Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taytos or Crisps

• 04-02-2012 3:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭

What do you call them, I call all Tayto's, Tayto's no matter what the brand. I do know people that call them crisps but that just sounds weird imho.

What do you call them? 57 votes

Taytos
    0% 0 votes
    Crisps
    100% 57 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Crisps.

Would be weird calling Pringles Tatyos :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Taytos if you're a muck savage.

Crisps if you're a normal person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Spud Flakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Why did they call Oisin's brother Tayto?

What a taunt. It's hard enough being a tinker as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

whatsamsn wrote: »
    Crisps.

Tayto have solved that problem it would appear
    http://www.taytocrisps.ie/about-tayto/product-range/snacks/tayto-toobz/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Black_Cat

I call them crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

If ya have a lisp and ye can't say crisp say Tayto.

You do realise that having a lisp doesn't actually mean words with "S" are impossible to say right? They just say the word and the "S" sounds different.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    You do realise that having a lisp doesn't actually mean words with "S" are impossible to say right? They just say the word and the "S" sounds different.
    I don't think he was being terribly serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

later10 wrote: »
    Why did they call Oisin's brother Tayto?

What a taunt. It's hard enough being a tinker as it is.

Why is it when a couple of tinkers rob a horse and the authorities come after them, the authorities are the villains and the tinkers are noble heroes?

I don't think he was being terribly serious.

This is the internet! if he isn't being serious he's in the wrong place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Underdraft wrote: »

I don't want to live on this planet anymore :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

I don't want to live on this planet anymore :mad:

I know how you feel man.

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    Why is it when a couple of tinkers rob a horse and the authorities come after them, the authorities are the villains and the tinkers are noble heroes?

Heroes always ride around on horses

This whole Tayto thing always irked me! They're crisps! if they're not Tayto, call them crisps!

"Can I have a Mars Bar please?...... wait, this is a Mars Bar. I wanted one of those other Mars Bars, ya know, the ones with 'Twix' written on them.

Oh, and can i also have a Mars bar........ ya know, the Mars Bar with Drifter written on it?""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

Crips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I grew up somewhere that many crisp brands, I presume you didn't.
    P.S Tayto are shit.

Crips.

"Crisps" come in a packet - a packet of crisps.

"Crips" come in a package - a package a' crips!

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    Did you not catch the ending? That wasn't a horse they were riding.

Those lads were riding their mother.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I grew up somewhere that many crisp brands, I presume you didn't.

I certainly didn't grow up where that many crisp brands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Hunky Dory's or nothing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

a package a' crips!

Xactly.

Which can be eaten in the cimena, while you're watchin' the pitcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mann

Did you not catch the ending? That wasn't a horse they were riding.

Those lads were riding their mother.

:D:D:D That was soo wicked :):cool:

Strangely enough I happen to have an eight pack of Tayto Crisps and it states on the packet “Cheese and onion flavour potato crisps”

In England I used to call them crips cause I cant say crisps… life is much easier for me now so its Tayta’s all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

mann wrote: »
    :D:D:D That was soo wicked :):cool:

Strangely enough I happen to have an eight pack of Tayto Crisps and it states on the packet “Cheese and onion flavour potato crisps”

In England I used to call them crips cause I cant say crisps… life is much easier for me now so its Tayta’s all the way

Chips or potatoe chips. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If y'all's gonna give out about people calling crips (yes, crips) Taytos, y'all betta stop calling vacuum cleaners 'Hoovers'.

and..

Sellotape < Sticky tape.

Thermos < Flask.

Tippex < white stuff that covers mistakes in the olden days before word processing.

Petrol < refined petroleum spirit.

Astroturf

Biro

ChapStick

Jeep

etc etc.

Go way out of dat with your fhacts Mr Stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

crisps is one of the weirdest sounding words ive ever heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Jeep
    Is jeep a brand name? I thought it was an abbreviation of GP (general purpose vehicle).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Spud Flakes
    Get help . . .in a good way

Go way out of dat with your fhacts Mr Stone.

Lol. :o

I was just pointing out that we all probably use a brand name in a generic way, not just 'culchies'.

If y'all's gonna give out about people calling crips (yes, crips) Taytos, y'all betta stop calling vacuum cleaners 'Hoovers'.

Only auld biddies do this!
    Sellotape < Sticky tape.

Sellotape is not < than Sticky Tape, it's the same thing!! How dare you!!
    Thermos < Flask.

I've never heard anybody outside of a Hollywood movie call a flask a "Thermos"
    Tippex < white stuff that covers mistakes in the olden days before word processing.

Tippex is tippex because saying "Correctional Fluid" is a sin for a number of reasons, not least because it sounds like "Erectional Fluid"!!
    Petrol < refined petroleum spirit.

Pertol isn't a brand name.
    Astroturf

Nobody smokes that sh*t anymore!
    Biro

Pen
    ChapStick

See "Thermos"
    Jeep

4X4
    etc etc.

Ok i'll give you that one, but that's it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Working in a shop I regularly get people looking for "Walkers Taytos".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

a bag of spuds :D

Sellotape is not < than Sticky Tape, it's the same thing!! How dare you!!

Sellotape®
    I've never heard anybody outside of a Hollywood movie call a flask a "Thermos"

I have.
    Pertol isn't a brand name.
    The word ‘petrol' was registered as early as 1892 in Great Britain as a trade name by British wholesalers Carless, Capel & Leonard and was used in reference to the refined product.

Source

Na-na-n-na-na™.

What did I say to ya about fhacts! :mad:

Yeah but it's not <, it's the same job! Just like Tayto isn't < King (coz Tayto ain't sh*t)

Damn!

I shall never use the term "Petrol" again. Not least because Sean Sherlock might have my mouth sellotaped shut for using a trademark........... I mean, he'll have my mouth sticky-backed-plasticed shut!

What did I say to ya about fhacts! :mad:

Yeah Chuck, using facts and sh*t up in here! Facts can be used to prove any aul piece of sh*t theory!

/runs away. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Crisps.

Especially since that muck is made from rice!

Taytos when asking for the best crisp, because they're the ones I want

Otherwise the generic term.

P.S. if I ask for Taytos in a pub and you say you have them, do not then produce a bag of Hunky Dorys or Walkers or whatever!

Lots of places do it for Coke v Pepsi much too! :-(

You wouldn't serve a Beamish to someone who asked for a Guinness, so why do it for crisp brands ?

P.S. Poll Fail because I call generic crisps "crisps" but I ask for "Taytos" because they're superior.....the OP says they call all Taytos, Taytos - which we all do.....the question is what we call the other crisps we don't want, which probably means we don't call then anything as we don't need to ask for them much.

Ficheall wrote: »
    Jeep
    Is jeep a brand name? I thought it was an abbreviation of GP (general purpose vehicle).

Yup - Jeep is one very specific manufacturer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Wheres the opiton for 'Kings'?

irish-stew wrote: »
    Wheres the opiton for 'Kings'?

I think that's the point - if someone prefers a specific brand then they'll ask for them.

Imagine going into a pub for the first time and asking for "a pint"

Speaking of which - anyone remember "pub crisps" ? They were yum!

Tippex is tippex because saying "Correctional Fluid" is a sin for a number of reasons, not least because it sounds like "Erectional Fluid"!!

well feck ya anyway stuffy, I'm after nearly choking on my tea in the middle of the feckin hairdressers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Crisps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Tayto....and a mineral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

I call them crisps. Tayto aren't even my favourite crisps so why would I call all crisps after them?
    meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    What do you call them, I call all Tayto's, Tayto's no matter what the brand. I do know people that call them crisps but that just sounds weird imho.

You mean... most people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Speaking of which - anyone remember "pub crisps" ? They were yum!

These?

king_03.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

Calling crisps 'Taytos' makes a person sound like a total bogger and, frankly, a bit of a simpleton. Cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Crips.

"Crisps" come in a packet - a packet of crisps.

"Crips" come in a package - a package a' crips!
    I actually heard someone say .. (how do I even phonetically write this) .. "a paji' o crips' before. It's confusing, but there's a silent 't' at the end of 'pagi'.

Never mind my ears bleeding, they nearly fell the fcuk off.

I say crisps.