not be a bit more careful about what you say?

I dont know how many posts I've type out in the heat of things and deleted before hitting submit. Sometimes typing them out calms me a bit, I still dont post them though.

It was a stupid comment to make but if you are needled repeatedly throughout your day eventually you will crack and make an arse of yourself. A person should not be judged solely on one throwaway comment to a troll on the internet.

It was on twitter, it's not like someone was standing shouting in his face, its much easier to ignore and you have as much time as you like to relax and think about replys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

If it was would you not be a bit more careful about what you say?.

The future president of the United states recently said he "didn't care about poor people". Thats a huge gaffe from somebody who has teams of people watching what he says. Politicans spend half their lives minding what they say and they make a balls of it too.

You can be as careful as you like but we all say stupid stuff. You shouldn't be hanged on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

It's not Barclay's first time to make an irresponsible and unpleasant comment though. And he initially stood by this comment - not a sign of something said in the "heat of the moment" or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

, there is nothing you can say to convince me of that comment you just made.

Facts and evidence be damned, you have your opinion and you're sticking to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's not Barclay's first time to make an irresponsible and unpleasant comment though. And he initially stood by this comment - not a sign of something said in the "heat of the moment" or whatever.

Even on the Talksport piece, he insisted he'd say it again - only to someone over a table rather than on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Even on the Talksport piece, he insisted he'd say it again - only to someone over a table rather than on twitter.

Got to admire a man who will stick by his principles, as long as no one can hear them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Got to admire a man who will stick by his principles, as long as no one can hear them...

What kind of principal is to bring up people dying just to make a point. F*ck him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Everything we type here is documented. I have nearly twice as many posts on here as he has tweets (and that means a hell of a lot more words) and I've never made a horrible dig about Heysel. The same for plenty of other boards users. And as has been pointed out, he stood by the comment initially and doesn't seem to have a problem with the sentiment, only where he said it.